Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jackpot H.O.R.S.E. €50+5, Sat 16th Dec, 8pm.

• 12-12-2006 12:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭

1. Who is running the event: Jackpot Card Club on behalf of lots of boardies!
    2. The purpose of the event: GAMBLE!!! And to prove that I am a great cross-discipline poker player, unlike all you hold'em players out there!
    3. Date and Location of event: Saturday 16th December, Jackpot Card Club.
    4. Registration and Start time of event. 8pm start.
    5. Any prerequisites: membership of club.
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number:no max per se.
    7. Type of Tournament: HORSE - holdem, omaha hi/lo, razz, stud, stud hi/lo. All games are limit.
    8. Cost of entry:€50
    9. Cost of registration: €5
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: 100%
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. no.
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. no rebuys, this is a freezeout tourny.
    13. Starting Chips: 10,000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. n/a
    15. Blind levels: first 3 levels, 30 mins. 20 mins after the break.
    16. Blind timeframes: game changes every blind level.
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc): Approx 10% of field
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill: myself and one or two others have volunteered to deal this. If we get knocked out this becomes self-deal as the Jackpot cannot provide dealers proficient in all game disciplines. Equally, the dealers will probably struggle at first so all help in sorting pots will be greatly appreciated. Anyone giving out to the dealer will be shot.
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules: i really hope so.
    20. Is there a tournament director. yes.
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. the TD.

ok... any questions. I spoke to Sarah in the Jackpot and she seemed to want to play, and to let it be an open tourney, so... COME ON DOWN!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Was it originaly sunday, or did i just screw up when making plans??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

Razz is upsetting..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

was originally a sunday but the jackpot have a tourny on a sunday so they offered us saturday, we accepted. or something.

if people could state in this thread their intention to play so we have an idea of the expected numbers.

i'm in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I'm in, still upset about this 5e reg fee, and someone will have to point out which hand wins the pot in most instances if I am to deal.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

shoutman wrote:
    I'm in, still upset about this 5e reg fee, and someone will have to point out which hand wins the pot in most instances if I am to deal.
    Sounds like this will be a high skill game :rolleyes:

5starpool wrote:
    Sounds like this will be a high skill game :rolleyes:
    you playing dom?? lots of dead money!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

you still holding thru on your word about all DIT player getting a hoodie for their troubles?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ditpoker wrote:
    you playing dom?? lots of dead money!!
    Sounds like fun, and I would be as dead a money as anyone in most of the games, however it clashes with the Fitz 500 I am sorry to say. This will be a pain in the arse to deal though, so good luck!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

im still in, and the offer to deal is dependant on how many pints im in the mood for

Im in.
    Razz is still upsetting...

Trippie wrote:
    im still in, and the offer to deal is dependant on how many pints im in the mood for
    ditto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

how come the games change every blind level rather than say a round of each? to get used to the game? good idea anyway, be a beatch tryin to remember how to deal each game and how to play etc.
    good luck with this jeff, cant play but def would if i was able, v good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Jeff,

I'd love to play this..sounds like great craic and i'd love to take all the students monies but i think i'm going to play the fitz 500 game. If anything changes though i'll let you know. Good luck with the game lads

Flushdraw wrote:
    If anything changes though i'll let you know. Good luck with the game lads

so if you get busted out in the first level you will down then tony?

WHO IS PLAYING!?

me, fiddlesticks, shoutman, trippie.... and...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

i think ill be in, going down to galway on friday for that team pokerevents thing. luckbox is in aswell. pm doc farrell and see if he's interested.

lol at AKQJT, im sure Doc would love to play as some kind of ecumenical agreement, to spend X amount of time with students. :) what team event is on for PE?

Trippie wrote:
    so if you get busted out in the first level you will down then tony?

Sounds about right! Although i'm feeling fresh seems how i havent played live poker for a week so i'm hoping to last just a little longer!

Can't make it sat night,
    so my student low limit poker is on hold until the janurary game,
    roll on the student championships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Legend_DIT

Holdem game, Friday afternoon at 2 in Aungier St, lads? €15 freezout or €5 rebuy depending on majority preference beforehand - win your entry into the HORSE game!! :D

Legend_DIT wrote:
    Holdem game, Friday afternoon at 2 in Aungier St, lads? €15 freezout or €5 rebuy depending on majority preference beforehand - win your entry into the HORSE game!! :D

u cant just hi-jack a thread like that! :p

you playing on sat!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Legend_DIT

Not hijacking if I mention HORSE at the end - we could call it a Hold'em satellite for it!

Nope, busy Saturday night, and I believe being a luckbox while HORSE is probably more difficult anyway! :D

while i doubt it matters much, reg for this is now only 3 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

check pm ditpoker

Is there enough numbers for this?

i'd say we'll have a STT and some left overs! :p fiddlesticks playing? he;s very quiet, expected to see him talking up his razz game.

good news too on this front, from january its likely that we can have a bi-weekly €xx+€3 game of anything we want. efffectively its a student game and we choose what we do with it. have to iron out details with sarah but i think we're gonna be looking at a 27+3 round of each tourney.

also, if it turns out that there;s only 6 or 7 of us we change the buy in or levels etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

ditpoker wrote:
    i'd say we'll have a STT and some left overs! :p fiddlesticks playing? he;s very quiet, expected to see him talking up his razz game.

good news too on this front, from january its likely that we can have a bi-weekly €xx+€3 game of anything we want. efffectively its a student game and we choose what we do with it. have to iron out details with sarah but i think we're gonna be looking at a 27+3 round of each tourney.

also, if it turns out that there;s only 6 or 7 of us we change the buy in or levels etc etc.

ooh I like the sound of that
    There is slight chance I may be able to play tonight, see how things develop.

oh yeah, im still hear..bin busy wit stuff!! Is my favourite cardplayer in the world (aodea) playing??
    Razz is now the most upsetting thing in the world...:(

also, plo is emotional!

the legend that is aodea will be attending... its grand though, he's rubbish at holdem and omaha, and stud... his razz game will baffle and excite!

rob, if your playing are you bringing your "guest" for support? :p

talk of joe oneill playing, i'd doubt it though.

