Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anti-Grappling seminar...

• 22-11-2006 6:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭

would anyone be interested if i held a Anti-Grappling seminar or 'BJJ for the street'??

i could do it on a saturday or sunday 12-3pm and cover all the usual topics like

multiple opponents
    weapons
    why go to the floor?
    training methods for street situations
    and whatever else you think should be on it?

the charge would be a nominal fee of €10 with all monies raised going to charity.

what do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 debra.donovan

That'd be cool but I'll bet it'd be on in Dublin :( again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

well i defo wouldn't do a seminar to do with 'weapons' in limerick! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I'd be on - I would Tul yere asses out of there, no seriously I'd be on

ok thats 1! if we can get about 10 its on :)

it'd be on in Dublin at the Rathcoole gym....unless someone can provide a matted area near city centre to make it easier for people to attend??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 debra.donovan

well i defo wouldn't do a seminar to do with 'weapons' in limerick! :D

Weapons, what weapons? I've seen nothing Garda.

When would it be on John and I might be able to give a definate answer?

well if people are interested we could do it soon - say Sat Dec 16th? if not then early in the new year.

lets say sat dec 16th and see how many we can get!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Hi John,

Hope it goes well for you. Fair play for the donation to charity also.

All the best,

Baggio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Actually thats one seminar I wouldn't want to miss.

I'd be very interested in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

If it's for charity I'd go. Up until now my streetfight strategy has been to pull guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

this is an awesome idea, but i think the non-bjj,MMA heads should try and make it if just to give a different view point on how we train!

MIchael o'leary, Silat Liam, Bambi, Baggio, Memphis and all the other regular posters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

I'll go if you cover explosive techniques to pass guard for the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

if I were in Eire I be at that in a flash.

Great idea. perhaps post some clips from it, if you do it.

Long distance learning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I think if it's for charity there's no reason why you couldn't charge €20 a head. It's not like €20 makes it prohibitively expensive for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Dermot Nolan

This sounds like a great idea. I'll be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭ColinJennings

Can non BJJ/SBG people attend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Clank

Id go too, €20 sounds grand for charity.
    Dec 16th is the day after my Christmas Party though.... :( Im just not gonna get polluted, as much as usual.

I think if it's for charity there's no reason why you couldn't charge €20 a head. It's not like €20 makes it prohibitively expensive for anyone.

Colms is dead right... 20 squid is very cheap for a seminar at the best of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Can non BJJ/SBG people attend?
    I think thats the idea! See for yourself a different approach to training.

Anyway I'd go. :D And I agree €20 is more fitting for a good cause. Do you have a charity in mind? If not can I suggest the Central Remedial Clinic in Clontarf? www.crc.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

where do i sign!!!!! :D

well how about we leave something at the end of the mat and people can contribute what they want to it, minimum €10! :)

yes of course open to all - tbh i doubt BJJ/MMA people would be all that interested. this is a chance for people to get to see some SD applications of grappling, and how sporting training methods can be used to prepare for most types of attack very realistically.

at least if you still don't like it you can say you tried it :)

as for which charity, that'll be my choice! and i'd like to support http://www.drcc.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

judomick wrote:
    this is an awesome idea, but i think the non-bjj,MMA heads should try and make it if just to give a different view point on how we train!

MIchael o'leary, Silat Liam, Bambi, Baggio, Memphis and all the other regular posters!

Not for mise, way too much on my plate already. If im visciously streetgrappled before mid 2007 I'll have to just wing it on the old antigrappling front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

as for which charity, that'll be my choice! and i'd like to support http://www.drcc.ie/

i thought that said http://www.droc.ie for a minute there :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭crazy monkey

Hi JK et all,

I will happily pay you or any charity you desire the 10 blips because I am very interested to check out this SD from BJJ/MMA viewpoint...besides it'll kill time before the SBG Xmas p-a-r-t-WHY?

Because I gotzta!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:cool:

To IM2LAZY....

SEE YOU THERE???

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bidanged

I'd like to attend aswell how do I put my name down for this John great idea for charity aswell!

ok its on for sat, dec 16th 11am-2pm SBG Rathcoole - No.68 from town leaves you with 6min walk to gym door.

whoever is going to confirm your place PM me with your full name and screen name, so i know how many places are gone

should be good fun to get to know people we haven't met before and also raising money for very good cause :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

I hope I can get away for this one!

