Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Zelda impressions

• 08-12-2006 10:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭

Well? i'm sure all you guys have had time to play zelda since this morning, what's your first impressions after what was prolly a long - all day session :D

Have to say myself, the graphics over composite on a HD ready lcd are almost unwatchable. :( Component cables! I need em'!!

The game play and story have been excellent so far
    (only about 3 hours in myself) But I'm really enjoying it.

But again, even with component whenever I get my hands on a damned cable, I still dont think the graphics will be vastly improved? I can think of nicer old gen games over composite:

wind waker/metroid/splinter cell CT/conker/halo2 :rolleyes:

I know it's not about graphics, but I'm sure I am not the only one playing on a hdlcd! I have to sit right back in my room to enjoy the game, cause that way I dont have to look at the jaggy's, and splunge textures.

This is coming from someone used to HD GoW :o But I just cant believe how "old gen" it looks, and not even good old gen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭scrapland

Yeah i havent booted it yet. I'm gonna wait till my component cable arrives - just dont think i'd be happy seeing the washed out jaggy blured rubbish picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

scrapland wrote:
    Yeah i havent booted it yet. I'm gonna wait till my component cable arrives - just dont think i'd be happy seeing the washed out jaggy blured rubbish picture.

Seriously man, it looks like someone spooged all over the screen :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Haven't spoiled myself with any hi-def TV or games yet and I'm happy to say the graphics look great to me :)

...well, alright, maybe 'great' is a stretch but they're nice enough to keep me happy. Feel sorry for you guys with your HD TV's tbh :p

Game itself seems really good. Not very far into it, I'd say first half of the first dungeon, but everything has been enjoyable so far and the story seems more interesting than I was expecting.

The wii-mote does seem a bit tacked on, particularly in the menus and stuff like that. Shaking the wiimote to swing your sword -- mmm.. I dunno. What's the point really? Doesn't add much most of the time (doesn't subtract either, mind) and I'm finding myself just locking on and pressing A (for lunge attack) more times than not.

Aiming things with the Wiimote is great though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I'm playin it on a standard TV, not even widescreen, and I think the graphics are beautiful, the art direction and the style for the game etc... are unsurpassed IMHO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

This is coming out for the gamecube yes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

RasTa wrote:
    This is coming out for the gamecube yes ?

not in the shops afaik. Only on online order direct from nintendo I think.

Have to say, I love Midna too, a million times better than Navi!

"Hey!" vs that creepy otherworldly giggle from the wiimote speaker...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭mcgarnicle

Have to say this didn't feel like Zelda to me for the first while, but a few hours into it the game opens up and the zelda music kicks in and you know you're in nintendo land. Great stuff. The graphics are **** no denying it, but I think we all knew that before we got it. It's a cube game on the Wii and it looks it, but hell it's still a great game.

Does anyone else find it more like Ico or SoTC than Wind Waker? It really is very dark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Playing it on a 14" tv with the standard composite cable and it looks absolutely gorgeous to me. especially the twilight sections.
    obviously not true next gen graphics, but i'm more than happy enough with them...
    fantastic gameplay once you get used to the controls, a gripping storyline (so far) and Midna is brilliant.

based on the few hours of play so far, it's already my game of the year.
    well deserving of all the hype, and definitely worth buying a Wii for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭scrapland

No it's out on Cube at Retail next week 15th Dec ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭Vyse

That was only for Japan. Getting released on the 15th Decemeber. You might want to get a pre-order in!

tman wrote:
    Playing it on a 14" tv with the standard composite cable and it looks absolutely gorgeous to me... ...it's already my game of the year.
    well deserving of all the hype, and definitely worth buying a Wii for.

Couldn't agree with you more. I've been playing it on a standard definition 24" tv through the composite + scart adaptor, and I think it's beautiful. Haven't found myself at any stage thinking "Oh that texture could be better", was too busy grinning like a looney and thinking "This is freakin awesome!" :D

Gets my game of the year vote too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

then get over there and vote for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Tank Top Fever!

Graphics are horrible alright

I'm about four hours in *spoiler*I'm at the stage just after meeting the spirit in the Spring as Wolf link and I'm loving it so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Well? i'm sure all you guys have had time to play zelda since this morning, what's your first impressions after what was prolly a long - all day session :D

Have to say myself, the graphics over composite on a HD ready lcd are almost unwatchable. :( Component cables! I need em'!!

But again, even with component whenever I get my hands on a damned cable, I still dont think the graphics will be vastly improved? I can think of nicer old gen games over composite:

I know it's not about graphics, but I'm sure I am not the only one playing on a hdlcd! I have to sit right back in my room to enjoy the game, cause that way I dont have to look at the jaggy's, and splunge textures.

