Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abysmal tipping in the Fitz tonight....

• 13-12-2006 4:21am
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I dont like to tell anyone to tip or what to tip but tonight in the Fitz I'd say the dealers were getting 2 tips every orbit. Some people won hands of 2-300 without tipping.

The only thing I could think of was that perhaps these players (most seemed newish, or at least I didnt recognise them) just dont realise.

The dealers rely on tips for their living (as do the waitress who get even worse tips) so if imho if you win a pot of 15 euro or more a single euro would be nice, more then 70 and 2 would be reasonable.

If you are not happy with the dealer or the quality of the dealing then its fair enough not to tip but realisitically the cash dealers in the fitz are excellent and we are very lucky to have the quality of the clubs we have. Low rake (you should see the rake on the continent... eye-watering is the only word) and high quality dealers is something we should value so please consider the dealers if you are raking in a pot.

Just a thought...

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭Mr. Flibble

It sucks that dealers are made rely on tips for their wage. I hate feeling that I have to tip someone. I think tips should generaly be reserved for above standard service and always optional, although not in the case of Irish cardrooms of course as tips are the wage.

I absloutly despise the way you have to tip for every drink in you buy in US. Just charge $1 more and pay the workers!!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

True and I agree... part of my point though is that while we may not realise it we DO get better then average service. When I get poor service from dealers, I dont tip but this is not the case here... :(

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Richard W

It sucks that dealers are made rely on tips for their wage. I hate feeling that I have to tip someone.

Yeah, I hate that feeling too, but eh, don't the dealers get an hourly rate? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭lazlo

I tip when I feel like it. As Mr. Pink says 'they can get another job'.
    The majority of them are charismatic and intelligent enough to hold down many of the well paid jobs on offer in the city. We pay a table rate, and if that isnt sufficent for their wages then its up to them to complain to their bosses and have it increased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

anyone who doesnt tip regularly is a stingy bastard who deserves to get their aces cracked by rags every time

every pot i win i tip at least 2 euros, a decent pot of 200+ i tip 5 and when im leaving a table i give whatever loose chips i have to the dealer. its amazing over here the amount of people who dont tip dealers often enough/not at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Dealers do not rely on tips for their wages any more (not in the fitz anyway) but it does make a big difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

mdwexford wrote:

every pot i win i tip at least 2 euros, a decent pot of 200+ i tip 5 and when im leaving a table i give whatever loose chips i have to the dealer. its amazing over here the amount of people who dont tip dealers often enough/not at all

Why do you tip like that? Do you feel sorry for them?

How much have you given in tips in your poker career?

Do the dealers actually get the tips or not?

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Thats your 2000th post?!! For shame.

What were you expecting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    I find it odd that people have money to go in and gamble huge amounts in live cash on rubbish hands and speculative draws - amounts of money that would be eye watering to many people living in Dublin - and then are too up their own hole to throw €1 in the direction of the dealer whn they are raking in a €200 pot. Disgraceful.

maybe the tipping police could take over from the poker police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

Excuse my ignorance, but whats the house rake in cash games in Dublin ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

I would always tip the dealers reagardless of the size of the pot usually €2 for smallish pots and then anything that fits the size of the pot i just won and any spare chips i have if im leaveing i will throw to the dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

I would regard myself as a good tipper. But I'm always surprised when I play in the UK. If I win a pot I throw over a chip to the dealer and of course they can't accept it as tipping is illegal in UK casinos. However I don't notice a drop in service. Luton in particular has great staff. But of course the down side is the rake is higher.[Usually a table charge] I'm not sure which is the best way to go about things but it is what it is and in my mind what goes around comes around... Stingy with the dealers and the poker gods will be stingy with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I always tip when I win but you should never feel an obligation to tip. For most players tipping is a superstition anyway. Tbh - it probably looks dodgy : "Thanks for those aces, have a fiver......"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

WH BONNEY wrote:

€8 per player per hour. They take €40 every half hour.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

WH BONNEY wrote:
    I know it is different in every place, but I do know what is it in the Fitz.

