Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mufti of Australia: Women are weapons of Satan used to control men

• 26-10-2006 11:00AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭

Australia's most senior Muslim cleric has triggered international outrage for describing women who dress immodestly as "uncovered meat" who are inviting a sexual attack.

Sheik Taj al Hilali made the comments in a Ramadan sermon to 500 worshippers in which he criticised women who "sway suggestively", wear make-up and no hijab or Islamic headscarf, The Austrialian reported.

"If you take out uncovered meat and place it outside on the street, or in the garden, or in the park, or in the backyard without cover, and the cats come to eat it ... whose fault is it, the cats' or the uncovered meat?
    *snip*

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,3-2422621,00.html

I don't know whether this is just sad, outrageous or hilarious. Maybe a bit of all three. I just wonder where they get opinions like this? Is it in the Quran? Is it cultural? both? Its certainly a problem anyway. Makes you wonder what goes on in mosques that isn't reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭sonic juice

they need to get with the times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Schuhart

It was reported the Pope said Islam was evil, only to find out that actually wasn’t what he said. Without a full transcript of what was said on this occassion, its hardly safe to read too much into it.

I don’t know, obviously, if this guy documents or records his sermons. If he does, let’s see the full translated text. Otherwise, if there’s a desire to discuss the position of women in Islam, I suggest doing it on the basis of a full text containing the point at issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Sesshoumaru

Well unfortunately I can only find this edited transcript of his speech. But it makes for great reading :D

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,20653032-601,00.html
    "Those atheists, people of the book (Christians and Jews), where will they end up? In Surfers Paradise? On the Gold Coast?

"Where will they end up? In hell. And not part-time. For eternity. They are the worst in God's creation.

"Who commits the crimes of theft? The man or the woman? The man. That's why the man was mentioned before the woman when it comes to theft because his responsibility is providing.

"But when it comes to adultery, it's 90 per cent the women's responsibility. Why? Because a woman possesses the weapon of seduction. It is she who takes off her clothes, shortens them, flirts, puts on make-up and powder and takes to the streets, God protect us, dallying. It's she who shortens, raises and lowers. Then it's a look, then a smile, then a conversation, a greeting, then a conversation, then a date, then a meeting, then a crime, then Long Bay jail. (laughs).

"Then you get a judge, who has no mercy, and he gives you 65 years.

"But when it comes to this disaster, who started it? In his literature, scholar al-Rafihi says: 'If I came across a rape crime – kidnap and violation of honour – I would discipline the man and order that the woman be arrested and jailed for life.' Why would you do this, Rafihi? He says because if she had not left the meat uncovered, the cat wouldn't have snatched it."

"If you take a kilo of meat, and you don't put it in the fridge or in the pot or in the kitchen but you leave it on a plate in the backyard, and then you have a fight with the neighbour because his cats eat the meat, you're crazy. Isn't this true?

"If you take uncovered meat and put it on the street, on the pavement, in a garden, in a park or in the backyard, without a cover and the cats eat it, is it the fault of the cat or the uncovered meat? The uncovered meat is the problem.

"If the meat was covered, the cats wouldn't roam around it. If the meat is inside the fridge, they won't get it.

"If the meat was in the fridge and it (the cat) smelled it, it can bang its head as much as it wants, but it's no use.

"If the woman is in her boudoir, in her house and if she's wearing the veil and if she shows modesty, disasters don't happen.

"That's why he said she owns the weapon of seduction.

"Satan sees women as half his soldiers. You're my messenger to achieve my needs. Satan tells women you're my weapon to bring down any stubborn man. There are men that I fail with. But you're the best of my weapons.

"The woman was behind Satan playing a role when she disobeyed God and went out all dolled up and unveiled and made of herself palatable food that rakes and perverts would race for. She was the reason behind this sin taking place.

They do have his full unedited sermon available as an mp3. But we might need an arabic speaker to help us put his words in context.

http://media.theaustralian.news.com.au/lesson1.mp3

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Good luck with pulling the context outa that one.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Sesshoumaru

Wibbs wrote:
    Good luck with pulling the context outa that one.

