Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complaining about noisy dog next door. Who do I contact?

• 09-11-2006 10:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭

Ok my second rant in the space of ten mins but this is one thats been bugging me for weeks. Ive tried dropping hints to a neighbour about a dog of hers that barks out the back NON STOP and still the noisy barstard yelps day and night. My sleep cycle is absolutely fcuked because of this and I need to do something through the right channels about it before I fall out severely with the neighbour.

Is there anyway I can complain about this mutt anonymously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Lynfo

Maybe the ISPCA? imo it's cruel to leave a dog outside like that for so long, i have the same problem with a neighbour across the road. especially on halloween night, you could hear the fear in the poor dog with all the bangers going off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭b0bsquish

Think happy thoughts, be kind to the dog, give it a sandwich..... with a valium in it, dogs happy, your happy....everyones happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Saskia

Wouldnt be the ISPCA in this case as its environmental noise control thing. Or something. Anyone?

b0bsquish wrote:
    Think happy thoughts, be kind to the dog, give it a sandwich..... with a valium in it, dogs happy, your happy....everyones happy!

I was thinking more along the lines of rat poison. Ahem. Joke. No really. A Joke. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

if the dogs bark is above the legal noise limit then contact the gardai they will inform her to keep the dog inside, but worst case scenario she dosent and the dog is taken by the RSPCA

i remember a few years back a blind woman who lived behind my dads house when i was a kid had a dog (obsivally) and the dog was not treated that well it was kept in the back garden and would bark and yelp you if it saw you and would only stop if you went over and gave it some pets and attention though the small gap in the fence between the gardens

User45701 wrote:
    if the dogs bark is above the legal noise limit then contact the gardai they will inform her to keep the dog inside

She's obviously going to know its one of her neighbours in this scenario. Cant I just throw it under a bus? Joke. No really. A Joke. Honestly. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Go into a Garda station and ask. There are breach of peace laws, maybe this falls under that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Buy earplugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭the evil belly

isn't all this a bit last resort? you've said you've dropped hints, why don't you come straight out and talk to your neighbour. simply explain the problem and ask if it would be possible for them to keep the dog in or something. i'm sure the guards have better things to worry about then barking dogs and you haven't tried to sort it yourself. i'd say by all means contact someone about it if after trying the direct approach nothing changes. they might be genuinely unaware how big a problem this is for you.

which would you prefer if it was your dog?

rb_ie wrote:
    Buy earplugs.

I think they're breaking the law. Why should I? Dog Kebab anyone? ;)

isn't all this a bit last resort? you've said you've dropped hints, why don't you come straight out and talk to your neighbour

Ive tried that too and to be honest we've lived beside too long for me to be too blunt with them. The neighbours are retired and its an akward situation Id rather deal with anonymously. The reason I asked here is there was a radio ad a couple of months ago giving people a number to complain about such domestic environmental noise problems but I havent heard it recently and Google isnt coming up with any pecific watchdog (pardon the pun) for this kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Saskia wrote:
    Ive tried that too and to be honest we've lived beside too long for me to be too blunt with them. The neighbours are retired and its an akward situation Id rather deal with anonymously. The reason I asked here is there was a radio ad a couple of months ago giving people a number to complain about such domestic environmental noise problems but I havent heard it recently and Google isnt coming up with any pecific watchdog (pardon the pun) for this kind of thing.

Surely since you have lived beside them for some time you should be able to talk rationally to them without coming off as blunt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Why would you want to be blunt with them? If you've lived beside them that long, just rationally explain your problem and see if they can/will sort it out for you. It's amazing what actually speaking to people can accomplish you know.

If that doesn't work and you need to take it further, ring the Environment Dept. of the local Council, they're the ones in charge of noise nuisances, uncontrolled animals etc. The Gardai won't give a ****e about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

petes wrote:
    Surely since you have lived beside them for some time you should be able to talk rationally to them without coming off as blunt?

