Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitzwilliam €500 game on Saturday 16th December

• 13-12-2006 11:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭

As above, is this on Saturday?
    What time is it starting?
    starting chips? etc., etc.,
    Any Boardsies going?

(defintely no last longer bet this time, no way, no no no). If anyone is mad enough to start one, just give Lloyd the money:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I'm playing. And Dom has already been stupid enough to get in on a last longest bet with me. The fool.

I presume the following:

6pm kick - off. 8,000 starting stack. 45 minute levels with every conceivable level included and a good running ante coming in on a repeat of the 150 - 300 level.

I played the last time they ran this. The structure made for an exceptional tournament with loads of play. Hopefully there will be no changes. However, if anyone from the Fitz knows something I don't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Also planning to play this month, sounds like a great game and will be a nice warm up for the pokerevents game in early Jan.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Start time is 7pm (listed, so prob 7.30). They have been taking money of loads of tournies towards this so hopefully a good turnout. The restof Lloyds info (except the part about me being a fool of course, the gobsheen) is correct afaik.

Hopefully I will last longer than I did inthis the last time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

I believe a certian boardster is coming out of retirement for this, wearing a GJP hoodie as his sponsorship fund is paying his entry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Shortstack wrote:
    I believe a certian boardster is coming out of retirement for this, wearing a GJP hoodie as his sponsorship fund is paying his entry.

Gholi? lol - he lasted longer than I thought!
    ...I'd nearly make the trip just to bust him! (me bad :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

wow the gholi grail shall return

We miss him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭William Money

Is this a 2 day event?

If so does anyone know the start time on Sunday?

Is this a 2 day event?

If so does anyone know the start time on Sunday?
    This is listed as a 2 day event Ronan, but I assume it depends on runners etc. If Sunday is required then I would assume it will be around the 6 or 7pm mark to restart. I will ask Luke if I head in tonight.

Edit: Day 2 starts at 6pm, assuming there is a day 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

Best of luck to everyone playing in this. Really wanted to but I'm away this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭MickL

smurph wrote:
    As above, is this on Saturday?
    What time is it starting?
    starting chips? etc., etc.,
    Any Boardsies going?

(defintely no last longer bet this time, no way, no no no). If anyone is mad enough to start one, just give Lloyd the money:o
    Starts 7pm saturday open from 3 for one table sats
    Start stack 8K
    45 Min levels all levels included
    Ante from the repated 150 = 300 Level
    Play resumes 6 on sunday or if every1 will be happy at another time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Finished for the night at 4ish and back tomorrow at 7pm. 12 players left inlcuding myself and Luckylloyd.

I donked off half my stack the last 2 hands before we finsihed to end up on 23k. Average is about 40k and blinds are 800/1600 when we start tomorrow. Lloyd is doing quite well after a couple of nice double throughs late on to finish on about 50K+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Well done lads, hope tomorrow goes well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

best of luck lads.

"get in there...!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

fair play to both of you

Lloyd you're playing some great stuff lately

Were there many runners?

ocallagh wrote:
    fair play to both of you

Lloyd you're playing some great stuff lately

Were there many runners?

59 Runners Niall. I didn't play very well atall yesterday. Got it all in early on with 1010 vs AA - spiked a 10 to stay in it. Won a couple of coin flips later on in the night.

Have some chips however - so hopefully I can make something happen this evening. Some good players with chips left though.

Tony was unfortunate the last two hands. Still in there with a shout though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

12 left?
    how many paid?
    any other noteable names left?

ditpoker wrote:
    12 left?
    how many paid?
    any other noteable names left?

Only 6 get paid. I think its €12.5k for 1st down to €1k for 6th. Liam Barker and Mick Frisbee on my table. Also a chap i know quite well, Will Scanlon. Super player that got a nice €12k win in the EPT side event recently.

Not sure whos on the other table but i think Peter H is chip leader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Lads best of luck in this later - the two of you are in proper form lately.

gl lads.

I played good poker for 2 levels got up to 16k and than donk it all away with bluffs and overplaying marginal hands, just really bad poker and put myself on tilt. Went out around 30 odd, but bad night in general.

Ollieboy wrote:
    gl lads.

I played good poker for 2 levels got up to 16k and than donk it all away with bluffs and overplaying marginal hands, just really bad poker and put myself on tilt. Went out around 30 odd, but bad night in general.