50 min buyin - €7.50 per player/per hour (rake of €38 for table of 10, €34 for table of 9 per half hour)
    100 min buyin - €11 per player/per hour (rake of €50 for table of 9)

I always tip when I win a pot, even if it is a ****ty pot, and half the time it is so automatic I have to ask 'did I get you'? Most dealers will be honest and say if you did or not, especially when they know you. I don't begrudge it to them at all. I do slightly begrudge the rake, but as DeV says, that is low by international standards.

I hate seeing people not tipping, especially seeing people get 3 or 4 things from the waitresses and not tipping. I feel I am cheating them if I don't tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

It is understandable with some players say from the UK who are not allowed to tip in casinos in the UK, not to but j*sus I think you should definitely tip. If I win a big pot I tip big and normal pots 1 - 2 euros. If I miss the waitress for a couple of drinks i give a €5 every now and then during the night.

Maybe when these people are milling up for the Sandwiches and sausages they might think about tipping the waitress for the Free Coke or go across the road and pay €2 - €3 euro for one.

PASS THE WORD ON, TIP TIP TIP THE DEALERS AND WAITRESS STAFF FOR GOD SAKE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

Fully agree with this. €1 for a typical small pot is nothing. €2 is nicer and I will always chuck a red one (€5) at the dealer when its a juicy pot. The rake is another matter but I consider it good value in both the Fitz and the SE where the quality of dealer is excellent imo. I also like it when the dealer gets into the buzz at the table, particularly with most of the fitz dealers, it makes for an enjoyable time at the table.

One question I have though....is it expected that a further tip is given when cashing out ? I've had some nice cashouts recently and felt that I had been very generous at the table and it didn't occur to me to tip the floor guys until after I had left. What do you guys generally do if you've had a good night ?

I always tip when I've had a decent top 3 or chopped a tourney.

In the main, I find that some players at the cash tables actually just forget to tip, particularly guys that are making the transition from online to live play. I would often pass a light hearted remark about tipping the dealer and that usually works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

smurph wrote:
    It is understandable with some players say from the UK who are not allowed to tip in casinos in the UK

When I was in the Gutshot a couple of weeks ago everyone was tipping??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

eoghan104 wrote:
    When I was in the Gutshot a couple of weeks ago everyone was tipping??

The Gutshots not a casino. It's a private members club, hence tipping is allowed. I must have tipped £100+ there on Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

ianmc38 wrote:
    The Gutshots not a casino. It's a private members club, hence tipping is allowed. I must have tipped £100+ there on Sunday night.
    did you play the big Omaha game? 5/5/10 blinds? what do you think of the place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

eoghan104 wrote:
    did you play the big Omaha game? 5/5/10 blinds? what do you think of the place?

They had no Omaha on. I played the 5/5 NL Holdem game and the 1/2 PL Holdem the night after.

Thought it was a lovely club, really welcoming and friendly staff. Good atmosphere, nice tables, lots of fish etc. I did get several warnings for speech play which was annoying but all in all I was very impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Kamaldihnio

I thought the waitresses get more than the dealers in tips. So I was told. A higher % of them anyway. 1 euro of every pot you win no matter what the size is my new way of tipping, I think its fair and polite.

Gutshot rocks, some serious fishes, cleaned up 7 days in a row there. If only I could get runs like that in Ireland. Havent played in 3 weeks, too many bad beats. Got screwed in the fitz, AA and KK cracked 5 times in a row. Last hand of cards I played I floped the nuts, made 4 people go all in and got rivered by a flush. 64clubs 857 flop, A on the turn and you know the kinda stuff that just happens to you when your luck is out.

Whats any of this to do with this post, I dunno. Yeah everyone should tip a euro everytime they win. Its only gentle-manly.

I thought the waitresses get more than the dealers in tips. So I was told. A higher % of them anyway. 1 euro of every pot you win no matter what the size is my new way of tipping, I think its fair and polite.

Gutshot rocks, some serious fishes, cleaned up 7 days in a row there. If only I could get runs like that in Ireland. Havent played in 3 weeks, too many bad beats. Got screwed in the fitz, AA and KK cracked 5 times in a row. Last hand of cards I played I floped the nuts, made 4 people go all in and got rivered by a flush. 64clubs 857 flop, A on the turn and you know the kinda stuff that just happens to you when your luck is out.