Exactly. Confronting them is a lot better than going behind their backs and reporting them, which frankly (imo) is a little pathetic, without having talked to them about it first anyway.

ring the Environment Dept. of the local Council, they're the ones in charge of noise nuisances, uncontrolled animals etc

Thats the answer I was looking for. Thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

unfortuantely, the CoCo will only get involved if you have already complained to the neighbours and they have not done anything.

http://www.oasis.gov.ie/environment/control_of_dogs.html

Excessive dog barking that causes a nuisance is an offence. Your District Court can make an order requiring the reduction of excessive barking by a dog, can limit the number of dogs that can be kept on a premises or can direct that a dog be delivered to a dog warden as an unwanted dog.

You can make a complaint about excessive barking to the District Court under Noise Regulations. Before you do this, you must first inform the dog owner of your intention by downloading and completing a special form under the Control of Dogs Act, 1986.

Making a complaint

You should approach the person or business causing the noise and explain that it is a nuisance and try to come to a mutually acceptable solution. If this does not work, your local authority has the same power as individuals to bring noise complaints to the District Court. In addition, local authorities have similar powers to the Environmental Protection Agency in relation to premises, processes and works other than those that require licensing under the Environmental Protection Agency Act. The Environmental Protection Agency can require the person or body to take specific measures to prevent or limit noise. Anyone required to take such specific measures by the Environmental Protection Agency must do so or face prosecution.

If you wish to make a complaint to the District Court, you are not required to be represented by a solicitor, however, you may engage the assistance of a solicitor to help prepare your noise complaint and present this in court. You should consult with the Clerk of your local District Court about an appointment for the hearing of your case and refer precisely to the law relating to your case (Section 108 of the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 and the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 (Noise) Regulations 1994 (SI No. 179 of 1994).

The appointment for the hearing of your case must be at least 7 days later than the date on which you inform the person responsible for the noise nuisance that you will be taking your case to court. You must use a Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992 - noise form of notice to inform the person or business that you will be taking them to court. It is important that you use this form of notice only and that you complete it fully and accurately.

The District Court will call both parties together and listens to both sides of the case. If the court finds in your favour, it can order the person or body to limit the noise, reduce the level of noise or stop the noise completely. Any Orders made by the court must be complied with.

Environmental Protection Agency
    P.O. Box 3000,
    Johnstown Castle Estate
    Co. Wexford.
    Tel: (053) 60600
    Fax: (053) 60699
    E-mail: info@epa.ie

suggestion: talk to your neighbours, and explain the situation. You are not being unreasonable. If they act the dick, you owe them nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭SmoothyG

IMO you should say it to your neighbours, its not like they are being perticluarly considerate to you so you shouldnt worry about them not liking it.
    At the end of the day you have to grow some cajones and be direct, doing it annomously is being sneaky, and contacting the ISPCA, for the sake of being cowardly, might have thier dog taken away, if you say it to them personally then they will at least have a chance to fix it before taking things further.

don't assume that your neighbours are in the house thinking "the dogs barking again but **** the neighbours, they'll just have to lump it" - If you talk to them about it, they may be very appreciative of the fact that you talked to them rather than just rang the cops.

the house next to mine has been unoccupied for the last two weeks, and is being sold. The alarm has been going on and off pretty much all the time in those two weeks, and the owner lives in Portlaoise. I was getting pissed off, I tried ringing the estate agent but nothing happened. Rang again and asked for the owner's number - estate agent wouldn't give it till I told him I'd be ringing the cops. Gave me the number, rang the owner and he was falling over himself to apologise, and it's sorted now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭daymobrew

tbh wrote:
    unfortuantely, the CoCo will only get involved if you have already complained to the neighbours and they have not done anything.
    I contacted the Dog Warden for my CoCo without requiring that I contact the neighbours. The dog's exercise consisted of the front door being open and the dog run around the nearby green space area. He barked at and intimidated many people (despite being a small dog). It was not leashed and did not have a tag.
    The Dog Wadern visited the owner a few times. Eventually the owner got rid of the dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