I didn't want to say anything, but yea my thoughts exactly :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Sgt. Sensible

I thought all the BNP types got mass banned.

Anyway nothing new there. Blame that Eve slag what corrupted Adam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Sounds like your standard Judo/Christian/Islam beliefs, women are really evil, men are weak and sinful, sex is evil, give yourself to Jesus/Alliah/Moses (who do the jews give themselves to?), blah blah blah ...

Reason #89831923198 on why religion is stupid.

I like the bit about women possessing the "weapon of seduction" ... clearly he has never been to Copper Face Jacks the night Tipp are playing at Croke park :eek: :D:p

If you went to a few christian churches anywhere in the world, you'd hear variations on the same sort of rubbish. This is just the next episode in the mission to demonise muslims, and shore up what's left of support for TWAT. I would say that this smells like a planted story, but things like that never happen in the free world.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Wicknight wrote:
    I like the bit about women possessing the "weapon of seduction" ... clearly he has never been to Copper Face Jacks the night Tipp are playing at Croke park :eek: :D:p
    Muhahahhahaha. :D The horror the horror. I love the smell of stale perfume in the morning. Smells like.... shame
    If you went to a few christian churches anywhere in the world, you'd hear variations on the same sort of rubbish.
    Less so now, especially here, but yea you're not wrong. I think the difference here is how "old time religion" it sounds to our ears. The line about if she was locked up safely veiled in her boudoir was a beaut(does anyone even have boudoirs anymore?). The idea that it's the woman's fault is a bit mad in this day and age. They're suuuuch a temptation you know.:rolleyes: Takes responsability from the men nicely though.
    This is just the next episode in the mission to demonise muslims, and shore up what's left of support for TWAT. I would say that this smells like a planted story, but things like that never happen in the free world.
    It's got a bit of background to it. Apparently there were some gang rapes by local Muslim youths in the area which has got a lot of hackles up. His reference to "a crime, then Long Bay jail. (laughs). Then you get a judge, who has no mercy, and he gives you 65 years" is all about that. Idiot really and he's got his own Muslim fellows kicking up stink about this speech and others. You couldn't plant a muppet like that if you tried.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Well unfortunately I can only find this edited transcript of his speech.
    In fairness, I hope he’s backing the right faith because he’d need a miracle after that. He’s ****ed, unless they left out a bit from the start along the lines ‘You would not believe the kind of ****e some people talk about women. I’ll give you some examples that I heard recently on the Joe Duffy show. This gobber rang up and said …’.
    Wicknight wrote:
    Reality rears its ugly head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

If the meat was in the fridge and it (the cat) smelled it, it can bang its head as much as it wants, but it's no use.

Cats don't have big brains and opposable thumbs but rapists do.:(
    Although I suppose becoming a hermit can reduce your change of being a victim of any crime.

Anyway, what a lovely vision this man has. The high-point of God's creation (well, we like to think so:)) as "meat" or hungry and horny "cats" pawing at the meat.:( Charming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

If you went to a few christian churches anywhere in the world, you'd hear variations on the same sort of rubbish. This is just the next episode in the mission to demonise muslims, and shore up what's left of support for TWAT. I would say that this smells like a planted story, but things like that never happen in the free world.
    how do you mean? a muslim said this. is he trying to demonise himself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

My tolerance of this sort of of baffling moronic sh** is at an all time low.
    "If you take uncovered meat and put it on the street, on the pavement, in a garden, in a park or in the backyard, without a cover and the cats eat it, is it the fault of the cat or the uncovered meat? The uncovered meat is the problem.

"If the meat was covered, the cats wouldn't roam around it. If the meat is inside the fridge, they won't get it.

How on earth does a man like this get into any sort of position of guidance, when he clearly doesn't have the intellect to use metaphors correctly.

what sort of fool makes this comparison...
    one who doesnt even understand the relationships between men and women.
    This really shouldnt be given any media coverage at all.
    It doesnt merit it.

Yes his position should be taken away from him, because he is obviously an idiot.

