Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why didn't you get involved in socs or clubs

• 30-11-2006 8:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

What it says on the tin.

If you didn't get involved with clubs or socs or the SU yet, what was the reason? Not in a "You should have got involved" way, just curious.

"Yet" as in this year? Final year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

2nd year science + 1/2 of tsm (don't ask, just don't ask) is vvvvvverry busy. I dabble, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Ran for class rep. Didn't get it.

As for societies, I find it hard enough to find the time to eat, sleep, attend lectures and not die, never mind dedicating time to societies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Was doing exams, had no time to join.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

As for societies, I find it hard enough to find the time to eat, sleep, attend lectures and not die, never mind dedicating time to societies.
    Add two jobs and spend time with girlfriend to this list and it's bingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Ibid wrote:
    Add two jobs and spend time with girlfriend to this list and it's bingo.

Ah come on Ibid, you're doing the SER and you have been involved in both the CSC and TN. Thats hardly an uninvolved history in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

He's just having a good rant, ranting is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

I never really buy it when people say that they're too busy to do anything in clubs and societies (unless they're doing a subject that's got a really heavy amount of hours per week). It's a bit of a cop-out. Anyone can fit in a couple of hours a week to do something that they enjoy - it doesn't have to be a massive commitment, in most socs any effort at all will be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Just don't think you can chair one society, be the sexy treasurer of another, have a part time job and still pass your exams.

Made someone wish they never joined the Greens today. She asked me to stop making her question her beliefs. The thought of Shell to Sea forcing old ladies to burn their furniture to stay alive this winter was all it took. I miss politics sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Ah come on Ibid, you're doing the SER and you have been involved in both the CSC and TN. Thats hardly an uninvolved history in college.
    And then came Junior Sophister, Hils...

I was referring to this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

Hi Bláthnaid :)

I quit a couple of clubs and socs i was involved last year cause of time and just couldn't be bothered staying active. i'm in final year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

had a bit of a disastrous freshers' week: couldn't register, was supposed to meet up with friend on the friday to go round the societies. when we got there they were packing up. i really wanted to join the singing ones! was so upset! i emailed two of them but no response so.......maybe next year. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

gymrabbit wrote:
    Hi Bláthnaid :)

From AISEC and MSISSISISISIS? Where? Who? How?

EDIT: Just saw the post in introduce yourself.

Hi Bláthnaid!

Hi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Just don't think you can chair one society, be the sexy treasurer of another, have a part time job and still pass your exams.

Although I've never been a sexy treasurer, or any treasurer in fact, I don't think it's that difficult to combine loads of stuff in most courses. When I was in final year I was BESS Convenor, secretary of two societies, a section editor of TN, an editor on TFM, played badminton, ran in the SU elections (lost), and ran for TN editor (got that). Plus I had a part time job. Didn't stop me getting a first. Likewise last year I was editor of TN and did a Masters, had 3 part time jobs that year, was on the badminton committee and a team captain, and played for 2 soccer teams. You just have to plan your time better and make sure you have the right priorities for each given week.

Again as I say I'm sure this isn't possible in all courses but I think it is in many. You just have to take your college work seriously too.

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Although I've never been a sexy treasurer, or any treasurer in fact...

Well you were the sexatary of the SocStuds Society. That counts:D

And if this was a game of Top Trumps, and players got points for every position they held (e.g. chair of a soc = 10 points, ordinary member who goes to a couple of events = 2 1/2, class rep = 3 1/2, failing a year = -10, etc) then I think I'd beat you on stuff.

But I'm too dignified and ladylike to even think about that...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Rob and I had a discussion - neither of us could remember anyone who held as many simultaneous positions in the SU as I do at the mo. could be wrong though - short memory etc :)

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Although I've never been a sexy treasurer, or any treasurer in fact, I don't think it's that difficult to combine loads of stuff in most courses. When I was in final year I was BESS Convenor, secretary of two societies, a section editor of TN, an editor on TFM, played badminton, ran in the SU elections (lost), and ran for TN editor (got that). Plus I had a part time job. Didn't stop me getting a first. Likewise last year I was editor of TN and did a Masters, had 3 part time jobs that year, was on the badminton committee and a team captain, and played for 2 soccer teams. You just have to plan your time better and make sure you have the right priorities for each given week.

Did you sleep? Ever?

Andrew 83 wrote:

Again as I say I'm sure this isn't possible in all courses but I think it is in many. You just have to take your college work seriously too.
    Well aren't you just fcking fantastic. Someone should really get you a medal.

Ah come on b.ie, give the sarcasm a rest. He was making the valid point that it's possible to get involved with college activities without compromising academic achievement. There's no need for the sarkyness.

