Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JP Poker €150 Freezeout Christmas Festival

• 31-10-2006 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭

1. Who is running this tournament, JP Poker
    2. The purpose of the event, Commericial
    3. Wednesday 27th December & 28th December. PLaza Hotel, Tallaght
    4. Reg 7pm, Game 8pm
    5. Any prerequisites, none.
    6. Tickets can be bought on the day, no maximum number of players
    7. NL Hold’em
    8. Buy In €130 & €20 Reg Freezeout
    9. 100% prize pool paid out
    10. Starting chips 10000.
    11. 30 min blinds

25-50 8pm-8.30pm
    50-100 8.30pm-9pm
    75-150 9pm-9.30pm

Dinner Break 45 Min 9.30pm-10.15pm

100-200 10.15pm-10.45pm
    150-300 10.45pm-11.15pm
    200-400 11.15pm-11.45pm
    300-600 11.45pm-12.15am

Break 10 min, chip race 12.15am-12.25am

400-800 12.25 am-12.55am
    500-1000 12.55am- 1.25am
    600-1200 1.25am-1.55am
    800-1500 1.55am-2.25am
    1000-2000 2.25am-2.55am

Break for the night.

Game recommence at 6pm

1000-2000 100 Ante 6pm-6.30pm
    1500-3000 100 Ante 6.30pm-7pm
    2000-4000 200 Ante 7pm-7.30pm
    2500-5000 200 Ante 7.30-8pm
    3000-6000 300 Ante 8pm-8.30pm

Dinner Break 30 Min 8.30pm-9pm

4000-8000 400 Ante 9pm-9.30pm
    5000-10000 500 Ante 9.30-10pm
    6000-12000 600 Ante 10pm-10.30pm
    7500-15000 700 Ante 10.30pm-11pm
    10000-20000 1000 Ante 11pm-11.30pm

Break 10 Min, Chip Race 11.30pm-11.40pm

12500-25000 1000 Ante 11.40pm-12.10am
    15000-30000 1500 Ante 12.10am-12.40am
    20000-40000 2000 Ante 12.40am-1.10am
    25000-50000 2500 Ante 1.10am-1.40am
    30000-60000 3000 Ante 1.40am-2.10am
    35000-70000 3500 Ante 2.10am-2.40am
    40000-80000 4000 Ante 2.40am-3.10am

12. Self dealt until Final 4 Tables
    13. JP Mc Cann is TD
    14. TD has last say
    15. A set of rules will be on display

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭JJP PokerMania

There will be a supporting tournament on the 28th dec for this. Buy in and structure to be comfirmed.

I was thinking of
    Buy in €60 starting chips 3000

One rebuy or top-up for €60
    Rebuy 4000 chips
    Top up 5000 Chips

20 min blind levels

Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

Your ME seems like an absolutely fantastic structure (Clock and Blind levels) and perfect timing (given most people are not working around Xmas), but then you spoil it all by having self deal.

IMO, at the E150 buy-in level you should be attracting decent level players. Decent level players will be less interested in self-deal (for me its a concentration thing, for others they won't play cause they can't deal or simply don't like to deal, some even have a concern that there may be "tricky dealers").

By having it self-deal I for one wouldn't play. Self-deal is fine for pub tourneys, home games and lower buy-in events. But a E150 buy-in self-deal won't attract the same number of players as one with pro dealers.

If you provided dealers aswell I would guess you would triple or better the numbers for this type of tourney. The extra made on reg would more then make up for the cost.

Just my view, no offence meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Hi 30 Something,

Thanks for the feedback, always welcome. I have 4 professional dealers (have dealt at Irish Open, GJP and EPT) organised four the final 4 tables.

I have ran tournaments in the past with dealers on every table with a similar structure with found that i ran the tournament at a lost.

€20 reg doesn't go far when you have

Dinner on the 1st night €12 per player, room hire and staff wages.
    Dinner on the 2nd night is normally a snack dinner (i.e. pizza's and can be done cheap enough).

I had wanted to run this tournie similar to GJP end of month game €215 with a €35 reg which would have allowed for dealers on every table, but it priced alot on my normal weekly players out.

I will look into changing this if there is enough boards.ie players out there that would like to play this game, but will only play if it is a dealer dealt only game.

In changing it to a dealer dealt game i need to review my total expenses (dealers included) which may result in an extra €5 reg fee.

I would like to hear everyones views on this one.

