Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What pisses you off while driving?

• 18-10-2006 10:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭

Here are the top 10 things that piss me off when driving. List the things that get your blood boiling?

1. Drivers who hog the overtaking lane on a motorway
    2. Drivers at front of queue who are asleep when traffic lights turn green
    3. Drivers who break red lights
    4. Drivers who block junctions (with or without a yellow box)
    5. Drivers who don't indicate at roundabouts
    6. Driving while on the phone
    7. People who take up two parking spaces in car parks
    8. Drivers who let queue jumpers back into the queue
    9. Drivers who don't maintain a constant speed (slow down, speed up, slow down...)
    10. Drivers who when coming to a queue drive really slowly up to it instead of driving up at a normal speed and stopping the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

10. Drivers who when coming to a queue drive really slowly up to it instead of driving up at a normal speed and stopping the car
    Whilst I agree with the other points, I'm not so sure about this one. I find that slowing before an obstruction sometimes obviates the need to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I'd agree with most of that list. I'd add in Women who do makeup in their car and hold up the queue of traffic behind as the worst kind of number 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Anan1 wrote:
    Whilst I agree with the other points, I'm not so sure about this one. I find that slowing before an obstruction sometimes obviates the need to stop.
    Well I think there the chances of you being in an accident (rear ending someone, etc) are much more increased while you are moving so it's better to bring the car to a stop as soon as possible, stick it in neutral and take a breather while waiting for the traffic to move again.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

People with their iPods (headphones and all) on while driving. It seems like every second handbag on wheels going into the carpark of a college is being driven by some faux-swarthy bint who can hear nothing but the ineffable whinings of Snow Patrol.

As a general rule of thumb: Number of soft toys in car is directly proportional to level of mental illness of driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Anan1 wrote:
    Yeh I do it all the time, saves a lot of fuel, clutchin in and out, startin stoppin etc.....i've gotten the odd driver go mad at me alright but I'd rather keep to a nice steady pace. Don't get me wrong, once the road opens up I put the boot down :D
    1. Drivers who hog the overtaking lane on a motorway That is my biggest pet hate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭sirpsycho

I'd add in the yummy mummies who decide to do a 3-point turn(without bothering to check oncoming traffic) in the middle of the road, outside the school, who think they are in a car park. This drives me fcukin mental.

Well I think there the chances of you being in an accident (rear ending someone, etc) are much more increased while you are moving so it's better to bring the car to a stop as soon as possible, stick it in neutral and take a breather while waiting for the traffic to move again.
    Slowing may increase the risk of being rear-ended (if you don't watch your mirrors), but slowing before an obstruction cannot but reduce the chances of my rear-ending someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

I despise drivers who just sit in the overtake lane and crawl along at 100km

SUV's on narrow back roads. Who speed up as soon as they see you and exspect you to pull into the verge even though the Suv the reason for the obstuction on the road.

SUV's in generall. It all seems a little reminist of the cold war. Its seems to be the soccor moms and yummy mummys who buy them. So they are protected in the event of a crash. So each year the SUV's are gradually getting bigger and bigger. Compare a 03 trooper with a 06 its at leat 20% bigger. where is it all going to end. Mothers picking there kids up from school in Hummers and Monster trucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

11) People undertaking traffic jams on the Hard shoulder of Carriage ways.

I've seen people undertake the entire carriage way into Galway numerous times in early morning rush hour. Only been able to report 2 of them so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭VERYinterested

Oh my favourite is when you are say three or four cars back and the lights change, nobody is moving and everyone is so polite and won't tip the horn. Impatience gets the better of you and you tip the horn. Then the idiot directly in front of you takes umbrage and starts pointing that it's not him thats holding things up but the cars in front of him. If he thought for a minute and got rid of the complex that when someone tips their horn, it must be him that is the culprit, guilty conscience if you ask me. But if he actually thought about it, it IS the car in front of him that you are blowing at and not him! Last week I did all in my powers not to jump out abd slap a guy who did all the above and then proceeded to let every car out of side roads and driveways just to pee me off!

