Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 3, episode 6: Torn

• 03-11-2006 9:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭

I've no idea what this or the next few episodes are about as there's been a scarcity of information, although I gather we'll seeing a lot of the insides of basestars...

How was tonight's Galactica? 42 votes

It was amazing!
    0%
    It was great!
    40%
    ButcherOfNoggandalfVolvagiasomaStarkKevokFensterUser45701thelordofcheesedermot_sheehanKhannieCalm HorizonsDingChavezstakeysiodamurfieJack B. Badd 17 votes
    It was okay...
    47%
    DeVoremewsoLemmingPraetorianVokesCloverIvanPugsleyScruffGoodshapeixoymonkeyfudgegeeceeJohnny StormHaruspexmcgoverntvnutzTakeshi_Kovacsred daveaidan_r 20 votes
    It was crap!
    11%
    c0y0teMisterAnarchydrive3331TerrorFirmerRollo Tamasi 5 votes
    I'd rather watch Enterprise!
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

It was great!
    NICE about the basestars

But this is a 2 parter btw
    also anyone see tv.coms add for tonites BSG? i saw it by mistake its not reley a spoiler its just like WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

It was okay...
    Hopefully, we'll get answers to those all-important questions ...

Will the Cylons give Gaius a throne to sit on?

Will there be a montage scene showing Lee shedding the pounds to the tune of Eye of the Tiger?

And finally, will Tigh don his well-earnt Black Eye Patch ? Arrrrr!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭mcgarnicle

Not too sure what to make of this episode really. Was the piece of tech designed to kill cylons? Implying that there have been cylons before or was it just a coincidence?

Interesting possibility is that if true that the 13 colony designed the device to kill cylons and they left kobol without the others... could it show that the descendents of the 12 colonies were actually the cylons and the earth bound colonists were the equivalent of the battlestar and its caravan. Probably not, but that's what I thought as I watched this episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Good episode again, I thought:) .

Why did Kara have to cut her hair? :( I thought she looked much better with long hair. I have a feeling Tigh is gonna off himself. He looks to be going down a very dark road. And why is he still wearing the gauze/sellotape combo over his eye? Surely he could've got a proper patch.

I thought it was a bit of a kop-out how Lee was all skinny and muscular again. How long would it realistically take to lose that much weight? It didn't look like much time had passed since the last episode

No sign of Dean Stockwell this week either. :( Haven't seen him since the 3 ep. I wonder how many episodes he's signed on for? Xena is gonna be in ten eps this season, and seeing as she's already been in all 6 so far, I guess we'll be saying goodbye to her soon. Either that or they're not gonna show her character for a while and she'll show up again later in the season.

The Baltar storyline is quite intriguing too. Is he gonna try and kill 'em all with that machine he found?

Good ending too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭stakey

It was great!
    I think the 13th colonies device may have had something to do with the previous revelation (can't remember what ep/season and the exact words) of 'all this has happened before'. Whilst that's interesting in itself perhaps the 13th colony knew the cylons would come looking for them and left the device with a virus that would wipe them out (or stop them dead in there tracks).

Good episode though, loved the hybrids and the ship connection, really makes the basestars much more interesting! And seeing cylon tech up close is very fascinating, RDM hasn't let us down on that end IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

It was okay...
    Good ep, really getting dark and murky. How long before Baltar tells them that Helo/Athena's child could be a possible cure for this disease. Also the origin of disease is very interesting as well, how did the 13th know about cylons and devise a terrible disease to kill em all. And Baltar a possible cylon! i guess we'll find out soon enough if he starts throwing up and stuff..
    Also is this the beginning of the end for Athena... Will she contract this disease too.. (Also shouldn't herself and Helo be getting jiggy, and trying for another babby ...:p , i know i would if i were in Helos shoes..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

It was okay...
    Great episode.

First of all, it's great to be back talking about the Earth side of things, which we haven't truly heard much of since Home Pt II.

Interesting to see some of the Cylon tech on the Basestar and Six explicitly mentioning the 5 Models that they dare not talk about. But what was that Hybrid - seems kind've inefficient having a human construct controlling the ship :/

Aside, how awesome was Adama flinging Kara out of chair?! :) I guess she got the message at the end - shape up or ship out, and Tigh didn't. I suspect we won't see him for a few eps maybe.

