Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boxing/Maui Thai Private Tuition

• 13-12-2006 10:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭

Hey y'all,

Just wondering if there are any boxers/Maui Thai guys out there who can offer me some private tuition? My main aim is for self-defense purposes - with a view for increasing technique, power, speed and fitness. I'm not really into the competition side of things to be honest. My preference would be in the Kildare, Newbridge, Naas, Tallaght, area. But I would be prepared to travel up to Dublin if it was handy enough to get to from Houston.

So if it suits anyone send me a PM. :)

Thanks in advance,

Baggio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

Baggio... wrote:
    Hey y'all,

Just wondering if there are any boxers/Maui Thai guys out there who can offer me some private tuition? My main aim is for self-defense purposes - with a view for increasing technique, power, speed and fitness. I'm not really into the competition side of things to be honest. My preference would be in the Kildare, Newbridge, Naas, Tallaght, area. But I would be prepared to travel up to Dublin if it was handy enough to get to from Houston.

So if it suits anyone send me a PM. :)

Thanks in advance,

Baggio.

It probably wouldnt be suitable for you to come on a regular basis but my offer for you to visit us in Kokoro when ever you want still stands. We could arrange to meet at Connolly Station. You'd be able to jump on a Luas and go straight from Heuston to Connolly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Thanks Dave - Would it be Private Tuition? (as I tend to avoid crowds :D )

Cheers,

B.

Baggio... wrote:
    Thanks Dave - Would it be Private Tuition? (as I tend to avoid crowds :D )

Cheers,

B.

No but we're not a large club. There could be 10 - 15 people max. The offer is there if you ever want to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Baggio... wrote:
    My preference would be in the Kildare, Newbridge, Naas, Tallaght, area.

Sure you're only down the road from Paddy Clint http://www.chupasart.com/

I'm sure he'll be on here soon.

kenpo_dave wrote:
    No but we're not a large club. There could be 10 - 15 people max. The offer is there if you ever want to take it.

Hey Dave,

Thanks for the kind offer, but to be honest I'm really looking for private lessons I've always trained that way - prefer going it at my own pace, etc. I hope you don't think I'm being ungrateful.
    Clive wrote:

Thanks for the info Clive, I'll check out his site. I presume he does privates then?

Cheers guys,

B.

Clive wrote:

I've just PM'ed him... Thanks Clive.

Baggio... wrote:
    Hey Dave,

Thanks for the kind offer, but to be honest I'm really looking for private lessons I've always trained that way - prefer going it at my own pace, etc. I hope you don't think I'm being ungrateful.

Not at all. The offer is there all the same if you ever feel like dropping down.
    For the record. I dont think very highly of private lessons, especially with styles like Muay Thai, Kyokushin, Kickboxing etc. If you want to just get some technique to add to your own training, thats fine. But if you actually want to become good at the style you must be part of a club where you get to spar different people all the time, otherwise you'll only become good at sparring the instructor giving you the private lessons (IMO).

Good luck with it anyway.

Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

While you're there Dave, is that Shane Thomas the same ShaneT that posts here? He seems to be doing really well on the international stage, and I have to say I enjoy his articles in Irish Fighter.

Keep up the good work!

Jon wrote:
    While you're there Dave, is that Shane Thomas the same ShaneT that posts here? He seems to be doing really well on the international stage, and I have to say I enjoy his articles in Irish Fighter.

Keep up the good work!

Yes, Shane Thomas and ShaneT are one in the same person :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

If you're not interested in the fun and enjoyment that comes with training with a good bunch of lads (and girls) with different personalites and styles - private tuition is the way to go. Especially if you've got plenty of $$$, you're a little outside optimal fitness and you've a busy schedule.

6months private lesssons with Paddy Clint will be EXTREMELY beneficial to your overall game, whether that's SD/RDSA or fighting.

gymrabbit wrote:
    If you're not interested in the fun and enjoyment that comes with training with a good bunch of lads (and girls) with different personalites and styles - private tuition is the way to go. Especially if you've got plenty of $$$, you're a little outside optimal fitness and you've a busy schedule.

That's me alright.... 'cept for the $$$$ :)

kenpo_dave wrote:
    For the record. I dont think very highly of private lessons, especially with styles like Muay Thai, Kyokushin, Kickboxing etc. If you want to just get some technique to add to your own training, thats fine. But if you actually want to become good at the style you must be part of a club where you get to spar different people all the time, otherwise you'll only become good at sparring the instructor giving you the private lessons (IMO).

