Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you send your kid to your old secondary school?

• 18-10-2006 03:57PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭

Give the name of your school, a yes or a no and explain why.

PS On a personal note I'd love to hear about anyone's direct recent experiences with Newpark, CBC Monkstown, Blackrock College or other secondaries in the same areas. I've got a bit of a dilemma on my hands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Macker

I did ,purly because it was the closest one to home
    St Declans CBS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Well, first of all, I don't have any children, and again I have them, and they are ready for secondary school, it will be at least 2022, HOWEVER, if my old secondary school has the same reputation then, as it has now, then no, I certainly would not send my children there.

I went to Dominican College, Griffith Ave, and at the time, it was a really lovely school, with a lovely friendly, healthy atmosphere.
    My younger sister started at Dominicans 5 years after I started, and during her time at the school, it would seem to me that the standards seriously declined.

My sister is a lovely young lady, who was suspended several times, and threatened with expulsion on more then one occasion - not that I blame the school for this, but her behaviour seemed to be common place, and her attitude toward education, and authority were the norm, according to some of her friends troubled parents.

By the time she left the very appearance of the girls attending the school resembled that of Vicky Pollard, and the thought of sending my future children to a school like that - well, they don't bear dwelling upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Yes/No: Yes (on the condition of course that it stays the same way it was when I left)

School: Clonkeen College (in Deansgrange in Dublin)

Why: Was a great school, not snobby/skumbaggie(is that a word), great teachers (for the most part), it was free, good all-round atmosphere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

CBS Portarlington.

There is no possible way that I'd send my kids there, mainly because the cardboard buildings in which we were 'educated', are no longer there!!

But if the school were still intact I would deffo not send the sprogs there, mainly cos of the crap facilities/management. There was 1 good teacher and a few mediocre ones. Bah :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,085 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I don't have kids at the moment, but if I did absolutely.

CBS Naas. I had a great time there. The teachers were generally very good, there was a good mix of students from the town and the surrounding countryside, no-one was really ever up their own hole.
    Facilities improved dramatically the year I left, typical. And the principal is a genuinely very nice guy, much better than the 'brother' he replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Ard scoil Ris on griffith Ave and like Mrs Doyle the standards seem to slip pretty quick soon after, so hmmmmm there may some enviromental shift on griffith ave that made all the kids little brats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Yes/No: Yes (on the condition of course that it stays the same way it was when I left)

School: Clonkeen College (in Deansgrange in Dublin)

Why: Was a great school, not snobby/skumbaggie(is that a word), great teachers (for the most part), it was free, good all-round atmosphere
    i work in an adveture centre type place and we had a group of 4th years from clonkeen. they are not to bad at all compared to some i've taught (st.michaels - the absolute dregs of humanity, horrible bastids) quite a few are of the 'Ah jayzus, howaya bud!' variety however.

the same as others, i would send my kids to my old school if it were like it was when i was there, but its not:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

yes i would

they give good edumacation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Gaeilcholaiste Chiarrai Tralee
    I would I suppose, but probably only cos I'd go to PTA meetings just to be on the same level as the teachers for once.
    "You can't tell me what to do anymore!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I would send my kids to whichever is the nearest school to where they live unless its an absolute sh1thole. IMO the kids themselves have a lot to do withhow good an education they get. But shippiing kids miles out of the way because you don't like the look of a couple of the students is a bad idea if we all do that our schools will end up like America segregated between rich and poor which in the end will benefit no one.
    So yes I would if i lived closeby
    And i went to PCH (Headford) it was okay when i went. Alot depended on the principle/vice principle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Presentation Kilkenny

Yes: If I was living in Kilkenny and if some of the more senile/insane teachers had gone.

No: If the senile/insane teachers were still there and of course if I didnt even live near Kilkenny, why would I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,878 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i grew up in the dun laoghaire area - and many of my freinds came from those 3 schools - i spent a short time in Newpark myself , and would describe it as fun, easy going and a bit of a "head" school . Blackrock guys have a bit of arrogance about them , and CBC was somewhere in the middle . If my son was really good at rugby i'd send him to Rock if i could afford it , otherwise CBC , out of the 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Terenure College

It would entirely depend on the temperment of the child.
    If they were anything like I was in school (quiet, individualistic), then I'd send them to a public school to encourage confidence and expose them to a wider variety of children.

If they were sporty and confident, I'd probably send them to private school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

Christ no. Mount Sion? It's more of a drop in centre these days.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Summerhill college

No, as I won't live in sligo.