Once again 30 something thanks for the feedback

Jp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Your ME seems like an absolutely fantastic structure (Clock and Blind levels) and perfect timing (given most people are not working around Xmas), but then you spoil it all by having self deal.

IMO, at the E150 buy-in level you should be attracting decent level players. Decent level players will be less interested in self-deal (for me its a concentration thing, for others they won't play cause they can't deal or simply don't like to deal, some even have a concern that there may be "tricky dealers").

By having it self-deal I for one wouldn't play. Self-deal is fine for pub tourneys, home games and lower buy-in events. But a E150 buy-in self-deal won't attract the same number of players as one with pro dealers.

If you provided dealers aswell I would guess you would triple or better the numbers for this type of tourney. The extra made on reg would more then make up for the cost.

Just my view, no offence meant.

I won't be playing in this anyway but I would never consider playing in a self deal tournament and certainly not at €150

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Hi Paul,

Nothing wrong with the structure etc, looks like a great event.

I would rather dealers at a table also, but I dont think most of your regular customer would be that bother and you might only attract a few extra players with having dealers etc. The dealer helps to speed the game up and also helps the players you dont have any idea what there doing.

I hate dealing, but its not the end of the world for me either.

Ollie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

JP Poker wrote:
    Hi 30 Something,

Thanks for the feedback, always welcome. I have 4 professional dealers (have dealt at Irish Open, GJP and EPT) organised four the final 4 tables.

I have ran tournaments in the past with dealers on every table with a similar structure with found that i ran the tournament at a lost.

€20 reg doesn't go far when you have

Dinner on the 1st night €12 per player, room hire and staff wages.
    Dinner on the 2nd night is normally a snack dinner (i.e. pizza's and can be done cheap enough).

I had wanted to run this tournie similar to GJP end of month game €215 with a €35 reg which would have allowed for dealers on every table, but it priced alot on my normal weekly players out.

I will look into changing this if there is enough boards.ie players out there that would like to play this game, but will only play if it is a dealer dealt only game.

In changing it to a dealer dealt game i need to review my total expenses (dealers included) which may result in an extra €5 reg fee.

I would like to hear everyones views on this one.

Once again 30 something thanks for the feedback

Jp

I live in the area JP and would definately play if it was a dealt tourney. Because of the structure, time of year and the fact that your costs will be high - I personally would agree to €125 + 25 for dealers at every table or 120 + 30 even.

I would echo the concern that €150 is a bit much for a self deal tourney. Despite the good structure, it could mean only 12 hands a level on some tables.

In any case - best of luck. I hope it goes well even if I don't attend myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭JJP PokerMania

Thanks Ollie and LuckyLloyd for the feedback.

I don't want to make this a €120 & €30 so

€125 & €25
    or €130 & €25 could be an option.

I'm having a look at a couple of different options available to me as i want to make this a regular monthly game, one would be to cut the full dinner out in future games and go with either finger food or something along the lines of pizza's which can be done alot cheaper.

I've also in touch with a local business to see if they would be interested in sponsoring this event, i will have more on this in the next day or 2.

As my main goal of this tournie is to improve the level of skill of my current players and bring in some new more experienced players, i might just bite the bullet on the 1st game and look to reduce costs with the hotel (or get sponsors on board) for the following months.

Hi Guys,

I can confirm that this is now going to be a dealer dealt game.

Can any dealers (poker events, fitz ect) out there that would like to make some extra drinking money for New Years please contact me by eithter PM or on 087 6448132.

I'm Thinking about organising online satellites for this, something along the lines of $10 with rebuys for the first 4 levels with guarnateed tickets. Would any of you be interested in this?

Jp

Well played Sir, I will certainly make every effort to be there.

Hmm, might need to buy the wife an Xtra Christmas prezzie as a bribe.

In fact, may just try to bluff her by telling her I'll buy her a New Years Eve prezzie if she lets me go :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Sounds like this is going to be a fantastic tourny, will do what I can to be there.

I'm happy to tell everyone that starting on 26th Nov Paddy Power Poker will be holding satellites for the JP Poker Xmas Festival Main event.

It will be a $11 & $1 rebuy for the first 4 levels (12 min levels).

There will be one ticket guarnateed !! For each Satellite
    With more tickets for every $195 *** Tickets Only ***

The Satellites will be at 5pm on Sunday
    26th Nov
    3rd Dec
    10th Dec
    17th Dec
    24th Dec

Good Luck!!