Well it seems he's not going to lose his position according to some of his peers in his own mosque, because apparently he was taken "out of context" and was "misinterpreted". He was only trying to defend womens honour according to his apology. http://www.abc.net.au/news/newsitems/200610/s1774712.htm
    Give me an ever lovin' break. The fact that he and his co eejits can even attempt to justify this shows the level of idiocy in that particular parish.

The one bright light in this is that Muslims(especially women) all over the place are calling this eejit for what he is. Hope that gets the press too(though it seems it has). http://www.abc.net.au/news/newsitems/200610/s1774182.htm

how do you mean? a muslim said this. is he trying to demonise himself?
    He's saying what's said all the time in christian churches, in the editorials of right wing papers like the Daily Mail and on net forums. Imho It's only a story because a muslim said it, and muslims are increasingly being portrayed negatively and this serves to sanitise TWAT and widen cultural and racial divisions.

He should just say he's sick of political correctness. That's the usual get out clause for idiots who come out with this sort of stuff.

Why wasn't there much of a hullaballoo about Putin's rape joke? He is more representative of the Russian people than that guy is of muslims.

He's saying what's said all the time in christian churches,
    Jaysus boy what churches have you been going to? :) Though Jezebel was probably trotted out a fair bit in the past.i
    n the editorials of right wing papers like the Daily Mail
    I don't read it. Maybe I should? Entertainment value at least.
    and on net forums.
    Well that's hardly a shock.
    Imho It's only a story because a muslim said it, and muslims are increasingly being portrayed negatively and this serves to sanitise TWAT and widen cultural and racial divisions.
    It's a conspiracy I tells ya. Maybe, the focus is on Islam at the moment that's for sure. That said you would think that idiot would be aware of that.
    He should just say he's sick of political correctness. That's the usual get out clause for idiots who come out with this sort of stuff.
    Why wasn't there much of a hullaballoo about Putin's rape joke?
    There was a fair flap, but not as much. It seems to get the hackles up more if a religious leader says that kind of thing. Can you imagine the furore if a bishop came out with that? Are you seriously telling me it wouldn't be reported?
    He is more representative of the Russian people than that guy is of muslims.
    Really, so Russian's think rape is funny or are they OK to slag at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,157 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

The cynic in me suspects he made that speech deliberately to try and goad those of the christian faith in a rather poor attempt at "emulating" the Pope. I say "poor" because he (if the above transcript is correct) makes several very explicit references to local events. The Pope did not.

Of course, the references to local events could suggest that he's trying to dress it up as a "pope-speech" whilst actually meaning it. In which case he's a hypocritical coward with all the much-vaunted-morality of a blade of grass bending in the wind.

He's saying what's said all the time in christian churches, in the editorials of right wing papers like the Daily Mail and on net forums.

What churches? Fundamentalist US Christian ones? (the Root of all Evil on this Earth as any right-thinking person knows)
    Would you give us an example of a Daily Mail Editorial that said anything close to that? As for the internet - that's weak, you can find any crazy opinion you want on any topic under the sun on the internet.
    widen cultural and racial divisions.

But of course, the bloke who actually said the stuff bears no responsibility for that does he?
    It's those nasty "neocons"+plotters of the War on Terror/"fascists"/racists/the CIA/Whatevercrackpottheoryyorhavingyourself spreading the bad news.
    But when the Pope says something insulting to muslims in some talk he gives - according to "right-on" types (such as yourself, going on your postings) he is an idiot deliberately widening those cultural and racial divisions.
    The media (the "right-on" bits who were especially delighted by the whole thing) had no responsibility. The muslim agitators who whipped up alot of anger over it had no responsibility.
    Lemming wrote:
    a rather poor attempt at "emulating" the Pope.

