Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US: 3X05 - "The Cost Of Living" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 01-11-2006 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "THE COST OF LIVING" -

Episode Title: "The Cost Of Living"
    Airdate: November 1st 2006

Synopsis (from TV.Com):
    A delirious Eko wrestles with past demons; some of the castaways go to the Pearl station to find a computer they can use to locate Jack, Kate and Sawyer; Jack does not know who to trust when two of the Others are at odds with each other.

Next New Episode: 3X06 - "
    I Do
    " - November 8th 2006

What did you think of "The Cost Of Living"? 87 votes

0%
    16%
    gandalfPing Chow ChikaimeraWashoutKevokfeylyasteviecfightin irishDingChavezstevejazzxdemanArmaniJeanssrip2roarSecretpint 14 votes
    32%
    Fidelisc0rk3rRonan|RavenAnimaMr Espeedfreakeirebhoymr_angryDrEvilStephen PbestytoxofRoddy23murfieRobin1982angry_foxmuckwarriorwba88gustavoSeanDeng 28 votes
    25%
    GoodshapeGavin WBeruthielLizardKingmagickFaithChevano RileyfjonCatsmokinpotWaltonsSnake PliskenziggyMagown3AnaiyelafailsafeThe Gnome[Deleted User]anotherlostiepokerwidowLivewire304 22 votes
    13%
    v10bugmatrimPonsterslave1monkeyfudgemlocOFDMGrumPyFuzzy_DunlopL31mr0d[Deleted User] 12 votes
    5%
    mewsoDrag00n79mada999doonothingp~b 5 votes
    4%
    Unpossibledub_dantvnutzawhir 4 votes
    1%
    tracert 1 vote
    1%
    Dampsquid 1 vote
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

The penultimate new episode of 'Lost' til 2007! :(

Oh.. and from now on, i'm gonna spoiler upcoming episode titles. Think it's only fair.

Enjoy the episode all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Lantis

No idea whether people spoiler things in threads marked for spoilers, but better safe than banned.
    Well, damn. There goes any chance I have in the future of making jokes about Eko Island.

Was his story even fully resolved before he corked it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭stevejazzx

wow

great ep
    so that was a live feed of radzinsky (new patch guy)...
    and radzinskys (new pathch guy) looks like some kinda mastermind....posssibly the 'him' or else he is stuck in some other hatch going insane but if thats the case then how did he know to look in the hidden camera as soon as the the sayid tapped into it, he must be in a control cneter place

is jack being long conned again....thats a very confusing storyline...or is this the revolt against ben already, considering coleens just been killed it lokks very funny that they turn against ben so quickly but...

ekos back stroy was great...all that anger about his brothers death manifesting itself on the 3 druglords...
    black smoke thing becomes the images...so the black smoke was walt? definitely jacks father...jaysus it's obvious now
    it looked liked it was giving eko a chance to confess before death....I know many times the wirter s have thrown out the limbo theories but it does look like that, it looks like they're in some midway place between life and death....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Washout

Great great episode...gave it a ten

I dont think Jack is been long conned...I think it is test. If he tells Ben about the video then he can be implicitly trusted.

in the observation station when they get the feed i did jump a bit when i saw radzinksy first.

ekos backstory was great as well but the thing i dont get is if he had become as religous as he was portrayed then surely he should have confessed to murder.

edit/ i dont tihnk it was radzinksy n0w /edit

has to be radzinsky
    eyepatch!
    or else we're looking at another eye patch guy which would just be unlikley

edit: hmm gregg nations has said that radzinsky is in fact dead so patchy is anew character wtf
    and there i was yesterday telling basquille he was silly for thinking it was a pirate....might be closer to the truth now....ah lost, you're a mental show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

oh noes! Eko!

Why would they kill off a decent character (Eko) and leave an emo whingebag (Jack) still alive? :'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Good episode, but who is that guy found on the camera supposed to be?

