Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fireworks, fireworks and fireworks

• 31-10-2006 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

as I write this message there are tons of fireworks going off outside, some which are extremely loud. I was under the impression that the igniting of fireworks without a licence carries the penalty of 10,000 Euro

So far this hallowe'en I have dodged many bangers thrown at me by litttle sh**s

What will McDowell say tomorrow:

"I very pleased with the level of co-operation with the new fireworks laws, we only had a thousand fireworks ignited illegally, very promising"

I really wrecks my head the way people have to put up with this crap.:mad:

Rant over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭EOA_Mushy

Same as all other illegal stuff. Make it legal and the people involved will end up killing them selfs.

Happy days.

With luck they will take you out 1st though.

Have a nice night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Stop whining, they are only fireworks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I find it all quite tame this year. One every couple of minutes as opposed to the machine gun rapid fire of the past years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

swingking wrote:
    "I very pleased with the level of co-operation with the new fireworks laws, we only had a thousand fireworks ignited illegally, very promising"

That idiot McDowell or whatever his name is would say anything to cover his arse tbh, sure there were a few thousand fireworks alone where i live ffs, i'd go along with the news, which said alot more would go off. This 10k euro fine is a load of my b****x :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

I wish i had some fireworks :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭nando

CiaranC wrote:
    Stop whining, they are only fireworks

If only I could get my dog to stop whining!

I don't think the fact they're illegal or that the fines are higher or whatever will have much of an impact anyway. Though there have been less than other years for the last few weeks but not so tonight I'm afraid - same as last year. My dog is in the bottom of the wardrobe crying. Probably wont be able to get him to leave the house for another few weeks now. They may be only fireworks but try telling him that!

I don't usually mind the actual fireworks so much but I don't really get the bangers which just make noise and nothing else - seem kind of pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Is it not a €10,000 for possesion of fireworks with intent to sell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

i locked the door and taped the letterbox shut. some fireworks going off but its my first year in my house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Seems there's a lot less fireworks going off in my area this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Some lads firing rockets at my house, I was close to getting the real fireworks out ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Car Mad

Giblet wrote:
    Some lads firing rockets at my house, I was close to getting the real fireworks out ;)

lol you show them;) nope its 10,000 for possision aswell.dont see too many guards around tonight maybe there whining in the cuboard with the dog:eek:
    i wish i had fireworks too but it is a waste of money ah well theres always newyears:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Fireworks never hurt anyone. :rolleyes:

Car Mad wrote:
    lol you show them;) nope its 10,000 for possision aswell.dont see too many guards around tonight maybe there whining in the cuboard with the dog:eek:

Not my cupboard anyway or I'll have done for trespassing :D Maybe I should slip them a valium along with the dog - lol!

The whole fireworks fines thing seems really vague. From various links at www.rte.ie/news:

New legislation means that it is now an offence for anyone to: light an unlicensed firework; throw a lit firework at a person or property; or possess an unlicensed firework with intent to sell or supply.

Last month, the Minister for Justice Michael McDowell introduced new legislation to penalise those in possession of fireworks without a licence.
    It allows for a five-year jail term and fines of up to €10,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

bennyx_o wrote:
    Is it not a €10,000 for possesion of fireworks with intent to sell?

lol

I can imagine the plea bargain..

'2 bleedin ounces of black cats Guard! Sure it was only for me personal use inanyways!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

nando wrote:
    It allows for a five-year jail term and fines of up to €10,000.

i'd LOVE to see anyone with a firework being thrown in jail for 5 years AND fined €10,000 :D

will it ever happen?? NO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

smemon wrote:
    i'd LOVE to see anyone with a firework being thrown in jail for 5 years AND fined €10,000 :D

will it ever happen?? NO

Lets hope not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

Pacifico wrote:
    Lets hope not

why? i'd love to see examples being set.

it would scare people into buying fireworks, and ultimately save a few fingers and eyes along the way:)

we need a zero tolerence law enforcement body. One that people fear.

There is some amount of ****e talked on these forums

Which prison are we going to house these few hundred thousand new criminals in? How many of them have €10 in their junior saver accounts, never mind ten grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

shouldnt be banned....only banned coz the gov are not getting tax from them...

reponsible use = enjoyment...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

i agree with CiaranC and Pacifico, its one month a year for christ sake. and to the point about no more garda about, WERE ARE YOU? i passed 4 mobile units and a few beat patrols in 10mins of driving from edenmore to coolock!
    I also know that there was 15 garda WALKING in swords aswell as 2 vans and 4 or 5 cars

i agree with CiaranC and Pacifico, its one month a year for christ sake. and to the point about no more garda about, WERE ARE YOU? i passed 4 mobile units and a few beat patrols in 10mins of driving from edenmore to coolock!
    I also know that there was 15 garda WALKING in swords aswell as 2 vans and 4 or 5 cars

ah but not in the south east of the country boss:D seems strange becuase we are very close to templemore:confused: exactly leave people have their fun for one month cant wait to see papers 2moro. no arrests for fireworks possesion another law not enfourced:o still going everywhere a few nice ones aswell :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

A f*cking month?