Also, nice nod to the original series with Sharon's new call-sign Athena, who of course was Adama's daughter in the original series - basically showing that Sharon is now the favoured daughter over Kara in Adama's eyes.

What's the deal with Apollo (I could do with meeting his personal trainer btw :eek: ) - he's CAG now? but he outranks the current XO, Helo, hmmmm.

The population count is now 41422, so it looks like they've lost nearly 8000 ppl since settling on New Caprica.

EDIT: Oh yes, I nearly forgot ...Naked Yoga Boomer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

It was great!
    Another great episode, loved seeing the inside of the Baseships and some interesting stuff thrown up in the episode.

I reckon Tigh is going to suck on some pistol soon !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

It was okay...
    Haven't they invented scissors in the 12 colonies? ;)

Good ep. Great scene with Adama laying down the law to Tigh and Starbuck. I hope they have something good planned for Tigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

SofaKing wrote:
    What's the deal with Apollo (I could do with meeting his personal trainer btw :eek: ) - he's CAG now? but he outranks the current XO, Helo, hmmmm.
    Apollo's Viper nameplate reads "Maj Lee Adama" in this episode, so it seems he's been demoted a couple of ranks, to become CAG again.

I honestly don't know what they're gonna do with Tigh.....it could go either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

It was crap!
    Weird episode this one.
    I like the insight into the Cylon technology and Baltars mind games.
    Music was a bit strange though.
    The episode covered a good few bases,perhaps too many and it seemed disjointed,lacking focus.
    This episode seemed to have very little tension unlike most earlier episodes.
    7/10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭c0y0te

It was crap!
    Dammit people - will you please remember to use the
    spoiler tags
    when you're talking about an episode. Keep in mind that some of us don't get to see it until next week 'cause our American cousins aren't as fast as yours :p

Now I've got to go eat some magic mushrooms to help erase the last 5 minutes of my memory so I won't spoil the episode :eek:

It was great!
    I thought this episode was brilliant almost on par with exodus part II.
    Its hard to understand about the device but if god/the gods are all knowing and if the god once lived in peace with man on kobal and Pithia went with the 13th tribe to guide them to earth its quite possible Pithia instructed them to build it as a safeguard...

Also the music was amazing

The hybrids are interesing i would have to agree with Leoban - what they are saying is relevant.

I think i have figured the whole thing out btw.

Ok there are 12 models and in the episode "downloaded" we did not once see Dean Stockwell because "downloaded" was before "lay down your burdens" which was when we first saw Dean so in downloaded they didnt have all 12 models (or even all 7) because that would have ruined suprises of what cylons look like.

So what i think is those 7 models decided the occupation of the colonies was a mistake and the other 5 disagreed and there was a sort of cylon separation or maybe even a civil war. I think this because

1.It would explain why the 7 don't talk about the 5 because they view them as betrayers.
    2.It would explain why the loss of just one base ship bothers them so much.
    3.It would explain why they where so concerned with there resources being taxed in the episode Exodus part I

I think that Baltar does intend to kill the cylons but of coarse they know he lied now so.....

Baltar could still be a cylon - one of the other 5 because he was wearing protective suit and Athena cant be infected space is a vacuum she was not exposed with it.

Is Baltars "Head Six" relay an angel or is she another part of the cylons plan?

Tigh and Cara where brilliant in this episode but i haven't seen anyone else mention the look on the chifs face when someone (cant remember who) said "blow out a airlock"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

It was great!
    The Cylon "projection" thing seems like a big nod of the head to entropics from the Inhibitor novels, which was pretty cool

It was great!
    c0y0te wrote:
    Dammit people - will you please remember to use the
    spoiler tags
    when you're talking about an episode. Keep in mind that some of us don't get to see it until next week 'cause our American cousins aren't as fast as yours :p

Now I've got to go eat some magic mushrooms to help erase the last 5 minutes of my memory so I won't spoil the episode :eek:

Im sorry but i do not understand.