And that new blonde chick has a nice rack :D

Gave it a 7/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭mada999

i thought it was a bit of a meh episode...and I think that jack is being played....
    monster killed ecko because he didnt regret doin bad ?

6 for me.......lost is sooo slow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

I'd have to say that's been my favourite episode of lost since Walkabout.

Poor auld Eko. He got a bad doing in the end. Also nice knowing that the black smoke thingy isn't as much of a scaredy cat as I thought it was the first time it met Eko.

I despise Jack, yet nearly every scene he's in these days I love. Juliette wanting him to kill Ben and all. It'd be a travesty if Ben does get killed. I reckon he knows what's up with Juliette. So, after Jack bottles it and doesn't kill Ben, I reckon Ben's gonna turn around and shoot Juliette.

As for the boyo's in the hatch. Nice to see old Locke's well and truely back. And that Nikki one's fairly tasty. The fella who came up on the telly was freaky too.
    I've heard that it isn't Radzinski either.
    Wonder who it could be. Also, remember when the tailies found the glass eye way back in season 2...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

Igy wrote:
    oh noes! Eko!

Why would they kill off a decent character (Eko) and leave an emo whingebag (Jack) still alive? :'(
    WTF!! why did they kill him off?

btw i gotta stop being so curious before i see the episode :'(

WTF!! why did they kill him off?

btw i gotta stop being so curious before i see the episode :'(

Wow impressive :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Brillaint ep imo. Eko's backstory was very solid.

Whole ep overall was mint.

The whole Jack & Ben saga...hard to know really if it is a long_con. I mean if there is a revolt and change, for the better or worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

I gave it a 9, probably best ep so far this season.

I specificaly remember Kelvin referring to a stain on the ceiling as Radzinsky, so I'm pretty sure that wasn't him. As for how he knew he was being watched, I imagine it was just something as simple as a light turning on on the camera in his bunker when it activated.

Jack and Juliet scenes were great. Juliet seems to have a genuine attraction to Jack, but she is often cold and clinical too (like when she had Kate at gun point) and always seems in control, so it's definitely possible that she's playing him. I'd like to think not though.

And poor eko too, killed by the smoke.....I guess because he refused to repent. Does that mean the smoke is somehow sentient to a human (or at least close to human) level? Or is it being operated remotely?

Nikki and Paolo get some air time too.....good for them :rolleyes: No sign of Desmond's premonition this week though, which would have been handy for eko!

Anyway I'm sure there's much more to say but I'll leave it there.

it was always thought that kelvin had lied about radzinsky...apparemtly not though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

Thought it was a fantastic episode. Eko iks a great character and his eps are always good, so it was sad to see him go but it did make for such a strong ending.

So it looks like the smoke is responsible for everyone's visions then, like Jack's dad, Kate's horse etc. So that's something kinda explained! Although we still don't know who controls the smoke or what it actually is. From the noises it made when it killed Eko it seems like it's the monster from Season 1 too?

The eye patch guy... no idea what that was about! Will be interesting to see how that plays out. Nikki and Paulo annoy me. It seems Nikki worked out the obvious just for the sake of giving her some lines when I'm sure Sayid should have been more than able to work things out by himself. I'm probably being harsh because they aren't exactly fleshed out yet, but I just don't see the need for randomly throwing two new characters into the story, there's plenty going on as it is without them.

But that was a small thing, didn't dampen an otherwise brilliant episode. The stuff with Jack and Ben was great too. I'm sure all is not as it seems with Juliet, although I can't work out what the motive there would be. I'm not sure what they'd achieve by tricking Jack into thinking she's against Ben. Set up nicely though.

Did Radzinsky not blow his brains out though? Or was that somebody else. When I saw him, I shouted out, "Pirate!" much to my housemates amusement downstairs.

Excellent episode. Though I doubt it's the last we're going to see of Mr. Ecko. Boone made a reappearance and he added shag all to the show previously, why not Ecko? Really glad to see the Black Smoke again. Is it possible that it is Yemmi too?