Jp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

This sounds like it could be a cracking tourney JP. Structure looks really good but I feel having dealers will make it that much better.

I presume you will be giving out tickets to this tourney at your regular games so that will attract a lot of them to play in this too.

Alright Graham,

Yes i've been giving out tickets, but for the heads up tournie that on. I'm hoping to have a the full 128 for that game (about 70 will be tickets) so it will be a free day for them.

I'd expect most of these to jump into the ME. i'll be running 1 table SnG's all day long as well.

Jp

Sounds good JP, will definitely be there if i can stay off the beer for long enough on 27th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭derek2222_ie

Hiya JP

are the satellites for this on PPP 5.00pm Irish time on Sundays

Derek

Hey Derek,

Yes the satellites start at 5pm Irish time. You can register for it now if you like.

I'm trying to organise to have a bounty on my head, something like $50.

Jp

Hiya JP

are the satellites for this on PPP 5.00pm Irish time on Sundays

Derek

Like the sounds of that bounty, that would be easy money!!! Might try and play the satellite this sunday if im around. Its a bad time really though to get a decent crowd for the satellite. 5pm on sunday afternoon with chelsea man u on at 4.

Hi Graham,

Ya i know this Sunday might be a bit bad with the utd match. Hopefully in the following weeks it will be better.

Jp

Just a quick up date.

At the moment i have 20 dealers for this game (was looking bad last week) so as it stands the max capacity will be 180 players which would be a prize pool of €22,500

Their is currently just over 40 people who have either paid into this or won tickets online with Paddy Power Poker (This Sunday will be the last satellite with them for this game, at 5pm, $12 & $0.60 reg).

Anyone who wants to play in this i recommend to arrive early to avoid disappointment as i except this to be sold out. Reg starts 5pm

Jp

P.s. Thanks to Mike Lacy, Stephen Mc Lean, Fintan Gavin, Ciaran Taggart and Sam Hayes who have all helped me this week to get some more dealers for this game.

JP Poker wrote:

Just a quick up date.

At the moment i have 20 dealers for this game (was looking bad last week) so as it stands the max capacity will be 180 players which would be a prize pool of €22,500

Their is currently just over 40 people who have either paid into this or won tickets online with Paddy Power Poker (This Sunday will be the last satellite with them for this game, at 5pm, $12 & $0.60 reg).

Anyone who wants to play in this i recommend to arrive early to avoid disappointment as i except this to be sold out. Reg starts 5pm

Jp

P.s. Thanks to Mike Lacy, Stephen Mc Lean, Fintan Gavin, Ciaran Taggart and Sam Hayes who have all helped me this week to get some more dealers for this game.

I take it this is going ahead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 spem4392

I take it this is going ahead
    It sure is still going ahead!! looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

Are you having any single table sats beforehand ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

WH BONNEY wrote:

Was about to ask the same thing myself.

WH BONNEY wrote:

Hi WH Bonney,

Ya there will be SnG's from early (after the 1st round of the Heads up), probably 10 players at €30 with tickets for 1st and 2nd

Jp

I'll be at this JP - stick my name down as a definate if you are getting towards your capacity as the day rolls on. In work - so won't make it to register until this evening.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    I'll be at this JP - stick my name down as a definate if you are getting towards your capacity as the day rolls on. In work - so won't make it to register until this evening.

Hi Lloyd,

I take it you want to register for the €150 freezeout?

Jp

JP Poker wrote:
    Hi Lloyd,

I take it you want to register for the €150 freezeout?

Jp

Yes JP - won't make the headsup competition (I'd only be dead money in it anyway...). Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

i should be heading out for both these tourneys today.

Where is your long promised blog Rob? I would love to read about the high flying poker adventures of a pro player. Also, could you not leave this tournament alone? I fancied my chances up to reading your post. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Where is your long promised blog Rob? I would love to read about the high flying poker adventures of a pro player. Also, could you not leave this tournament alone? I fancied my chances up to reading your post. :)

Don't worry Lloyd, I'm going to go to this to add some dead money to the pool, (as soon as I get a power nap after work) as it's christmas and I feel charitable. As for NFR well just because he's a pro doesn't mean we can't bad beat him.