Jeff, gonna have to miss this game tonight. Against my better judgement, i'm gonna play the fitz 500 game. I'd be into playin the next one you have but try not to clash it with a big festival game! Good luck tonight lads...make sure you post details of the fights over what the nut low was in a particular hand!

so anyone up for pints before this then?

Trippie wrote:
    so anyone up for pints before this then?
    burn...:D

best of luck with this lads,

12 players, 600 prizepool, played from 8pm through to 4am with one 15 minute break. 10k stack made for LOTS of play! if we are to do this again we're gonna have to work out the format a bit better me thinks. at 4am there was a 3 way chop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

3 players who split were Oscar, Jeff and Alan from DCU
    Alan and Oscar played well but Jeff on the other hand could be described as a big giant luckbox
    In (O)maha he decides to push on flop of T77 (2 diamonds) with 98xx, Trippie has trip 7's with flush draw. Needless to say the turn is a Jack, river is blank and Trippie is gone with Jeff asking was it a good play.
    Honestly, donkey stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

cooker3 wrote:
    Alan and Oscar played well but Jeff on the other hand could be described as a big giant luckbox
    In (O)maha he decides to push on flop of T77 (2 diamonds) with 98xx, Trippie has trip 7's with flush draw. Needless to say the turn is a Jack, river is blank and Trippie is gone with Jeff asking was it a good play.
    Honestly, donkey stuff!

Who's alan? he ever at pokersoc?

cooker3 wrote:
    Honestly, donkey stuff!

if you're gonna slag me at least get the details right. I had T,T,8,6. Flop was 977, two diamonds. blinds were 300-600, and there'd been a sneaky min raise to 1200. 4 players see the flop (4800). checked to me and i bet out 2000 (6800), trippie pushes for what turned out to be about 10k. (pot now 16800) and its costing me 8k to call. If i call and lose i still have 15k plus. according to my omaha poker calculator that i have in my brain trippie is a 70.12% to my 29.88% to win the hand. costs me 8k, to win 16+my own 8k and eliminate a player. odds justify the call. great hand by me. i am an expert omaha player afterall! :p

I left at the break and I was chip leader, where did I finish up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

Did u guys make all the games pot limit instead??

no the final 8 was dragging on a bit and everyone was getting fed up playing limit stud games except for me (they were the only games i could luckbox my way into contention in) so we decided to do something different and go for PLO.

Ps. Jeff was so bad at it he hit runner runner flush and still declared two pair just after he busted me the jammy git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

So did people enjoy the fact that it was H.O.R.S.E or would you have prefered a deep stacked NLHE game?? Im gutted i missed this..

But most importantly Jeff proved he's not just a jammy hold'em player, hes a jammy poker player!

So did people enjoy the fact that it was H.O.R.S.E or would you have prefered a deep stacked NLHE game?? Im gutted i missed this..

i thought the horse was great. You get fed up playing foldem holdem all the time and it was a nice break from it. Plus i wasnt half bad at the stud games.

I didnt really play much of the H.O as during these games were the only times i was able to go for pints as the antes every hand killed you during stud if you werent there. I think that he structure needs to be ammended for it as there were slight problems with it and also some drinks breaks should be incorporated into it if it is on a saturday night in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

The structure was far too slow for a 50euro tournament on a Saturday night but a bit of tweaking and you should hold it more ofen maybe every second time with the round of each.

i have 2 requests for those people who know what they're talking about:

1. design a horse structure that would work for an 8pm-2am tourney, thats 6 or even you could do 7 hour tourney. 6k stack? how would blinds work?
    2. can someone design a structure for a PLHE/PLO Round of Each Tourney, again 8pm-2or3.

ditpoker wrote:
    1. design a horse structure that would work for an 8pm-2am tourney, thats 6 or even you could do 7 hour tourney. 6k stack? how would blinds work?
    2. can someone design a structure for a PLHE/PLO Round of Each Tourney, again 8pm-2or3.

i thought the idea behind the round of each saturday tourney was so that it would be finished by half 12/1ish so we could head out for a while after.

i would prefer if it was horse as i think playing all the games is a bit of craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

You could try it with 10k stacks again but the blinds need to go up every blind level not at the end of every HORSE, also the antes were out of proportion, they should be around 10% of the blinds - this will matter more if the structure is faster, also there was no point starting with 30minute blinds, just gave us time to go for a pint.

I would suggest making the ROE doublechance as PLO is a game where you will need to get it in on a draw, you should have enough experience running a 6hour tournament to find a decent structure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

Anybody want to try this again. I remeber last time not caring very much but hey it would be different for a change!!!

Ps. My holdem and Omaha have got worse if thats possible!!

aodea wrote: »
    Anybody want to try this again. I remeber last time not caring very much but hey it would be different for a change!!!

Ps. My holdem and Omaha have got worse if thats possible!!

If you ran this I'd play for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

well thats two plus ditpoker said he would play so three so far. if we market it as the irish horse championship we should get hundreds of runners. How is your razz cause mine is AWSOME.

aodea wrote: »
    well thats two plus ditpoker said he would play so three so far. if we market it as the irish horse championship we should get hundreds of runners. How is your razz cause mine is AWSOME.

I've been getting it in with the worst possible hand since before you could play poker.