Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

13k Half Marathon in Connamara

• 27-11-2006 6:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭

Folks advise needed,

Just to give a background to all this. I've signed up to do a half marathon in connamara this April (http://www.connemarathon.com/home.html). So basically I have 5 months between now and then. Now the fitness has gone a bit wayward over the last few years and so I need to get back on track building it up slowly. Would anybody have any suggestions or a rough plan for me as to where I should start? I dont think I'll be joining a GYM til mid / late Jan. Bear in mind also that the overall plan is to run the dublin Marathon in Oct 07. Thanks for your help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

what is your standard/what are you capable of at the moment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I usta be fairly fit, playing the GAA, running 5-10 laps at any one training session. I ran 7k in about 30mins. That was 2 yrs ago at a fun run :). In the two years since Ive put on about a stone and a half. Played feck all GAA, but cycled a good bit during the summers and walked about a 30 - 45 mins a day dep on the day. Lung capacity is prob 80% of what it was 2 yrs ago. In all I wouldnt be in "great" shape. Id be guessing that I could now run about 5k in prob 30 - 40mins. And thats only a guess but id be working towards that estimate to start with and see from there.

If you haven't run in a long time (and 2 years is a long time) then start off slowly. Try getting out for half an hour 3 times this week (with day off in between) and let us know how that feels. I can give you better advice based on that. Choose a pace that allows you to carry on a cnversation and that you get home feeling like you could have done more. Depending on where you live try to do some of your running off road or at least on tarmac rather than concrete. Do you have a proper pair of running trainers (no last years "gutties" won't cut it!). When you played GAA did you have any persistant injuries?

connemara is a good race. There is a hill towards the end. You need to be prepared for it and have something left in the tank.

I have a good pair of nike like these - > http://www.theindiadirectory.com/db/xtshoes8P1000716.JPG but black :D So im thinking of using them. Never had many injuries, sprained ankle once or twice about the height of it. Id be hardy enough when it would come to the GAA. Not the pacest but hardy enough :D

I'll have to start something soon, would be a good idea to try a half hr 3 times or so next week. Christmas party on fri and beers 2moro nite :) But Im walking in and out of work these days which is about half an hr each way. Ranalagh to O'Connell St and back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭johnnyboy4711

sorry but those nike shoes are a fashion item,no good for support,after researching shoes for ages I ,as well as a lot of other folk,will say that asics are the best running shoe,they are a wee bit more pricey but you get what you pay for!
    john

asics don't suit me but the Nike are fashion not for running. Get yourself of to a proper running store (no not lifestyle sports) and get some advice. your body will thank us someday. You've 5 months so a couple of weeks won't make any difference but if you can't be arsed getting out thsi week (beers is not an excuse) are you going to ahve the commitment later on?

Fair comment, thats why i've enlisted the support of a "fitter" friend who is doing it the run with me. But for the first few weeks ill be on my own and im not pretending its going to be easy; sacrifices will have to be made, I know that. If I can get a plan down that would be great cause I work better with a plan in front of me. But as you said Ill have to see what im fit for and thats what next week is for. As for a proper store for running shoes? where would you suggest?

I'll do up a plan for you when I know what youa re able for. You also need to tell me something about how fast you expect to do this race. Getting around is one thing, racing it is another.

Where are you based? In Dublin, amphibian king in Bray is excellent or Arnotts if you know what you're looking for. In Cork buckleys is the best. Up and running in Belfast.

some useful stuff here (as I'm off to work now)
    http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_4/144.shtml

Just checking (from mistake in your title) you do know a half marathon is 13.1 miles (21.1 km).......

<Cough> I knew that :p Thanks for the advise Ill let you know how I get on next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭JayRoc

The one thing I'll say to you at this stage is not to train for Connemara as if it's a 13mile flat race- you need to incorporate some hill running into your training.

A mate of mine remarked that he had a harder time doing the half in Connemara than the full in Dublin. Now it's not really THAT bad, but the terrain is definitely tougher than the average half, so just make sure you do lots of climbs in training and you'll be fine.

You'll also enjoy yourself immensely; the scenery on this run is magnificent, and the general spirit of cameraderie between runners is particularly good in my experience. Best of luck and see you down there!