Not for a SD seminar, just because it's a Kav. seminar :)

Seriously, for at least a tenner I'd love to take a class with you again, I'll drop in a few bob more of course for the charity. Pity the last Waterford Sem. got the chop, will you ever come down again?

Is it ok if I let you know for definite closer to the day? My wife is expecting again (due April) so day to day I'm unsure what I can commit to :D

Hopefully I'll see you again John, and either way fair play for doing a charity Seminar!

Eric.

Musashi wrote:
    will you ever come down again?

thats up to you guys!

Guys

almost everybody who's PM'ing me about the seminar is asking is it ok to come along to the seminar if they only have 1 or 2 mths BJJ training??

OF COURSE!!

this is aimed at people who've never trained MMA, BJJ, Wrestling etc. In fact if it is only been attend by people who have already trained in these sports i'd cancel it, that's not the point. the original point was to show people who only train SD, RBSD or whatever how a sporting grappling delivery system can be used in SD.

so if you want to support a very worthwhile charity and learn a wee bit of grappling along the way then PM me now - everybody welcome! i guaruntee 3 things

1. you won't laugh at my jokes, they're terrible
    2. you won't get hurt, everybody moves at their own pace
    3. you'll leave with one or two new ideas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I'll be away for that, I'd like to attend also.

Best of luck with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

I'd like to go because I've never trained with an emphasis on self-defence before. However, I've done BJJ and MMA before and as there is a limited amount of space available I'll wait to the last moments to put my name down so I don't take a place from someone from the target audience (RBSD, SD ppl)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Liam_B

Very good , Idea, Jon! If you train in SD , why not add something to your armour, sounds like a great oppurtunity. and a worthy cause!!

Hope someone from a SD background can right a Review

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭ColinJennings

Sign me up.
    Someone who has no MA experience, other than a little bit as a kid was wondering if he'd get anything out of it?

yes, suitable for all levels

sorry can't make it John just got word our staff xmas party is on that night and I gotta go as I'm a manager- pity if it comes around again I'd be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

Would I be able to do it if I bring a friend my size

sure, no probs :)

guys, only 5 names for this so far :(

any less than 12 and i'm cancelling it so if you want to do it PM me asap :)

what charity is it again, that www is not working?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Dublin Rape Crisis Centre

well I shall make a donation, to make the other feckers go! ;-) since I cannot go myself!

Its a good cause, come on now lads, sign up! You will learn alot!

I had only a short hour with JK, and I took away 1 or 2 new things that were excellent, and I can use them today within my own rbsd game.

maybe its a bad time of year?
    Jan suits me better anyway he he, sure I can try can't I?

I wont be able to attend - but I'll also make a donation.

Baggio.

ok we're up to 9 now :)

almost 2 weeks to get 3 more...

what time is it on John?

ok its on for sat, dec 16th 11am-2pm SBG Rathcoole - No.68 from town leaves you with 6min walk to gym door.

take a moment to read through the thread...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

'Come on guys. Its a very worth cause and I've two - three places in the car heading from Dublin 13/17 area so there's no alck of transport excuse's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Just seen this now. Great idea John.
    And fair play doing it for the charity's gain and not your own.
    I'm definitely interested. I did BJJ for about a year, in total, a good while ago now. I'd be really interested in learning your take on BJJ for SD.
    I'll be there.

If it started a bit later in the day that would be better for me but I won't complain - there's no emoticon for sleepy eyes!

Pro. F wrote:
    I'll be there.

excellent, we're at 10 now. just 2 more non-mma type guys and we are go :)
    Pro. F wrote:
    If it started a bit later in the day that would be better for me

and me! i'm all about lazing in bed but we have a thai boxing class on at 2pm so have to be out before that starts. you don't want to be in the gym when the thai boxers are about, they're a dodgy bunch!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I might drag my fat ass along to this. Or rather, I might drag my ass which I intend to be fatter by then along to this. If you catch my drift. I'm one of those BJJ/MMA types but I'd still like to see a different slant on things. Mind you I think the K.O. Christmas party is the night before so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

I'll go and Im almost sure my friend will aswell