Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smyths bundle - utter disgrace

• 02-12-2006 1:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

I was informed today by my brother who works in smyths in tralee, that they were going to charge €350 for a bundle and not let you buy the console stand alone at launch day, i think this applys to preorders and i wont know what the bundle is till next week. I find this utterly dissapointing because i frankly dont want to be pushed into spending any surplus amount of money after ive commited to buy through a preorder. If anyone else has any info on this please shed some more light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

by law they can't force this on you surely. you put a deposit down on a product, and they can't force people to buy extra's on top of the product against your will.

i recall this happening last year with PSP bundles being forced on people, but those with sense point blank refused and got their PSP.

if this happens, take your console, walk down the street and buy the software somewhere else, and let the staff in smyths know you're doing it. no doubt the manager's face will go white (he has a target, and a bonus to think about)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

by law they can't force this on you surely. you put a deposit down on a product, and they can't force people to buy extra's on top of the product against your will.

i recall this happening last year with PSP bundles being forced on people, but those with sense point blank refused and got their PSP.

if this happens, take your console, walk down the street and buy the software somewhere else, and let the staff in smyths know you're doing it. no doubt the manager's face will go white (he has a target, and a bonus to think about)

Thats just what ill do. Smyths also seem to be over pricing their games also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

I have mine preordered in smyths. If they try force a bundle
    (like they did with the 360 at launch)

I will tell them I preordered a WII, and by right that is all I will decide to buy, I have my own damn freewill, I HATE this "try force bundles" blah blah....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Great thats were I have mine preordered :rolleyes:

Thanksfully by law they can't force a bundel so if you flat out refuse to buy a bundle. If they are charging over the odds for the games I'll porbably just take the console and take my business to HMV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

To be honest, if they try and force more stuff down my throat im just going to say "I pre-ordered a Nintendo Wii and Zelda, id like what i pre-ordered please."

...we'll see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

The fact that they let you preorder a game as well as the console makes me think that they might not force bundles very strictly. We'll see though, have a couple of mates who work in Smyths on Jervis St so I'll pump them for info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

We'll see though, have a couple of mates who work in Smyths on Jervis St so I'll pump them for info.
    Actually, that'd be awesome if you could... Jervis Street Smyths is where ive pre-ordered mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Retr0gamer wrote:
    Thanksfully by law they can't force a bundel so if you flat out refuse to buy a bundle. If they are charging over the odds for the games I'll porbably just take the console and take my business to HMV.

Edit - I think I actually agree with this after thinking about the legal principles a bit. My original post is still below for the sake of completeness.
    abelard wrote:
    Are you sure about that?

I think legally, if they dont want to sell you anything but a bundle they don't have to, so if you said "I just want the Wii and nothing else", they could say "we're only selling a bundle, have that or nothing", and offer you your deposit back? I could be very wrong though.

Of course, it would be a sh1t business move, and sh1t for their PR so I would still be ocnfident of getting just a Wii if that's what you want.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

If you have preordered and left a deposit for a Wii console and nothing else they can't force you to buy anything on top of that. Well I hope it is. Might just send an e-mail to he department of consumer affaris to see were we stand.

Here's something rather worrying. It seems in the US if you can't prove that the bundled goods are part of a separate market then you haven't really a leg to stand on:

http://www.businessweek.com/innovate/content/nov2006/id20061113_935708.htm?chan=innovation_game+room_industry+trends

I hope EU law is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Dev 17

I have a pre-order for the 15th in Smyths Jervis. I really hope they start bundling.

Pre-orders for the second batch... I know tell me about it. Wii is in very high demand. Speaking of which if somebody decides not to get the Wii can I get your reserved one? I will pay the €25.

-Dev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Yeah, if there's a bunde - that's probaby come straight from their head office, and you won't walk away with just a Wii console if they are forcing bundles.

Bundle or nothing. Same thing with the 360 last christmas.

Well my reasoning was this:

If you go in and just try to buy a Wii, they don't have to sell you one if the don't want to, as there's no agreement (you have made an offer, but they don't have to accept), they can just say take the bundle or nothing.

What is a bit more ambiguous is whether the fact that they have accepted your monetary pre-order means there is an agreement. I don't know whether this constitutes a legal acceptance for the sale of the Wii. If so, they probably have to sell it to you if you come looking for it. If not, then they an still probably force the bundle or nothing. But as I said, this wouldnt be a good business move.

Edit - Besides, maybe the bundle wont be all bad?
    I wouldn't mind;
    Wii + 2 extra games + nunchuk
    Or even just Wii + 2 extra games would be ok-ish

abelard wrote:
    Edit - Besides, maybe the bundle wont be all bad?
    I wouldn't mind;
    Wii + 2 extra games + nunchuk
    Or even just Wii + 2 extra games would be ok-ish

Not so good if all you can afford is a Wii and Zelda though. I will be seriously pissed if I can't get it on launch day, or for weeks afterward because I have to buy and extra game / controller that I don't want and can't afford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭mcgarnicle

If their 360 bundles are anything to go by I don't have a problem with this. I got my 360 with two games and a load of vouchers in my bundle. You were allowed chose any game and it worked out costing less than had they been bought seperately. I really don't see the problem.