Great piece where Ecko was in the hut, Yemmi appears with a lighter and the whole place goes up in flames. Strange how none of the Losties found that odd though..

I have to admit that I dont like the new characters. Have they any names whatsoever? I didnt like the way she had the big revelation about the monitors .. thought it was a little silly.

Where's Sun and Jin?

Anyways, enough rambling..

8/10.

Actually. In hindsight I'm going to up it to a 9.. any episode that has a Pirate and Zombies deserves a 9 out of 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,794 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Yeah give this one an 8, sad to see Ecko go, as someone pointed out during the week the actor who plays him was booked on a load of chatshows today, so it should be easy to spot who's killed off next. Don't like the two new characters, I think we have enough between the losts and others we know without bringing these two into it. Good to see Lock Syiid & Desmond acting as a team. I think this week Jack was a bit better not the usual whiney Jack, interesting to see if Juliet is tricking him for Ben or genuine. Anyway on to next week and it will be hard to stand nearly 3 months without it. Oh well

Snake ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

A good, tense episode, but based on the trailer I was expecting more. And it was SO obvious from the off that Eko was going to be the one given up to the island! But the visions thing was cool, and seems to have explained a lot of what was seen before. Interesting that Locke saw a brilliant white light, while Eko saw black smoke. But now the Locke/ Eko good vs evil debate is no more.

And why did Yemi's chain look like new? I didn't understand that.

Nikki and Paolo - meh! Especially him, seems to be there for the eye candy and maybe a bit of light relief. At least they made reference to not being allowed in on things previously.

Jack has improved so much in this series since Episode 1. Maybe being away from Kate and Sawyer is good for him, since he plays off Ben and Juliet so well. I'm really confused as to what is going on now. Has Ben even got the tumour, or is it just a plan to test Jack's commitment? All will hopefully be revealed next week, and I'm dying to see what cliffhanger they leave us on for the extended Christmas break!

Mr. Eko, R.I.P. Perhaps Adewale shouldn't have followed Ms. Rodriguez and Watros in getting traffic violations. That's all three regulars from the other crash site gone. Bernard will be getting nervous if we ever see him again!

steviec wrote:
    Nikki and Paulo annoy me. It seems Nikki worked out the obvious just for the sake of giving her some lines

She's got a fine pair of breasts though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Yeah great episode :)

I'm sad to see Eko gone but you could tell from his back story that he was getting the axe. It just seemed really final and explained his story completely.

The whole Ben, Juliette and Jack triangle is very confusing. Hard to tell who is the good/bad guy. Juliette seems very sly but at the same time we know that Ben can be a cúnt as well. I have a feeling that Ben isn't as bad as he is made out to be though..

Anyone got links to the pod/video casts this week? I can't seem to find them.

p.s. Nikki has a fine rack.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Good episode, although I found it a little boring. I was generous and gave it 8 out of 10. Mr. Eko never really did much for me, so I'm not particularly bothered that he's gone.

It was nice to see the smoke again, and it seems to have cleared a few things up. I'm still wondering where Christian Shepherd's body is gone, though, and Yemmi's for that matter.

New characters - yawn. Yet another tough female who can hold her own. How original. Paolo is hot though :). Lost is really getting good at providing the hot men to look at!

I look forward to next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Great watching! Sad to see Eko go, I thought he was a brillaint character. But to do with the problems on set with him (and 'traffic violations'! :D), its not that unexpected. The writers/producers said they knew from the start with him it was always going to be short enough term, as he didn't want to commit to a series.

Great story with him though. And he made his peace with his life without needing to repent, which is why I think Smokie/Yemi gave him a more violent death. He would have died either way though. Funny how he seemed afraid of the smoke after his refusal to repent, when he wasn't on the previous occassions.

10/10 tbh, brialliant stuff. I mean, as someone else said above, zombies AND pirates! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Faith wrote:
    It was nice to see the smoke again, and it seems to have cleared a few things up.