Anan1 wrote:
    Slowing may increase the risk of being rear-ended (if you don't watch your mirrors), but slowing before an obstruction cannot but reduce the chances of my rear-ending someone else.
    Aaah right, I agree with you there, I was taking about people slowing before a queue of people stopped at traffic lights or something like that

People who merge on to the M50 Northbound between the Ballymount and Red Cow ramps but wait until the latest opportunity possible to do so meaning they generally have to bring traffic on the M50 to a standstill as they try beat their way into a gap that doesn't exist. Every day I leave a huge gap in front of me as the Ballymount ramp merges and nobody ever takes it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

What pisses you off while driving?

All the other people on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

9. Drivers who don't maintain a constant speed (slow down, speed up, slow down...)

All of the above... plus...

- People who put the boot down when approaching an amber traffic light.
    - People who slow for an amber light, then at the last minute decide, feck it, I'll go for it.
    - Competitive people who seem to take you overtaking them personal,then a minute later they overtake you only to slow back down and so on.
    - Pedestrians who dont look and assume cars will stop for them.
    - People who drift over the white line on a dual-carraigeway.
    - While indicating on a motorway drivers who close up the gap so you cant move into lane....
    - People trying to hide the fact they are on the phone. You cant see the phone but wonder why they are looking at their feet.
    - While parallel parking, people who dont give you enough room to reverse into the spot. You are then forced to move along and look for another spot.
    - people who perform a rolling start at traffic lights - before the lights change, they car inches forward.
    - People who drive on hard shoulders. I have no problem with people moving over to let someone past, but I've seen people treat it like a lane.
    - Speedtraps on motorways
    - Police escorts on the M50. (Actually anything related to the M50)
    - Tailgators
    - When driving at night, people who hit their brakes every time an oncoming car approaches.
    - People with faulty lights, esp. brake lights.
    - Bad overtaking - i.e: come right up behind someone and then floor it. As opposed to accelerating from a distance behind the car.
    - Moving from one lane to another in an erratic movement. Looks like the driver is about to loose control.
    - When a dual carraigeway ends, people who floor it just so they can get a car or two ahead of the rest.
    - the irish obsession with progress and the need to be ahead of everyone else.
    - People with expensive cars parking on double yellow lines.
    - SUV's (careful now.... heated debate imminent)
    - I have no problem with trucks overtaking but I have seen a few cases where the truck driver realises he cant get past and backs into his original position, or the truck on the left lane has to slow down to let him past.

Hmmm.... thats it for now..... I think. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

12. Driver's who don't understand that you can slow down by taking your foot off the accelerator but not sticking it immediately on the break. About 80% of the time these fools are tailgaiting the car in front, but it sometimes happens when there in no one in front of them.

I'd have to agree with the SUV one. Bunch of sociopaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

starn wrote:
    Mothers picking there kids up from school in Hummers and Monster trucks.

Man what an image! Can you image little Johnny aged 4 being called on his mobile and being told mommy is outside the school in Bigfoot. :D And sure if she has a crash, she'll be grand, she can just drive over the wreckage and head off!

Drax, I agree with all your points!! This list is getting longer and longer!! LOL

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Drax, I agree with all your points!! This list is getting longer and longer!! LOL
    It needs to be made into a sticky tbh. No debating the merits or validity of the posts, just constant venting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Robbo wrote:
    It needs to be made into a sticky tbh. No debating the merits or validity of the posts, just constant venting.
    We used to have one of those, a General Rant and Rave thread, but the glue appears to have gone off :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

I hate people who don't know where they are going so drive at 15Kph so the don't drive past the turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Roundabouts - Man, why can't people learn to indicate around them, worst is muppets indicating left and taking the 2nd exit (typical 4 roundabout).

People coming off the motorway at sandyford who can't enter the roundabout while there are 50 cars behind - oh I can go, no missed it - oh again..

