Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will the world end?

• 17-11-2006 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

Dunno if this is right forum for this question, but am just interested in what everyone else's answers would be to this....

It's like one of those burning questions that used to feature in FHM !

I've got my answer on this, but wanna hear what y'all think before my boring answer.

Sensible responses only pls !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Tommorow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

December 23, 2012 or something like that. The Mayans said it (kind of) so it must be true! :rolleyes:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

judging by my hangover it appears to have started :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

When ever god's mmorpg server crashes and he has to restore the database to an earlier version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

What do u mean world end are u talking the actual destruction of the planet earth? because that wont happen for several million maybe even billion years

its quite possible our race will be wiped out before that, or at least 95% of the human race dying anyway ye it will happen wither by MAJOR natrel disaster like the super volcano or impact from forign body if either of those two don't happen then it will be the year 01/01/00 (2100)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

soon hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

abelard wrote:
    December 23, 2012 or something like that. The Mayans said it (kind of) so it must be true! :rolleyes:
    The Mayan calender is circular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Mayans ftw \o/

I don't think people realise how much of a threat asteroids actually pose to our planet. Everyone has an idea, but really.......it's much worst than you think.

We are over-due the regular catastrophic impact by about 5 million years, by the way....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

It happened yesterday... Can you not tell... look around you, your not really here nor are we.... Best off really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

chamlis wrote:
    Mayans ftw \o/

I don't think people realise how much of a threat asteroids actually pose to our planet. Everyone has an idea, but really.......it's much worst than you think.

We are over-due the regular catastrophic impact by about 5 million years, by the way....

When you say catastrophic, do you mean in the sense of one with the potential to cause alot of damage, or one to actually destroy the human race :)

enough to severely damage and cripple a nation and or continent or if its a oceanic impact a tsunami of record breaking proportations

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

thousands of years.
    Sensible responses only pls !
    Lollers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Relax lads we (the human race) have only been here for a blink of an eye in geological terms. We due a good few million years yet. Sure we could get hit by a massive comet or a worldwide pandemic or global warming might hit hard. But they'll probably only take out 80%-95% of us they rest will live on and rebuild society.
    I say fcuk it and have fun cos any of the above could happen at any time so don't waste time eg. talking on the internet about when the world will end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

Yellowstone is 50 years overdue for an explosion..

kevmy wrote:
    Relax lads we (the human race) have only been here for a blink of an eye in geological terms. We due a good few million years yet. Sure we could get hit by a massive comet or a worldwide pandemic or global warming might hit hard. But they'll probably only take out 80%-95% of us they rest will live on and rebuild society.
    I say fcuk it and have fun cos any of the above could happen at any time so don't waste time eg. talking on the internet about when the world will end.

" I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day. " ~Frank Sinatra

Love your sig btw!

You are right i live each day with the intention of having fun with friends because life is uncertain. I feel sorry for all those who devote themselves to study and don't relay enjoy life when there young anything could happen

They could get hit by a bus randomly get killed or we could all be wiped out like we discuss here. In a way it would be kinda kool if we all found out today that in say 3 hours we will all be dead from asteroid impact

it would relay show all those people who don't have enough fun
    delop wrote:
    Yellowstone is 50 years overdue for an explosion..

Kinda makes all US endeavors totally useless.
    It would be nice if that went off in a few years, the only bad thing would be the loss of some great TV shows and actors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

The world will end when one person manages to read this thread title without rolling their eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Dan133269 wrote:
    soon hopefully
    Oh yeah definately, lets all cross our fingers and hope the world ends tomorrow.
    Bit of a stupid comment there Dan. If you don't like the world/life, you know you are always welcome to end it (your life) at any time.

Regarding when the world will actually come to an end, noone can be sure. One definate thing is that somewhere down the line the suns gases will run out and well no longer get its heat and light, and eventually everything on earth will die. However, by the time that comes I'm sure technology will have advanced to the point where the human race can survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Didn't the Prophet St. Malachy ?? (I think) predict that the world would come close to Armageddon in something like 2009 (not too far from the Mayans) He predicted that Benedict XVI would be pope and he was true their also.

His prediction was that a warlord from the East with his muslim army would capture all of Europe and enslave the European race and Nuke Rome, Europe would stay occupied until circa. 2040 when a great crusader from America would liberate it. It also said their would be a Pope Paul II in two popes time and that Benedict should die in about two years.

The Return of Jesus Christ would then be eminent. While this may sound completely raving, one must look at the current geo-political situation and realise that Iran poses a real threat to Europe if they got long range nuclear missiles. Dubya now has the power of a fart in a hurricane and St. Malachy's predictions sound pretty close to the current political climate anyways.

I nominate Borat as our New World Leader with Pamela Anderson as Queen :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

User45701 wrote:
    It would be nice if that went off in a few years, the only bad thing would be the loss of some great TV shows and actors

We could save them!! Invite them over for a wedding or a barmitzah or to laugh at the cast of Fairly Sh1tty or something.
    God dammit I need to know how Lost ends. They'd better be in Hawaii when it goes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

28 days... 6 hours... 42 minutes... 12 seconds... that is when the world will end.

netwhizkid wrote:
    Didn't the Prophet St. Malachy ?? (I think) predict that the world would come close to Armageddon in something like 2009 (not too far from the Mayans) He predicted that Benedict XVI would be pope and he was true their also.