Hey Dave,

I might pop down at some point to say hello. :)

I've always trained privately and have had decent results with it. Also, I really want to just fine tune some of my skills that will improve my own training. I know where you are coming from - but if I became half as good as some of the guy that I'd like to train me. I'd be doing well... :)

Cheers,

R.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

Baggio, i started in Chupasart just this week and i recommend it, it's in a good location for you and Paddy is a good teacher, i know you prefer private tuition but all the lads i've trained with are all dead sound and always good to give pointers/advice if you're doing anything wrong, which is a lot for me at this stage;)

LundiMardi wrote:
    Baggio, i started in Chupasart just this week and i recommend it, it's in a good location for you and Paddy is a good teacher, i know you prefer private tuition but all the lads i've trained with are all dead sound and always good to give pointers/advice if you're doing anything wrong, which is a lot for me at this stage;)

Thanks for the advice LM - it seems like the place to be.:)

The other reson I wanted privates is that my fitness sucks.:o So at least that way I could get a bit fitter and then ease into a club. And as you said it's only down the road.

Cheers,

Bagg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

Bagg, TRUST me, i know exactly how you feel, my fitness was what was holding me back from doing anything like this... I am the most unfit person you will meet and i'm fairly self concious about it!! But i decided to do something about it.

It's tough, in my first class i had to stop a couple of times cos i was knackered!!:) but it's cool, it's nice and relaxed, if you gotta stop you gotta stop. The second class was just as hard, but i found it easier and before you know it it's over.

Come along man, we can be unfit together haha... there's a class on saturday @ 2pm and then again Monday @ 9pm.

LundiMardi wrote:
    Bagg, TRUST me, i know exactly how you feel, my fitness was what was holding me back from doing anything like this...

I'm not the fit guy I used to be...:o Dang! I'm getting old.

I still have fond memories the first time I went to boxing gym some years back. I thought I was going to drop dead after the first time, as you said it gets better after a while :D .

I think I could really get into the Maui Thai thing. Punching, elbows and knees - you can't go wrong :). It was Millionaire who gave me the initial idea... (Cheers Mill) Then I started to think about it. So here I am....

Cheers,

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Yo Rob

Yes the Muay Thai will compliment greatly your Combatives/RBSD, plus thats were you can add in your sparring.

Paddy works the boxing end of it very well too, so you will get your boxing hands back in no time.

In fact in my own Thai training, I would lean alot of my own bag work towards boxing.

Actually I find the opposite to what Kenpo Dave says about privates, I trained with Dave a few times down in Kokoro too (hi dave!), and Kokoro is an excellent fighting school... one of the best in Ireland. I think, they cover it all down there, and you either put up or shut up!

I found when I started Thai in private lessons with Paddy C, it really excelerated me in learning. I had an outstanding pad man, and Oaddy had to work hard to convert my kickboxing to the Thai style.

I also did group classes, and the problem there is that you may be landed with a crappy pad man, who does not work you right, nor push you enough. nor has the eye to point out small but vital mistakes.

As for sparring... yes go to group class for that, and spar everyone...even if they give you a licking. thats how you learn.

So I think the best solution is privates to get best pad work, and best i ndividual attention, and then do a group one when your ready for the sparring.

The way it works over here in thailand...there is no classes. you show up at training time, run before training, shadow, then you work the bags, until your Pad man calls you for 5 or 6 rounds (usually 4 - 5 min rounds), then your back on the bags. then you might get a clinch or spar after or somewhere in between. so its up to yourself.... you show up... let ur pad man know you arrived, and get stuck in yourself, until you get you call to the pads. then back to work alone. but its a great athmosphere as usually on the next bag, working beside you, you might have a top thai or world champion working away...so what I try to do, is use them as a pace maker, and keep up with their pace, speed, power and techniques.

That being said Baggio.... a good year in thai will take yor Combatives/RBSD to a new level.

I found when I started Thai in private lessons with Paddy C, it really excelerated me in learning.

Hey Gerry,

Thanks for the advice!

That's what I was hoping too - I think privates lessons would really sort out my technique. I've been hitting too much "air" from the conventional side of Mar Arts. So I think my impact is not what it should be :( .

Adding Maui Thai or Boxing skills to my self-protection principles would give me sound defensive skills for the street.

Cheers,

R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

As a personal boxing coach and trainer i have to say 1 on 1 sessions are unbelievable for perfecting your technique-plus it can be done at any pace-tactics can be discussed aswell-boxing is my thing but i get muay thai pt for my kicks and knees and any kickboxers i train always improve boxing skills drastically and quickly aswell-i always say that a 30 min pt session is like a couple of months group training as you get so much attention that its hard to learn incorrect form-just to add to that-i know loads of fighters and most are not good coaches as coaching is different than fighting-been a good fighter is helpful though!! best of luck baggio..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Bridgestone MT has privates for €35 an hour IIRC.

cowzerp wrote:
    As a personal boxing coach and trainer i have to say 1 on 1 sessions are unbelievable for perfecting your technique

Hello again,:)

I totally agree with you... as I've been doing Kenpo for a good few years and I'm obsessed with proper body mechanics (not saying that mine are perfect by any means). But you could be doing stuff incorrectly for a very long time in a group class (getting into bad habits, etc). Prefer to get the technique down first and then go into groups. But I always would continue training with privates as well, as I really enjoy that style of training...