The games could be garbage though. Tbh I'm only interested in Zelda and Wii play and Trauma Centre if it makes the launch. Two controllers will do me until smash bros. comes out. I haven't much funds so don't want to have to waste my money on crappy third party accessories and third rate games.

I'm just hoping that the law counts the monetary contribution for your pre-order as a contractual agreement between you and the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

well i pre-ordered a wii and thats what i put my deposit down on , not a bundle package with an unknown price.

i'll have to pop down early in the week and have a chat in my local branch to see what will be happening on launch day and my younger brother also started working there last week so i'll try and see what he can find out.

Retr0gamer wrote:
    The games could be garbage though. Tbh I'm only interested in Zelda and Wii play and Trauma Centre if it makes the launch. Two controllers will do me until smash bros. comes out. I haven't much funds so don't want to have to waste my money on crappy third party accessories and third rate games.

I'm just hoping that the law counts the monetary contribution for your pre-order as a contractual agreement between you and the shop.

I won't pretend to know what's going on with their Wii bundles but I got a PSP and a 360 from them and both were bundles but both had a bundle that was just a console and 1 game. I think it is just to make sure people who buy the console there don't go elsewhere to get the games and since Smyths are traditionally the cheepest shop for games I don't have a problem with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

mcgarnicle wrote:
    and since Smyths are traditionally the cheepest shop for games I don't have a problem with that.

not anymore there not , there prices have gone up a fair bit on there games of late compared to what the sold them for in the past ( rainbow six vegas is €75 in smyths and about 4 doors down in harvey normans it's €56 ), i'd rather have the choice of buying my games from the cheapest local source on the day and not be forced into a bundle deal .

Clover wrote:
    not anymore there not , there prices have gone up a fair bit on there games of late compared to what the sold them for in the past ( rainbow six vegas is €75 in smyths and about 4 doors down in harvey normans it's €56 ), i'd rather have the choice of buying my games from the cheapest local source on the day and not be forced into a bundle deal .

Well just shows how long it is since I bought a game from a brinks and morter shop. Saying that I did see Pro Evo 6 in there for €65 which I thought was pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

I reserve anger, hate-filled, posts until I see the bundles they are actually trying to push on us. If they want to sell me the Wii with wii play and a game of my choice, well that suits me fine.

If they try to sell me 2 or 3 bottom of the barrell games they can GFT.

I reserve anger, hate-filled, posts until I see the bundles they are actually trying to push on us. If they want to sell me the Wii with wii play and a game of my choice, well that suits me fine.

If they try to sell me 2 or 3 bottom of the barrell games they can GFT.

Exactly, if I walk in on friday and they try push 3 rubbish games on me then they can stick it... I'd rather wait the few weeks and get it elsewhere. In my experience though Smyths have been very good with their bundles so I will reserve judgement till the 8th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭dumbyearbook

LOL @ Smyths "not the best run company" - were they Smyth brothers not 7th on the Irish rich list, totally privately owned business all over teh country, ya they hav nt a clue how to run a shop..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

LOL @ Smyths "not the best run company" - were they Smyth brothers not 7th on the Irish rich list, totally privately owned business all over teh country, ya they hav nt a clue how to run a shop..

Don't think anyone is questioning their business acumen.

Just their Charles de Gaul in pushing punters into buying unnecessary bundles*

*allegedly

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Well, Smyths aren't the only company to have tries this type of tactic I am sad to see but what you should do is talk to the citizens advoce bureau, as far as I know a deposit on an item is considered a sale of an item, it is then up to the seller to provide goods when they become available, this should also mean that you can refuse to purchase any extras you don't want too, sure if that was the case the Dixons group could force everyone to buy extended warranties!
    Anyway thats how I read it, talk to the Citizens Advice Bureau and then take that straight to Smyths and ask to see the manager, unlike the general minions on the shop floor, managers should know better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭cmb.

Retr0gamer wrote:
    Here's something rather worrying. It seems in the US if you can't prove that the bundled goods are part of a separate market then you haven't really a leg to stand on:

http://www.businessweek.com/innovate/content/nov2006/id20061113_935708.htm?chan=innovation_game+room_industry+trends

I hope EU law is different.

this depends - if the 'bundle' is an actual bundle pack - .i.e all products in a single unit then this will stand - but if the just decide to stick a console and a seperate unit with it and simply 'call' it a bundle then it doesnt meet the product description of a bundle - no more that dunnes can selotape bread to milk and insist that you have to buy them as a package

the one thing i will say is, dont have a go at the shop assistant - if your getting nowhere - ask politely and calmly to speak to the manager - even if you in the right - if you start getting aggressive or rude, they will simply refuse to speak to you and they have an excuse to get rid of you - stay calm, polite but refuse to accept anything you dont want - REMEMBER THAT NO CUSTOMER WAS INFORMED OF ANY BUNDLE PACKAGES WHEN ORDERING - IF THEY WANT TO INSIST ON THEM SELLING BUNDLES - ENQUIRE AS TO WHY YOU WERE NOT INFORMED OF THIS WHEN ORDERING - they took an order - dont let then talk you into the idea that its only a 'pre-order' - an order is an order - simple as that - and they are onbliged to fulfill this order

I paid a cash deposit on a particular item to gaurentee me a machine.

