Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In school did you...

• 24-10-2006 5:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭

..take it in turns to go "mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm" from different corners of the classs of annoy the teacher...

What else did you get up to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Yep, we did that one. Drove them nuts. With hind-sight, we were really in need of a good beating!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

We used to change all the clocks so the teacher would think it was lunchtime, or it was 4 o clock. Our prinicipal got a sweeping brush in the face after being mistaken for a girl in my class. Also poor Mrs Kennedy got locked into her H.E. room on an almost daily basis, just for the laugh. We freaked out a male teacher by swapping his chalk for tampons.

Nightwish wrote:
    We used to change all the clocks so the teacher would think it was lunchtime, or it was 4 o clock. Our prinicipal got a sweeping brush in the face after being mistaken for a girl in my class. Also poor Mrs Kennedy got locked into her H.E. room on an almost daily basis, just for the laugh. We freaked out a male teacher by swapping his chalk for tampons.
    Please tell me they were new out of the wrapper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

In our christmas tests one year, somone had a remote controlled fart machine, and everyone was passing around the box and the remote seperately, so nobody knew who had what, and it kept being set off at random points.
    Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Wacker wrote:
    Please tell me they were new out of the wrapper!
    of course! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

Remote control watch for all those english and science videos!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

One of the class fools had one of those fart bomb things incased in glass and instead of throwing it, the gobsheet stamped on it! Also a few of us, including me:eek: put some bic pens down the radiators. You can imagine the smell in the morning of the melted plastic. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

OP, still do it on a regular basis. 6th year Honours English for me. We also lock that teacher out whenever he goes to photocopy stuff on an almost daily basis. The most common thing is really throwing paper, maybe tin foil, balls across the room. Im sure theres more aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭wheelbarrow

swalsh wrote:

I must be getting old..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

We all called each other by our mother's names. I knew the name of every lad's mother in my year. If someone walked in late someone should out a cheeky "maaarryy" in a funny voice. Hours of fun. We'd usually be late back for lunch if Neighbours ran on a bit late.

fade2black wrote:
    We all called each other by our mother's names. I knew the name of every lad's mother in my year. If someone walked in late someone should out a cheeky "maaarryy" in a funny voice. Hours of fun. We'd usually be late back for lunch if Neighbours ran on a bit late.
    I knew the names of the mothers of the lads in my year too, but for different reasons.....

Not in school but during a college lecture there'd be a group of us - some sitting at the back and some near the front. The group at the back would shout, "Sexual Harrassment" and the front would reply during "PANDA!".

Or the Boll!x game is fun too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

In my Geometry class all the boys threw a handful of coins at the blackboards when the teacher's back was turned :eek: He nearly had a heart attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

Drawing cocks all over each others books

Tum-tacs on chairs. The old ones are best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Nightwish wrote:
    of course! :eek:

hahahaaha class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Angus MacGyver

we used to hop rubbers off the wall we were sitting beside to make it look like someone from the other side of the class threw it.

Steal the teachers dusters

Glue money to their desks to see if they tried to pocket the money then abuse them when they were caught out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

The bollox game was great.

Although my favourite comment in my Journal came from a religion teacher that the class turned grey in her first year. It simply read "Singing "fuck off" in harmony with others."

me and another chap were singing "fuck off" in barbershop form. Oh, the mirth.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hmm, we used to thow bouncy balls around the class, soak each other, use bubble guns, use a fart machine, wet tissue and throw it at people and the roof, tacs on chairs, fun snaps( I was put on DC for that), and once some fireworks. Somebody also pissed on our french teachers desk, a few classrooms where burnt down(don't know who did it).

Don't get me started on how our chemistry practicals went with all those chemicals and glass objects.
    What a knacker school and I was in the best class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

What about substitute teachers passing around the roll sheet for us to write our names on?

"eh....John Smith, thats you? Paddy Enright, right you so....eh....Tupac Shakur?...which one of ye young lads is Tupac?":D

Somehow it was only when the substitutes were in did Tupac and his mates Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Johhny Knoxville and all the rest show up.