Cleared things up!! Was i the only one wondering what the hell the smoke is or did I miss the explanation for the smoke!!

I was disappointed to see eko die, thought he was a great character to have in it. I am also a little apprehensive about the new characters, but i guess there was 40 of them on that beach and we only know maybe 15 or 20 of them if that!

I am thinking also that Juliette cannot be trusted with the proposal to kill Ben, its a double double cross!! Next week looks good though, "Best Episode Ever" supposedly!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Regarding Jack, it think its more a test of his character than anything else, as in they want to see if he'll betray his principles to gain favour with one camp or the other. I.e. Agree to kill ben to gain favour with J, or rat J out to ben to gain favour with Ben. I think the "right" course of action they want him to take is to just go ahead with the op and dont say anything.

With Eko and the smoke, I wonder if the smoke only attacks people with doubt? The first time Locke saw it, he thought that the Island put it in his path for a reason, so was not afraid, and the first time Eko saw it, he feared nothing, not even death. Only after he "became" a priest did he worry about the after life.

It's a possibility, but then again, this show has so many possibilties that I'm losing track of most of them.

Also, seeing as this show has so many twists, I wouldn't be so sure that the smoke can transform into people. How would the smoke get into the little tent that Locke built to get his vision with charlie standing guard outside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Ahhhhhh,the just killed off the 2nd best character on the show (Locke being the best). And for what? You want to knock some characters of the wage bill,try some crap ones like Jack,Jin and Sun,Claire and even the two new ones who are completely useless.

Still more with the questions and less with the answers. So the "monster" can take the form of people,possibly just dead people...hence Jack's father in the first few eps. Other than that,what else did this episode do? Oh ye,they killed of a brilliant character.The death scene did look cool...but bad bad move.

9/10 if Eko had surivived and if Jack put his head through the glass in his cell.

But no...so 5/10

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Am I remembering it correctly or didn't Locke see their own hatch on one of the monitors when he was there last year - must of known that the other monitors were for other hatches!?

The whole Ben, Juliette and Jack plot smells of a test of character for Jack. I doubt if Ben has a tumor at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

That is the best episode in ages. Damn sorry to see Eko go, he was one of the best characters in the show.

Also any scene with Michael Emerson absolutely sparkles he is a brilliant actor especially with his eyes. When he realised Jack knew about the tumor you could almost see the vulnerability just well up in his eyes (or was it just acting by Ben!!!). Plus what is Juliette up to?? And as a side note I would love to be the video cassette in her video recorder, Elizabeth Mitchell is one fine looking woman :)

Definate 10 out of 10!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

Hyzepher wrote:
    Am I remembering it correctly or didn't Locke see their own hatch on one of the monitors when he was there last year - must of known that the other monitors were for other hatches!?

yes he did, didnt he see jack on the monitor in the swan walking through the kitchen area?
    Hyzepher wrote:
    The whole Ben, Juliette and Jack plot smells of a test of character for Jack. I doubt if Ben has a tumor at all.

Didn't Ben say to her on the beach, away from Jack, during the funeral something to the effect of.. you told him they were my xrays, and she said no you told him...?

Meh, I wouldnt say its a trick, remember episode one of this series, when she went mad at the book club because her choice of book wasn't like what ben would pick? It sort of goes in tandum with the whole, holding up placards on tv saying "some of us want a change".

I'd say this is the crack in the others we are seeing to move the story line along as it needs.

-1 for killing off eko
    -1 for not at least revealing what exactly the black smoke is.(although it does imply that its a shapeshifter)
    -1 for missing bodies.

I've just come out of the closet as a Lost fan, the shame.

gandalf wrote:
    That is the best episode in ages. Damn sorry to see Eko go, he was one of the best characters in the show.