Whats any of this to do with this post, I dunno. Yeah everyone should tip a euro everytime they win. Its only gentle-manly.

Doh, I did flop the nuts, I had 65clubs and flop was 478, just before the sharks eat me I hope. Forgot to mentions auld Steve Davis and Ken Doherty were playing, Ken beside me. Nice man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

5starpool wrote:
    I know it is different in every place, but I do know what is it in the Fitz.

50 min buyin - €7.50 per player/per hour (rake of €38 for table of 10, €34 for table of 9 per half hour)
    100 min buyin - €11 per player/per hour (rake of €50 for table of 9)

I always tip when I win a pot, even if it is a ****ty pot, and half the time it is so automatic I have to ask 'did I get you'? Most dealers will be honest and say if you did or not, especially when they know you. I don't begrudge it to them at all. I do slightly begrudge the rake, but as DeV says, that is low by international standards.

I hate seeing people not tipping, especially seeing people get 3 or 4 things from the waitresses and not tipping. I feel I am cheating them if I don't tip.

Jaysus, Ive played the cash games in the Fitz a handful of times. Always with a few drinks on board but never hammered. For the life of me I never recall paying the rake, whilst I can remeber the hands, that I tipped the dealer, who he she was and who i was sitting with but Im fcuked if I can remember a rake.

Whats happening to me ?

Is there a little rake fairy who breezes around the table and just takes the rake while your blissfully unaware & engrossed in another flop ?

Please say yes.

WH BONNEY wrote:
    Jaysus, Ive played the cash games in the Fitz a handful of times. Always with a few drinks on board but never hammered. For the life of me I never recall paying the rake, whilst I can remeber the hands, that I tipped the dealer, who he she was and who i was sitting with but Im fcuked if I can remember a rake.

Whats happening to me ?

Is there a little rake fairy who breezes around the table and just takes the rake while your blissfully unaware & engrossed in another flop ?

Please say yes.

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

just before the sharks eat me I hope.

They are more likely to 'eat you' for creating a new post to say this instead of editing your original one.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

WH BONNEY wrote:

Whats happening to me ?

Please say yes.
    Yes, excpet instead of calling the rake fairies (a much better term though to be honest), we usually call them dealers. They take it out of the pots to make up the amount based on the number of players at the table.

Rake Fairies. I like it. I must call Marq that this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

I just forget to tip. For people who don't play live cash much I think people need to be reminded to tip. After winning a pot most people are focused on stacking their € and never think about throwing something back. If you play many live tournaments its hard to get into a routine of tipping.

On several occasions after winning a big pot and forgetting to tip I got all these strange looks form the better players at the table and didn't realise why until a few hands later. You then start to feel uncomfortable and guilty and then this starts to effect my game. Generally I would always tip after winning a hand if only I could remember:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

5starpool wrote:
    I must call Marq that this weekend.

I must come in this weekend and watch you. I may even join in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

WH BONNEY wrote:

Please say yes.

YES

5starpool wrote:
    Yes, excpet instead of calling the rake fairies (a much better term though to be honest), we usually call them dealers.

Personally I prefer the term Rakeists. On occasion when I get upset I call them Serial Rakeists.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Rake Fairies.... lol, just *lol*.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Casino's have two options:

1: Increase the rake and pay the dealers more - no incentive for the dealers to do a good job. Customer loses, casino loses.

2: Leave it as it is and the dealers have to do a good job to earn their money. Customer wins and casino wins.

Anyone who begrudges a dealer a tip for good service is a tight wad who does not realise how good we have it over here. If the ratio of non tippers increases then you find the cost of the service that is being provided goes up but most likely the quality will go down. When people are rewarded for the quality of their work, they acheive a higher standard of work. There are very few people who genuinely take that much extra effort when they are being paid a set rate regardless.

Mike, for once, is bang on the money. (Someone note the date and alert the press :p)

Exactly my feelings on it.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

and Yo tipping big makes you look baller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

pok3rplaya wrote:
    and Yo tipping big makes you look baller.