PS. Wasn't it good to see Mr Solskjaer score yesterday....ol ole ole (oh yeah I forgot you are an american sports fan...disregard)

Solksjaer wrote:
    PS. Wasn't it good to see Mr Solskjaer score yesterday....ol ole ole (oh yeah I forgot you are an american sports fan...disregard)

I am an ardent follower of sports across the water (my lovely Jets toughed out a great road win in the dying seconds on Christmas night - Boo Ya!!) - but also an ardent fan of the premiership - Liverpool fan.

So boo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Liverpool fan. .

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

If i show up around 7pm tonight will i still be able to buyin? Also, can anyone post a link to the heads up tourny thread with details of time/structure etc,my search function wont find it

Cheers

willis wrote:
    Also, can anyone post a link to the heads up tourny thread with details of time/structure etc,my search function wont find it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055026986

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ditpoker wrote:
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! :D:D:D
    My banning finger is getting warmed up.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

Arriving at 8 without pre-registering, bad idea?

Just back from this. There were about 150 runners. I exited in 50th.

Last 2 hands:

Penultimate: Stack 30k (avg 18k) - blinds 1200 / 600. Picked up AQ off in mid-position and opened for 3.6k. folded to BB who pushes for 13k total. Put him on pp so called. He flips KJ off and turns a J.

Last Hand: One orbit later with 14.5k pick up 99 mp. Opened for 3.6k. Big stack raises to 10k. I push hoping to race. He turns over AQ off. Flop AA rag, turn A, goodnight Irene.

Very well run tourney, glad it wasn't self-deal and hope JP do another similar soon. GL to all boardsies left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

just back from this, great tourney, 146 runners, 28 left in, im back tomorrow with 30k chips, below avg but playable, 1k/2k blinds, 18 paid.

also still in the HU tourney, back at 11.30 for last 32 stage of that.

kp nuts, piper t, karl h, mick frisby amongst those still left in, Lloyld went out about 5 mins before the end.

Gone two hands before close of play when I managed to get my last 18k into a pot worth 43k preflop with J9 vs 66 - I hit a 9 on the flop before an ugly 6 appeared on the river. Bah.

Tough day in the trenches - threatened to get motoring a couple of times but would then hit some bad situations. Some of the play was comically bad - playing against clueless pub players is kinda difficult as you just can't comprehend the thought processes of guys who will min - raise a pot after 4 people limp into them.

That said, there were some quality players in the field aswell. Karl H, Norwich Fan Rob, Piper T and KP are all very much in the hunt with stacks ranging from 30,000 to 66,000.

Well done to JP, the dealers and other staff for putting on a very well run tourney. The structure allowed for plenty of play and the set up of the venue was good. Top marks IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Enjoyable if oftentimes bewildering evening of "poker". Most flops four- or five-handed throughout the first few levels. Almost impossible to raise to the right amount to play any hand heads-up. I guess maybe that's why JP is running a separate HU tourney in tandem with this freezeout.

Had two surprisingly generous double-ups from PPP Special's brother, so mostly thanks to him I'm sat on 37,900 chips overnight. Blinds 1k-2k/100 ante when we resume with 29 of 146 starters. €6,500 for the win, Luas fare home for 18th.

Very impressed with JP's organisation, structure etc, even the customary dinner break chicken curry was tastier than his competitors' fare. He's certainly raised the bar for pub tourneys with modest buy-ins.

Hi All,

Quick update.

Started with 143 players plus 3 players who qualified online but didn't turn up. So total prize pool €18250

1st €6500
    2nd €3000
    3rd €2000
    4th €1500
    5th €1000
    6th €750
    7th €600
    8th €500
    9th €375
    10th-12th €275
    13th-15th €225
    16th-18th €175

Table 1
    Rob Taylor 30,700 Chips
    Noel Doyle 38,600
    Keith Harrell 19,700
    Tim Farrelly 37,800
    Ken Powell 37,900
    Charlie Daly 66,800
    Shane Cawe 91,500
    Graham Dunning 23,700

Table 2
    Mark Magee 62,800 Chips
    Karl Hutson 66,000
    John ? 44,200
    Martin Hutchinson 62,800
    Shane Traynor 55,400
    Darren Kilbey 90,800
    John Dempsey 41,300

Table 3
    Andrew Brennan 112,500 Chips
    Albert Kenny 101,200
    Anthony Carey 56,200
    Andrew Mc Auley 52,200
    Michael Mc Keever 36,400

Table 4
    Tom Gill 23,600 Chips
    James Deering 74,600
    Thomas Searff 48,500
    Jason Morrison 60,100
    Joesph Leppla 33,900
    Vincent Flynn 29,900
    Niall Fitz 6,800

Jp

Just to let you know.

