Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

another LIDL DVD player with USB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

dont know about the "from your laptop" bit
    the rest sounds good, but for 50eu i wouldnt be arsed queuing up at half six or whatever time them maniacs do be outside lidls at...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

im assuming it'll play divx and vcds? doesnt say on the website exactly what formats

it says all common formats,
    which for lidl would mean mpeg1/2/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,472 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Here a picture from the leaflet
    silvercrest.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

when you say from Usb, does that mean it will play any video directfrom a usb key/stick when its plugged into it?

as long as the drive is foramtted as fat32, then yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

how would you connect your laptop to this?

thats what i dont understand
    maybe they mean by copying to a usb drive

the manual is here
    http://www.mysilvercrest.de/foto/support/KH6510_11_UK.pdf
    and doesnt mention a netowrk port or anyhting like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Maxwell

Will backed up DVDs on a hard drive connected to this through USB - will it play them?

depends what format there in.
    the one i had before would play bin/cue or iso images,
    but would play vobs direclty from a video_ts folder

thanks for that eolhc!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

According to that manual subway linked to:
    USB memory sticks (USB)
    The DVD player supports USB memory sticks 1.1 and 2.0 up to a capacity of 512 MB.
    ...:(

thats unfortunate,
    i bought one 2 years ago that supported a 250gig drive plugged in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

the Lidl blurb is fairly blatant about it supporting external HDD (though it does also say laptop which is nonsense)

might see if I can pick one up and try it out - its only 50 lids after all.

EDIT - the previous Silvercrest player sold by Lidl said the same thing (512k max) in the manual but plenty of boardsheads managed to get it working with their HDD
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055003074&page=7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

feck it...youd fit feck all on a 512mb, ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

The other one lidl sold a few weeks back worked with my 300 gb hard drive. If you format a drive to fat32 it will recognize it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

still dont get how you connect your laptop to it. Is it with the VGA out port?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Maxwell

Thanks for the comments

Will hopefully format my external drive to allow it to work with it.

For the capabilities of the card reader, its worth the €50 for ease of use alone i.e.the wife can take pics of our child and put them up on the telly straigh away.
    ...Lovely, less moaning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

hey thelastangryman

are you happy with the way it plays off the HDD - is it easy enough to browse folders etc

also does it play divx, xvid etc ok?

not sure about this one,
    the one i had was grand.
    very quick to browse etc as long as you stick with 8.3 filenames anymore than 8 letters and youll only se the the first 7and a ~

the other major issue i had was fastforwarding.
    you couldnt fast forward on a hard drive or it crashed

the only option was watch from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭gerryo

neacy69 wrote:
    still dont get how you connect your laptop to it. Is it with the VGA out port?

I asked the same question a few weeks ago (about the previous player) - did not get an answer. Ended up buying a Transger DVX500E from Pixmania, which does not have a USB interface,but does have an Ethernet interface.

Still not sure what Lidl are on about, can only assume they mean files transferred from a laptop to a USB or HDD device can be played.

gerryo wrote:
    I asked the same question a few weeks ago (about the previous player) - did not get an answer. Ended up buying a Transger DVX500E from Pixmania, which does not have a USB interface,but does have an Ethernet interface.

Still not sure what Lidl are on about, can only assume they mean files transferred from a laptop to a USB or HDD device can be played.

The playing from a laptop thing seems to mean nothing, i don't see any way it would connect directly to a laptop. The vga out should let you connect it to a flatpanel display which has a vga input though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭CTRob

It connects to your laptop through usb. You can browse the folders on your laptops hard drive through the on screen menu as long as your hd is in fat32 format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Is the only difference between this new model, and the other one available a few weeks ago the fact this player doesnt have hdmi?

All the other features seem the same...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭karltimber

The other one lidl sold a few weeks back worked with my 300 gb hard drive. If you format a drive to fat32 it will recognize it.

how did you format an extarnal HD to fat32 - a simple case of right click and format :D or do you need windows 98 to do it as some work folks seem to think.

thx

loyatemu wrote:
    hey thelastangryman

are you happy with the way it plays off the HDD - is it easy enough to browse folders etc

also does it play divx, xvid etc ok?

The browsing was easy enough and it loads files relatively quickly.
    It played all of the divx and xvid files I threw at it.

I do have one major complaint about this dvd player though, The only way to access the usb port/card slots is through the remote taht comes with it. If the rather flimsy remotes they give were to break you would be pretty much fecked.

karltimber wrote:
    how did you format an extarnal HD to fat32 - a simple case of right click and format :D or do you need windows 98 to do it as some work folks seem to think.

thx

I used partition magic. (I couldn't be arsed to find my windows boot disk)

*EDIT* Sorry about double post please merge ^_-

karltimber wrote:

thx

With XP, if you right click on "my compter", and click manage, then go to "disk management", you should be able to format to fat32

eolhc wrote:
    With XP, if you right click on "my compter", and click manage, then go to "disk management", you should be able to format to fat32

That has a cap of 32gb on Windows Xp.