I think it's a real pity that more people don't get involved with stuff in college - I wouldn't have enjoyed college half as much if I hadn't done all the stuff that I did.

Wow. That's a really terrible use of a double negative.

&#231 wrote: »
    Rob and I had a discussion - neither of us could remember anyone who held as many simultaneous positions in the SU as I do at the mo. could be wrong though - short memory etc :)

Class Rep, School Convenor and through the last point member of Exec? If you're counting secretaries and committees, then I'd guess Faculty Convenors would win hands down.

Plus remember that the Health Science Faculty Convenor (which was usually medicine until this year, though someone told me that Dave Wallace resigned) was usually the School Convenor and the Faculty Convenor at the same time.

Now that's a spicy meatball.

On the discussion of final year, I am glad that I am not involved in any clubs/socs/SU etc. - earlier on in this term I could have gotten away with giving a few hours here and there, but now it's all gotten a bit crazy. I'm in the library on a Saturday, for example. I never used to do this until a few weeks before the end of year exams! Assignments, projects (including one over Christmas which I think is particularly evil), my FYP, and lab report after lab report. Oh the plus side though, I'm actually learning from doing all of the above so it could be taken as 'studying'.

I hope so anyways...

lol at this thread, the bess people defend the bess people and Christine defends Andrew.....

Though i do concur with Christine/Andrew, it adds a huge ammount to the college experence to be involved in stuff... ye can always fit it in.....(excluding final year...)

lol at this thread, the bess people defend the bess people and Christine defends Andrew.....

Lol :)

In my defence, I've hardly ever er, defended Andrew on boards. Just thought it was a bit of a mean comment from b.ie so had to stick up for my man since he won't be able to write back himself for a few hours. Despite his obvious talents at multi-tasking, he hasn't yet mastered bi-location.
    Though i do concur with Christine/Andrew, it adds a huge ammount to the college experence to be involved in stuff... ye can always fit it in.....(excluding final year...)

Yeah def.
    Christine/Andrew

That makes it sound like we're one person with interchangeable personalities. Kinda lol, but also a bit disturbing.

Haha ;) well in my defense the % likely hood of the second one posting given the first one has posted in a thread with similar remarks is extreemly high. Though then with the same logic i'd have to assert most of the bess students are the one person?

Damn you statistics, always so misleading.

[/Random OTness]

Haha ;) well in my defense the % likely hood of the second one posting given the first one has posted in a thread with similar remarks is extreemly high.

That's just cos we find the same kind of stuff interesting! And I've disagreed with him loads of times on boards. Really I have.

/Ends OTness.

Andrew 83 wrote:

He's not a man, he's a machine.

I was involved in a couple of things last year, captain of a club, active member of that club and another club (about 10 hours a week training, not including travel etc.). I was a particpant in a society but that didn't take up too much time, I only went to the odd meeting but most of the events. I was treasurer of a different society but that was really a disaster, required a little bit of time but actually didn't get anything done. Wasn't involved within the SU.

I find it very difficult to juggle <lectures, labs, getting the reading done, having enough time to think about things>, <training sessions, weights, running, competitions>, <spending time with girlfriend> and having my own private time <reading books, watching films, going to gigs, listening to music, contributing to boards.ie :)). Usually I just spend all my time on one thing and the do nothing for the other, example, hang around with gf and not go to training. Or go to training and not do my lab work. I could do it all together if i was organised and managed my time properly. but i don't work like that.

actually, did andrew actually get a medal last year or the year before for his contributions ot college. or was it stargal that got an award? or both. if they ever went to a www.boards.ie/tcd event we could give them awards. like medals made from play-doh.

gymrabbit wrote:
    like medals made from play-doh.

You can get the prizes for the next boards beers so! And it was stargal who got the award.

[edit] <pic snipped>

Interestingly, I just noticed that when you go for 'I'm feeling lucky' on Google for 'John Hegarty' you get this.

stargal wrote:
    Ah come on b.ie, give the sarcasm a rest. He was making the valid point that it's possible to get involved with college activities without compromising academic achievement. There's no need for the sarkyness.

I think it's a real pity that more people don't get involved with stuff in college - I wouldn't have enjoyed college half as much if I hadn't done all the stuff that I did.

Wow. That's a really terrible use of a double negative.
    You're right Ms.Gal. I'm merely venting cus I had to give up my beloved PDs in exchange for passing my christmas exams (I'm still not sure I will pass them) and I'm jealous of those who somehow magically find the time to out-hack me. I for one do find it very difficult to combine college life with my out-of-college life, with either one or the other (but always me) suffering.

/emo

Seriously, though. Mr.83 deserves a medal, play-doh or otherwise.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

heh... I have a Picture of MsGal being kissed by another guy....

Pm for H0t Pic's!*

*Please Ensure pictures are not on fire.