Yeah. The quote about rape victims deserving to spend their lives in jail for corrupting men is a bit of a give away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

He's saying what's said all the time in christian churches, in the editorials of right wing papers like the Daily Mail and on net forums. Imho It's only a story because a muslim said it, and muslims are increasingly being portrayed negatively and this serves to sanitise TWAT and widen cultural and racial divisions.
    that's not true imho. it was news because he was a public figure who said it. i'd be fairly confident that if the pope compared women to a piece of meat and said its their fault they get raped, it'd be on the front page of every newspaper in the world. but then he wouldn't say that whether he believes it or not because he knows better.

honestly, imagine the pope said it. do you honestly think the news agencies would ignore it? sure only a few weeks ago he made world news for something far less offensive

i read in the paper the other day that rush limbaugh, an american right wing dj, said michael j fox was pretending to shake in an ad supporting stem cell research. he's a non-muslim and when he said something incredibly stupid, it also made the world news. maybe if people such as this guy didn't say things that could be "taken out of context" (i.e. not taken out of context), they wouldn't make world news and you could stop saying "oh i know this public figure compared women to an uncovered piece of meat but its only being reported because he's a muslim". rubbish
    Why wasn't there much of a hullaballoo about Putin's rape joke? He is more representative of the Russian people than that guy is of muslims.

you say there wasn't as much hullabaloo, which i suppose is right, but then it is on bbc news. also, his was a joke and he didn't say that its entirely the woman's own fault if she gets raped

maybe there wasn't as much news coverage. what's your point? a muslim leader said something incredibly offensive and the news reported it. there's no racism there. they didn't make something up to villify muslims, they simply reported what he said.

back to my original point, is he trying to demonise himself? you say the media are trying to demoise him by reporting this, but he did say it. are you saying that if we took what muslim leaders said in private and broadcast it, they would be demonised?

i read in the paper the other day that rush limbaugh, an american right wing dj, said michael j fox was pretending to shake in an ad supporting stem cell research.

I seem to remember some fuss when US Christian fundie figureheads were saying that the US was "smited" (??;)) by God on Sep. 11 2001 because of the evil of Gays and "Liberals". The US was "asking for it" apparently.

his was a joke and he didn't say that its entirely the woman's own fault if she gets raped
    I think this is a valid point. Putin was caught making a joke. He wasn't announcing a new policy on sexual assualt. The Mufti, on the other hand, was offering moral guidance to his flock.
    are you saying that if we took what muslim leaders said in private and broadcast it, they would be demonised?
    If this was a sermon to his congregation, then presumably it was a public statement which would make your point even clearer. Are we expected to ignore public statments made by this man just because he's a Muslim?

It's right to maintain a sense of balance. For example, some Australian women Muslims have been quoted in reaction saying that they don't regard the Hijab as a protection against rape and that's not why they wear it. That should not be lost sight of.

But there's no point in denying the simple fact that this is what the man said. I know that Islam doesn't really have an ordained clergy, so I take it this 'Mufti of Australia' is some kind of honour title. The point remains these are the views of someone who managed to rise to a position of respect within his faith. Assuming the translation to be accurate, his 'I was just defending women' defence is simply a lie. Let's deal with these realities and where they lead us, the same way as we would deal with the reality of priests being convicted of abusing children.

Now it seems he has been suspended for 3 months. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/6090136.stm

Looks like maybe the protests from other Muslims have brought some sense to this.

Wibbs wrote:
    Now it seems he has been suspended for 3 months. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/6090136.stm

Looks like maybe the protests from other Muslims have brought some sense to this.

For those hoping that Islam goes through a bit of an updated culture shift in the next few years these comments are actually ironically helpful, because they disgust not only non-Muslim westerns but Muslims themselves.

This is the same thing that the Catholic church went through in Ireland. Eventually the normal every day Catholics had had enought of the crap, and started saying "that can't be right"

This lead to an increase in secular nature of the state and laws, and with a weaking of the leaders of the church. the church then updated itself to remain relivent.

Hopefully, and I've no reason to believe it won't, Islam will go through the same, particulary in the west

Wicknight wrote:
    Hopefully, and I've no reason to believe it won't, Islam will go through the same, particulary in the west
    Hopefully it will. The only sticking point I often come back to is that the separation between church and state is far more written in the fundamentals of Islam than of the various forms of Christianity. It is a far more encompassing faith from the personal to the public, in law and in government. There exists canon law, but that would be based of christian thinking, not on the direct instructions of jesus. Compared to islam where most Muslims would believe the Sharia etc was written down by God through Mohammed directly. When you have a hadeeth that says that most of the inhabitants of hell are women it's difficult to think differently. I think there's some hope of what you say in the west though(outside the middle east anyway).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Wicknight wrote:

This is the same thing that the Catholic church went through in Ireland. Eventually the normal every day Catholics had had enought of the crap, and started saying "that can't be right"

This lead to an increase in secular nature of the state and laws, and with a weaking of the leaders of the church. the church then updated itself to remain relivent.