Remember the days when if someone said something stupid or dropped something, the class would all make a sound as if we had a mouth disabillity "wuuuhhhhhhhhh" with one person roaring out "WANKER!" in the midst of it. Or when you were caught laughing down the back at some pure filthy joke when you are about 10, and you and your mate are singled out

"Something funny lads? Whos the comedian? Sure come on, if its that funny you might as well share it to the rest of the class"

Then you would quickly have to come up with something very mild and pretty flat, rather than re -telling the expulsionable filth of a joke you had heard (probably originally from your Dad)

ROFL :D
    That was legend

Similiarly, I remember one regular substitute was a fairly old chap, very religious, Pioneers set, hard of hearing. When he would ask one of the lads how he was it would go like this

"So how are you today?"
    "Aw ridindermas,ridindermas" (said very fast)
    "Sorry?"
    "Ah Im feelin pure class sir, how are you today?"

"So lads, where did the battle happen?"
    "Shoveduphergee"
    "Sorry?"
    "Ah, that place in Meath, the Boyne river was it?"

Priceless :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

We did the thing where one person would cough, then another, then another...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

We played Out The Window 1 2 3. This involved waiting til we heard the teachers footsteps coming down the hall and then grabbing somebodys book and pencil case and throwing it out the window. Whilst doing this the whole class would shriek in a really high voice "Out The Window 1 2 3" .

The poor chap who owned the books would have to ask to go to the toilet and sneak outside to retrieve his books. It was usually Pigheads job to put up his hand and say "Please Sir, Why is Martin outside?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Drawing cocks all over each others books

Yeah that was good, until your mom went to sell your books to the second hand book shop...

I have since graduated to drawing cocks on my friends cars when the windows fog up. Some things never change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Pighead wrote:
    We played Out The Window 1 2 3. This involved waiting til we heard the teachers footsteps coming down the hall and then grabbing somebodys book and pencil case and throwing it out the window. Whilst doing this the whole class would shriek in a really high voice "Out The Window 1 2 3" .

The poor chap who owned the books would have to ask to go to the toilet and sneak outside to retrieve his books. It was usually Pigheads job to put up his hand and say "Please Sir, Why is Martin outside?"

Haha very good Pighead, a teachers pet like meself no doubt! :)

I think everyone at one stage made noises behind the teachers back while they were at the blackboard, too hard to resist. Another one would be 'cleaning' the dusters and purposely being next to the window so all the dust could blow back into the room. Shouting "ON CHALK!" instead of "anseo".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

Don't know how we got hold of it but we had Garda Crime Scene Tape, ya know the yellow stuff. Anyway we drew around one of the guys in the class with white paint so we would have an out-line of a body on the floor, splashed around some fake blood and hung up the crime scene tape. The teacher nearly sh1t himself when he came in, thankfully he found it quite funny and got us to clean it up before the head came up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

swalsh wrote:
    Man, thats soooooo 90's.

=-=

Lemme see. Anything from hiding the dusters, to ringing the school for a hoax bomb threat. Gave them some code word we heard from TV. Saw the bomb squad go in, and come out a while later. The teachers kept on teaching though.

Then there was missing a class, but still staying within the school. Not as easy to do as you'd think, and you'd need a foolproof story in case you were caught. Usually along the lines of "getting paper for X teacher", or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

Don't know how we got hold of it but we had Garda Crime Scene Tape, ya know the yellow stuff. Anyway we drew around one of the guys in the class with white paint so we would have an out-line of a body on the floor, splashed around some fake blood and hung up the crime scene tape. The teacher nearly sh1t himself when he came in, thankfully he found it quite funny and got us to clean it up before the head came up.

That is a classic! ohh man *wipes tear from eyes*

We used to play the menopause game with female teachers. similar to the bollocks game, one person would say it quietly, the next a little louder etc

Our school also called in boam hoax for the GPO. (got evacuated)
    possibly the point depot as well..
    and somebody stole the key from the front door of the áras an uachtarain.
    i kid you not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Some lads i hung around with tried to burn down the school, would have worked only for those pesky teachers and their fire extinguishers

Another favourite was phoning in bomb scares at lunch time. Or we'd try turn over cars if they had been left unattended for a few weeks. (no idea who parks a car in a school playground for weeks on end) :confused:

Or the nutter from meath who brought in shotgun cartridges so we could bounce them off walls/each other