Oh God Myth, can you please get rid of that picture, it's desperate. Groarrgh. I can't put into words how much I dislike that picture.

And AS: Really? That's strange. Is it Dr Indy? Because being on the receiving end of one of his lip-smackers doesn't really count.
    You're right Ms.Gal. I'm merely venting cus I had to give up my beloved PDs in exchange for passing my christmas exams (I'm still not sure I will pass them) and I'm jealous of those who somehow magically find the time to out-hack me. I for one do find it very difficult to combine college life with my out-of-college life, with either one or the other (but always me) suffering.

Ah that sucks, I can tell how much you love your right-wing (and ill-informed:D) hackery. You're in BESS aren't you? If you're putting in any work at all then it's hard to fail - if that's any consolation.
    gymrabbit wrote:
    He's not a man, he's a machine.

/Dirty lol :p

Done, and exchanged with equally valuable information.

Thanks dude:) And that Hego link is excellent. I have no doubt that it is in fact his own website. Mainly because of all the sheep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

stargal wrote:
    You're in BESS aren't you? If you're putting in any work at all then it's hard to fail - if that's any consolation.

Maybe thats true in Sociol-make-it-up-as-you-go-along-ogy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Troglodyte

Right_Side wrote:

Now that's not fair. Sociology is a worthwhile subject with many valid applications in the real world.

/Epic Sarcasm

Right_Side wrote:

Hang on - have you thought about what you're saying? The failure rate in BESS is tiny. Last year in 4th Year BESS there were less than five 3rds awarded to a class of over 250. No-one failed. There were more 2.1s than 2.2s given out. This result is echoed in the results from 1st-3rd year BESS.

If you do put in some work (to any subject) and you make a reasonable attempt at answering a question and displaying the work that you've put in, then it's very difficult to fail - not just in sociology but in any subject.

I know there's a few of you who like to knock sociology, and yes, it was funny the first time, but I would ask that those of you who do it start to think about what it is you're actually saying. There's this horrible snobbery about sociology, usually from people who did in for one year and then give out about it afterwards - just because it's something that can be broken down so easily outside the world of academia doesn't mean that it should be taken any less seriously as a discipline.

This perception that sociology is something you can 'make up as you go along' as you put it manages to be both quaint and oddly ill-informed. Anyone can have an opinion on something - sociology is about analysing, about observing, about trying to make sense of the world, and as such it's vital and dynamic and seriously fúcking important.

I don't want to make this an unreadable rant - I'll leave it there.

One request though - can we have less of the sarcasm? Especially from people just popping into posts that they haven't contributed anything to, just to go OT and be a bit sarky. Nothing personal against Troglodyte or Right_Side, it's just a bit silly.

/Back OT

oh its not dr indy.....

Ms.Gal wrote:
    Ah that sucks, I can tell how much you love your right-wing (and ill-informed) hackery. You're in BESS aren't you? If you're putting in any work at all then it's hard to fail - if that's any consolation.
    Eh, not in things like Econometrics and Mathematical Economics. In those subjects you're either right or you're wrong. No amount of well-worded bull****tery or philisophical meanderings will save me this time.
    This perception that sociology is something you can 'make up as you go along' as you put it manages to be both quaint and oddly ill-informed. Anyone can have an opinion on something - sociology is about analysing, about observing, about trying to make sense of the world, and as such it's vital and dynamic and seriously fúcking important.
    If it makes you feel any better, I (a single honours economics student) have been thinking of dropping out and doing something along the lines of Soc and Soc Pol for some time now. Its much more in line with what I think my aptitude is.

Anywho, I think I've diverted this thread long enough.

I'd still stick with my initial warning: college exams won't pass themselves. Society involvement should always, in my opinion, come second. If you're well on course to doing well in exams (especially in the years that 'don't matter') there is no valid reason for not at least going to the odd society event. Learn about fair trade, or how to juggle, or go to a rugby match or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Eh, not in things like Econometrics and Mathematical Economics. In those subjects you're either right or you're wrong. No amount of well-worded bull****tery or philisophical meanderings will save me this time.

Surely that's an advantage as well as a disadvantage. If something is right or wrong and it's right then you're guaranteed full marks. If you don't structure an argument well in an essay you may get a bad mark even if you're right.

They're different disciplines and should be treated as such. Stargal's points on the astonishingly low level of 3rd let alone fails in final year BESS is a very valid point (in my year in BESS not a single person failed and there was only 2 or 3 thirds).

I stand by my point that as long as you keep up with your college work, make sure you understand it, and do all your essays etc it's very difficult to fail.

Many people in societies/clubs etc neglect their college work - not because they have to but because they don't bother with it. There's plenty of hours in a day, if you decide you're going to commit yourself to keeping up with your college work you will and there will be plenty of time left for other endeavors.

