Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Drinks!

• 18-12-2006 11:31am

Howdy, was wondering if anyone was up for meeting up this week for some drinks in Doyle's/the Pav/Porterhouse/Gingerman/O'Neills/other pub? Might be an idea to do so since the last time we did was October. Scary.

I was thinking maybe Wednesday or Thursday.

(Incidentally, there's another reason for getting everyone together* which I'm unsure whether I can go into on a public forum.)

What say you?

*No, it's nothing sexy.

When do you want it to be? 37 votes

Tuesday - 19th December
    0%
    Wednesday - 20th December
    16%
    NietzscheanCrash[Deleted User]Andrew 83BrenCxebec 6 votes
    Thursday - 21st December
    24%
    CrashStargalPet[Deleted User]Andrew 83[Deleted User]Tricity BendixkazbegiPassport 9 votes
    Friday - 22nd December
    16%
    CrashAwayindahilsPet[Deleted User]Edwardiusaoife-m 6 votes
    After Christmas
    10%
    Pet[Deleted User]DrIndyaoife-m 4 votes
    Some other time in the not too distant future?
    21%
    NietzscheanJohnTime Magazine[Deleted User]europersonTroglodytexebecpaperclip 8 votes
    I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    10%
    Nietzschean[Deleted User]europersonTroglodyte 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Yeah, good plan. Can you PM your super secret sexy plan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Troglodyte

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    Damn, I won't be able to make it. And your secret reasons for the get together will no doubt intrigue me. Please PM me if you don't mind letting me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

After Christmas
    Sure, count me in.

Thursday - 21st December
    I'm in!!!

Which probably means that no one else is.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Thursday - 21st December
    I'm not free on Thursday but might drop in if it was on Wednesday.

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    Poll added.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

I'm only going if

Agent Smith
    Ian
    Crash_000
    DrIndy
    John(2)
    Ibid
    Myth
    Apexaviour (should be coming home soon)
    Ed
    Chick

go.

If we actually get a good few confirmations on attendance we should do a <5euro chrischringle. Or not. Depends.

I bet you a fiver stargal and Andrew83 don't turn up because they're elitists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Friday - 22nd December
    I'll be there - preferably wednesday I guess :)

Thursday - 21st December
    gymrabbit wrote:

Didn't realise myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

Wednesday - 20th December
    hmm I'll be on a plane Thurs morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Thursday - 21st December
    gymrabbit wrote:
    Andrew 83 wrote:
    Didn't realise myself!

Me neither! Maybe he just means you? I'm as nice as pie :D

Seriously though, elitists? Is that just a way of making sure that we turn up just so you can be proved wrong? If so, nice work. Appealing to my hyper-competitive nature is always a good way to make me do stuff.
    Bren C wrote:
    hmm I'll be on a plane Thurs morning

So Wednesday would suit you too? :)

I'll be there cos I love christmas and I want to say hello to all my boards.ie/tcd buddies. Slight preference for Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    I came home for Christmas yesterday, actually, so this is annoying, especially seeing as Enda guaranteed* me that there would be no pre-Christmas TCD Boards event. I'm intrigued by all this mystery. Oh...

Anyway, after Christmas would be good, at least for me.

*= A la agent smith, "may not be true".

After Christmas
    europerson wrote:
    I came home for Christmas yesterday, actually, so this is annoying, especially seeing as Enda guaranteed* me that there would be no pre-Christmas TCD Boards event. I'm intrigued by all this mystery. Oh...

Anyway, after Christmas would be good, at least for me.

*= A la agent smith, "may not be true".
    Pffh, you're only in Meath, if you want to come it's no great hassle. Come up in the morning, spend a day in the library, then drink away your short term memory and render it pointless. That's the Irish student way.

I second your list, kev, but stargal (who's certainly not an elitist) and Myth will show because I owe them drinks for about 6 months now.

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    Myth wrote:
    (Incidentally, there's another reason for getting everyone together* which I'm unsure whether I can go into on a public forum.)

Hey... What I was hinting at earlier on was to do with one of the oldest security guards in Trinity: Gerry Moles. He was the lovely old man who was at front arch for the past few decades - there was a thread some time ago about 'a walk through Trinity' or something like that which he was interviewed on.

Anyways, he was diagnosed with lung cancer some time ago and I was told tonight that he died last week - plus the flag was at half mast today in memory, apparently.

What the secret was was that I was hoping to get a card for him signed by everyone coming to the beers... given that Gerry loved talking to students... many a time you'd be stopped by him at front arch for ages at a time just chatting about life, exams, college, anything. Thought it might cheer him up getting some merry christmases from students in college. Doesn't really matter now I suppose.

Just after checking ireland.com and unison.ie and I can't find anything, but apparently it was a very private funeral so I just don't know.

Anyways, sorry for dimming the mood a bit (though I hope I'm wrong), but I thought it should be said.

I'll post again in the morning.

Dónal

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    gymrabbit wrote:
    If we actually get a good few confirmations on attendance we should do a <5euro chrischringle. Or not. Depends.

I'd be on for that, by the way.