If the thread is about a episode or a move that you haven't seen why would you read it? Thats what the poll is there for
    When i was in Amsterdam
    c0y0te wrote:
    (hmmm mushies :) i was there when season 3 episode 1 and 2 aired but i didn't read the topics but since i had free internet i did check the polls to get a general feel for the episode
    Now im not trying to "get at you"
    I do have a suggestion, NTL screwed me over a 2 years ago and do u know what i did? - Net House go to a 24 hour internet cafe and download it around 12 you will have it by 1 you could even start a DL then go back to the pub and then at pub closing time just pop back into the cafe and pop it onto a 1 gig flash or a cd (most new cafes sell cd`s)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

User45701, Your idea about a cylon civil war is interesting. It would explain why they need a new home.

As for the music, it was in another episode, the one where starbuck returns to her apartment. It's very haunting.

It was great!
    was it not the music that plays while Cara is heading for a head on collision with Skar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

maybe, but it was definitly the music from the caprica apartment scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

It was crap!
    User45701 wrote:
    Baltar could still be a cylon - one of the other 5 because he was wearing protective suit and Athena cant be infected space is a vacuum she was not exposed with it.

very doubtfull as Athena was wearing the same protective clothing as Baltar but she instantly started speaking scripture when she arrived at the coords whereas Baltar just went a bit Baltar! Which was class actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

It was okay...
    very doubtfull as Athena was wearing the same protective clothing as Baltar but she instantly started speaking scripture when she arrived at the coords whereas Baltar just went a bit Baltar! Which was class actually.
    Lol, nice description, i do love it when Baltar does go, BALTAR!

Yeah tis a strange one alright, we still don't know how the disease manifests itself... surely it can't travel through protective suits and the vacuum of space, to kill the one good cylon, that we have (well hopefully it won't..). Maybe there is more to this Athena, than the "good demon, who would aid the colonies" according to the scriptures Prez Roz was carrying around back in season 2..

It was great!

She was just quoting scriupture i dont think she is infected
    Lol, nice description, i do love it when Baltar does go, BALTAR!

Yeah tis a strange one alright, we still don't know how the disease manifests itself... surely it can't travel through protective suits and the vacuum of space, to kill the one good cylon, that we have (well hopefully it won't..). Maybe there is more to this Athena, than the "good demon, who would aid the colonies" according to the scriptures Prez Roz was carrying around back in season 2..

As far as i remember the scriptures
    "tell of a loner demon who would help the people in there time of need"
    Yes Baltar "Baltaring" was very good but the cylons ot atleast Six knows he is lying should be interesting to see what happens will her love or loyalty win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

It was okay...
    Great episode, really liked Adama telling Starbuck and Tigh how things are run, the old mans still got it. Not too sure where their heading with the thing on the basestar, possably smuggle it onto the base star Baltar is on and he'll rejoin the fleet (a few minutes before being shoved out an airlock I'd suspect), or something. The civil war idea is very interesting, makes an odd form of sense I suppose, but wouldnt that mean that 5 models of cylons occupy 12 worlds while the other 7 are running off to find one to inhabit? it would be a kind of machine logic to have all 12 models have an equal number.

Baltar going Baltar though, brilliant :D

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

It was okay...
    "one too many and you turn Baltar" :)

Great episode, so much info, so many more questions!

DeV.

It was great!
    Pugsley wrote:
    Great episode, really liked Adama telling Starbuck and Tigh how things are run, the old mans still got it. Not too sure where their heading with the thing on the basestar, possably smuggle it onto the base star Baltar is on and he'll rejoin the fleet (a few minutes before being shoved out an airlock I'd suspect), or something. The civil war idea is very interesting, makes an odd form of sense I suppose, but wouldnt that mean that 5 models of cylons occupy 12 worlds while the other 7 are running off to find one to inhabit? it would be a kind of machine logic to have all 12 models have an equal number.

Baltar going Baltar though, brilliant :D

Well its more likely that the 7 models went in search of there new home, earth while the 5 remained behind on there own homeworld there was probbley no reason to stay on the colonies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

surely it can't travel through protective suits and the vacuum of space

Unless its a virus sent over short range radio or something. The raptor was a litle closer to the basestar than the other basestar that brought baltar was.

It was great!
    Ye But a baseship and a battlestar have never made contact and from what we know cylons can only do it if there is a network. we have never seen any evidence that battlestars can receive any other form of signal or communacation besides colinional signals so i doubt they received the signal from the basestar. its possible that the virus is now in the rapter cause it was a human device and it is a human ship but i still don't see how Athena could be effected if she is wearing a suit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

It was crap!
    It's hard to know if she is infected.