Also any scene with Michael Emerson absolutely sparkles he is a brilliant actor especially with his eyes. When he realised Jack knew about the tumor you could almost see the vulnerability just well up in his eyes (or was it just acting by Ben!!!). Plus what is Juliette up to?? And as a side note I would love to be the video cassette in her video recorder, Elizabeth Mitchell is one fine looking woman :)

Definate 10 out of 10!!

concur about emerson....stunning acting....get this guy in some good scripted movies and you're on a winner.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Wow must have been watching a different episode. Thought it was decidely average. Just like the original Ecko back story his Africa smacks of some westerners idea of what it must be like in a war torn country.
    It's also irritating to see Jack start to get a bit more friendly with Juliette. It's just beyond believable that you would come around so quick after what they have done and start joking with each other about burgers. I mean please. Jack should just have said yes to operating on Ben straight away stressing that he was doing it because he is better than them. Take the moral high ground.
    I have been enjoying this series more so than the last up to now but this was very dissappointing. Ecko's demise should have had much more resonance but it didn't just a kind of oh well thats a pity type experience.
    As for the black smoke well someone asked do we know what it is. No we don't despite much speculation posing as explanations, quite common in discussions of Lost. Some more clues as to what it might be and the Limbo idea could fit bar the ending of Series 2 (remember?).
    Lost can do better than this. It's needs more character development, not story wise but personality wise. We need to care about these people more. They should give Ronald D. Moore a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Was overall a great episode.. and probably better than last week though i found Eko's backstory a tad drab really.

Wasn't suprised Eko was killed.. was rumoured someone would be killed off in the promo discussion thread and puts bets on Eko as it was Eko-centric and i really got the feeling they had nothing more planned for his character.

The stuff in the Pearl was interesting.. can't wait to see them find "Blackbeard"... gaaaaarrrrggghhhh! :D

Yeah... Nikki and Paolo... it's a good thing Nikki is eye-candy. Have the distinct feeling they're both gonna be very under-developed until an inevitable backstory later in the season.

But the Ben / Jack and Juliet side of the episode was phenomenal.. love Juliet's message to Jack on screen. And yes, Michael Emerson deserves an Emmy this year. He deserved one last year for his portrayal of Henry... maybe he won't be overlooked this year as a regular. And he better not bite it in the next few episodes.

2 best lines of the episode (maybe not completely accurate word for word):

Ben: 2 days after i found out i'd a tumour on my spine, a spinal surgeon fell outta the sky. How can you not believe in a God after that?
    Locke: He said "we're next!"

After a shaky opening, this series could well settle in quite nicely except for the fact next week is the last episode for 3 fecking months!

Anyways, gets a 9 / 10 from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Definitely seems to be picking up the pace this season.. an 8 for this one.

Last one for three months next week? don't like that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

The two new characters really just seem to be a clumsy way of bringing people new to the show up to speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Actually.. slightly off topic, but I've always wondered :

Why is Michael Emerson so lauded by Lost fans? Granted he's quite good in Lost (although there's better actors on the telly tbh) but from his very first appearance people seem to be falling over themselves to let everyone know how fantastic it is to have him on board.

According to his IMDB profile he's a Broadway actor who's had a few bit-parts on various TV shows, nothing too substantial that I can see, and I certainly never heard of him before Lost.

Am I missing something, or is everyone big into their theater all of a sudden? (or is the praise solely based on his Lost work?)

The praise just seems a little overboard sometimes. Good character though, I'll give him that.

//edit
    also.. the fact Emerson was originally hired for just a few episodes and then, as I understand it, taken on full time when he proved so popular - and as one of the most important characters no less, is just another one of those things which leads me to believe the writers are just making most of this stuff up as they go along (the Scottish guy being another example of this, and the fact that Jack was supposed to die in the very first episode). I'm sure they have some sort of plan for the overriding story, but I think the real genius of Lost is the ability to make entertaining and compelling television, which it admittedly is, out of sweet **** all. I don't see how pandering to the whims of your audience so much can coincide with having a clear vision for your characters and story.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

This may sound strange but I would like to see an episode that focuses on what happens to a character on the island when they die!