The other secondary school i was in had it's moments too, including the guards being called and making the mistake of parking the patrol car in the yard during lunchbreak, twas well and truly sh**kicked by the time they came back out :o

or back in primary days we had some dozy student teacher who appeared to be half asleep all the time, so as an art project we fashioned riot gear like batons/shields from rolled up cardboard posters painted em black and put see through plastic over our hurling helmets as visors and went into the yard to re-enact the miner riots of the time. The lower classes got the c**p knocked outta em but quickly got into the spirit of things and began throwing stones at our police lines, being sticklers for form we'd try block the missiles with our shields for a while and then baton charge the minor miners lines, busting heads and arresting the ring leaders for "interrogation"...:)

By the second day the headmaster came into the yard to find a full blown junior riot in effect...police brutality was the decision and we had our riot equipment confiscated and destroyed...damn liberals :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Wacker wrote:
    Tum-tacs on chairs. The old ones are best.
    Ah, but the revenge is most excellent when you put the thumb tack on his chair, just before the teacher comes in (and the prankster runs back and jumps into his chair).

Victor wrote:
    Ah, but the revenge is most excellent when you put the thumb tack on his chair, just before the teacher comes in (and the prankster runs back and jumps into his chair).
    It would get so that everybody would check their seat before sitting down to avoid the things, so the trick is to shove a few through a wooden ruler, and shove it on to the seat of the bloke in front of you just before he sits down.

The trouble with that one is there is no way of playing innocent afterwards.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Our old Science teacher used to have the dubious pleasure of my class shouting "Happy Birthday" at her (and occasionally letting off poppers / throwing all contents of pencil cases in the air, banging desks, stomping feet etc. this happened every day for a year and a half. then we started moving all the lockers at the back of the class up about two feet and seeing how many people could hide behind them before we got rumbled. The poor woman was what you could call weak willed, so there were only ten lads left sitting down before she let on that she knew. I hope she isnt in an asylum now. I really do.
    PS. I have a B. Sc. and I still had to check three times to see if I spelled science correctly in this post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Throwing peoples bags out the windows when you were in a second floor classroom

used to have a really small maths teacher and we used to always put his calculator, books and pens at the top of the whiteboard where he couldnt reach

when someone was swinging kicking the chair so they fell

switching places when the teacher wasnt looking

drawing penises on everyones books

throwing stuff

penis game where you after say penis louder than the last person

thumbtacks on peoples chairs

spraying water on peopes chairs just as they were about to sit down

asking the teacher ridiculous unreleated questions

over laughing for about 5 minutes whenever a teacher made a joke

pretending to be foreign when a substitute came in

fart gas cans

getting the whole class to start humming a tune

whenever someone asked something stupid or did something stupid everyone giving him loads ****in pencils,rulers and copys at him

so many, good times school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

kicking out the metal sides of chairs so that they'd be jammed under the desks and couldn't get out (works great if someone comes in late and their chair is wedged in under the desk :D

wrapping a full roll of masking tape around someone's bag and sticking it to the desk.

getting a portable loudspeaker, placing it out a window and shouting random stuff....

locking the room at lunchtime and pretending not to hear anyone at the door :D

placing an empty bottle upright in a really small corridor. Line the corridor with about 20 people each side, all stand still and silent and when someone comes along and knocks the bottle, start beating them :p

throwing wet tissue paper at people from high vantage points.

turning chairs and desks around in opposit direction to whiteboard during class.

shouting out random bad language when there was a sub teacher in. Someone would then whisper to the teacher, that the guy has tourette's :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

throwing the retort stands out the window during science class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Haha you're all demons! In second year we used to play the bollocks game quite a bit, and also havnig competitions to see who could stay standinmg the longest, it was fun thinking up excuses not to sit down.

In first year German someone once decided that it was the teacher;s birthday, so we all sang happy birthday and some girl presented her with bar of chocolate as a present and the teacher just sat there like "wtf...?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

Putting naughty pictures up on the back windows of our small school bus so other drivers could have a peek. Oh man, it was hiliarious until someone accidently let them slip out the open window.

And the pumpkin carving day, what a wonderful 2 classes. My friend ended up stuffing 20 pumpkin seeds in his mouth at the same time, running across the room and nearly throwing up in the bin, olny to reply "again again!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Wetting paper towels in the toilets and firing them at walls, windows, ceilings and classmates. Funny until I missed my mate's head and hit the deputy principal in the face with one as she walked past the girls' toilets. Then it was even funnier! (until my mother was informed at least)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

There was of course the penis game.

Then we always draw willys on each others collar, making sure to do it real gently so they don't notice.

When someone gets up to put something in the bin or to talk to the teacher, take their bag and hide it somewhere in the room, or turn it inside out.