It was a handy €100 you left us for the last longest! I expected you to be hangin around the business end of this tournie...ul

Flushdraw wrote:
    It was a handy €100 you left us for the last longest! I expected you to be hangin around the business end of this tournie...ul

I think it was a case of too many big games of poker this week mate, gl tonight.

and now I'm playing the 1k buyin on ladbrokes, will I ever learn...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Flushdraw wrote:
    Only 6 get paid. I think its €12.5k for 1st down to €1k for 6th. Liam Barker and Mick Frisbee on my table. Also a chap i know quite well, Will Scanlon. Super player that got a nice €12k win in the EPT side event recently.

Not sure whos on the other table but i think Peter H is chip leader
    any updates???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

any updates???

Last I heard they were down to 9, both LuckyLloyd and Flushdraw are still in.

Back home now.Lucky Lloyd went out just ouside the money in 8th when he reraised allin from the BB, only to find Liam with JJ. Lloyd didnt have much so that was all she wrote. Unlucky that he never got it going at the FT.

I was down to 7700 on the bubble with blinds 1500/3000 but managed to hang on and win a couple of coin flips to get up to 30k. That allowed me to play a bit and i managed to go on to take 3rd for €4500.

A bit of luck along the way (including AdJd allin against KK, flop is Kd10d5d) but also a bit of bad luck to level it up. Happy enough with the performance considering i was short stack coming back today and at least it covers my losses for the disasterous night i had during the week!

Walter and another young chap, Adam i think left battling it out. It was to and fro for about 20 mins before i left so its anybodys game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

nice result, wp

I picked a bad time to attempt a move on Liam (who doesn't need AA to raise and can lay down a hand). It was one of those situations where he would lay down 1010 or lower and AQ or lower. However, he was slightly better than that with JJ and I was done.

Never saw anything to work with for the two hours of play that I saw and it wasn't to be.

Tony put in a brave performance, winning a few coinflips along the way for another good result. Well done mate.

The winner will either be Walter (who played some brilliant poker over the two days); or the biggest luckbox west of the Missippi (you read it right - think about it).

Great structure, great tournament - looking forward to the next one.

It was the right move but at the wrong time Lloyd but thats poker. Youre spot on about the luckbox. Some crazy outdraws to get himself headsup. His westlife groupies loved it too!

It was a good tournie and a good structure which made for lots of play. (I was never allin until the FT) The only gripe was the jump from 2000/4000 with a 200 ante to 3000/6000 with a 500 ante.

Its a pity i'm up at 6 for work coz i could really do with a lie-on in the morning!

P.S Cheers Sikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

Adam Fallon what a hero!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

A split was done headsup for €9.5k each.

Well done to both of ye on making it so deep. That was a pretty funny hand with the AJ Tony, as Roundtower says you gotta win the coinflips!! :p

I was doing quite well in the Tournament, not getting into much trouble, a bit of stealing nothing too serious. lucky Lloyd was my BB and we were being quite civilised, no messing. Then the idiot hand happened. I did the standard raise to 1,500, blinds are 200 400 (I think) in the SB, with pocket 7's Lloyd raises to 5 k in the BB. I put him on AK (which I know is the hand you want him to have when you have pocket 7's). I call. Flops comes down 10, 2, 2. I check and he goes all in for approximatel 5K, I call and he shows Pocket Kings. So basically I donked away 10K. IKnow I played the hard terribly, probably the only major mistake I made, but sometimes that's all it takes.

Down to 5K which i nursed for over 2 hours after that, hovering between 5k - 9K. I never got a hand. We got down to two tables and our table was very tough. It was hard to pick any spots to get chips. I was getting muck and with my stack I would have to be willing to put all my chips in the middle. If I'd got suited connectors i would have cried with happiness. Got K4offsuit 2, 8 muck like that.

Then the hand that crippled me, which I was happy enough with because i went in with the best so nothing I could have done. In LP and I look at pocket JJ's so I go all in for 8K, Conor Smith calls with Pocket 9's and another player Leonard goes all in for approximately 7,300 with AKoffsuit.

Flop is 7 7 3, 10 on turn and the killer K on River.

I got a side pot for 1,200 chips which went in the next hand with Q6offsuit and thats all she wrote. Enjoyed the game immensly and delighted Flushdraw made the money. Unlucky not to make the money Lloyd, you were certainly motoring the night before.

I was card dead and only got above starting stack for about 2 hands in the first 15 minutes :(

LuckyLloyd wrote:

The winner will either be Walter (who played some brilliant poker over the two days); or the biggest luckbox west of the Missippi (you read it right - think about it).

Great structure, great tournament - looking forward to the next one.

