Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I a bad person?????

• 22-10-2006 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭

I'm looking to find out if I am a bad person or a good person. People have different reactions when I tell the story I am about to tell you. Please read and give me honest feedback as to your opinion.

A while back, I was driving along a back road of Dublin airport on a Tuesday afternoon at around 1pm. My wife was in the car with me, when we passed a woman standing outside her Cork registered 8 year old car starring at the ground and scratching her head. Looking through my rear view mirror I realised she had a puncture and as good people of the world do, I pulled in about 100 yards past her and ran back to ask if she neede help.
    She was happy to see me and explained that she's up in Dublin for the day to attend a work related meeting and she's a little lost and now she can't change her wheel.
    Feeling like a super hero I lowered the car down off the jack to loosen the nuts. This was a harder job than I expected, infact it was damn near impossible, My confidence was dropping a little and as a last resort i stood on the wheel brace hoping my 16 stone body weight would be enough to open these nuts.
    Unfortunately the wheel brace snapped in half and I apoligised perfusely with a redder than red face, the woman then told me that the police man who was there a couple of minutes earlier didn't want to stand on the brace for fear of snapping it!!!!! I thought she could have told me this before I tried it!
    OK plan b. I told her I'd go back to my car (100 yards up the road) and get my wheel brace and use that. Oops my wheel brace didn't fit. I told her I'd go get my second wheel brace from the car and....... this is it....... AM I A BAD PERSON??? I jumped into my car and left burnt rubber stains on the road as I fled the scene!!!! There I said it!
    At first I thought it was a little funny but now I'm not sure. On my way home at 8pm that evening she was gone, so she was obviously alright in the end. Should I not have stopped at all? Is it her own fault for not telling me that a garda had already failed to help her?
    Please give me your opinion and if the woman herself is reading this..eh...Sorry.:o

Jarvis

Please answer honestly. You can pick multiple answers. 147 votes

Am I a good person for stopping in the first place?
    0%
    Should I think this is funny?
    31%
    gandalfReconazezilMossy Monkdannyd20laykenobodythereRiamfadaBigConjustsomeblokejor elchrismonFaithAdMMMRngerCallanbeanbranners69SteoobUser45701 47 votes
    Was it her own fault for not mentioning the Garda?
    26%
    gandalfazezilKarl HungusMossy MonklaykeBigConLafortezzajustsomeblokejor elchrismonAdMMMdimerocksSteoobUser45701KershnlsportswearrobinphPeteeeDemonOfTheFall 39 votes
    Should I never tell anyone about this ever again?
    21%
    gandalfReconSte.phenMossy Monkthe_sycodannyd20eth0_nobodythereRiamfadaBigConjor elchrismonFaithAdMMMbeanSteoobUser45701leef23robinphDemonOfTheFall 32 votes
    Am I a bad bad person?
    19%
    gandalfazezilSte.phenMossy MonkNeMiSiSChinafootRiamfadajor elchrismonAdMMMRngerEKRIUQSteoobspoofilyjsportswearalicDemonOfTheFallTar.AldarionKTRICSad Professor 29 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

It shows you run away from responsibilties rather than facing up to them. You're a weak person. As for bad? Well, if it was my mam or sister, I'd be rippin. Your intentions were good, but once you broke the jack, you made the situation worse, and should have stayed around to make sure she was ok. But having said that, it was good of you to stop in the first place - or were you just doing that so your wife thought you were a good guy? What did she say when you drove off, btw?

I'd say this is better suited to Personal Issues tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

roflcopter.

bad bad man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Little-Devil

Yes you are a bad person for what you did.You even admit you laughed as you drove off, which show how immature you are. Ok you broke the brace, but you could have offered her the use of a mobile phone to call some for help.

What comes around goes around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

lol, quality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I hope she rings Joe Duffy. Joe Duffy will rip you apart.

I dunno whether your a bad person or not but that, imo, was a pretty rotten scummy thing to do. Do you KNOW she was ok? How do you know she wasn't picked up by some psycho?

