If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How do they get away with it? Off for the Week! [MERGE]

• 27-10-2006 09:20AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭

Well well well.

So far I have noted three of RTE Radio 1's main presenters off for the whole of next week

Maxi

Collins

Tubridy

The rest of us have to be back on Tuesday.

Anyone know what the deal is here?

Any more??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Well well well.

So far I have noted three of RTE Radio 1's main presenters off for the whole of next week

Maxi

Collins

Tubridy

The rest of us have to be back on Tuesday.

Anyone know what the deal is here?

Any more??

"Privilege days" - the bonus of the civil service worker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Priviledge days??

We are talking 2006 now are we.??

Priviledge days??

We are talking 2006 now are we.??

well, maybe it was a little tongue in cheek. Having said that tho, they are entitled to holidays, no?

and don't you hate listening to them anyway??:p

No I don't begrudge anyone holidays indeed.

Just that their "holidays" seem to mirror the school year.

I certainly don't have that set up.. Do you?

Fair play to you if you can get away with it.

I'm sure the people working in Iarnrod Eireann ,Bus Eireann and Dubbalin Bus would love those conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

FlutterinBantam I thought you were posting to tell of your impending holliday from his forum! ;)

Yep I heard the parish notices as well, ain't it great to be on 200,000 plus and be guaranteed 10-12 weeks holliers a year.

Mike.

Heh heh, Sorry raising yr hopes (and many others!)

No,seriously, I think we accept far too much from RTE and other organisations. We happily accept whatever they throw out without any recourse to challenge them on issues even as relatively trivial as this.

I can't help thinking that there is some dude down in Montrose laughing into his sleeve and saying into his white wine in Kielys of a Saturday night " Jaysus Killian when will those geezers out there cop on to the fact that we are bleeding them dry"?

Thats probably totally untrue;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,732 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Nonsense thread, tbh.

I'm sure you could take the holidays if you have the time built up.

You would find that these broadcasters don't take off any days midweek or the odd "duvet day", so their holidays are saved in chunks.

A horrible thing, envy. ;)

Indeed!

Even more horrible to be taken for a ride at your own expense and not be able to do anything about it-thats seriously horrible:D

Finally DMC reveals himself to be.......Ronan Collins! :D

Mike.

Even more horrible to be taken for a ride at your own expense and not be able to do anything about it-thats seriously horrible:D

So you don't begrudge them taking holidays, so you begrudge every single RTÉ employee? Damn, those are green tinted glasses! :D

Expert trolling, btw.
    Mike65 wrote:
    Finally DMC reveals himself to be.......Ronan Collins!

I can drum better.... ;)

Now I dont begrudge anyone holidays, however as stated in a previous post ,I have every right to question why the "first team" almost en bloc dissappear from the air waves every school break. I am a stakeholder in this organisation,I pay a hefty fee each year pay their wages,and expect the best possible service. To describe querying something like this as trolling is just a tad harsh.

I did notice Mr Hook on Noostalk emphasising that they will be on air all next week, so the opposition have this noted as well.

Ya see, everyone has an opinion on RTÉ. You appear to have more of a negative attitude to our national broadcaster. And I dare say you are not alone. A lot of the national press feel that way too (I'm looking at you, Evening Herald!)

I give them the benefit of the doubt, but I also recognise that I don't want a pound of flesh. Everyone wants value for money, me included. I complain through the proper channels, rather than complain on the interweb. My complaint about an employee and a publication is being dealt with. Much better that way.

Vent your spleen to audiencecouncil@rte.ie

There are a lot of things wrong in Donnybrook; as you may have seen I point them out here quite frequently. But there is a lot to defend about them too.

If you really wanted to complain about people taking holidays, complain about politicians, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

I've no problem with presenters taking a week off here and there, but what does piss me off is when the likes of Pat Kenny take nearly two months off for the Summer.

Good work if you can get it. I only get a fortnight off:(

That is EXACTLYmy point.

They have the same holidays as teachers for 10 times the salary.

DMC.. I have several times complained to RTE and got back the usual stock reply.You know what it is, I'm sure.

Thank you for that link,I will have a look at that .

As I pointed out on other threads,I listen to RTE1 quite a bit , but I expect value for money

They keep their contracts very close to their chest, and rightly, commericial value etc.

I agree, the 2 month thing looks like a joke. I don't think Tubridy gets the same deal as Kenny, though, he's often back in August and gets 2 hours for that.

There is one other thing that stuck me, and its not that uncommon in old state companies. Maybe, for the hours they put in, they get time-off in lieu of pay? Of course, we only think that they waffle into a mike for hour or two, but what about preparation, research etc? Pat Kenny, for instance on Fridays is on the radio at 10am, but still on the TV close to midnight? Tubridy works a 6 day week?

I'm just surmising here, playing devil's advocate. I'd still love to be on their pay! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

DMC wrote:
    Of course, we only think that they waffle into a mike for hour or two, but what about preparation, research etc?

I remember Gerry Ryan saying once that he worked until 4 or 5pm, preparing for the next days show, plus I imagine he shows up well before 9 o clock to read the papers etc.

Still, it's a lot of money for what they do.

Not that I'd say no to it if I was in their position, ya know, but still..........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I remember Gerry Ryan saying once that he worked until 4 or 5pm, preparing for the next days show...

Who'd have thought it takes him that long to decide what he wants from next morning's breakfast menu eh?

Ah now they work pretty hard sure enough.

What amazes me is that in spite of all the "hard work" they still have time to open supermarkets/barber shops/write newspaper columns/edit magazines/attend every dogfight between here and Timbuktu.

Ah they work pretty hard indeed..Uhmmmmmmm

Ehmmmm.. Looks like half of Montrose was over in Chicago for John & Moya's new musical. Maxi,Gerry & Mora,Gay & Kathleen.

Who else...?

Lets listen for the free plugs to find out.

Nice one, all buck-shee I would opine?. Now I am jealous

Ahhh... if its not wallet envy, its clique envy.. ;)

Granted, if this is brought to light on any show, there would be cause for complaints. No one is a fan of junkets*

*unless you are the one getting the freebie :D but seriously if you are a public figure, its high on my radar.

I note now that

Pat Kenny and Ryan are also off, for the week one presumes?

The reserve team seem to be manning Morning Ireland for the week too;)

Pity Mooney and Donohue wouldn't take a break-permanent!!:cool:

RTE keeps Dail time basicly.

Mike.

Suprising, the Dail was sitting today.... and I thought they took a week off for a public holiday! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

mike65 wrote:
    RTE keeps Dail time basicly.

Mike.

...and salaries it would seem.

I havn't heard Cahill on Drive time this week..hmmm
    seems to be a kind of hierarchy out there .
    Do you get teachers holidays or do you get the same as the rest of us.

I hear Joe Jackson has prerecorded about 200 hours of stuff for the Xmas period;) ;):D

I wonder are they all having an Inchydoney think-in? Or drafting a Mullingar accord?? :D

Just skimming through the Xmas radio schedules and see the usual so called "A listers" are missing from RTE1 all over Xmas and the New Year,and all at the same time!!.

They are just back after a week off at Halloween.

Cannot understand how a public service provider like RTE gets away with this.

Place will be on autopilot, with the joys of recorded programmes from Joe Jackson and Brendan Balfe..maybe even auld Val will get a run out.

And they have the nerve to critisise other business... rip off I say Rip off!!

So why open another thread, when all the same arguments will crop up?

Yawn. Change the record.