daymobrew wrote:
    I contacted the Dog Warden for my CoCo without requiring that I contact the neighbours. The dog's exercise consisted of the front door being open and the dog run around the nearby green space area. He barked at and intimidated many people (despite being a small dog). It was not leashed and did not have a tag.
    The Dog Wadern visited the owner a few times. Eventually the owner got rid of the dog.
    That is actually against the law so that is why that action would work.
    With a dog just barking it is quite clear you must approch the owner first before making a complaint. No way around it and quite reasonable really.
    It doesn't sound like the OP is going to be attacked as a result of pointing out the problem.
    I pointed out to a neighbour (one street over)that the stuff the left out for the bonfire was dumped by my house and would they mind picking it up and disposing it correctly. I was then followed by their hulking son who threatened me and then followed me home to point out he new where I lived and would "get me" if the rubbish came near there house again. I get there can be discomfort in saying things to neighbours.

Kipperhell wrote:
    I get there can be discomfort in saying things to neighbours.

Therein lies the problem. It could cause problems with my parents, the rest of the house and them. Id rather just do it anonymously tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Saskia wrote:
    Ok my second rant in the space of ten mins but this is one thats been bugging me for weeks. Ive tried dropping hints to a neighbour about a dog of hers that barks out the back NON STOP and still the noisy barstard yelps day and night. My sleep cycle is absolutely fcuked because of this and I need to do something through the right channels about it before I fall out severely with the neighbour.

i know exactly what your going through, my next door neighbour has 2 adult and 3 boxer pups and lets them out into the back garden at half 5 every morning, the noise is unbearable and me and the missus have moved into the room at the front but then at 6 the owner of the dogs is out screaming at her kids to 'GET INTO THE FUC*ING CAR OR YOU WILL LATE FOR SCHOOL'. its gotten to the stage now where we cant take any more,as i usually work nights and go to bed around 7 am but the dogs do be let into the front garden at about 9 and bark their balls off there too, i cant win. ive said it to her but it just goes in one ear and out the other, ill have to get the police involved but its very difficult as we get on very well with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Saskia wrote:
    Therein lies the problem. It could cause problems with my parents, the rest of the house and them. Id rather just do it anonymously tbh.
    I suggest you phone the Dog Warden/ISPCA and ask their advice. They will know the options much better than any of us here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Saskia wrote:
    I undederstand but as clearly pointed out you can't complain without talking to the neighbours. Calling the ISPCA is absolutley riddiculious unless you actually think they are harming the dog. I think you would be wasting their time and acting irresposnsible to do so becasue you think their dog should be quite. You simply can't complain anonymously because people would do so out of spite and without the reasonable belief you should talk to your neighbour first.

Have you spoken to your parents about this? If they think you are overreacting maybe you are. I can't even imagine my parents neighbours getting mad if I pointed out their dog was causing me lack of sleep. I own dogs and we make sure our dogs don't bother people but are very open to complaints and have acted where there have been issues. How long have you lived there?

In the last house the neighbour complained about are dog keeping their child awake. When we tired to figure out why they were barking it was thier child banging on the window and shouting at the dogs. He picked this habit up after seeing his father winding our dogs up for a laugh which we caught him doing 3 days later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Shoot the ****er.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Saskia wrote:

The A-Team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I know how you feel i have 2 dogs next door and they won't stop barking(there actually at it now), might want to invest in a bit of rat poisin, that'll shut them up!
    *walks to the shop*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Look out from behind the net curtains, clench your fist in your pocket and mutter under your breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

its a pet hate of mine where people won't tell someone directly about a problem but will instead try and avoid the confrontation. Going directly to the council is imo plain nasty behaviour.

Tomorrow evening, walk up to their door, knock on it, when they answer, explain calmly that the dog is barking at all hours and its disrupting your sleep. Suggest to the neightbours that a barking collar can be bought for about 50 euro in a pet shop if they're not sure what to do about it. Why do people feel the need to be so evasive?

You can't exactly tell a dog to stop barking, some people are pure egnorent if you call to there house about dogs.
    Them dog collars, what are they?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

¬_¬

The council are the only ones meant to do something, and they won't really do anything.

