Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shopping with Women.

• 08-11-2006 7:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

I poke and prod the underwear on occasion...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

It doesn't bother me really to be honest. I just either point my thumb up or down depending on what I think of the item in question - it speeds things up and doesn't leave your choice of words open to misinterpretation :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Have been there myself but have no qualms about going in. It's just a shop. The only problem is when it's shop number 20!:rolleyes: Would tend to go separate ways for an hour or so. At the end of that we'd meet and if there was anything that needed an opinion I was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Oh God No.
    I learned that lesson when I was still in school.

You just don't belong there.....
    It must be something to do with the fact that those changing rooms can be less than private. You don't really know where to look half the time.

"I'm not being a perv! I just have nowhere else to look! I swear!
    You don't believe me......
    It's your fault for dragging me in here in the first place!
    Ah shut up....
    Waggon.
    I-I didn't mean that baby, I'm sorry."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

tribulus wrote:
    It doesn't bother me really to be honest. I just either point my thumb up or down depending on what I think of the item in question - it speeds things up and doesn't leave your choice of words open to misinterpretation :D

Bingo. The only part I find annoying really is waiting around if she's buying something. I always, without fail, end up standing in front of a rack of clothes that women seem bloody intent on checking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Mirror wrote:
    I poke and prod the underwear on occasion...

Haven't you seen that episode of Father Ted? The elastic will fly up and hit you in the eye someday! :)

It doesn't bother me, a simple yay or nay to the item in question works for my missus similar to what tribulus mentioned. None of this hanging about lark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

The bit I hate is when, after selecting, seeking opinions and then purchasing an item, they have not even left the shop and then they say "Well, I have the receipt - I can always change it". :confused: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

they usually have places for men to sit. Like in A wear in henry street there is a long seat beside the stairs that always full of boyfriends and upstairs beside thge dressing room theres a seat too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I dont get why people bring boyfriends shopping. It makes more sense to have them sit in the pub and watch the bags while you continue shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Wasnt there a store somewhere that opened a "blokes room" where men could go watch football games and play playstation games while the girls were shopping?

personally i dont mind it, it allows us blokes to go where otherwise we'd get dirty looks. that said i'll never understand the female inability to go in buy what they want and leave in under an hour. if you want a pair of shoes why are you looking at tops:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i cant stand shopping with the missus, i usually wait in a bookies or a pub which really pisses her off but i would rather that than walking all over dublin for 5 hours looking for clothes and then deciding to go back to the first shop she went into.
    wouldnt it be great if there was a creche for lads full of games consoles, a tv with at the races on it and some coffee/coca cola/beer, oh and a nice eastern european hostess. we can only hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Hate it but put up with it. She hates football but puts up with it. So we kinda break even:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

I usually don't care but Jaysus I hate shopping with the girl in Penny's, just so much stuff and she has to look at it all, I usually make the excuse that its too stuffy, go outside and have a fag. The smaller shops where there is a bit of talent to look at, I don't mind at all.

Ladies underwear shopping is the worst thing ever, I don't care what you buy, as long as it's easy to take off!

Was in a couple stores in America and they have the lethar couches with TV and playstation. It was the winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Wasnt there a store somewhere that opened a "blokes room" where men could go watch football games and play playstation games while the girls were shopping?
    I think that was in Quarryvale when it opened first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Can't stand it. if herself is off shopping, i'll just wish her luck and wander off somewhere on my own, when she's done we'll meet back up.

simple, no hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

If you enter a womens shop with a girl and stay beside her at all times, you have permission to enter. Other than that you can't even look at them. Drift even a few meters away from your lady friend in a women's shop and you feel like a pervert. You also have to some how subtley make it known that you're not in the shop on your own and that you're in with a lady friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

To be honest I get none of the "weird feeling" in women's clothes shops, it's just a shop ffs... I simply get bored of watching others shop really fast. When shopping for myself I go alone and don't see why I need to accompany anyone else when they're shopping unless we're doing something after(applies to girl and guy friends).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

i amy hate it but by god, I do it. It feels rather weird when you are the only guy in a shop full of girls though. 'Why are they ball looking at me!?'
    I'm amazed how long a girl can spend in a shop, doing nothing. You saw the clothes already, you know, an hour ago. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭claire-g

I think they were thinking of doing that in Dundrum centre, but its not done yet, its a great idea if u ask me cause theres nothing worse than shopping with a guy who just doesnt want to be there, id prefer to be on my own!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah it sucks. What's worse is when you're walking through a seemingly "normal" shop, like Dunnes or somethin, and then suddenly, to your horror, you realise that you've sauntered into the lingerie section! :eek: There's mannequins modelling the lingerie (which for some reason always have nipples... I don't see the point), photos on all the packs of gorgeous women demonstrating how sexy the underwear is, and there's old women holding the bras up to their wrinkley boobs and looking in the mirror -- and all you wanna do is run, run, RUN!!!

Run.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

No, stay outside and mind not to block the door. Men just stand around and get in the way of the actual shoppers. Women's clothes stores are busy enough without men trailing around uselessly after their girlfriends. I'm not saying it's the men's fault either, I most blame the women for bringing their boyfriends in. There's nothing more frustrating than trying to get at a clothes rack that's blocked by a bored man who shouldn't be there in the first place.

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Faith wrote:
    No, stay outside and mind not to block the door. Men just stand around and get in the way of the actual shoppers. Women's clothes stores are busy enough without men trailing around uselessly after their girlfriends. I'm not saying it's the men's fault either, I most blame the women for bringing their boyfriends in. There's nothing more frustrating than trying to get at a clothes rack that's blocked by a bored man who shouldn't be there in the first place.

/rant
    Sexist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭SarahMc

o, stay outside and mind not to block the door. Men just stand around and get in the way of the actual shoppers. Women's clothes stores are busy enough without men trailing around uselessly after their girlfriends. I'm not saying it's the men's fault either, I most blame the women for bringing their boyfriends in. There's nothing more frustrating than trying to get at a clothes rack that's blocked by a bored man who shouldn't be there in the first place.

Totally agree. What is wrong with these women, have they no girlfriends, have they so little opinion of their own judgement, can't they decide what suits them without their partner's say so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Faith wrote:

/rant
    Well in that case, why don't you lot stay out of Mens Drinking Establishments.

Theres nothing more frustrating for Pighead than going up to the bar to buy a large jug of fine ale only to trip over some dozy looking girl whos sipping her Fat Frog at the bar.

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Lets face it, shopping is for girls. Men lack the crucial gene necessary to traipse aimlessly amongst shops for hours on end for no particular reason. This missing gene also explains why men believe they cannot be seen picking their noses in cars, and why their 'package' constantly falls out of the underwear in public places and needs to be adjusted.

The first rule of shopping with the girl you love is..... Dont.
    The second rule of shopping with the girl you love is.....Dont.
    The third rule.... you get the picture.

For the sake of the relationship and your sanity, go off somewhere and meet her in an hour or two when its out of her system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭smallpaws

Years ago in a Victoria's Secret shop, I was shopping for knickers when this couple walked in, the girl first, and the already embarrassed and uncomfortable looking guy second. As they passed through the doorway, there was girl holding cards with some perfume scent on it who was standing half concealed by a giant plant and who looked to be wearing sheer, lacy black lingerie. You didn't see her fully till you got inside the columns of the doorway and past the plant, though. The girl breezed on by, heading straight for the racks and didn't bat an eye or even appear to notice the lingerie card girl, but as the guy passed by her, he turned his head to stare in a doubletake and when his head snapped back around front (in like one second's time) his girlfriend's fist came up like a reverse slot machine lever over her shoulder and CRACK! she smacked him hard upside the head and never said a word as she kept on walking staring straight ahead while he yelped and then weaved a trail behind her, rubbing his jaw in pain and amazement.
    Word to the fellas: don't shop with your women. No good can come of it, no matter what the circumstance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