But you would suspect that if the virus travels via the air then she isn't infected as the virus is not made to infect humans, as seen with Baltar. She too is wearing a human suit.

Didn't the yoke in the sink start speaking scripture of sorts also while trying to contact the diseased basestar?

It was great!
    Didn't the yoke in the sink start speaking scripture of sorts also while trying to contact the diseased basestar?

Ye but all Hybrids do that - six said that most cylons except for the leobans think that the conscienious mind of the hybrid has gone madd so they speak like that

It was great!
    Oh yeah, all the music is new. I have the season 2 soundtrack and the piano work in this episode is not Allergo, which was in the previous season.

I'm already looking forward to getting this season's soundtrack, arr.

It was great!
    whre did u pick up season 2 sound track Fenster? also can u get season 1 aswll, actually while im posting i noticed last nite when i was at home bored out of my mind that youtube.com have rmeoved lots of BSg stuff inc the deleted scens any other sites that have them?

It was great!
    I picked it up during the summer when I was down in San Diego

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

It was great!
    Gotta agree about the music it really set the tone for the entire ep. Dunno about Tigh though hope he comes through and gets back in everyones face including the old man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I think it's possible that what Athena was experiencing as they neared the baseship was the other cylons dying, the number 8's in particular. We know the cylons are connected to the other members of the same model group on some level. This doesn't rule out Baltar as a cylon as there were no "baltar models" (number 1's?) dying on the baseship, so he wouldn't have felt a strong connection.

It was great!
    We dont know is cylons age or not if they dont then baltar is not a cylon he was in the public view for years on caprica, also in the conversations caprica and three have had when itsjust the 2 of them they use the word man and human so i doubt he is a cylon

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

It was okay...
    Since Baltar is world famous prior to the war, doesnt that rule him out as the Cylons are not copies of real people, simply made to look human (rather then looking like any one human).

DeV.

It was great!
    It dosent rule him out completly we still dont know if cylons age, if they do then he might however unlikly be a cylon if they dont age then he is not a cylon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

It was great!
    One of the best episodes yet IMO. Loved all the insight into the cylon way of life / technology.

For some reason, baltar doing the "previously on battlestar gallactica" caught me off guard. Has he not done one before?
    I thought it was a bit of a kop-out how Lee was all skinny and muscular again. How long would it realistically take to lose that much weight? It didn't look like much time had passed since the last episode

Myself and the mrs. pissed ourselves laughing at that. Like, ffs lads, we're supposed to believe he lost about 15KG in a week / month and got back the ol' 6 pack en-route? pfft. Sure it had to be done anyway I suppose.
    LiouVille wrote:
    As for the music, it was in another episode, the one where starbuck returns to her apartment. It's very haunting.

Love that tune. Anyone know if it's on the season 2 soundtrack?

It was great!
    Khannie wrote:
    One of the best episodes yet IMO. Loved all the insight into the cylon way of life / technology.

For some reason, baltar doing the "previously on battlestar gallactica" caught me off guard. Has he not done one before?

He did it in season 1 - twice i think but i cant remember the epsidoe name it could have been "33" or "Six degress of seperation"
    Khannie wrote:
    Love that tune. Anyone know if it's on the season 2 soundtrack?

Not too sure - it was definatly in season 2 episode when Cara returned to her old appartment and it was also in the episode Skar so one wuld assume that it is on the ST

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Warning, the spoilers contained herein may ruin the next episode for you, or may only confirm what most of you already know.

I dont know what the rest of you were watching, but athena was definately not infected. She was only quoting scripture as she realised that the basestar was dead as soon as she saw it.

Massive
    She gets infected next week when she goes onto the base star and takes her helmet off. Smart move.

Baltar being a cylon? I dont think that he is for some reason. Its possible that the 7 cylons dont know who the other 5 are, i.e. they are under deep cover, and as they haven't died yet, they haven't been downloaded. Its a stretch, but it's also what Baltar was thinking when he asked if they'd recognise one of the 5. Anyway, It's going to be fun finding out.