While waiting outside the room for class we all lined up along the sides on the corridor and started pushing everone who walked by.

Hanging someones bag out the window on the second floor, just about hanging on that if they opened the window it would fall out.

Shouting as many body parts as you can out loud for the teacher(I'm sure you know what ones I'm talking about;) )

When the teacher turned around to the board we used to move our desks slowly up into a tight circle around him, getting moved back only to do it al again.

Drawing willys on EVERYTHING possible.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

how could i forget bag-inverse? it's great fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

One of the girls that was in the school 2 years ago had a really old Mini Cooper, really light, could be picked up by about 4-5 lads. Oh the fun we had.

We'd park two cars fairly tight together and turn her car sideways in between them, or just put it in akward places for her to find. Many a lunch break wasted ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Geography classes were never taken seriously.
    When people were asked questions like
    "name a cereal grown in Ireland", People would reply with "eh...rice krispies sir?"
    When the teacher was describing rock formations, people would reply with the usual "would those huge cracks be filled with a clear substance sir?
    I cant remember the others, but it was worth it just to see the expression on his face:D

Once in Religion, I had a shoe which would creek loudly when moving the sole.
    It drove the R.E teacher demented.
    The religion teacher asked me why moses talked to a burning bush, with which i replied "the use of narcotic substances can have strange effects on the mind, dont you agree?" Stuff like that.
    That tourettes gag was commen also.
    Turning desks and chairs in the west facing direction was commen in R.E

The Subs also called out names like "hugh jass" for instance.
    Riots involving tennisballs were quite regular.
    A few bangers were blown INSIDE the school on a few occassions aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

Mexican bollocks was a one of my favourites, I'm sure you can guess what it entails..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭bright

breaking into a round of applause everytime our irish teacher turned around to write something on the board.-she got sick of it quickly...

if a teacher drops a pen....god help them -''wheey!'' ''knock on!''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

how could if forget...

the best one is when someone comes to the door or the teacher has to leave for a few mins and leaves the class unattended.

AOOOOOOOOOOOOO!BANG BANG BANG YEOOOOOOOOOO!!... basically screaming and shouting, going mad, banging tables, kicking radiators, throwing anything to hand...

and then everything turns to silence as soon as the teacher comes back :D

also, the mexican wave was a hit in our class :) Every so soften we would all do a quick wave.

and another one... anytime an opportunity would arise, say if in english we had to make storm noises when acting out King Lear... everyone would go OTT and start going mad with stupid sounds like sheep 'baaaaa's etc...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

we had this horrible tendency to borrow phones and change them so they said silent but infact were set to as loud as possible...then ring them mid class, drop this one teacher nuts...eveentually she started making us hand in phones..so we all bought the foam doggy toys...we had to rip one in half and burn it cause she thought it was one of them transforming phones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

i miss school :(

I remember at one stage everyone used to have an elastic band and shoot papers at people. In a class as soon as the teacher would turn their back the room was filled with projectiles, and then the teacher would turn back and it was as if nothing had happened...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

One of the funnist things: ask the teacher could you go to the toilet, go out of the classroom, run around, and walk by the window. Class fun. Esp trying to get back in when they installed the automatic locking doors (Colaiste Chairain). Esp when someone saw you go out locked it:mad::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

while the teacher was talking to someone outside the classroom door the whole class climbed out the window we tought it was hillarious at the time but got in serious trouble....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

shane86 wrote:
    What about substitute teachers passing around the roll sheet for us to write our names on?

"eh....John Smith, thats you? Paddy Enright, right you so....eh....Tupac Shakur?...which one of ye young lads is Tupac?":D

Somehow it was only when the substitutes were in did Tupac and his mates Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Johhny Knoxville and all the rest show up.
    Yeah we still do that I remember sitting up the front of one of the classes with my mates and the sub teacher came in and handed me a sheet and said write down who is in. That day we had Ray Charles, Homer Sexual, tupac shakur, Biggie Smalls, Puff Daddy, Puff the magic dragon, Brad pitt and Stevie Wonder. Their was a few more just cant think of them. Great laugh we had that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

Now i see why my parents always tell me never to be a teacher. Children are horrible, teachers are people too, i can't believe you people still haven't got over this dehumanized view of them. I went to a posh girls school and nothing like that ever happened, we all got on with the teachers well and it was a really nice relaxed environment.