Thursday - 21st December
    That's terrible news about Gerry, I'd no idea. A lovely man.

Bugger, it was sad enough when you told me he had cancer but now I'm really bummed out. This next tea's for Gerry, he was a very nice chap indeed.

Thursday - 21st December
    That's really awful, I had no idea. Gerry was a great man - he always had time for everyone. He'll be really missed.

After Christmas
    Oh whoah, I didn't even know he was sick. He was definitely a college legend. That's really, really ****. Bummer.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Friday - 22nd December
    undecided, might show up if not stuck in the basement cursing at fiddly equipment (no, not that kind), in which case I'll be cursing at strange internet folk.

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    Anyone any preference where we go?

After Christmas
    In this freeze-your-cock-off, nipples-which-could-cut-glass weather, I vote somewhere warm. Kennedy's?

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    The Kennedy's at the corner of Westland Row? Sounds like a plan. 'Tis near enough to Seashell too for some food after.

Friday - 22nd December
    Bah, windjammer!

Kev's apartment, he could cook us dinner

monday to thursay 2 for 1 16 inch pizza voucher for apache.!

I say pav. or gingerman. or pav. not kennedys. there's something about kennedy's i don't like. too geneticy.

Myth, seashell is imo a **** chipper. The lido on pearse street is much better.

the windjammer, the windjammer is a nice place to buy wine and cans when the pubs close. other than that, don't go there. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

gymrabbit wrote:
    I say pav. or gingerman. or pav. not kennedys. there's something about kennedy's i don't like. too geneticy.

The Pav is closed. Kennedy's too geneticy?! (took me a minute to realise what you meant) Don't think so. My vote would be for Kennedys too, but can't make it :(
    gymrabbit wrote:
    Myth, seashell is imo a **** chipper. The lido on pearse street is much better.

I like the Seashell! And it's closer than Lido.

You sure the pav is closed? i think it's open. Are you calling me a liar? :)

The seashell nicer than lido? You're obviously just trolling me, nobody actually think's that's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Was told last week that Pav was closed, never actually went and checked but the source was reliable! (or at least I thought she was!!)

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    Mr. Easy mentioned Doyle's. Any objections? 6:30pm today?

It's near all major bus routes, which means less walking (and therefore less coldness!)

I won't be making it today. Second highest vote was for after Christmas, I went with that and I suggest you all do too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

I haven't gone to a single one of dese and I know like 3 of you...but yeah I might go...I'm good for whenever.

Fs. Have all the boggers fecked off home already?

I'll be in and around doyles then around 7 have training beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I think today is a crap day for it, such little notice means feck all will go. Might head over though, am in College now.

Should be after Christmas tbh, maybe the first week back.

Well there's nothing stopping us having two, I suppose :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Friday - 22nd December
    Myth wrote:
    Mr. Easy mentioned Doyle's. Any objections? 6:30pm today?

It's near all major bus routes, which means less walking (and therefore less coldness!)

Yay alcohol. I'll be a bit late..but I will be there evntually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Friday - 22nd December
    Hrmmm - do we have most of these peoples numbers between us? : Andrew 83, b.ie curious, çrash_000, kazbegi, Myth, original_psycho, Passport, Pet, stargal, agent smith, Ronny Mitchell - as they're the ones who said they could come today, or were easy.

hrmm - ok andrew knows me and donal, b.ie.curious would recognise enda or hils, original_psycho knows us, pet does too, as does stargal agent smith and ronny mitchell.

Kazbegi and passport, check your pm's if you get this - i'll pm yee my mobile and yee can ring if lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭paperclip

I say after christmas. Mostly because I'm at home in mayo now.

After Christmas
    I will not be able to make it, unfortunately. But, we should organise one after Christmas, and hopefully everyone will be able to show up, including me (the life and soul of the party, didntcha know).

Thursday - 21st December
    Yeah I'm stuck at home waiting for the rest of my group to mail me their parts of a project that's due in tomorrow. Exciting times.

Can we make it post-Christmas? Or maybe this can be mini-beers, as a precursor to Mega-Beers some time in January?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Anyone heading over? Send me a text/PM if ye are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    i won't be there either down in clare...after xmas sounds good

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    Only heading over now - Enda, I have your pink pencil case!

i'll be over in about an hour.

Thursday - 21st December
    Andrew's gone over as well

Friday - 22nd December
    wandered over after maiden gig, didn't recognise anyone so I left and got some sleep instead. Think I'm getting old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Troglodyte

I'm crash_000 (aka easy)
    So guys, how did the beers go? I'd be interested to hear.

Thursday - 21st December
    I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

After Christmas
    Andrew 83 wrote:
    I enjoyed it.
    I was working in fecking monaghan - but........... Now OFFICIALLY finished there and back in dublin today for some R&R. Off to donegal for crimbo and new year with the folks.

Caused SO much trouble at the christmas party including stealing the out of order sign off the lift doors and sticking it on everyone and sundry and then finding a "press and hold" sign.

Working in Tallafornia in the new year for 6 months.....

Hope it was grand and people have more stories to tell than "I enjoyed it".....