I heard liam describing his exit hand, "I raised with aks, the kid that can't play reraised, I pushed all-in and he called with a9 and hit his nine."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

Didn't play in this, 500 quids worth of Christmas shopping took precedence over 500 quid of self indulgent poker. Got breathalysed on my 1st night out with my new motor. (one beer in me but I passed ...phew) watch out this Christmas they are everywhere, especially Stepaside. (Or maybe don't drink and drive ..probably a better idea:-)

WP Tony Flushdraw. (oops is that a semi-outing)

Anyway for all you regulars of The fitz and sporting emporium. What are the opening times and events over the Christmas break. Link anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Solksjaer wrote:
    What are the opening times and events over the Christmas break. Link anywhere?
    The Fitz never closes afaik, but there's no poker on Christmas day.

I heard liam describing his exit hand, "I raised with aks, the kid that can't play reraised, I pushed all-in and he called with a9 and hit his nine."

Liam's exit hand was sick. Two things:

A) The kid that split it - Alex something. Some of his friends might post here or read (he might himself), however - I have never seen a guy go in as far behind as he did four times in big pots and pull out every time. He didn't play well atall and was blessed to finish where he did. His general attitude and demeanour at the table isn't very good either IMO.

B) I have played quite a bit at the same table as Liam over the past few weeks. He is the absolute business as far as I am concerned. A real class player - on and off the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Was this kid wearing a cap?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

LuckyLloyd wrote:

His general attitude and demeanour at the table isn't very good either IMO.

Was he pounding his fist with delight on the table and kicking chairs? :D

Now now stop it, Lloyd has improved immensly. He now does a kind of Rocky thing. Jumping up and down in the same spot and only a small yelp of yes out of him, then back to the seat. Very impressive.

Even more impressive was the hand where I raised with the monsters that are 10cJc for half of my measly 9k stack, Lloyd re-raised everyone folded, i called. He turned over AKoffsuit.

Flop comes down J 10 5 blank blank, and he never left his chair, never said anything although I know in his mind he was strangling me.:) :)

Keep up the good work Lloyd.

Apart from the chair kicking, very much so.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    - I have never seen a guy go in as far behind as he did four times in big pots and pull out every time. He didn't play well atall and was blessed to finish where he did. His general attitude and demeanour at the table isn't very good either IMO.
    One of my friends was knocked out my him with KQ on a K78 board, mate bets and luckbox pushed all in, mate calls after a think and he shows JJ, your man hits a Jack on the river, this with 10 left. sick stuff.

kinaldo wrote:
    The Fitz never closes afaik, but there's no poker on Christmas day.
    It is open 24/7/365, and there was a cash game last year on Xmas day I heard. Ill.

I have a flyer at home for the slightly amended Fitz scedule at home, but it is something like this (from the top of my head).

Friday 22nd, Scalps but with 2 rebuys or 1 and a topup.
    Tuesday 26th, 100 with 1 rebuy

Other ones too, but those are the only ones I can remember.

I think his fav pastime is pulling off a bluff and having a little snigger at the other guy. not a nice young man.

5starpool wrote:
    It is open 24/7/365, and there was a cash game last year on Xmas day I heard. Ill.

tut tut
    For a man who hates 'textspeak' to type the word Xmas instead of Christmas... Sacrilegious, that what it is, Sacrilegious.
    I remember the ol dear RIPPING UP a christmas card one year as I took the word 'Christ' from Christmas and replaced it with X. The flick of a rosary bead into the eyeball is a sore thing indeed. (although a very impressive hit by the OD)

Tut tut ...Xmas indeed.

Solksjaer wrote:
    tut tut
    For a man who hates 'textspeak' to type the word Xmas instead of Christmas... Sacrilegious, that what it is, Sacrilegious.
    I remember the ol dear RIPPING UP a christmas card one year as I took the word 'Christ' from Christmas and replaced it with X. The flick of a rosary bead into the eyeball is a sore thing indeed. (although a very impressive hit by the OD)

Tut tut ...Xmas indeed.
    I'm multidenominational, me.

5starpool wrote:

Well an abi titmus to you so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

5starpool wrote:
    It is open 24/7/365, and there was a cash game last year on Xmas day I heard. Ill be there anyway for anyone who's knocking about....

Finished your post for you.

ianmc38 wrote:
    Finished your post for you.
    If I it was a choice between being stuck at home doing the same thing I've done for the last countless number of years or the above, then I would choose te above every time, but I am drawing dead on that one.

5starpool wrote:
    seasons greetings.

And Happy Holidays to you too.