I'd be feeling real crappy about now. Thats just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

You could have at least gone back and toldher sorry, can't help you, here's me card will replace the broken whateveritwas, have to run, wife/gf just got a text saying preplanned escape, do you want my to ring AA for you? Sheers bye.

Weak rather than bad person.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭jarvis

My wife actually told me I was a bad bastard, which I think may be why I laughed. It was more like a nervous kinda laugh. I had a similar opinion to that of Dave above.
    Dont know if weak is a good way of describing me!!!! that wheel brace was made of steel!!! I would say that makes me quite strong wouldn't you? (this bit is a joke )

Jarvis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

What would u think if your wife, sister, mother told you that had happened to them and the guy drve off after breaking the wheel brace?

jarvis wrote:
    My wife actually told me I was a bad bastard, which I think may be why I laughed. It was more like a nervous kinda laugh. I had a similar opinion to that of Dave above.
    Dont know if weak is a good way of describing me!!!! that wheel brace was made of steel!!! I would say that makes me quite strong wouldn't you? (this bit is a joke )

Jarvis

even your jokes are weak :)

ah - you're not the scum of the earth, but I think you know it wasn't a very nice thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

jarvis wrote:
    I would say that makes me quite strong wouldn't you? (this bit is a joke )
    No. If a wheel hasn't been removed in a few years (say 8), the bolts can easily be seized, and any cheapo wheelbrace (the kind that comes with most cars) would easily bend or snap with enough force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Am I a bad bad person?
    Its her fault she had a crap brace!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Lurk

I'm still stuck on why the policeman pissed off.
    Yes, your botty should be spanked, but you're only human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Ye could probably pick a bit of each option in the polls to describe the situation.

I'd say she was raging!!!

What made you drive though? Like instinct? Or after breaking the brace,did you think "F*ck this, I'm outta here!"

Am I a bad bad person?
    would some WD40 not have loosened the nuts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

You're not the worst of them but it wasn't a nice thing to do. I hope you don't run into her again or you might get the broken wheelbrace where it hurts. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭j2u

**** THAT,At least u stopped and went back and tried to help,next time just give them a n umber for the AA.how bad are the people who just drove on by,if it was me i wouldnt give a ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Who cares! Great story! :D:D:D rofl.

She'll laugh about it in a week. I dunno, I suppose you did stop to help, were you afraid you'd have to replace the wheel brace? You could have called her a tow truck or something when you drove off.

She's not really your responsibility and you did try your best, don't feel too bad :)

Am I a bad bad person?
    The Garda is probably saying the same . Didnt he just F off aswell ?

However she may have been killed and her child sold into slavery. These traders are very good you know they wouldnt have left the car there just to be found...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Am I a bad bad person?
    lol tbh

i picked all options as i feel they are appropriate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

There's a special place reserved in Hell for you. A special place.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Bit of a ****ty thing to do in all fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Ah well could have been worse. At least you didn't electrocute your dog or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Am I a bad bad person?
    Would have to agree with Mossy, all the options apply. I reckon she wouldn't be too offended by it and would laugh it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Mean sheister, and someday you'll pay!!

I hope when you're lying down somewhere, sweating profusely clenching your chest, and gasping for help, some Fatso says no thanks got to get my Burgers first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

That was a very nasty thing to do, the least you could have done was to lend her a mobile to call the AA or something, but yet you ran off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

If some guy pulled over to help me change a tyre, broke the brace & then bolted I would think he was an idiot - one word for you....karma. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Tbh the fact that you stopped in the first place at least showed that you cared. Anyone who drives a car should be able to change a wheel ffs, if your unable to at least joint the AA or something. You'd be surprised how many people never check their spare wheel or tools in a car. You'd think the Gardai would have called a garage out or something though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭sonic juice

you are confused-you don't know if you want to be good or bad.A few whips down the town hall shall clear your conscience