Cant wait for next week's episode,
    Carl Lumbly! I loved him in alias, so thats my episode already made

CatInABox wrote:
    Cant wait for next week's episode,
    Carl Lumbly! I loved him in alias, so thats my episode already made
    (Major spoilers about future episodes contained herein. No complaints if you look)

That's not
    next week's episode, it's the episode the week after, as far as I know. "A Measure Of Salvation" is all about them mulling over commiting genocide, whereas "Hero" is where Bulldog comes in, and Adama starts to think he provoked the attacks on the colonies

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

(Major spoilers about future episodes contained herein. No complaints if you look)

That's not
    next week's episode, it's the episode the week after, as far as I know. "A Measure Of Salvation" is all about them mulling over commiting genocide, whereas "Hero" is where Bulldog comes in, and Adama starts to think he provoked the attacks on the colonies

True, it's possible that I have the episodes screwed up, as at the start episode 3 grew into episode 2 and 3(or something to that effect), which would leave what I think is episode 7 as episode 8.

I'm confused.

Apologies to every one else for having a conversation in spoiler tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

It was okay...
    Damn yous with your future episode spoilers.

Must...not...look!

Another great episode anyway. Lots of interesting tid-bits again -- re: the other five Cylon models (the 'civil war' idea sounds very plausible), the 13th colony and whether or not Baltar is a Cylon. Glad to see them addressing these issues again.

LOVE the music and atmosphere on the Basestars. And Baltar simply rox0rs.

On the downside, the whole Lee Adama fat-suit was a bad idea from the beginning imo, and ended just as poorly as it was executed. I find it strange that RDM refused to use fake beards because they look unrealistic (hence Tyrol's here-today-gone-tomorrow facial hair) but let the fat-suit in. Surly they could have found a better way of getting across the idea that Lee lost some focus... meh, a minor complaint really, in relation to this episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Haruspex

It was okay...
    User45701 wrote:
    Not too sure - it was definatly in season 2 episode when Cara returned to her old appartment and it was also in the episode Skar so one wuld assume that it is on the ST

Just to clarify the music situation. The composition which Starbuck plays in her apartment on Caprica is Philip Glass' "Metamorphosis One". Listen to a snippet of this music here to compare. It's similar to the music used in Torn but only in the choice of instrument.

The music playing at the end of Scar when Starbuck spars with Helo is the well-known "Cavatina" from The Deer Hunter soundtrack.

The podcast for this episode states that RDM was inspired by James Callis' suggestion of setting a Cylon scene to classical piano. The temporary track for Torn was set to some of Beethoven's sonatas and then later Bear McCreary scored an original composition for these scenes.

Really enjoyed the new elements this episode introduced from the Hybrid to Projection to the payload-laden beacon. Fantastic scene between Adama, Starbuck and Tigh also.

Finally this season we're getting more beneath the skin/steel of Cylon culture and it's fascinating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

The one unrealistic thing I find about the "Baltar-cylon?" story is that someone as egotistical as Gauis wouldn't have tried out his cylon tester on hmself.;)

Goodshape wrote:
    On the downside, the whole Lee Adama fat-suit was a bad idea from the beginning imo, and ended just as poorly as it was executed
    From listening to the podcast for this episode, RDM basically says that fat Lee was a nice idea that they had for Lay Down Your Burdens, that they just didn't know what to do with when they got to season 3. He also speaks about how troubled the production of this episode was (to include butchering whole scenes, and dubbing over large parts of Baltar's beach conversation with Six)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

It was okay...
    From listening to the podcast for this episode, RDM basically says that fat Lee was a nice idea that they had for Lay Down Your Burdens, that they just didn't know what to do with when they got to season 3.
    Yea, I got that impression in this episode in particular. There was a sense of them quietly sweeping the fat-suit under the carpet with the speed in which it was gotten rid of.

Must give a listen to the podcast now in a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Haruspex wrote:
    Just to clarify the music situation. The composition which Starbuck plays in her apartment on Caprica is Philip Glass' "Metamorphosis One". Listen to a snippet of this music here to compare.

The music playing at the end of Scar when Starbuck spars with Helo is the well-known "Cavatina" from The Deer Hunter soundtrack.

It doesn't seem to appear on the playlist for season 2 soundtrack. Would really have liked that tune as it was very very well suited to the scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭c0y0te

It was crap!
    I have the MP3 for "Metamorphosis" if anyone wants it. It's a beautiful piece of music right enough.

It was great!
    Can u posty? cOyOte plse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Any slim chance you have the sheet music?