His prediction was that a warlord from the East with his muslim army would capture all of Europe and enslave the European race and Nuke Rome, Europe would stay occupied until circa. 2040 when a great crusader from America would liberate it. It also said their would be a Pope Paul II in two popes time and that Benedict should die in about two years.

The Return of Jesus Christ would then be eminent. While this may sound completely raving, one must look at the current geo-political situation and realise that Iran poses a real threat to Europe if they got long range nuclear missiles. Dubya now has the power of a fart in a hurricane and St. Malachy's predictions sound pretty close to the current political climate anyways.

I do think its possible for certain people to be able to see patterns and predict future events with amazing accuracy but i think thats due to a slightly different configuration in there brain and not religion or a god in any shape or form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

The world (at least our solar system) will end when the sun turns into a red giant (shortly before collapsing into a black hole), expanding so much that it will simply gobble up planet earth ...several billion years down the line.

Human civilisation as we know it will come to an abprupt end when ...a big enough astroid hits ....yellowstone explodes ...the earth tilts on its axis (again).

My world will end when my wife dies.

netwhizkid wrote:
    His prediction was that a warlord from the East with his muslim army would capture all of Europe and enslave the European race and Nuke Rome, Europe would stay occupied until circa. 2040 when a great crusader from America would liberate it.

In fairness, he may have been right about a few things but I think theres enough military power in Europe, as well as having America as an ally to stop any Eastern country from taking over the whole of Europe. Or at least I hope there is!

netwhizkid wrote:

Have you any links to this Malachy lunatic? All I can find is that he didn't predict anything about Pope John Paul, rather...

Of course Malachy didn't name the popes by name--otherwise we'd all be believers in his prophetic skills. He gave them descriptive names. John Paul II, the current pope, is number 110 and he was christened "De Labore Solis," from the labor of the sun. Those who have the gift of interpretation tell us that this is an accurate prophecy because John Paul II's father was a laborer and he has traveled around the earth (like the sun? well, remember, the prediction was pre-Copernicus). Some think the name refers to the fact that there was a total eclipse of the sun when JP II was born.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    28 days... 6 hours... 42 minutes... 12 seconds... that is when the world will end.

Ha!

I think the world will end on a monday

Ha!

It should be a Tuesday. Its the only day that serves no purpose.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

peasant wrote:
    The world (at least our solar system) will end when the sun turns into a red giant (shortly before collapsing into a black hole), expanding so much that it will simply gobble up planet earth ...several billion years down the line.
    Nah, we don't get anything so fancy as a black hole :( Current theory is that it'll enter a red giant phase before finally being a boring white dwarf. It seems earth mightn't even be immolated - merely have all its atmosphere and water vaporised! Where's the drama in that?!

We'll all have left in an ark by that point anyway, only for Dodo Chaplet to threaten us all with a cold..

petes wrote:
    It should be a Tuesday. Its the only day that serves no purpose.

as long as its not a friday. That would put a downer on the weekend.

An asteroid a mile wide would cause quite a bit of devestation IMO. 5 to 10 miles and it'd be civilisation destroying.

Now, there are yokes out there heading this way that are 500 times + that size.
    Kinda puts things in perspective. The only reason we are still here is because Jupiter is so big it tends to catch things that fly by.

Look at the Moon.
    Look at Mars.
    We're fooked :eek:

chamlis wrote:
    An asteroid a mile wide would cause quite a bit of devestation IMO. 5 to 10 miles and it'd be civilisation destroying.

Kinda puts things in perspective. The only reason we are still here is because Jupiter is so big it tends to catch things that fly by.

Look at the Moon.
    Look at Mars.
    We're fooked :eek:

Just get into a wooden wardrobe like that woman did in a hurricane. You'll be fine.

ixoy wrote:
    Nah, we don't get anything so fancy as a black hole :( Current theory is that it'll enter a red giant phase before finally being a boring white dwarf. It seems earth mightn't even be immolated - merely have all its atmosphere and water vaporised! Where's the drama in that?!

We'll all have left in an ark by that point anyway, only for Dodo Chaplet to threaten us all with a cold..

Ye but think for a second, look how far we have come tech wise in the last 100 years now think that we have how many hundreds of millions of years to solve this problem it may seem like a massive unsolvable problem to us because of our small minds and limited tech but relay either we will just leave this solar system or we will find a way to re-ignite our own sun or prevent its demise maybe re-infuse it when it neers the end of its life cycle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 englishineire

ixoy wrote:

Yep, Peasant and Ixoy thought along the same lines as me.... took only 1 hour 44 mins for it to show up, told you it was boring.

Am liking a lot of the other responses thou, besides those crappy one-liners like 'tomorrow' or 'Friday'... boys, you're not funny ;)

So please, continue !!