Drivers pull up into aroundabout in the left lane and go straight ahead when there is only 1 lane available on the exit and always thinks its your fault when something has to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

I agree totally with those lists, especially the hardshoulder and redlight maniacs, and anyone misusing foglights (front or rear) or driving lamps (that are supposed to be used with main beam, ie. not daytime-running-lamps)

And I'd add:

- people who make a mockery of disabled spaces. It seems "normal" at any LIDL or ALDI shop to park in the disabled spaces first, and only if they're not free, then use the rest of the (empty) carpark. Really, really does my head in. Especially annoying when I see it at Superquinn in Blanchardstown, Tesco at Roselawn and so on. Carpark attendants don't give a hoot; but I'd love for them to slap those nearly-permanent "don't park here" stickers on the offenders.

I cant wait till I get plowed out of it on a back road by a SUV. With out a shadow of a doubt no matter what car Iam driving is going to written off. I'am gonna get cut out of the car by the jaws of life and a soccor mom is gonna be roaring at me cause her paint is scratced, all Iam gonna do is laugh my ass of cause no matter where she was on the road of what speed she was doing. She's gonna be in the wrong cause she's over the wrong side of the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

JoeyJJ wrote:

Drivers pull up into aroundabout in the left lane and go straight ahead when there is only 1 lane available on the exit and always thinks its your fault when something has to give.

Anyone else know what this guy is talking about?? aren't you ment to be in the left lane unless told otherwise.

I hate drivers who only have one headlight. So drive with there full beams on blinding everyone else on the road. All becaus there to lazy to replace a bulb.

Cant stand lorries in the overtake lane on the motorway. During the summer I was driving to Dundalk from thge airport and all the way where some northern reg Fcukers hauling hay up the motorway. They were so heavily loaded that the one of the guys in the truck had to get out at all the bridges to make sure it could pass under them.

Birds driving horse boxs. I seem to constantly get stuck behind them on the N11 and evrytime I try to overtake they speed up.

The guys at who put in driveways and park big lorries outside houses on secondary roads. Blocking a whole lane of trqffic. They then get some Ejcit who cant understand the mental complexities of taring to pretend he's a member of the traffic core and direct traffic. If I have the right of way I always blow past him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

starn wrote:
    I cant wait till I get plowed out of it on a back road by a SUV. With out a shadow of a doubt no matter what car Iam driving is going to written off. I'am gonna get cut out of the car by the jaws of life and a soccor mom is gonna be roaring at me cause her paint is scratced, all Iam gonna do is laugh my ass of cause no matter where she was on the road of what speed she was doing. She's gonna be in the wrong cause she's over the wrong side of the road

I'll never understand that ...fork out a fortune for a "go anywhere" 4 x4 "Desert Storm special edition" battle tank. (remember the VW Tuareg ad where his and hers SUV meet in the middle of a rocky river bed while he's getting some milk and she's dropping off the kids?)

But will any of these drivers even take their tank through a puddle, never mind the green and mucky bit at the edge of the road?

nooo ...they just bully everybody else into the hedges and ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

sorry right lane...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

peasant wrote:
    I'll never understand that ...fork out a fortune for a "go anywhere" 4 x4 "Desert Storm special edition" battle tank. (remember the VW Tuareg ad where his and hers SUV meet in the middle of a rocky river bed while he's getting some milk and she's dropping off the kids?)

But will any of these drivers even take their tank through a puddle, never mind the green and mucky bit at the edge of the road?

nooo ...they just bully everybody else into the hedges and ditches.

this happened to me a few years ago on the back road near PDM, kilteel. I was ina 406 coupe and met a guy in a LWB comm. Landcruiser. We couldn't pass, but he would not go onto the grass verge.
    Also, he expected me to reverse back up to a crossroad. I held my ground, feck him, so he eventually reversed back into the nearest driveway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭the_batman

Noelie wrote:
    Anyone else know what this guy is talking about?? aren't you ment to be in the left lane unless told otherwise.

I think he point is that you are supposed to drive around a roundabout. If there are two lanes going onto a roundabout, then both cars should be able to go around the roundabout at the same time.