This is coming from someone used to HD GoW :o But I just cant believe how "old gen" it looks, and not even good old gen!

it is an "old gen" game just decided to be a Wii launch title instead of a forgotten game cube end title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,943 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

i disagree with this, iv a hd tv too and i think it looks grand on my hd tv

it looks a good bit better than my ps2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

I think the graphics are pretty good. The Twilight Realms are very cool.

Gameplay is simple but fun.

Heartpieces are so hard to get though. When I was about 6 hours in I only have 4 hearts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I must admit I was a little disappointed by the graphics at first too... but once things get going it seems to clean up it's act a lot.

And it's really the animation that is beautiful... there is just so much character in the movements... I love how Midna leans over and whispers in Wolf Links ear.

Oh yes and this game gets extra points from me because of the MONKEYS!!!

Especially the red arsed one (the bugger!)

that was a genuine lol moment:p
    cheeky bastard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Luluk

I'm having a great time with Zelda. Haven't played a Zelda game since Ocarina of Time on the N64, but the controls still feel very natural. I like slashing the wiimote around as a sword and aiming with the slingshot. Fishing was difficult, but I got the hang of it. Playing as a wolf adds a whole new dimension that I really liked, especially the improved senses. So far it all seems a bit easy, but I expect it's going to get a lot harder from now on (I'm now stuck on some altar with a monkey trying to figure a way out). The graphics don't bother me at all. And it's great not to have Navi screeching at me every three minutes. So far so good :)

Beat the first boss a while ago, took me a while to figure out where to go next (Yes I'm a bit thick...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

lets keep all the bits about the game in spoilers eh lads?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Finally getting to have a proper go at this and am loving it. I'm just back from a bit of a Gears of War session and I still think this looks gorgeous. Art direction is unsurpassed even though it's obviously a Gamecube game (and the best looking GC game ever). Only problem is I have to play it through a crappy composite since there were no scart cables anywhere.

I was well impressed with the load times in Twilight Princess too, very short! Even going from one large outdoor area to another!
    Especially now going out into Hyrule field :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

A few questions about the game
    1.Are the controls better than using a normal controller.Whats aiming like with the control?
    2.Is it "the best zelda ever"

Dman001 wrote:
    A few questions about the game
    1.Are the controls better than using a normal controller.Whats aiming like with the control?
    2.Is it "the best zelda ever"

1. The controls are great, not a whole lot different to using a normal pad but I prefer it.

2. I'm only about 12 hours in but I have to say I think it's lacking some of Wind Waker, I don't want to say it has no soul but the world doesn't seem as alive as that in WW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

I didnt really like the wind waker because it was very different to ocarina of time and majoras mask

I think this is more in line with those so you should love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Absolutely loving it, every new area gets a thorough going-over to make sure i don't miss anything and anything odd gets a notice... im determined to get everything done and get the whole experience. About 15 hours played, 16 heart pieces picked up and am about to enter
    The Arbiter Ground's in the Gerudo Desert

Luluk wrote:
    (I'm now stuck on some altar with a monkey trying to figure a way out).
    just in case you want to know how to get out of there;
    just run and jump towards the monkey
    figured that out by accident when fighting the spider:p
    still loving it

i have played 6 and a half hours and i have been in the forest temple for agess!!! couldnt get the bloody boss key for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Luluk

Thanks tman, it worked nicely :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

About 3 hours in and I think its greeeeat.

One question, will I get a better picture by using the scart lead over the composite leads ? Or are they both the same ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

Guys where should I pre-book Zelda for the Cube? Preferably online? Play.com is saying sold out, cdwow.ie doesnt seem to have it and I dont know anywhere else D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Graphics aren't terrible, but not great either.
    The graphics on the wii will develope over time.

Game play is predictably great.
    If it keeps up the way it starts, this could be one of the better Zeldas ever.

12 hours in and I've just finished the second temple.

The boss fights are proving to be very easy... once you work out what to do you can take them out quickly... I didn't lose one bit of health against that guy.

The mid level boss in the second temple was tricky though.

But dear god... how cool was
    The massive horseback chase scene finished off by a joust on a bridge... I hope there is more of that sort of thing later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

^^ 6 hours and im at the boss of the forest temple (1st temple)
    making good progress
    can't wait till i get into hyrule field
    if all goes well i should be joining the rest of you in the big field soon enough

Guys where should I pre-book Zelda for the Cube? Preferably online? Play.com is saying sold out, cdwow.ie doesnt seem to have it and I dont know anywhere else D:

If you have Freeloader, order it from www.play-asia.com.
    If you dont have freeloader, you can order it with Zelda to get a discount (about $7 off).