User45701 wrote:

Yes, that would be the only bad thing that would happen if (or should I say when) Yellowstone erupts. What an idiotic thing to say.
    chamlis wrote:

Look at the Moon.
    Look at Mars.
    We're fooked eek.gif

If the simpsons taught us anything, its that asteroids burn up on entry :D

Thank God for Jupiter I suppose! Hopefully we'll keep dodging the big ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Somebodies a bid Donnie Darko fan!

Y
    Am liking a lot of the other responses thou, besides those crappy one-liners like 'tomorrow' or 'Friday'... boys, you're not funny ;)

So please, continue !!

You were expecting a completely serious discussion on after hours then?

Somebodies a bid Donnie Darko fan!

Just a bit! Flippin' love that film.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

According to Nostradamus, the world will end in July or August 1999!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

There have been 5 mass extinctions on Earth so far with the last one being the one 65 million years ago that killed off the dinosaurs. We're currently undergoing a 6th mass extinction and it isn't a asteroid this time it's the human race that's causing so many species across the earth to be wiped out.

As for asteroid impacts that might threaten us there isn't too much to be woried about... One named Apophis will be passing very close to the Earth in 2029 and should be very visible in the sky, now depending on how the Earth's gravity affects Apophis's orbit at that time it might be able to hit us on it's next visit in in 2036. The odds stand at about 1 in 6000 at the moment.

There is another one with a 1 in 600 chance of hitting the Earth and it's over a kilometre wide, so it would do serious damage. But it's not due until 2880 and I should hope that if the human race is still around by then we should be more than able for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

oh yeah ...and Ireland wil be pretty FUBAR'd whenever that vulcano on the canaries decides to topple into the Atlantic ...

Think 10 m high tsunami rolling up the Shannon :D

kbannon wrote:
    According to Nostradamus, the world will end in July or August 1999!

Bugger.

You'd think someone wouldve told us by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Ha!

I reckon a Thursday. I never could get the hang of Thursdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 englishineire

petes wrote:
    You were expecting a completely serious discussion on after hours then?

Errr no. The keywords there were 'crappy' and 'one-liners'.

Why be completely serious if you can throw some humour in at the same time? (That's a rhetorical btw ;) )

@ monkeyfudge
    Yeah, those are the ones we know about.

Imagine this:
    If you look at the Galaxy dead on and you can somehow keep track of where our sun is, you'll see that it's quite a bit away from the central nucleus of the Milky Way. Speed up time to about a million years a second, you'll see our sun orbiting the center of the galaxy much like we orbit our sun.
    Now, picture looking at the galaxy Side-On. It's a line with a big bulge in the middle. Again, if you can keep track of our sun you'll see that it doesn't just follow a straight line like you might expect from looking at it edge on. It actually bobs up and down, passing through the center of "the line". This process takes about 60 million years. As you can imagine, the line is alot denser with stars. This is significant because......

Every planet in our solar system is on the same orbital plane bar Pluto (is it still a "planet"?). Most asteroids follow this plane closely also, some more than others. This is almost a flat 2-dimensional plane when you think about it.
    But at the edge of the system (about a light year out actually) we are surrounded by a spherical "shell" of comets and asteroids called the oort cloud (Not to be confused with the kuipere belt (sp?) which is between mars and jupiter). This is a massive sphere of objects and is where almost all intersteller bodies actually come from.
    That's fine, you say. Well, when we do our 60 million year "bob" through the galactic disk, and the density of stars becomes heavier, the results is that our neighbouring stars get closer. If the oort cloud is a lightyear from our sun, and our nearest neighbour Proxima Centaury (alpha Centaury :p) is just over 4 lightyears away, and is 100% likely to have it's own oort cloud, you can see why we need to be worried. It's gravitational influence would upset our oort yokes, and either send them in towards us or out into space.

Ok to clarify: Jupiter is on the same orbital plane we are.
    The Oort cloud is a sphere surrounding us.

We got **** coming from all directions, Jupiter can only catch whet goes near it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I reckon it'll end on a lazy Sunday afternoon in the summertime when the weather is fine and the living is easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭jacool

It'll be a human error to end it all - maybe nuclear, when we run out of oil and have to go that way as we get lazier, fatter and more automated.
    hopefully we don't take out everything with us, but as we think we're so great, would we care ?
    as our value on life decreases year on year, and everything becomes an instant hit, then onto the next thing, we're in an ever-decreasing circle as it is. we have mobile phone seasons now, what utter madness eh.
    uh oh, i'm rambling

We're doomed i tell you, doomed !!

jacool wrote:
    we have mobile phone seasons now

The what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Anyone at anytime could predict Europeans and Middle Eastern would have some sort of war in the future we've been at each others throats ever since Jebus and Muhammad decided God liked it better their way.

I wouldn't be to worried about asteroids if there's any animal that can survive that it's us. We've been on the brink of extinction at least once before we're well used to it at this stage.

The biggest worry has to be peak oil but that's only going to kill off most of us, some will survive.

Anythings possible but an abrupt and to earth is highly unlikely.

touch wood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭esskay

Ah well, looks like i was wrong after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

The world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday in fact. Just after tea...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

On a Monday because EVERYBODY hates Monday's and what better way to punish us then have the World end on a Monday.:D