It's 'sposed to be for one night...what's fun about I don't know, burning money and making noise, scaring pets and elderly people....I don't begrudge anyone their fun....that's not fun.

It's quarter to midnight now....the bangs and flashes are every bit as bad as they were at 6pm....lot of people saying it's quieter this year....they must have been saving them all up for tonight....as for McTool's new law? Yeah great...more pandering to the voting classes with f*ck all done to actually act on the legislation....lip service from a sh*te talker...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Silence........................
    (has there been a ceasefire?)

what has templemore got to do with it? you hardly expect them to get all the people who are in learning for the past couple of months out now do ya?

If people wanna spend there money on fireworks let them,

And if fireworks wernt fun, then why would just about every country in the world use ALOT at any major event?

Heres the number for Joe Duffy, yis can all ring up tomorrow and join the chorus of moany oul wans - 1850 715 815

Pyrotechnic displays done by professionals are fun...a load of bangers and screamers chucked about by kids at anything that they'll get a rise out of, ain't...

As for people spending their money on what they want; I live in a council estate...chances are most of the money being spent could be better spent on other things...

Ah CiaranC, I see you have Duffy's number commited to memory....you must use it a fair bit...

CiaranC wrote:
    Heres the number for Joe Duffy, yis can all ring up tomorrow and join the chorus of moany oul wans - 1850 715 815

lol im sure there will be lots of calls on talk to joe that man knows eveything (and can solve anything bar fireworks that wer lit the night before:D )
    i was just saying theres a lot of guards in dublin and hardly any to be seen down the south thats what i ment by wer closer to templemore.honestly if ye want em ye can have em im not to bothered;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

CiaranC wrote:

Which prison are we going to house these few hundred thousand new criminals in? How many of them have €10 in their junior saver accounts, never mind ten grand.

Oh, I'm sure most of their parents have a bit more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

1850 715 922 The Ryanline is open.
    6797fm104.

The numbers are easily remembered- the soundbites are repeated 100 times daily.

6 double 7 double 9 50

AA direct to you

Ring up the AA and tell them to throw everyone in jail as well sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

It's on nights like this that the likes of ryan and duffy and every other radio
    show host around the country can go to bed safe in the knowledge that
    that they only have to mention the word firework tomorrow and have people phoning in arguing like crazy.
    A bit like on this tread really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

I've certainly noticed less fireworks this year thanks to the ban

swingking wrote:
    as I write this message there are tons of fireworks going off outside, some which are extremely loud. I was under the impression that the igniting of fireworks without a licence carries the penalty of 10,000 Euro

So far this hallowe'en I have dodged many bangers thrown at me by litttle sh**s

What will McDowell say tomorrow:

I really wrecks my head the way people have to put up with this crap.:mad:

Rant over!

Uumm drug's are illegal too but there's plenty of them floatin around year long!

It's one night of the year and provided they are used responsibly they are great when your younger!
    My godson just learned to walk and can barely talk and he was standing at the window saying "Wow" for about an hour, It was too cute and
    I'm sure when we were all younger we did the same!

the firework's in my estate were going off all night some even set off several car alarm's so I went out instead as all hope's of resting up after teh weekend were totally gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

To everyone who's here complaining abour fireworks and supporting the new law:
    We couldn't do our annual fireworks display this year because my friend's parents were worried about the new law. Loads of my friends had the same problem. And I'm talking about actual fireworks here, bright colours and what not.

Meanwhile, all the ****ers who don't give a crap about the new laws go out with bangers and screamers and terrorize people for the whole week.

The new law basically gives the two fingers to ordinary decent people looking for some fun, and allows the headbangers to go around with bangers and ruin everyone's night. Some "brilliant new law" that sounds like, eh?

What we need is a controlled sale of fireworks which would outlaw the purely anti social fireworks (IE, bangers and screamers with no real colour or entertainment value for a display) but allow people to buy selection display boxes and so on, ONLY during the halloween period. Then everyone would be happy, except the people who don't want anyone to have any fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I have to agree with those who said that there were far less. The place was silent by 11:30, and barely any went off before that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

It was silent enough last night!!
    Most people know that the gardai are very busy on the night because of fires,robbed cars, underage drinking etc so catching one person out of 20 in an area is no use because they can contest it in court saying the gardai were picking on them and that out of 20 people why was that person only done for it!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Wonder have the gardai started collecting all the used fireworks that fell from the sky for fingerprinting evidence before the councils roadsweeper comes around ? :) (neither have come around yet in my area)

I was woken up and probably the whole estate was woken up too last night at 4am by a barrage of mortar fire for about 10minutes!

Gardai+McD= jokers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I wouldn't mind, if it was just for one night (or two ..Halloween and New years eve) per year.