JayROc, Connemara isn't a hill race. There is just a hill towards the end. It is also a marathon and ultra race and in the ultra, in particular, the lst thing you need is a hill having run 35 miles already....

Hmmm? Not sure I see the relevance of the last bit, but anyway, I'm well aware of all of this- this year will be my fifth Connemarathon,thanks.:)
    And I stand by what I said...work some hills into your training OP. Enjoy!

oops sorry, missed the "a" in last, made it look like first..... should really preview or at least check my posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Just out of interest anyone here signed up for the ultra?

Odysseus wrote:
    Just out of interest anyone here signed up for the ultra?
    Aye.

I am myself, have you done it before, just wondering what you thought of the ultra course

Odysseus wrote:
    I am myself, have you done it before, just wondering what you thought of the ultra course
    'Tis my first Ultra, bro, and I dare say my last!:D

Ah it should'nt be too bad, I done a 100k eariler in the year, my learning was to pace yourself, look after your fluids, walk and take a break when you need it, and basically enjoy it. I was supurised that I had to quailify by doning a marathon in under 5hrs in the last 18 months. In Lapland I met some people who finished the course and had never done an oficial marathon, just trained hard.

Well Folks, I did a bit of a run there this eve. See attachment for route. (I did my best to map the route round UCD). The long and short of it is that I done about 4 miles in about 50mins - 1hr. Christ it was a push. I stopped about 4 times to catch breath. Im def not as fit as I thought :( I can feel it slightly in my calf muscles and my arms are a bit sore. But Im going to chance another session tomorrow (thats if I feel OK tomorrow) and see where I am. Comments needed folks. Am I doing to much / to little?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Stepbar, if you really want to run the half and full marathons next year you'll have no trouble as long as you stick to your training.

If last night really was tough then I'd suggest not running tonight but running tomorrow instead. The general approach is hard,easy,hard,easy... If you're a beginner you need to be careful about not doing too much too fast. You've got plenty of time left to train. I'd be cautious about doing 2 days in a row for a while, maybe a month. Certainly don't do two hard days back to back.

Check out
    http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/novice.htm
    That's all you need to complete a half marathon. You've got more than 12 weeks left so if the first week is too tough or you're not sure it isn't you should build up to it. If the first week is definitely fine I'd be inclined to start there, do the 12 weeks and then keep on increasing in the same sort of progression until a couple of weeks before the half. Then taper.

There are also more advanced plans on that site but they involve speedwork which I doubt will help you particularly until you have a proper base. So if you want to go for a more difficult training plan, add some more, easy paced miles. Don't add speedwork, except for some striders at the ends of an easy run or two a week.

Pick the correct pace to train at. You should be running at a pace where you can hold a conversation. Check out http://www.runworks.com/calculator.html for help with the correct training paces. I'd suggest working a 5k or 5m fun-run into your plans as a bit of shorter term motivation and also to help you work out what your training pace should be. Give it a month of easy running at least though first - your muscles and ligaments will strengthen a lot more slowly than your aerobic endurance improves. So take it easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 LabratCN

Best of luck stepbar. I'm in a similar fitness situation and would like to do the full thing in Cork in June. I'll post in the main forum and maybe you guys could give me some help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

How are you getting on stepbar? Still on the right course?
    I'm also training for the half in Connemara, but did a few 10k's last year, so not starting entirely from scratch..

I've posted about my training plan up on the Connemarathon Chat site, and am feeling positive about the training plan based on the feedback I received.

I've also recently picked up a cheapy Polar heart rate monitor, and have taken it out three times in the last week, and I have to say, the difference has been incredible. It has really helped me pace myself, and I'm getting a lot more distance on my long weekend run..

Keep it up! 58 Days to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 mousemat

http://www.johnbuckleysports.com/shoes-asics.htm

I know a few lads who do running and they use this guy for their asics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

Well folks, I did the half marathon on Sunday..... and finished it!!!!! in 1hr 55min. Very proud of myself considering that the farthest I ran prior to the race was 8 miles. However my legs are still killing me :)

Well done mate.
    I hear you got lovely weather for it anyway!

Cheers, Did you not do the ultra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Good man Stepbar. That's some improvement from 4 miles in almost an hour 4 months ago :)