I didn't agree to any bundles, I didnt place cash on the table for a bundle, I paid for a wii, so I'm getting a damn nabbit' wii.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I'd like to see what the bundle is. I don't like the idea of forced bundles, but if I can pick the game, or it's a game I want anyway, it's not going to make any difference.

koneko wrote:
    I'd like to see what the bundle is. I don't like the idea of forced bundles, but if I can pick the game, or it's a game I want anyway, it's not going to make any difference.
    Hmm...thats the thing thats been annoying me a bit. People seem to dislike bundles unless the bundle contains what they want, then they don't care.

Its more the idea of bundles being forced period that annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

That is annoying, yeah, but it's not annoying enough to stop me getting my Wii on friday. We'll see what it is. I might dislike the idea of bundles, but if I'm going in to buy, say, the Wii and Zelda, and the bundle is Wii and Zelda, I wouldn't say no just because it's a bundle.

If there were choices, it'd be easier to stay "you know what, stick your bundle where the sun doesn't shine, I'll buy it down the road", but unfortunately we won't have that luxury. Having said that if the bundle doesn't suit I'll be kicking up a fuss anyway :p I pre-ordered a Wii so I don't think they can force things I didn't order or don't want.

"Fine, I'll buy your bundle. But I'm not gonna plough your driveway"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Any update on whether Smyths are doing a midnight launch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

jaysus calm down lads

no one knows if this is fact yet, wait until the 8th and then see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

The bundles could be good, Zelda + a controller (hopefully with the numchuck thing too) I was going to get those anyway so big deal, but I also want to get the truck racing game and maybe one other but I might get those online. Im going to ring this week to find out about opening and bundles etc.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Gizzle

I CAN'T F'N BELIEVE THAT SMYTHS ARE 100% DEFINITELY GONNA FORCE ME TO PAY €700 FOR A WII WITH HAPPY FEET AND SUPER FRUIT FALL AND €1000 WORTH OF VOUCHERS IN €1.25 INCREMENTS(one voucher per transaction)?!!!

Yeah, I think I'll wait to hear what ye say on the 8th. Picking mine up in Smyths in Blanch on the 9th, couldn't handle going in on Culchie Shopping Day(tm)

Gizzle wrote:
    Yeah, I think I'll wait to hear what ye say on the 8th. Picking mine up in Smyths in Blanch on the 9th, couldn't handle going in on Culchie Shopping Day(tm)

Oh God, I forgot about that.

Might leave and extra hour early. The muck savages will be holding up traffic with their masey fergusons and the trailers with the family in the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Gizzle

An extra hour? Pfft. You have to do better than that. Early mornings are nothing to these people, sure they're up at 4am to milk the cows every morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

Retr0gamer wrote:
    Might leave and extra hour early. The muck savages will be holding up traffic with their masey fergusons and the trailers with the family in the back.

remind me the first time I meet you to slap you*

*which might be the 8th or it could be at one of the next board beers who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Retr0gamer wrote:

ROFLMAO :D

Retr0gamer wrote:

.....you spelt "massey" wrong....:cool:

(To make this post vaguely related to the Wii, it's on show this Wednesday in UCD students' centre)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I'll give ye a fiver if ye nick it for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

I'll give ye a fiver if ye nick it for me...

Asses to that!I'm going to nick it myself!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Damnit... :D

BlitzKrieg wrote:
    remind me the first time I meet you to slap you*

*which might be the 8th or it could be at one of the next board beers who knows.

Anyway I'm out in Balbriggan myself which isn't exactly inner city.

Retr0gamer wrote:

Anyway I'm out in Balbriggan myself which isn't exactly inner city.

Where is there a game shop in balbriggan?

I usually go into town, which I'm doing for the Wii launch, but there is an xtravision that does games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Just been down to Smyths in Jervis St. and pre-booked Zelda (60 euro) and Wii Play (55 euro). They said that they wouldn't be forcing a bundle on me seeing as I had it all pre-booked. They also just got them in and were setting one up behind the counter - was kinda funny when one of them interupted the girl that was serving me pointing at it and all mad excited saying "guess what that is! guess what that is!!!"

Looks like they won't have any Zeldas on the shelves (they had all the others already out on display) so they might just be keeping them for the pre-order peeps. She did say that Zelda was incredibly sought after.....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Smyths won't FORCE bundles on people. At the end of the day if you only want the console then thats all you have to take. This was also confirmed to me by someone in smyths today as they asked me if I was getting any games and I said no and he said grand you can take the console on its own!!

jonny24ie wrote:
    Smyths won't FORCE bundles on people. At the end of the day if you only want the console then thats all you have to take. This was also confirmed to me by someone in smyths today as they asked me if I was getting any games and I said no and he said grand you can take the console on its own!!
    Woot, sounds hopefull.