A lot of people going onto a roundabout take that quickest route straight through rather than around. This is one of my pet hates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭VERYinterested

Just remembered another...people who don't 'appear' to have a handbrake and when stopped at traffic lights, they stand on the footbrakes and blind people in the car waiting behind. Idiots!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

People that drive a constant 40mph on country roads and through towns.

So the limit is 50mph on the country roads but it's 30mph through towns. You're stuck behind them on the main road but they don't slow down through towns at all.

10mph under the limit one minute, 10mph over the limit the next. Oblivious to both. These are the people that speed up when the road straightens too, making it more difficult for you to overtake.

Also drivers that brake every time a car comes in the opposite direction. I was behind a woman once that actually stopped dead when a truck came in the opposite direction. There was plenty of room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Tailgaters, I fúcking hate the bastards.

The braking treatment is often very effective! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

Drax wrote:

All of the above... plus...

- People who put the boot down when approaching an amber traffic light.
    - People who slow for an amber light, then at the last minute decide, feck it, I'll go for it.
    - Competitive people who seem to take you overtaking them personal,then a minute later they overtake you only to slow back down and so on.
    - Pedestrians who dont look and assume cars will stop for them.
    - People who drift over the white line on a dual-carraigeway.
    - While indicating on a motorway drivers who close up the gap so you cant move into lane....
    - People trying to hide the fact they are on the phone. You cant see the phone but wonder why they are looking at their feet.
    - While parallel parking, people who dont give you enough room to reverse into the spot. You are then forced to move along and look for another spot.
    - people who perform a rolling start at traffic lights - before the lights change, they car inches forward.
    - People who drive on hard shoulders. I have no problem with people moving over to let someone past, but I've seen people treat it like a lane.
    - Speedtraps on motorways
    - Police escorts on the M50. (Actually anything related to the M50)
    - Tailgators
    - When driving at night, people who hit their brakes every time an oncoming car approaches.
    - People with faulty lights, esp. brake lights.
    - Bad overtaking - i.e: come right up behind someone and then floor it. As opposed to accelerating from a distance behind the car.
    - Moving from one lane to another in an erratic movement. Looks like the driver is about to loose control.
    - When a dual carraigeway ends, people who floor it just so they can get a car or two ahead of the rest.
    - the irish obsession with progress and the need to be ahead of everyone else.
    - People with expensive cars parking on double yellow lines.
    - SUV's (careful now.... heated debate imminent)
    - I have no problem with trucks overtaking but I have seen a few cases where the truck driver realises he cant get past and backs into his original position, or the truck on the left lane has to slow down to let him past.

Hmmm.... thats it for now..... I think. :D
    Is there anything you enjoy about driving? :D Bejeebus! :eek:

prospect wrote:
    this happened to me a few years ago on the back road near PDM, kilteel. I was ina 406 coupe and met a guy in a LWB comm. Landcruiser. We couldn't pass, but he would not go onto the grass verge.
    Also, he expected me to reverse back up to a crossroad. I held my ground, feck him, so he eventually reversed back into the nearest driveway.

Damn Straight. I dont let these fcukers imtimidate me. I know with out a shadow of a doubt i'am gonna get some serious damge done to my motor by one of these yolks. Stand your ground I say. Your in the right. The only SUV or Pick up drivers I hacve any respect for now are High Lux and L200 drivers. The rest are yuppies and weekend warriors

As for tailgaters, well a quick lift of the handbrake is more then enough to put a stop to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Misplaced "courtesy" ...

Drivers who brake on a nearly empty road to let someone out who could have easily got out all by himself 10 seconds later after they had driven past.

Drivers who are turning right from a main road into a side road and wave the car on who's trying to turn right onto the main road. I can understand this for large vehicles with limited turning circles, but not for ordinary cars.

Cars who cut corners off causing you to stop early at T-junctions, and who also, if you dare to actually drive right up to the Yield/Stop line, give you that "look" as they drive round you as if actually turning the steering wheel is a major chore for them (often combined with either a mobile phone or cigarette in one hand).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

I hate the eejits who won't pass a slow moving vehicle when it pulls in the hard shoulder to let them pass.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

People on dual carriageways and motorways who think that indicating gives them the right of way.