You can make your point to the neighbour without it coming across as rude/annoying. Be helpful; suggest ways to keep the dog quiet - look at its sleeping quarters, food, toys, etc. What age is the dog? Those collars and official complaints (behind their backs esp.) should be last resort - they're not nice to the dog, or neighbour. It's in its nature to bark, and your neighbours probably like the security. It just needs to be trained and relaxed.

In the meantime, get earplugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Talk to your parents, and if they don't listen, then talk to your neighbors,
    and if they don't listen then talk to the ISPCA.

If they don't listen then talk to the dogs. who will probably just p*ss on your leg. You still have other options though, you can string the mutts up by the b*lls or move in with the grandparents or tell your parents you'll move out and sleep on the streets.

Or you can ask yourself "if a dog barks in the woods and no-one is around to hear him, can you still report him to the ISPCA?".

I can understand how you feel, its not easy having a whining dog next door. My neighbor had one and it really p*ssed me off barking for hours on end, but i liked my neighbor and didn't want to make an enemy of her so i didnt complain. It only lasted about a week though because someone must have reported her or something cos the mutt just disappeared.

Is it illegal not to have a lisence for dogs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

You must have a dog license and renew it every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

The A-Team
    Great Idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Saskia wrote:

Saskia,

I will send you a pm shortly.

1. Forget the sandwiches - they don't work.:D +

2. Why SHOULD you buy earplugs?

3. Housing estates are built for people - not dogs.

4. Don't rely on the Control Of Dogs Act - it's more complicated than it first appears - and you WILL need a solicitor.;)

vorbis wrote:
    its a pet hate of mine where people won't tell someone directly about a problem but will instead try and avoid the confrontation. Going directly to the council is imo plain nasty behaviour.

Tomorrow evening, walk up to their door, knock on it, when they answer, explain calmly that the dog is barking at all hours and its disrupting your sleep. Suggest to the neightbours that a barking collar can be bought for about 50 euro in a pet shop if they're not sure what to do about it. Why do people feel the need to be so evasive?

Vorbis - what you don't seem to appreciate is that you may be dealing with someone unbalanced. In a lot of these cases these owners don't give a toss about the animals - they just see it as a way of aggravating the neighbours.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Don't go behind your neighbours backs with this, they will hate you for it. My neighbours did something similar to me and now I despise them and I will get them back.

It sounds like they shouldn't be allowed to have a dog but if you have any respect for your neighbours and think their reasonable people talk to them first. If their not reasonable people how do you think they'll react to you going to the cops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭BOHS

Got this from the net but i dont wanna read the last coupleof pages to see if it has been posted....

Any customers wanting to make a noise complaint about dogs barking in their area, please inform them that they need to take the owner of the dog to court themselves. They should contact the District Court on 8886117 and ask to make a "Barking Order against the Dog Act".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

[ding dong]
    "Sorry to bother ye Mary but is there any chance you could do something with Rex, his barking is causing us all sorts of problems?"

Try that first, if no improvement then go to Council and explore legal avenues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

The barking collar is a device that administers a mild electric shock to the animal when it barks, acting as a deterrent so it eventually realises that barking hurts and it stops barking.

Personally I find it barbaric, and it should be put on the owner first and foremost and set to electrocute them every time they send mixed signals to their dog, fail to reinforce its position in the pack order of their home, ignore it when it needs attention and neglect to give it the exercise it needs because they're too lazy.

Most dogs will bark at some point during the day - possibly at a passing stranger, the arrival of the postman, or in excitement at something.

A dog that barks all day and all night has attention and dominance issues - it either feels ignored, or terrified out of its wits that something will happen to the owners it feels it has to protect therefore it's yapping it's stupid head off all day and all night to warn them.

A couple of sessions with a decent dog trainer should help the owners establish a proper relationship with their dog, so it feels loved and safe and doesn't feel the need to bark all the sodding time for attention or in defence of its pack.

Talk to your neighbours. A dog that barks all day and all night isn't a happy dog, so you do have reason to believe it's not being treated well on that basis.

The barking collar is a device that administers a mild electric shock to the animal when it barks, acting as a deterrent so it eventually realises that barking hurts and it stops barking.