Be prepared to wait about 2 weeks for delivery though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

About 13 hours in and I have to say I am so hopelessly in love with this game. OK but the graphics arent so hot when compared with XBOX360, but the gameplay is where its at. The control system is brilliant, there were times when I was facing a few incoming enemies where I was holding the sword thinking "come onnnn!!!!" Classic stuff. Even whacking pots and weeds is great fun!

Anyways the graphics vs gameplay issue got be thinking. I bought an XBOX360 2 weeks ago and I was enthralled by the graphics of Gears of War. I played abiout 4 hours of it in between other games, and the graphics amazed me. But I couldnt sit in front of it for 13 hours like I did with Zelda today. I couldn't put it down. I don't think I can play GoW again until Zelda is out of my system. :D

Argh... anyone know how to use the water bombs? I can only seem to throw them in the water, but that's not much use.

use iron boots and zora armour to get the most out of the bombs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Balfa

Rhyme wrote:
    thorough... ...15 hours played, 16 heart pieces picked up.
    Holy crap, you're fast. By the time I got to where you are, I had in the low teens on heart pieces (so yes, you're thorough) but over 30 hours play time!

Judging by the number of dungeons I am in, and I'm at 42 hours, I'm almost exactly on par for that 70 hour finish time that Miyamoto suggested. So you'll probably have the game 100% complete in half that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Balfa

And about the graphics, I think Nintendo might have kept the textures very low-resolution on purpose to speed load times, which they've always kept at a high priority.

Games that don't have the large sweeping areas of Zelda will probably be able to fit higher resolution textures and better graphics into similar load times.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭slade_x

Is anyone having concerns with the controls, ive heard reports of unresponsiveness and frustrations.

Would it be much better on the gamecube. i was considering picking up a gamecube and zelda on the 15th if i cant get a wii and zelda, but then id never use the gamecube for anything else and i really dont like the look of the controller

slade_x wrote:
    Is anyone having concerns with the controls, ive heard reports of unresponsiveness and frustrations.

Would it be much better on the gamecube. i was considering picking up a gamecube and zelda on the 15th if i cant get a wii and zelda, but then id never use the gamecube for anything else and i really dont like the look of the controller
    The Gamecube controller is one of the best controllers there is. I haven't found any problems with the controls on the Wii either.... although sometimes I try and attack and forget I haven't taken my sword out yet.

The analogue stick on the nunchuck is simply the finest analogue stick of all time... it gives you so much control over the speed your character is moving at.

Balfa wrote:
    Holy crap, you're fast. By the time I got to where you are, I had in the low teens on heart pieces (so yes, you're thorough) but over 30 hours play time!

Judging by the number of dungeons I am in, and I'm at 42 hours, I'm almost exactly on par for that 70 hour finish time that Miyamoto suggested. So you'll probably have the game 100% complete in half that time.
    It's been harder to side-track with the later dungeons and storyline being as involving as they are. Im sure there is the stalwart Zeda thing where 'you have the full run of the world and only have to go to a specific place to continue the story'.
    just found the sky cannon and am about to go retrieve the final mirror piece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

slade_x wrote:

I'd a agree with MonkeyFudge that the GameCube controller is one of the best there is.

Can't say that about the Wii controls yet, only because they're still too new to me, but I must say I'm loving them so far. Took a bit of time to get used to - I sort of needed to adjust where I lay my hands compared to using a standard controller, and then just through triall and error figure out the best and most comfortable way to hold the Wiimote while playing. For instance, swinging/shaking the Wiimote to swing your sword was annoying at first, but after a bit of time I found myself grabbing the Wiimote closer to the base, so more weight up top (like an actual sword), and all of a suddon it was both intuitive and immersive.

Performing other actions (like aiming or flying on things) will have you holding it in other ways for best control. I've found that's an important part of the Wii experience overall, figuring out how the Wiimote works best this time.

i have a few frustrations(if that makes sense) with the game. the wii remote works grand with it but I feel it would be much better just hitting B to use your sword. Everytime you go into a new area and you break open a box or jar and you pick up 5 rupees or somethin the little cut scene plays "you have gotten 5 rupees". very pointless.

the music hasnt been very good(im in the
    fire temple
    ) so far excluding
    ooccoo's music
    . I do like the twilight sounds though. kinda like silent hill.

another thing that has majorly annoyed me is when you are climbing up a climbable wall. it has happend to me loads when I have been i have been trying to go up and holding up on the stick but he starts jumping sideways for no reason. I cant figure it out. the camera is set straight behind me .

good stuff otherwise

oh and im in second temple and only have 3 heart pieces. dont know how yous were doin then but it seems like im lacking in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

My impression... its ****ing awesome.

Only about 5/6 hours in, but enjoying it thoroughly.