Its spelt "balla". Only a non balla misspells balla:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

I've always been of the opinion that if you don't want to tip dealers you should play on the internet.

If you don't want to tip waitresses you should bring your own flask of tea, and make your own sandwiches, you stingy bastard.

It's not the dealers' fault that dealing happens to be one of the few professions where tipping is expected for average service.

thankfully there are a lot of extremely good tippers in the fitz (if everyone tipped like smurph, I'd be minted). There are also some people who just tip one euro regardless of the size of the pot, I was once tipped a single euro out of an 8,000 euro pot [the very next hand someone tipped me a pony out of a 3,000 pot, so you can see that things sometimes even out]. I don't mind when people only tip a quid a hand, I think it's fair enough especially if you are playing for a living. Players who don't tip at all piss me off something awful. Even with the good tippers in the club, I make less than a euro per hand dealt because of the people who don't tip at all.

People often say (and have said in this thread) that they don't tip because of the table charges. I've often been quietly livid at the table when someone tips and another player says "you shouldn't give him anything, we're paying enough in rake as it is" (this has happened on more than one occasion).

Until a year ago, dealers in the fitz did not get an hourly wage, and so the rake was entirely seperate from our wages. Since early this year, we have been paid 8 euro by the club fr each hour that we work, and then we get our percentage of the tips cash in hand each week. If you believe that dealers shouldn't be tipped because they are already paid a wage, ask yourself whether you would work a twelve hour night shift dealing with drunken idiots and constant abuse for 96 euro. Yeah, I didn't think so.

Remember that when you tip it doesn't all go to the dealer dealing that table. We share the tips at the end of the week and the floorpeople get their cut out of that, which I think is quite fair. In the Fitz have you ever tipped Luke when he's on the floor? Probably not, but he's essential to the games running smoothly.

I like to think that I'm a good dealer. I probably talk too much at the table, and I've realised recently that some of the things I say can be inappropriate, and I'm trying to change that. Sometimes players give out to me for talking. I generally tell them to **** off. Go play at home. With yourself.
    I reckon I deal more hands per hour than about at least 90% of the dealers in the Fitz, which means that when I'm dealing your table, the amount of rake that you are effectively paying is less than when someone else is dealing.

We have some excellent dealers in the Fitz. some of them post here (MickL, biteme, NicRyan). I guarantee you that if players stopped tipping none of us would continue to work in the Fitz. The standard of dealers would drop dramatically or the rake would increase to the point where the games are almost impossible to beat (just look at the continent).

I've always seen tipping as part of the rake. I actually quite like tipping. A euro is not that much money, and I think that tipping creates a good relationship between the staff and the punter, but that's just my opinion, and I doubt many would agree.

PiperT wrote:
    One question I have though....is it expected that a further tip is given when cashing out ? I've had some nice cashouts recently and felt that I had been very generous at the table and it didn't occur to me to tip the floor guys until after I had left. What do you guys generally do if you've had a good night ?
    It's not strictly necessary to tip while cashing out. I generally tip my odds if I haven't already flung them at the dealer. As I mentioned before the floorperson is going to get a cut of the table tips anyway. Tips to the Cashier (the cage) do not go to the pokerstaff, but the staff of the pit.
    In the main, I find that some players at the cash tables actually just forget to tip, particularly guys that are making the transition from online to live play. I would often pass a light hearted remark about tipping the dealer and that usually works.
    I love it when there are a couple of players at the table who notice when someone hasn't tipped and remind them of it, it saves me from doing it. I often find that a lot of new players just forget to tip, and a gentle reminder is enough to coax them into giving me a gratuity. I have some subtle and some not-so-subtle methods for reminding people to tip, but in general I prefer not to be the one that has to say it - I think it looks greedy, probably becuase it does. I only say it when I think someone has forgotten or doesn't know the ettiquette for live play, never when I know someone is just a bad tipper or someone that doesn't tip on principle.