Personally I find it barbaric, and it should be put on the owner first and foremost and set to electrocute them every time they send mixed signals to their dog, fail to reinforce its position in the pack order of their home, ignore it when it needs attention and neglect to give it the exercise it needs because they're too lazy.

Most dogs will bark at some point during the day - possibly at a passing stranger, the arrival of the postman, or in excitement at something.

A dog that barks all day and all night has attention and dominance issues - it either feels ignored, or terrified out of its wits that something will happen to the owners it feels it has to protect therefore it's yapping it's stupid head off all day and all night to warn them.

A couple of sessions with a decent dog trainer should help the owners establish a proper relationship with their dog, so it feels loved and safe and doesn't feel the need to bark all the sodding time for attention or in defence of its pack.

Talk to your neighbours. A dog that barks all day and all night isn't a happy dog, so you do have reason to believe it's not being treated well on that basis.

You're bang on with all counts there. I'ma amazed at how flippant some posters are regarding this issue - they obviously have no comprehension as to the effects of this. Imagine a few lads shouting outside your window going home from the pub (which happens to us all now and again) and think of this going on throughout the night. It can wreck your health.

Also - why SHOULD people have to wear earplugs because some dick head won't pay his pet some attention? Do I need to spell out the Health and Safety implications of this in the event of an emergency, say, a fire? Unfortunately, many of these dog owners are classic 'small man with a big dog' mentality. This dog looks hard - so I look hard.

Finally, ScumLord I am amazed by your outburst about 'getting your neghbours back'. What could possibly lead you to behave in such a vindictive way? And are you 100% sure it was them?:confused:

Freddie59 wrote:
    You're bang on with all counts there. I'ma amazed at how flippant some posters are regarding this issue - they obviously have no comprehension as to the effects of this. Imagine a few lads shouting outside your window going home from the pub (which happens to us all now and again) and think of this going on throughout the night. It can wreck your health.

Also - why SHOULD people have to wear earplugs because some dick head won't pay his pet some attention? Do I need to spell out the Health and Safety implications of this in the event of an emergency, say, a fire? Unfortunately, many of these dog owners are classic 'small man with a big dog' mentality. This dog looks hard - so I look hard.

Finally, ScumLord I am amazed by your outburst about 'getting your neghbours back'. What could possibly lead you to behave in such a vindictive way? And are you 100% sure it was them?:confused:

I agree with everything you said, but some people are afraid that if they complain to their neighbours it'll start some long war of attrition that'll make their life hell - unfortunately there is nothing you can do about this, just talk to the neighbour, hope for the best and if it doesn't work, then you can call the cops. Either that or just learn to live with it.

tbh wrote:
    I agree with everything you said, but some people are afraid that if they complain to their neighbours it'll start some long war of attrition that'll make their life hell - unfortunately there is nothing you can do about this, just talk to the neighbour, hope for the best and if it doesn't work, then you can call the cops. Either that or just learn to live with it.

You're quite right. But what else can you do? If the neighbour becomes unapproachable, and the incessant barking continues, you have no other option.

I would strongly advise anyone proceeding under the control of dogs actto choose a solicitor carefully and make sure you have all your facts. The onus is on you, not the guards as people seem to think, to both bring the case and prosecute it.

Have a look at these links. You will have to register for the first one at unison.ie, but it will give an example to those of you affected.

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1254628&issue_id=11447

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA32Y1986S25.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

ScumLord I am amazed by your outburst about 'getting your neghbours back'. What could possibly lead you to behave in such a vindictive way? And are you 100% sure it was them?
    Ya what pissed me off is that we know eachother and instead of taking their complaint to me they went to the cops I couldn't have anyone over to the house without them complaining. I'm not going to do anything to them but their in my badbooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

I had the same problem and ended up taking the neighbour to court.

If you can get away with earplugs, then buy some. In our case, the dog was loud enough that it still kept us awake with earplugs in.

Here's what I'd suggest.

First, find out the full name of the neighbour. This is important for later.

Second, keep a diary of the barking. Every time the dog barks, write it down. Time and duration.