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Old_-_School

Poor episode. Spent most of it on a character they were going to kill off anyway. He was on Richard and Judy a few months ago. He deserved to die for that alone!
    I fear that Paulo and Nikki are there for the sake of new users. The producers of Lost realise that thousands of viewers are dying every week (Don't panic - I mean in accordance with death rate statistics, and not that some black smokey thing is going around killing viewers) and quite a few have stopped watching it, while relatively few new viewers are attracted to the show because of how hard is to catch up (even with the excellent recap episode narrated by Benry) so they've Paulo and Nikki there to ask stupid questions to fill in the new viewers e.g.

Paulo: "What is Eko looking for?"
    Nikki: "His brother is in that plane!"

I can't see any other reason for them. Otherwise why did they kill off Boone and Shannon if they were going to just replace them with even worse characters of a similiar vein?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Savage episode, its all been said here really. 8/10 for the scene with Smokey at the end alone.

What did Eko whisper to Locke at the end? I know what Locke said out loud then ("we're next") but did anyone catch if thats what Eko actually said?

Savage episode, its all been said here really. 8/10 for the scene with Smokey at the end alone.

What did Eko whisper to Locke at the end? I know what Locke said out loud then ("we're next") but did anyone catch if thats what Eko actually said?

Doubt it was what Ecko said. Knowing Lost, it wasn't what it was at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

So correct me if i'm wrong.

Did Sayid, sun & Jin just magically reappear in the camp. How about something to tie the two episodes together? It feels just a little disjointed.

Just hit me. The smoke. I think I know what it is.

When yer man Yemi said "You talk to me as though I was your brother" and dodge off. Well, he was obviously leading Eko to the black smoke. However, I think that all these hallucinations are all the black smoke too. It would explain why wasn't Yemi's body in the plane? This also goes on because...

The same thing happened to Jack when he went after his auld man. He followed him around, granted didn't get the bejesus beat out of him, but again, his father wasn't in the coffin.

I also believe Locke's time on the island mightn't be last for much longer as he's already encountered the smoke. He's had so many bloody hallucinations, he mightn't be able to distinguish the difference between a trip to the sweat lodge thingy and the smoke.

Why didn't the smoke kill Eko before, i hear you ask. Well, I think that the smoke somehow tried to suss out someone from Eko's dark past so it could reinact them. Same as what happened to Locke in 'Walkabout', except we've yet to see any reincarnation of anyone. Maybe that's because Locke was usually on the end of bad things were as Eko was the creator.

It's just probably another theory, but the first one with any substance I've come up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

The most interesting thing for me, and I'm surprised that nobody else mentioned this, is the way the smoke creature (or Cerberus, as the writing in the hatch mural seemed to call it) hid itself from Locke. Every time he came on the scene, Cerberus fled. I get the feeling that it didn't want Locke to see it in the same form as it had appeared to Eko. Why? Maybe like everything else in John's life, it wants to manipulate him. As the policeman stated in the previous episode, his psych profile suggested that he's amienable to coersion. :)

Cerberus' appearance also provided some other interesting clues. As noted already, its merely taking the appearance of other people on the island - not bringing them back to life or anything (or so it would appear at the moment). Secondly, it seemed very interested in Eko's cross, taking a lot of time to study it when Eko produced it. I think that there's definitely some religious significance to the monster, not least the ideas of confession and repentence. In Greek mythology however, Cerberus was the guardian of the underworld, which was kind of like a mixture of heaven, purgatory, and hell. It doesn't really map well onto Christian ideals. It'll be interesting to see how things progress.

Like most other people, I thought Michael Emerson was the star of the show. His appearance in scenes seems to wipe away all the petty crap and soap-opera tedium that goes before it. The scene with him interrupting Juliette and the cheeseburger really seemed to emphasise this. I agree that Juliette's mutiny plan is probably all just a ruse to test Jack. Now that their first plan has failed, they need to know that he wont just kill Ben on the operating table. The only question is whether Jack is stupid enough to fall for it.