smallpaws wrote:
    Years ago in a Victoria's Secret shop, I was shopping for knickers when this couple walked in, the girl first, and the already embarrassed and uncomfortable looking guy second. As they passed through the doorway, there was girl holding cards with some perfume scent on it who was standing half concealed by a giant plant and who looked to be wearing sheer, lacy black lingerie. You didn't see her fully till you got inside the columns of the doorway and past the plant, though. The girl breezed on by, heading straight for the racks and didn't bat an eye or even appear to notice the lingerie card girl, but as the guy passed by her, he turned his head to stare in a doubletake and when his head snapped back around front (in like one second's time) his girlfriend's fist came up like a reverse slot machine lever over her shoulder and CRACK! she smacked him hard upside the head and never said a word as she kept on walking staring straight ahead while he yelped and then weaved a trail behind her, rubbing his jaw in pain and amazement.
    Word to the fellas: don't shop with your women. No good can come of it, no matter what the circumstance.
    Eh Word to the authorities: Lock that crazy bitch up. That is the most ridiculous story Pighead has ever heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

My mister is much better at shopping than me, I hate it. I could give him a list of all the girly stuff I need and he would just go get it cos he doesn't care.

Clearly I = lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

fozzle wrote:
    My mister is much better at shopping than me, I hate it. I could give him a list of all the girly stuff I need and he would just go get it cos he doesn't care.

Clearly I = Am with a complete homo

Fixed that for ya:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

My boyfriend really doesn't like it but he's a star, he comes along, mostly doesn't complain and even carries the bags! I just like going along with him because it means I get to see him more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I know that my fiancee hates it but we compromise by going into shops that both of us willl like as well, also, when I am with him I spend less time there and it is more productive. I do drag him into places such as Agent Provocateur occasionally but he does get to see the results of the shopping :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

Sometimes you have to drag men along, you know, to drive you to the shopping centre :)

My bf pretty much hates it, & i try not to inflict it on him cause hes not exactly good company when doing it anyway. He's ok for about an hour, once he can go into the occasional music or computer shop, but he pretty much zones out for the rest of it & just follows me along wherever i drag him.

Id rather go without him really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Never been so insecure that I can't walk into a womans' clothing shop. I have bought clothes for my wife on my own too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I've no problem going shopping with women, do it fairly regularly and have done for years. I like giving them my opinion/input, which is fortunate because I ended up working in womenswear for a long time (only quit in the last few months), they appreciate it and give me a hand when I'm shopping.
    Quite funny to see all the awkward guys being dragged around though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

I hate browsing through Girlie shops.
    I know what I want. I know what I like. I go in. I buy it. I'm done.
    And OMG! I went shopping with a girlfriend of mine yesterday and couldn't stand it! She had to look at EVERYTHING!

I would much rather shop alone.

Last Christmas I had to send the hubby to a Bath and Body Works store to get his Mum's Christmas gift (she was very specific about what she wanted). I got yelled at for weeks after.
    "Aaaaack! The smell of that place! Perfume! Gag! Never again! I can still taste it! Aaaack!":(

It was for HIS mommy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I go "shopping" with my GF.

This entails her looking at clothes and me agreeing/disagreeing.

Point is, Im 21 today(yesterday).

Go me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Mear wrote:
    I go "shopping" with my GF.

This entails her looking at clothes and me agreeing/disagreeing.

Point is, Im 21 today(yesterday).

Go me :D
    Belated happy birthday :D

I like having my fiancee smccarrick shopping with me as it makes me a faster more efficient shopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I don't mind it. Its a complete contrast to how I shop though. I am in and out of the shop in less than ten minutes. I see something I like I get it. Whole ensemble can be bought in less than twenty minutes. Granted there is a lot more choice for women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I don't mind going in but it really depends on the shop. Really hate the shops where you can't move, those one's I tend to stay outside of. It's like a stampede in there, don't know how you women do it and are then prepared to join a queue of about 20 people to try on something that you might like. That's the great thing about men's stores, alot more civilised and hardly ever a queue for the changing room. We know what we want, we either like it or don't like, no trying on 2 or 3 different pants or tops about 5 times to make a decision only to buy them all or leave them all. It's just straight in and straight out for us, none of this BS ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Don't mind going in with her or giving an opinion on her purchases. The only thing that bugs me is her (womens?) capacity to look at stuff for hours and hours without buying a thing.