I just cut out a lot of stuff that takes up time such as watching TV, playing computer games, going on the internet etc. I then used that time for sports, societies, papers, spending time with friends etc. There's also a lot of free hours in the afternoons where you can do this stuff. And those who know me will know it didn't stop me from going out to the pub etc either ;)

Sorry about the sarcasm Stargal, I really shouldn't post after having a few pints (which seems to be the only time I post, but anyway....). I guess I'm just bitter from having to do Sociology for a year....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

I'd have liked to get involved in the SU a bit more, but sadly the society whorage restricts my time somewhat. And by "somewhat", of course I mean "entirely". Ah well - I've still got 2&1/2 years left in this place at the very minimum - I'll find time for it all eventually.

Troglodyte wrote:
    Sorry about the sarcasm Stargal, I really shouldn't post after having a few pints (which seems to be the only time I post, but anyway....). I guess I'm just bitter from having to do Sociology for a year....

Ah no hassle, it was nothing personal :) There's usually an anti-sociology rant here every couple of weeks, which most times I just ignore, but it just kind of got to me last night. It's a bit hard to explain, but it's like a complete stranger coming up to you and telling you that your new-born baby is not only ugly but also a completely misguided experiment and a waste of time and resources.

And, to twist this analogy even more, I would like to think that I can be objective about the merits of sociology, in the same way that I think I could accept constructive criticism of my potentially ugly kid. It's just when people say that sociology/my kid shouldn't even exist, that I think it's being taken a bit too far.

Much like this analogy. I don't actually have a kid, ugly or otherwise. Is this the most OT post ever?
    If it makes you feel any better, I (a single honours economics student) have been thinking of dropping out and doing something along the lines of Soc and Soc Pol for some time now. Its much more in line with what I think my aptitude is.

Throw me a PM if there's anything about SocSocPol that I can answer for you. There's still the option to do economic policy courses (Economics of LDCs in 3rd year, Economic Sociology in 4th year, for example), and it's not just waffle off-the-top-of-your-head stuff either. Plus social policy is deadly.

/Back OT

Is this the most OT post ever?

Pffh, since when do we worry about keeping on-topic here? We're not the UCD board!

Shoes, ohmygod shoes. Let's get some shoes. And donkeys.

Troglodyte wrote:

Don't knock it - easiest first I ever got! Though I did drop the subject as soon as I could.

Enjoy that aspect of first year - you get to mess about in other things that are on the whole quite interesting and easily marked.. it gets a lot harder as you go on!

shay_562 wrote:
    I'd have liked to get involved in the SU a bit more, but sadly the society whorage restricts my time somewhat. And by "somewhat", of course I mean "entirely". Ah well - I've still got 2&1/2 years left in this place at the very minimum - I'll find time for it all eventually.

*cough*

I think there is more than one post from you deriding the work of the SU and the people in..

Damn my anaolgy breaks the rule of a certain ****ed up slightly **** society..

the Hist?

Don't knock it - easiest first I ever got! Though I did drop the subject as soon as I could.

Enjoy that aspect of first year - you get to mess about in other things that are on the whole quite interesting and easily marked.. it gets a lot harder as you go on!

You know, I'm not actually a first year. I was referring to last year in my previous post. BTW you're completely right about it getting harder. I've just properly looked at what I have to do for the exams next week and finally realised that I'm really not in first year any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

I think there is more than one post from you deriding the work of the SU and the people in..

Le sigh. How many times? I think many of the people in the SU are ****; others, such as your lovely self, rise to the lofty heights of "acceptable human beings". As for the SU as a whole, I think it's an immensely valuable and necessary organisation; my violent dislike of certain people involved and certain actions of the organisation only serve to increase my desire to do something about it myself.

As did I. And yes, easiest grade ever - the fact that I got a 2.1 for an exam in which I used (without even the slightest hint of irony) the phrase "phallocentric heteropatriarchy" only confirmed my decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

What about me niall? i'm nice amn't i? :cries:

shay_562 wrote:
    And yes, easiest grade ever - the fact that I got a 2.1 for an exam in which I used (without even the slightest hint of irony) the phrase "phallocentric heteropatriarchy" only confirmed my decision.

You've mentioned this before shay_562, and I still don't understand why - I'm not usually one to criticise another boardsie, but this makes you look a bit silly. Do you understand what the phrase means? Was it relevant to the question that you were answering? If so, then what's the problem with using it?

And if you're objecting to the ridiculousness of the phrase (because it is ridiculous - you could have just said something like 'a society dominated by straight men') then why did you use it?

I'm asking this because I'm genuinely interested to know what you think. I just don't get it.