Mike Lacey's points above are very good.
    5StarPool wrote:
    Rake Fairies. I like it. I must call Marq that this weekend.
    thankfully I will be in Vienna this weekend. Call Klaudia a rake fairy instead.

Oh and for the record, waitresses tend to earn more than dealers because of the better level of tipping.

Marq wrote:
    I reckon I deal more hands per hour than about at least 90% of the dealers in the Fitz,

at risk of taking this thread off topic I see this as a major issue in live poker - I am on record as saying that the dealer is the only person at the table who can put me on tilt.....

I hate slow dealers and whilst there are some excellent dealers in the Fitz there are some godawful ones also. IMO the SE has the best standard of dealers in Dublin - I have seen them take the time to train people before they let them deal - I have been in the Fitz when Luke put a young lad on his first night into a table and i reckon 12 hands an hour would have been optimistic (we were 3 handed) - to be fair to Luke on the same night he copped it pretty quickly and put in another dealer.

rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

Tips..

I won 3 grand in the bookies a good few weeks ago (unbelievable fluke, no clue about horses apart from Abracababara) I gave the two lads behind the counter 50 quid each and skipped my way out of the bookies whistling .
    They were astonished and one told me it was too much and was giving it back. My reason for giving it was not for the cries of ' oh ain't her a great fellow' . (which I am) but I'm a strong believer in Karma. What ya give out comes back. (remember that ya miserable gits)

A guideline for tipping dealers in my opinion.
    Pots up to 50 quid -> 1/2 Euros
    Pots up to 150 quid -> 2/5
    Over that as you please. for 500 I'd give 15/20 .

For tournaments cashes. I ask the TD what the normal is. (not a huge amount of experience there I'm afriad :-( ) ..but I am ahead :-)

PS Talking dealers are fine in cash games but not in Tournys.

Marq wrote:
    Oh and for the record, waitresses tend to earn more than dealers because of the better level of tipping.

to be fair they generally have longer legs, a nicer ass, a cuter smile and bigger tits than most of the dealers so it also helps. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭Mr. Flibble

So it looks like the tips are shared between all the dealers. So how is there any more incentive to be a good dealer than getting a wage without tips? Sure if you are a great dealer players will tip more when you are at the table, but if its pooled between everyone you will see very little benefit in being a better dealer that the rest.

The way it is set up at the moment I feel I have to tip as it is the wage for the whole staff. I think in a perfect world tips should be reserved for above average work, and of course should go to the person you tip.

True Mr flibble. And unfortunate.
    I expect I would make much more money if I kept my own tips and gave a percentage to the floorperson, but that's unlikely to happen, so it's still in my interests to do a good job as if I get tipped more I will still see more money at the end of the week than if I didn't.

For the record I tip at least a euro every pot, and I would say that my average for pots above 50 is 1.5-2%

Nice posts Marq, agree with all of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

i rarely play cash games so i cant stateif i am a good tipper or not, my policy is usually if im raking a few chips toward me to throw one or two singles the way of the dealer. biggest pot i've ever won is about 200 so i'm hardly a tipping expert.

i was in the jackpot the other night and someone was talking about the implied losses of tips. effctively he was saying how if you tip 1-5 every time you win a pot, it means that later in the night you will have, for example, 50 euro less in front of you than you should, and when you get into another big pot you stand to win 50 less of your opponent. his argument was that if you are the tipping type, that you are better off knowing what you want to tip for an evening, and when you leave your seat, if you are a big winner, tip big, if a small winner, tip small, if you bust, dont tip. im not sure ive explained this well, does anyone know what im getting at here? from a dealers point of view, would u prefer a euro or two every pot, or a bigger tip at the end of the night...?

ditpoker wrote:
    his argument was that if you are the tipping type, that you are better off knowing what you want to tip for an evening, and when you leave your seat, if you are a big winner, tip big, if a small winner, tip small, if you bust, dont tip. im not sure ive explained this well, does anyone know what im getting at here? from a dealers point of view, would u prefer a euro or two every pot, or a bigger tip at the end of the night...?

If people tipped like this, I would earn about 10% of my current tips.
    And I'd go work for the man.
    Most players are losing players, but at least they tip me on the way down.