As buying my own stuff goes, I like shopping alone. Don't want my wife seeing how much I spend... ;)

I've done this quite a few times but you seem to either get that annoying "isn't he sweet" or "isn't he a homo" look some of the female assistants..:D

Of course, I might just be para..
    Kipperhell wrote:
    I have bought clothes for my wife on my own too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Ahh it's sickening I usually have no choice but to go shopping with the missus. She insists on bringing me along. What really annoys me is when she asks me my opinion, and if it differs from her's she gets really annoyed.

Why did you ask me my opinion only to get annoyed???????

Like everyone else, it drives me mad when she goes off looking for one thing only to end up looking at everything else. Why do women do this? And she usually goes back to the first or second place we visited.

Plus there's the insane jealousy thing. Why are you looking over there?

I hate it I hate. Especially when we're not looking for anything nice, or if she decides to go into somewhere like Penneys.

stovelid wrote:
    I've done this quite a few times but you seem to either get that annoying "isn't he sweet" or "isn't he a homo" look some of the female assistants..:D

Of course, I might just be para..

I've been thinking this is the only way to go. Just go off on my own and ask the assistants and then just arrive home with whatever I've bought. Sure she can always change it if she doesn't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Lust4Life wrote:
    I hate browsing through Girlie shops.
    I know what I want. I know what I like. I go in. I buy it. I'm done.
    And OMG! I went shopping with a girlfriend of mine yesterday and couldn't stand it! She had to look at EVERYTHING!

This sounds like my missus who MAKES me come dispite the fact we end up in an argument everytime. I don't want to be there, she knows this well. I have absolutlely no interest in shoppin. When it must be done it's in and out, I know my sizes so there is no need what so ever to even try cloths on.

I believe when you shop,vit should be done alone.

AND IT'S EVERY MAN'S GOD DAMN GIVEN RIGHT NOT TO TRY SOMETHING ON BEFORE BUYING IT.

Actually reading back through some of the other posts I've realised what annoys me the most about shopping with my missus.
    We'll go into all her shops, loads and loads of the, spend hours looking at everything and anything, eventually buy very little. In between trapsing both sides of the liffey, if I want to pop into one of my stores for just two minutes she looses interest the second she walks through the door. She'll stay there for about a minute and then proceed to walk off up th street, she can't even wait outside for me.

Man that REALLY PíSSES me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

Yes, but then there is the flip side of the coin.
    Buying clothes for the hubby.

He hates everything I choose and think he would look nice in. If it's not brown blue or gray (and feckin' BAGGY! UGH!) he won't wear it. WTF? Am I wrong to want to see his nice behind in proper fitting pants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭SmoothyG

Well i normally set a time limit with the missus, 2 hours normally, and then i take the oportunity to have a say in how she dresses.
    waitng until she has 50 items to try on is a pain in the ass tho

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Shopping for accessories, shoes, underwear, makeup, don't bring them along! They will be bored silly. On the other hand, if you have narrowed down your choices to two or three possible dress (or better yet two piece swim suit) buys, then you can put on a mini-fashion show for them and ask their opinion. Remember to keep it short and be playful.

Something about the concept of wife/girlfriend/woman and this sentence together just does not compute :rolleyes:
    On the other hand, if you have narrowed down your choices to two or three possible dress buys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Lust4Life wrote:
    Yes, but then there is the flip side of the coin.
    Buying clothes for the hubby.

He hates everything I choose and think he would look nice in. If it's not brown blue or gray (and feckin' BAGGY! UGH!) he won't wear it. WTF? Am I wrong to want to see his nice behind in proper fitting pants?
    Could be a little self-conscious and thinks he only looks good in those clothes perhaps?
    That said, an awful lot of guys get set in their ways over how they dress and won't experiment whatsoever and you're not gonna change that easily.