The supporting tournament
    Reg 7pm Game 8pm
    Buy €50 & €10
    1 rebuy or top up €50 & €10

Starting chips 3000
    Rebuy 4000
    Top up 5000

Est prize pool €10,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

I concur with the sentiments.
    Well done JP nice tourney. I got into an optimum position only to play some very bad poker indeed. (no excuse maybe I'm just sh**te) I played well all night only to play like a moron when I got into a good position and moved to a different table. I lost half my stack when a pub player ( I should have really copped on here) hit his gutshot after my raise. I just didn't think he had KQ and he called my raise needing a bloomin 10, he was a call with any pair type of player..(my fault not his) then on an 2 3 4 5 board I raised the pot (semi bluff had 5 ) he called with 9s. I think the problem for me was I was moved from a table of known players (ie good players) and didn't adjust my game to the different standard. (live and learn) I should really be there today sitting pretty but I think the lesson learned was valuable for me..(still on the L curve I reckon) Left about 45th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

JP Poker wrote:
    Just to let you know.

The supporting tournament
    Reg 7pm Game 8pm
    Buy €50 & €10
    1 rebuy or top up €50 & €10

Starting chips 3000
    Rebuy 4000
    Top up 5000

Est prize pool €10,000

this self deal??
    blind structures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭tacker

Solksjaer wrote:
    I concur with the sentiments.
    Well done JP nice tourney. I got into an optimum position only to play some very bad poker indeed. (no excuse maybe I'm just sh**te) I played well all night only to play like a moron when I got into a good position and moved to a different table. I lost half my stack when a pub player ( I should have really copped on here) hit his gutshot after my raise. I just didn't think he had KQ and he called my raise needing a bloomin 10, he was a call with any pair type of player..(my fault not his) then on an 2 3 4 5 board I raised the pot (semi bluff had 5 ) he called with 9s.

The villian was a calling station alright.He gave me a big double up with AQ v AK and gave me the rest later.Loyld played very good poker all day and could have had a mountain of chips only for pre flop situations going sour on him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭The Ace Face

Finished up at 2.30 ish...was at Loyds table...4 limpers into my BB... I had AQ and 12k in chips with blinds 1.6k...average stack 30k ....wasn't coming back next day with less than 25k....so I pushed..called by JJ limper.....hit a Q on flop but he hit a straight on turn! Had to move at this stage..unlucky in the end...30k pot would have put me in a nice spot to move on with....

Happy with play...made couple of good folds with big PPs when behind...called one with KK on Ace high flop which was a poor call on my behalf...went card dead between 10.30 and 1 which didn't help but overall enjoyed it

Well played to Karl H who won a beautiful pot with a flush on the river..hope he can keep it going...

V. nice tournie..JP has it well run and organised...defo play similar one again...standard was mixed but thats what you want!:D

Good luck to all lads still in it..

Ray

"Loyld played very good poker all day and could have had a mountain of chips only for pre flop situations going sour on him[/QUOTE]"

Dont really understand this but I assume what you mean is that Lloyd was raising a lot with garbage & kept getting reraised out of the pot preflop. Hence donking off a lot of his stack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

WH BONNEY wrote:
    Dont really understand this but I assume what you mean is that Lloyd was raising a lot with garbage & kept getting reraised out of the pot preflop. Hence donking off a lot of his stack.

for example: UTG raises, lloyd in mid position reraises with TT, button pushes, bb pushes, UTG pushes, lloyd folds... then its something like AJ plays KQ, plays, 66 on a ten high flop... the type of situation that would make most mortals go slightly tilty. :p

ditpoker wrote:
    for example: UTG raises, lloyd in mid position reraises with TT, button pushes, bb pushes, UTG pushes, lloyd folds... then its something like AJ plays KQ, plays, 66 on a ten high flop... the type of situation that would make most mortals go slightly tilty. :p

Btw this has nothing to do with the player (Lloyd) but rather the original comment made by tacker & then your example above.

UTG raises then mid position reraises with 1010 followed by multiple all ins.

Is the reraise in MP with 1010 a "situation that went sour" or in other words a questionable play ?

If it is not questionable, you can hardly complain when you are forced to lay it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭tacker

what happened there was UTG raised ,loyld called ,shortstack pushes,origional raiser pushes for a lot of chips.Loyld folds,flop comes 10 high.Clear enough?