Good. So I wasn't going a bit mental. Never heard of the Cerburus thing before though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

On the bit where John said that Eko said "we're next!!" He probaly did say it, but i reckon that there was more than that, like as if Eko found a new brother in John Locke, and when John said that everything was going to be ok, and Eko finally found some peace (after been rejected by Yemmie/black smoke thing)
    And yeah Emerson is a top class actor, can't wait to see a confrontation between him and Locke again..

Next time Emerson and Jack'll meet, he'll be lying on a bed waiting for Jack to stick something into him.

Think of that...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Another good episode. Eko is/was certainly one of the best characters on the show, so it's a shame to have lost him. Not quite sure why they had him kidnapped by a polar bear only to drop him dead shortly afterwards but maybe we'll find out. At least his story arc closed quite well.

The black smoke shows people visions... I thought that was obvious from S2? It does pose a new question as to whether it's controlled, some form of sentient being, or otherwise. I'm sure the writers are also working out what it's up to but I'm assuming it's nothing to do with the Others and probably an experiment gone wrong on part of the Dharma initiative.

Jack was less annoying this week. I'm going to reckon he's still being tricked because Ben gave in too quickly to the truth. Also I imagine they want to leave us on a shocking cliffhanger next week and thus can't have told us clearly in advance that Jack's going to let Ben die.

Liked the fact that Locke invited anyone to come along and that Paolo had been complaining about never getting an invite - it's always pissed me off that noone else seems to want to do anything or that it's even acknowledged. However their characters were clunky afterwards, spouting exposition poorly. Maybe this experience will terrify them and they'll go away again...

Pretty hopeful for a good episode next, given there's a few good pieces in motion so happy enough for now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

Patchy knowing about the camera; maybe he's in another section of the Pearl (was there a lit cigarette when Locke & Eko first entered it ages ago?) and heard Paulo flushing the toilet? Or I guess there could have been a light on the camera at his end but the instructional video said that the other people didn't know that they were being watched so that doesn't make any sense.

Locke said "we're next" but maybe Eko said "you're next" to Locke?

And could the vaccine at Eko's church have been from DHARMA? Anyone who followed the Lost Experience or caught that video diary will know what I'm on about.

Shame to see Eko go, he was a fantastic character. It'll be interesting to see what Jack does... will he tell Ben about Juliet or trust her? She could be worse than Ben, but who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Jack has improved so much in this series since Episode 1. Maybe being away from Kate and Sawyer is good for him, since he plays off Ben and Juliet so well.
    Or maybe the directors just realised viewers are starting to dislike the characther??? ;) tbh, I like the storylines with Jack in them. The Korean one's are pretty boring though.
    I'm really confused as to what is going on now. Has Ben even got the tumour, or is it just a plan to test Jack's commitment?
    Ben asked Juliette why did he tell Jack so he definitely has a tumour.

btw - Who's Radzinsky and Kelvin? I recognise the latter name... You really need a good memory with this show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

kelvin is the dude that was in the hatch with desmond, he was also the american corporal in one of sayid's flashbacks.

radzinsky on the other hand i haven't a clue.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Radzinsky was Kelvin's partner before he died, and was replaced with Desmond (yummy).

Michael Emerson is fantastic. Ben is so creepy yet so likeable at the same time. His scenes are my favourite.

eirebhoy wrote:

btw - Who's Radzinsky and Kelvin? I recognise the latter name... You really need a good memory with this show.

kelvin is the ex us army guy who had syaid question his mate back during the the gulf war...
    Full name is Kelvin Joe Inman. He laters rescues desmond from the beach after desmonds boat crashes.
    He previous partner in the hatch was Radzinsky, who is supposedly responsible for the blast door map, had a photographic memory...and is now a stain on the hatch ceiling after blowing his brains out.
    Kelvin s nane almost certainly refers to a unit of kelvin which a very extreme low temperature, his tagline was 'waht did one snowman say to the other snowman.