I don't know where you all live, but down here in the country, not too far from the northern border its bloody fireworks EVERY night from early October to mid January.

That's three and a half bloody months of bangs and flashes.
    Three and a half bloody months of cats hiding under furniture and dogs barking their heads off. Three and a half bloody months without one single evening of peace and quiet.

I'm sick to the teeth of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

CiaranC wrote:

its a bit silly to say we shouldn't make something illegal just because it'll fill up the prisons. sure if we're thinking like that, why not just make everything legal and we won't have to pay for prisons at all anymore. there are valid reasons to make fireworks legal but "it'll fill up the prisons otherwise" is not one of them
    mada999 wrote:
    shouldnt be banned....only banned coz the gov are not getting tax from them...

reponsible use = enjoyment...
    ummmm... but if they were legal they would get tax from them......no?
    What we need is a controlled sale of fireworks which would outlaw the purely anti social fireworks (IE, bangers and screamers with no real colour or entertainment value for a display) but allow people to buy selection display boxes and so on, ONLY during the halloween period. Then everyone would be happy, except the people who don't want anyone to have any fun.
    well they have that, don't they? bangers are illegal and people can still get fireworks licences right?

how hard is it to get a fireworks licence? i'm not being smart there. i really have no idea how you go about getting one. does it have to be a county council or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭cheeky_guy

Any bloke who thinks fireworks are sad is sad!!!

I figured out a way of letting off three black cats at once last night :D

its a bit silly to say we shouldn't make something illegal just because it'll fill up the prisons. sure if we're thinking like that, why not just make everything legal and we won't have to pay for prisons at all anymore. there are valid reasons to make fireworks legal but "it'll fill up the prisons otherwise" is not one of them
    This was a response to a post that people should face 5 years in jail for using fireworks, not whether or not they should be illegal. Quote is way out of context to your response.

gurramok wrote:
    Wonder have the gardai started collecting all the used fireworks that fell from the sky for fingerprinting evidence before the councils roadsweeper comes around ? :) (neither have come around yet in my area)

I was woken up and probably the whole estate was woken up too last night at 4am by a barrage of mortar fire for about 10minutes!

Gardai+McD= jokers :)

I have to ask, are you serious about the fingerprint collecting?
    There is no point in it because any print collected wouldnt be worth a dam in court anyway, the same way if your car is damaged but no entry is gained to the inside, fingerprinting is worthless as any solicitor worth his salt would claim you touched the car while it was parked on the road somewhere or in the case of fireworks you picked it up when it fell.

CiaranC wrote:
    This was a response to a post that people should face 5 years in jail for using fireworks, not whether or not they should be illegal. Quote is way out of context to your response.

Ehhh, no. The quote didn't say people should face 5 years in jail for using fireworks - it quoted an article on www.rte.ie/news which said new legislations allowed for penalties including €10,000 and 5 years in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I have to ask, are you serious about the fingerprint collecting?
    There is no point in it because any print collected wouldnt be worth a dam in court anyway, the same way if your car is damaged but no entry is gained to the inside, fingerprinting is worthless as any solicitor worth his salt would claim you touched the car while it was parked on the road somewhere or in the case of fireworks you picked it up when it fell.

Well yes shouldn't they?
    As fireworks legislation says there are fines from 10k-40k for handling/igniting/throwing/supplying fireworks.
    People dont get fines like that in damaging cars do they?..its usually an insurance payout or a <10k fine for the offender!!!

The law now and for last hundred odd years says they are criminal offences, used fireworks are evidence left over from a crime scene, if the gardai can't do it, bring in the folks from CSI :D

cheeky_guy wrote:

I figured out a way of letting off three black cats at once last night :D

You'd wanna watch, the headhunters from NASA will be after you for their solid booster programme...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Actually, does anyone know how many licenses were issued ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

nando wrote:
    Ehhh, no. The quote didn't say people should face 5 years in jail for using fireworks - it quoted an article on www.rte.ie/news which said new legislations allowed for penalties including €10,000 and 5 years in prison.

Sorry for going a little off topic here, but that warnings as stale as when they claim youll get 3 months behind bars for not paying your TV Licence or 6 Months Imprisonment for not having a proper Bus Ticket. Humph, in my earlier days, my mother used to joke she'd do that when she was upset with us just to get a break from two nagging boys. I suppose looking back u cant blame her, for a mother of two prison prob was a break :confused:

Just to clarify that my post wasn't a warning - merely a piece of information, as previous posters were wondering whether the fines applied to having fireworks or only to having them with intent to sell.

At no point in the thread did I warn anyone of anything or say that anybody should get time in jail or be fined at all.

nando wrote:
    Ehhh, what the hell are you talking about?

I was replying to smemon, who said hed love to have people thrown in jail and fined €10000!

Only on boards do you have to argue about points which are written in plain english for everyone to read :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The problem with licenses, M.C, is that they're only allowed for professional displays (generally means only big organized events) so the "no license, no fireworks" signs really mean "don't buy fireworks".