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Well, it was nice to stop and try to help, but it was not so nice to lie to her and leave without at least telling her you were unable to help. But you already know this, so why are you asking us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

You're going to have to keep looking over your shoulder cause karma is a bitch and its going to bit you in the ass.
    Why not let her use your mobile, or even give her a lift somewhere. You're not very nice really are you?:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Thread of the day! Good man Jarvis :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

If I was in the womans position and you just legged it, I'd probably wet myself laughing, despite the broken brace. Bet she'll remember that day for the rest of her life. :)

I reckon Karma will let you away with this one simply because its a genuinely funny story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Hmm, I actually can't decide on this. Fair play for stopping although not too nice of you to drive off although have to admit I did smile at that. You're no worse than the Guard who had already been there I suppose. Where was he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭NeiloMac

Am I a bad bad person?
    Classic :)

You evil bast**d thats brilliant its like a Dom Jolly thing from Trigger Happy TV,

If you had a hat you should have waved it out the window at her Screaming and laughing or even better waving the broken wheel brace, :D

Best story i have heard in a long time, anyway She was from Cork ,

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

LOL
    well, that made me laugh, but only cos you didn't do it to me, you nasty, horrible man you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

If some guy pulled over to help me change a tyre, broke the brace & then bolted I would think he was an idiot.

Ah, but he also at least tried to help by going and getting his own brace, I think that is the saving grace. Ultimatly he wanted to help, the reaction when he knew he was not able was a little...irresponsible, but hilarious none the less.

Not a bad guy, a bit of a pussy though (but a good story teller).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

HILARIOUS!SO FUNNY!!!11

You're actually an absolute d1ck for doing it and I hope karma bites you nice and hard on the ass some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Ok I am going to go against the grain here and say that you did all that you could to help. yes a lot of the people here seem to be judging you here but they are also probably the type of person who drove past her and didn't bother to stop and help her.
    HER brace broke, and I am guessing she saw you stand on it to try and move it and didn't say stop, especially after the garda refused to do it. Hell you even tried your own to try and help her out.
    Ye everyone is saying what if it was your sister or mother or daughter. I have to say if it was a female relation of mine I would be making a complaint against the garda who pissed off leaving her by herself as something liek this could fall under his job description, however you as a stranger tried to help and ye in the end you couldn't but hell sh1t happens and by the sounds of it she would of had to get AA out to help her anyway.
    So I say good on ye and at least you did more then most of the motorists who probably just drove on by and said, well somebody else will help her

edit: it is funny though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Are you a bad person - yes.

Would I do what you did - no, well.. if she was annoying me about breaking her yoke while I was trying to help her then yes I would leggit.

Would God judge you for it - no, he'd probably lhao.

Moral of story - don't stop to change a bird's tyre if you weigh 16st+

:o

connundrum wrote:

Moral of story - don't stop to change a bird's tyre if you weigh 16st+

:o

or she does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Ah, but he also at least tried to help by going and getting his own brace, I think that is the saving grace. Ultimatly he wanted to help, the reaction when he knew he was not able was a little...irresponsible, but hilarious none the less.

Not a bad guy, a bit of a pussy though (but a good story teller).

Which is why I didn't condone him as a bad person - just an idiot for running away. :) I agree with the folks who say she should be able to change her own or get membership with the AA or similar...no driver should ever be in the position of having to rely on the charity of a passing driver to help with such a simple task.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

tbh wrote:
    or she does.

Didn't think of that. You could be lettin yourself in for an asswhuppin if you break a 16st woman's wheel brace. Best to avoid the situation at all costs! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I 'd say that the woman thought you were a very bad person at first, you pull in, break her wheel brace and drive off again :D

That said, I'd say that as time passes she will probably see the funny side herself and get a lot of laughs in the pub when she tells the story of the big guy who did a Frank Spencer on her :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Lol... I'm sure in hindsight she thought it was funny too. You tried, failed, then flead. It's more than allot of people would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Good for stopping
    Bad for legging it

Why is this a public poll at all?