So there is, my mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

so will this player play all types of video formats?? divx, xvid etc?

i had a chipped xbox with xbmc that was great because it would play everything, but it seems to have died:(

so would this play avi file formats if i burned them onto a cd or even cd-rw??

and while im asking, does anyone know how to burn an avi file bigger than the size of a cd onto a dvd-r or dvd+r? I tried a few times using nero but it has never worked. instead I have to convert all big avi files into dvd format which is kind of time consuming... is there another way?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Tony H

woooo232 wrote:
    so will this player play all types of video formats?? divx, xvid etc? yes
    so would this play avi file formats if i burned them onto a cd or even cd-rw??yes

and while im asking, does anyone know how to burn an avi file bigger than the size of a cd onto a dvd-r or dvd+r? I tried a few times using nero but it has never worked. instead I have to convert all big avi files into dvd format which is kind of time consuming... is there another way?

Cheers
    when you are burning a dvd with nero you have to choose from a dropdown menu , choose the dvd option and you can burn all your avi files to one dvd and view them on the lidl player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

fitzdragon wrote:
    when you are burning a dvd with nero you have to choose from a dropdown menu , choose the dvd option and you can burn all your avi files to one dvd and view them on the lidl player

Thanks a lot... very helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭gerryo

Originally Posted by thelastangryman
    eolhc wrote:
    So there is, my mistake

Yeah, that's the limit for Fat 32, you'll have to create multiple partitions on a big disk. Can the player handle more than 1 partion though?

gerryo wrote:
    Yeah, that's the limit for Fat 32, you'll have to create multiple partitions on a big disk. Can the player handle more than 1 partion though?

I never tried that actually. To the Bat Cave!

If I get it working on my player I'll let you all know.

this free command line program seems to work under xp for formatting fat32 above 32gb
    http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index.htm?fat32format.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

for anyone interested i just got the lidl brochure thing in the paper and its got a bit more detail on this, plays divx, mp4 etc... ive attached a scan... not the greatest scan ever but its readable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Xcom2

Anyone know how to make this region free?

Does anyone think it's worth holding off on this player, and hope they get the hdmi version in again this side of xmas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

I never tried that actually. To the Bat Cave!

If I get it working on my player I'll let you all know.

Its actually quite easy to format LARGE fat32 filesystems,

Use:
    http://www.crapcontrol.com/content.php?article.14

Although on a Mac or in Linux its just a matter of selecting the drive and clicking format :cool:

Shame you can't do it on Windows

And one other thing, although i keep raving on about it, why wouldn't ye consider splashing out an extra 60 quid on an Xbox and a modchip, Media center beats the ar*e of anything i've seen of these USB divx players.

It'll play ANYTHING, is networkable and also has a neat interface, hell it'll even play google vids or thelaunch on your 32 inch flat screen and plug into your hifi :)

It can also change the format from 4:3 to 16:9 and doesn't skip at all, oh . and it does support usb, you can just get an adapter for the front ports.

craichoe wrote:
    And one other thing, although i keep raving on about it, why wouldn't ye consider splashing out an extra 60 quid on an Xbox and a modchip, Media center beats the ar*e of anything i've seen of these USB divx players.

you can just get an adapter for the front ports.

Softmod ftw ;)

Anyway
    I have three of them in my house, But I still want this player :D
    Are you sure a usb flash drive connected to an xbox will play divx with XBMC? TBH, I never tried. But have all the cables etc...

What do people think of this player? Dunno is its PAL or not, but its features are same as LIDL player, except for added HDMI support

http://www.pixmania.com/ie/uk/424180/art/sigmatek/xs-700-pro-dvd-divx-usb-h.html#fichetechnique

That player I linked from pixmani, doesnt seem to be PAL/NTSC :confused:

Wonder if there is a multi region hack? It also has no scart output, but everything else it does have :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

craichoe wrote:

It'll play ANYTHING, is networkable and also has a neat interface, hell it'll even play google vids or thelaunch on your 32 inch flat screen and plug into your hifi :)

It can also change the format from 4:3 to 16:9 and doesn't skip at all, oh . and it does support usb, you can just get an adapter for the front ports.
    I did that a few years back.
    It worked well for about 3 months then started fragging and it has been a paper weight ever since.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Bagged one of these this morning. Looks good but won't get a chance to play with it till tonight.

same as. still in the boot of the car at home. now to find a cheap hard drive for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭the corpo

anyone get one from parnell? had they many left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭revileandy

Parnell/Moore St was sold out at 8.15am today when I went in.

I wen't to the one on Walkinstown Avenue on the way to work, they had 12 left at 9.00am - some bird in front of me was buying three of them!!

Looking forward to testing it out tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 zimbabady

Got myself one of these this morn, they were sold out on parnell st at 8:05 when i picked mine up. i only arrived at 8 was at the end of the line and got the 3rd last one. :)

Have been playing with it. I needed the multi channel out to make use of my surround system.

Sounds Super!
    Menu system is as good as expected.
    Tryed a flash drive and it plays any avi i give it be it divx or mpeg.

I am currently formatting my 250Gb to Fat32 but my 40GB wont work. I dunno y it wont work but it is not a regular HD its 1.8" and 3 years old.

Will let yous know if the 250 works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

I am currently formatting my 250Gb to Fat32 but my 40GB wont work. I dunno y it wont work but it is not a regular HD its 1.8" and 3 years old.

Not what I wanted to hear. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭the corpo

for once i thought i wouldn't have to get there that early
    "surely, everyone's got dvd players by now, apart from me"

obviously not 8(

*smacks back of head*