Third. Drop a letter through their door, explaining the problem how it is affecting your life. I'd also say in the letter that if something is not done that you will take them to the District court and get a court order against them and this could result in fines and the dog warden taking the dog from them. You don't have to put your name on the letter if you don't want to.

This is a bit heavy handed, but if the barking is bad enough it will eventually drive you nuts. It's easier this way, trust me.

After this, they will either do something about the dog, or just ignore you.

The next step is to go down to the district court office and get a summons. You will need the name and address of the person that you want to bring to court. Important points.

1. You will be charged for the summons (about 8 euro I think)
    2..You have to personally deliver the summons to the person you are bringing to court.

After this, you get to go to court. (the court date should be within a week or so of you getting the summons)

This is interesting, to say the least.

If you can, bring a recording of the dog barking with you or video footage if you have a camcorder and the log you have kept.

If the dog owner does not show up, they can be fined and a bench warrent will be issued against them.

Generally, the courts will just give the dog owner a warning, and slap a noise order against them.

If you continue to have problems, you will need to take them to court again. Once you have the initial court order, the judge will be a lot stricter, any will impose fines and possibly order that the dog be surrendered to the local dog warden.

In my case, once we actually got to the court, the dog owner became a lot more reasonable when he realized he could lose his dog. In fairness, he was a very decent guy and I don't think he realized how bad the dog was when he left it home alone.

We worked out a solution there and then, and basically by the time we were called up, we told the judge we had figured it out and there was no need for the court order. We have had no problems at all since then and all has been well. I've run into the neighbour a couple of times since and all has been well. I just wish I'd done it sooner really.

Details of the process can be found here

http://www.oasis.gov.ie/environment/control_of_dogs.html?search=Dog+barking

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

A few other points.

1. The Gards probably legally cannot do anything about a barking dog. And to be honest, they will probably just tell you to go to the district court office if you complain to them.

2. You do NOT need a solictor to take someone to the district court for a barking dog. The District court is fairly informal when it comes to civil type problems like this one. I thnk in most cases the judge will generally side with you simply because you would not bother taking someone to court over a barking dog unless there was a real problem.

More often than not the types of things that are handled in the district court are small claims (like my dry cleaner runined my dress, suit, etc), noise comlplaints and other such things.

rs wrote:
    You do NOT need a solictor to take someone to the district court for a barking dog.

I would STRONGLY advise against this. This may work when two sets of reasonable people are involved (and let's face it - if reason prevails you won't end up in court) but let's say you have to bring a nasty type of individual to Court.

You need the experience and protection of a solicitor. Plain and simple. For what it costs it's worth it.

call the gardai and tell them if they don't get rid of the dog in ____ road that it's causing you to go a bit mad that you'l take a knife/pellet gun to it

P.s do it anon from a phonebox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

Saskia wrote:

I would at this stage fcuk the hints and come right out and say.. Listen neighbour, your dog will not shut up and I cannot get a moments piece, if you do not do something about it right away, I will have nothing left to do but call the authorities, I have been fair on this.. DO Something Please....

I had an issue with a neighbour of mine here in the states and her dog would **** in my garden all the time. I spoke to her several times about it and told her to clean it up please that I have 2 kids who play in the garden and if they were to step in it or play it in I would not be nice about it since I nicely mentioned it several times to her. She did not once make an attempt to clean it up. I came home from work one day to find another pile of **** in my garden along with several other pieces. I said enough is enough.... I went in got my shovel, my wife is like, what’s this bleeding lunatic up to now? I got the shovel and got all the pieces of s hit, 6 in total and placed them on her door step. If I had of had an Irish flag I would have put it on top... It worked I tell you, no more dog s hit, plus she wont talk to me know, which suits me fine cause she is a snotty nosed little b itch with a silver spoon stuck up her arse. But I watched her as she approached her front door the look on her face was priceless. I was on the verge of shouting over to her saying I brought back what your dog gave me... Hope you like it... But the wife grabbed me in the house...

And I know this is the second post I have made today with s hit in it... I may change my name to the scat man......