Didnt that partially happen because of Ireland'e economic revolution which brought it to a more progressive, less servile headspace. Additionally, as the EU became stronger, the Church had to separate from the State, no?

With Islam, these forces arent at work. It wants to stay where it is, it doesnt have progressive instincts, it doesnt want to move along with the west.

Women dont seem to be too beloved in certain part of the world, they are to be feared and reviled.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20061027/ap_on_re_eu/un_women_violence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

It was a stupid thing to say. Which is not the first time a person in some religious position said something offensive.
    He has since apologized.
    Sheikh Hilali has since apologised for his comments, which he said had been misinterpreted and taken out of context.
    "I unreservedly apologise to any woman who is offended by my comments. I had only intended to protect women's honour," he said in a statement published in The Australian.
    "Women in our Australian society have the freedom and the right to dress as they choose," he added.

Didnt that partially happen because of Ireland'e economic revolution which brought it to a more progressive, less servile headspace.
    Which economic revolution? If you mean the Celtic Tiger I would say now, because reforms were taking place since the 70s.
    Additionally, as the EU became stronger, the Church had to separate from the State, no?
    Did it? I'm not sure EU membership had much to do with Irish peoples reactions to the Catholic Church. The EU did not force secularisation upon the Irish people.
    Women dont seem to be too beloved in certain part of the world, they are to be feared and reviled.
    My understand was that this is about Austrialia?

RedPlanet wrote:
    It was a stupid thing to say.
    Agreed.
    Which is not the first time a person in some religious position said something offensive
    And I fear it won't be the last. The issue I have is where does this thinking spring from in a religious scholar, who has come up through the ranks as it were to the position of a grand mufti? Surely his scholarly credentials in his chosen field are pretty good? This kind of attitude and opinion doesn't spring from a vacuum.
    He has since apologized.
    He had little choice given the outcry from all sides, though his excuses were a bit dubious given the content of the original speech. The get out of jail free card of saying it was "out of context" is a bit of a hollow excuse.

Wibbs wrote:
    Hopefully it will. The only sticking point I often come back to is that the separation between church and state is far more written in the fundamentals of Islam than of the various forms of Christianity. It is a far more encompassing faith from the personal to the public, in law and in government. There exists canon law, but that would be based of christian thinking, not on the direct instructions of jesus. Compared to islam where most Muslims would believe the Sharia etc was written down by God through Mohammed directly. When you have a hadeeth that says that most of the inhabitants of hell are women it's difficult to think differently. I think there's some hope of what you say in the west though(outside the middle east anyway).

But my point is not that the Church allowed secularisation, through a reevaluation of the laws of the faith, because it didn't.

The people did it without the Church, and the Church was eventually forced to re-evaluate or lose influence completely.

It is a case where the people become the religion, not the other way around. Religion after all is just the people that make it up.

Nothing actually happens to a Muslim who decides that a secular state is better than an Islamic one, God doesn't spite him anymore than God spites a Catholic for having sex outside of marriage. Millions of Irish do that everyday, despite it being a serious sin, yet still call themselves Catholic.

If the average Catholic person from today when back to the 50s they would not be considered a "Catholic" by the general population. We have the same probably trying to imagine a "Muslim" who doesn't follow Islam the way the modern world, and Muslims themselves, view a "Muslim"

Wibbs wrote:
    The get out of jail free card of saying it was "out of context" is a bit of a hollow excuse.

Yes but it seems to be the standard "religious-fu*k-up" excuse .. isn't that what the Pope said a few months ago.

Context, its a wonderful thing. "Your ma is a whore" ... don't get upset, you took that out of context :D