But if I ever did, no, it is just full of knackers and there are a lot of terrible teachers. True, there are some great teachers and if my boy was not small in stature it might be ok for him.
    I'd probably send my children to a mixed school though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

Teresian School. Yes because it's casual; you call the teachers by their first names and everyone looks out for you, even if you don't appreciate it at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Killinarden Community School. Tallaght and absolutely not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Yes, Holy Faith, New Ross, loved the place and has some of the best and soundest teachers going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

Our lady of mercy, Secondary school, mourne road.

No.....awful student population. Lots of bullying, drugs, and unfair teachers on power trips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Goldfinger

Newpark: Went there, and it was sh1te (and not much has changed apparently), so no, I wouldn't inflict it on my sprog.

Blackrock College: Won't even dignify that with a response.

OP, I'd send your youngster to CBC, in my opinion a nice middle ground.
    Not too posh, not too scumbaggy.
    My family have a similar decision on our hands at the moment and I reckon that's what we'll do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

Our lady of mercy, Secondary school, mourne road.

No.....awful student population. Lots of bullying, and drugs.

Teachers were good at teaching thier subjects though. Ill home school my kids if i can (financially)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Nagle, Mahon, Cork
    God no, awful then, even worse now from what i hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    Well, first of all, I don't have any children, and again I have them, and they are ready for secondary school, it will be at least 2022, HOWEVER, if my old secondary school has the same reputation then, as it has now, then no, I certainly would not send my children there.

I went to Dominican College, Griffith Ave, and at the time, it was a really lovely school, with a lovely friendly, healthy atmosphere.
    My younger sister started at Dominicans 5 years after I started, and during her time at the school, it would seem to me that the standards seriously declined.

My sister is a lovely young lady, who was suspended several times, and threatened with expulsion on more then one occasion - not that I blame the school for this, but her behaviour seemed to be common place, and her attitude toward education, and authority were the norm, according to some of her friends troubled parents.

By the time she left the very appearance of the girls attending the school resembled that of Vicky Pollard, and the thought of sending my future children to a school like that - well, they don't bear dwelling upon.

Hahah thats my old school. I believe the standard has gone waaaaaaaaaaaaaay down. My Mam went to eccles street and my sis went to griffith avenue and then I followed, will I send my kids....no.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I doubt I'd send my kids to my old school because A) I doubt I'll ever move back to Cork, and I certainly wouldn't raise my kids there and B) the school declined so much, even while I was there. My parents paid good money every year, and for what? A dilapidated building and rubbish choice of subjects? Whilst I enjoyed my time there thoroughly, and made some fantastic friends, the standard of student that was accepted in the years after me was appalling. When I was in 6th year, the 2nd years at the time were the most rude, obnoxious bunch of people I ever had the misfortune of meeting. They were indescribable. So, because of that year alone, I wouldn't send my kids there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Ba_barbaraAnne

As my kids are all boys I couldn't send them to my old school, even if I wanted to!

As regards sending kids to a school just because it is nearest, I don't agree at all. My older boys go to different secondary schools, the eldest to the nearest (6 miles away) and the next one 9 miles in the other direction. They each went to the school that would suit them best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

School: St Michaels

Answer: No. Half the teachers have no idea what they're doing. Then the students are awful too. Ferdi understands what I'm talking about
    ferdi wrote:
    (st.michaels - the absolute dregs of humanity, horrible bastids)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,581 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Jesus on a BMX, don't you think boards are in enough legal shite without this?

I wouldn't send my kids to my old secondary schools in Dublin 13 and Dublin 5 respectively (won't say which ones) because in hindsight the teachers there, well, basically weren't.

Sure they qualified as teachers, but only a handfull were educators.

Ok, there were the rare number of exceptions, but with the benefit of hindsight most of them had completed a pretty non-commerical BA/BSc (Irish, Geography, History, Maths) and probably found themselves at a lose end in the poor Ireland of the early 80's.

As Roger Waters wrote "When you're one of the few, to land on your feet, what do you do to make ends meet...teach".

However, I had the pleasure to drive by my old History teacher (who was one of the educators) while driving down the NCR. It looked like he was still living in the hippy-digs he had 20 years ago and was on his way back from Tesco Phibsborough laden down with groceries. I beeped him like crazy and gave him a thumbs-up from the beemer. He beemed back and waved, probably thinking to himself 'who is this eejit?'.

His legacy from my class is that two of his former students (both in my year) went on to become an elected EU Rep and a Councellor in main-stream political parties. Many from my year are active in politics in non-elected capacities, no doubt from his influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Angus MacGyver

Not a chance and i doubt he would be accepted if i tried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Terenure College - and yes I would send my kids there. Good standard of education and close to home. Only problem is I've a daughter, so thats a non-runner but I'll be sending her to Presentation Convent in Terenure (where I was til 1st class).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Which St Micheals ?
    Finglas ?