Cheers,

R.
    JohnMc1 wrote:
    Bridgestone MT has privates for €35 an hour IIRC.

That's pretty darn cheap...considering they have an awesome reputation.:)

Thanks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭bella1

Jon wrote:

Keep up the good work!
    is this a joke? shane t doing well on the international scene one loss in holland one loss inthe ufr.oh ye doing really well...one of the top clubs in ireland in what.bjj judo mma thai dont thing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

bella1 wrote:
    is this a joke? shane t doing well on the international scene one loss in holland one loss inthe ufr.oh ye doing really well...one of the top clubs in ireland in what.bjj judo mma thai dont thing so.

Well that was respectful. I mean really. Good display of character there.

bella1 wrote:

is this Andy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭The Bored One

gymrabbit wrote:
    is this Andy?

Oh yeah, that reminds me, are you the kev who comes down to Kokoro every now and then or am I thinking of someone else?

bella1 wrote:
    oh ye doing really well...one of the top clubs in ireland in what.bjj judo mma thai dont thing so.

That's not very nice...Fair play to him for having the stones to compete.

Baggio... wrote:
    ye fair play to any body who competes.dont make them or there club out to be superstars when there only a new club on the scene.

Shane T is a top martial artist, and instructor too.

I trained down there just over a year ago when they open, when there was about 3 of us.

The training down there is 1st class, and its tough, and certainly tests your fortitude..

I admire Shane greatly for getting into the ring, and remember he is not a 20 year old college student who can skip class and devote all this time to training.

Anyway to the person who is slagging...how many times have YOU gotten in a ring to fight?

Baggio... wrote:

That was my sentiments exactly! Thats bad crack to be honest Bella1 and you on earlier giving out about a perceived lack of morality.

Fair play to the guy, he's Iris and he's doing what he likes to do on an international level. And his articles are still a good read.

ok ok im sorry dident know he had so many fans.cant wait to see him in the rot next year.should be easy for him since he is so good.and i have fought before.im a brown belt in tkd green belt in judo and a 3tip white belt in bjj.

bella1 wrote:
    ok ok im sorry dident know he had so many fans.cant wait to see him in the rot next year.should be easy for him since he is so good.and i have fought before.im a brown belt in tkd green belt in judo and a 3tip white belt in bjj.

hehe. so you're not AR.

Bored one - yes that's me. main2.jpg

Just to square a few things up. Nobody from Kokoro said they were anything. If people want to have a go at someone else, at least do it out in the open. Bella are you one of the kids training in SBG N?

ok the game is up.im not slaging shane ,i never met him just people saying there doing well on the international scene and there not is wrong.my name is andy ryan and my club is sbgnorthside. im having an open mat in the new year and all are welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

and I'm doctor Nick!

Hi everybody!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Jon wrote:
    Fair play to the guy, he's Iris and he's doing what he likes to do on an international level. And his articles are still a good read.
    He's Welsh.

welsh/Irish - same ting! we're all Celts! :-)

Say that to an Ulster Scotsman...

*cough*or someone with a winnie churchill sig *cough*
    damn this cough :D

Hey, leave Winston out of this! Just because he hated Dev!

everyone hated Dev!

Exactly! Nothing wrong with Winston, great man!

Great war strategist. Thats about it. His repressive legislation on Ireland during his time was nothing great at all!

Jon wrote:
    everyone hated Dev!

lol i was going to say that.

But everyone hated winnie even more.

Oh man I can tell I'm popular now. When it came to Ireland he was a first class pr1ck, but then so was every Tory PM before and since. But.... oh y'know theres no way I can convince anyone of this so I'll just quit. I'll put it to you this way, ask anyone outside Ireland about him and I bet they don't mention Ireland.

Roper wrote:
    Oh man I can tell I'm popular now. When it came to Ireland he was a first class pr1ck, but then so was every Tory PM before and since.

I dunno, John Major wasnt the worst :D

Bambi wrote:
    I dunno, John Major wasnt the worst :D

Tel the people of Canary Wharf that! :eek:

Roper, stick to your training :D:D

Jon wrote:
    Tel the people of Canary Wharf that! :eek:

Yeah Jon..... John Major....if he had of done what he was told and not acting the big fella....instead of his intrangence, and caused that bomb to go off in canary wharf. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭henryb

Jon wrote:
    everyone hated Dev!

Try saying that to my ol' man!!!

henryb wrote:
    Try saying that to my ol' man!!!

LOL :D

Ha yeah my Da is the same. There was a picture of my Granda and Dev in a drawer at home for years because if it was hung on the wall it might get damaged!!:D

lol dev locked my grand da up

Splitters! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭henryb

Bambi wrote:
    lol dev locked my grand da up

Splitters! :D

would that have been in a BJJ style lock?? lol.
    (no disrespect to your grandad of course)