If there's no space love, don't try and and move in ahead of me!

Also, those two lane on-ramps (eg Sandyford M50 northbound) where people are accelerating nicely up to the limit and some bsatard shoots up the inside and scares the bejesus out of me, only to get caught in merging traffic later on, while I am already in the overtaking lane and end up overtaking him anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

starn wrote:
    As for tailgaters, well a quick lift of the handbrake is more then enough to put a stop to that
    Is the problem with tailgaters, that they get so close to you with their high powered beamers and sort of blind you? I get that a lot, but readjust the all the mirrors so they are not directly in my face and just get on with driving. If they bump into you it's their fault.

Ok then, one of my pet hates is performing a legal overtaking maneurve at night, and in the middle of the it, the slow fool I'm overtaking of me starts flashing as if I don't know what the heck I'm doing. It'd be alright if that was he was doing 60 but at 45 just please shut the hell up! That is all. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

With my old Corsa (93 model) I had a great trick for tailgaters at night, a quick flick with the rear fog lights and they'd pi$$ themselves but I didn't lose any speed by having to brake gently or touch the handbrake. Sometimes still works on dim drivers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

bus lane cheats really get my goat ...especially the ones who indicate left for miles in a vain attempt to disguise the fact they are just bus lane cheats ... yes, i'm talking to the man in the blue mazda mx-5 on the clontarf road every morning @ 0745 ... you know who you are!

lane hoppin' fools who don't / won't merge lanes in a sane & rational manner

people who treat the arrows on filter lanes as 'guidelines' only ... ms white vw polo on the clontarf road last night @ 1830 ... you know who you are!

people who insist on reversing into parking spaces, when they clearly lack the skill to do so ... yes i'm talking to the man in the blue pajero who tried to park in Arnot's on Saturday afternoon ... 5 minutes is too long to park!

and finally ... any driver who got their licence in the lucky bag amnesty

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭want2play

Noelie wrote:

Thanks Noelie, I was just posting how I hate people in the right lane cutting you off when your in the left.

Robbo wrote:
    Yeah, lets get all the anger out!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭The Novacastrian

All of the above and...

1) Foglights, foglights, foglights!! Front ones turned on when it is not foggy is bad enough but rear ones on - inexcusable.

Using foglights when not foggy, should be a penalty point offence! Why? Cause I said so!

2) Children without seatbelts, their parents should be shot.

3) 4x4 mommies that cant drive their car cos it is too big for them

4) Any Hyundai Coupe or Santa Fe drivers

5) People throwing rubbish out the window, including cigarette butts

Thats enough for now!!!

Alun wrote:
    Misplaced "courtesy" ...

Drivers who brake on a nearly empty road to let someone out who could have easily got out all by himself 10 seconds later after they had driven past.

That's down to lack of observation. Actually 90% of the problems on the roads are down to poor observation.

Now I'm all wound up and have to vent more...:mad:

My parents live in a house that faces onto a "main" road. Nice wide road, good surface, speed limit is 50kph, but everyone trundles along at 60kph.

However when I visit them, I have to turn off this road and into the driveway. Now I'm driving along, keeping up with traffic etc. and I indicate in plenty of time to show my intention and then when I come to the house I have to slow right down and turn into the driveway. The problem is the car behind me also has to slow down or else he'll rear end me. Now, you would not believe the abuse I get from drivers when I make this turn. 9/10 I get pure daggers and the rest of the time it's horns blowing and lights flashing.

People, I can't make the turn into the driveway while doing 60kph, please stop trying to climb over my car in your hurry to get past me, use your brains!

(ahh, that's better!:D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

Eastern european registered cars. Not only are they LHD, they are not paying tax, can't get points and in certain parts of the country there are thousands of them, and one would wonder how insured they are.I have several friends who have been involved in fender benders with them, none of whom were insured. Nothing can be done, all they can do is go to the uninsured drivers board and hope for the best.

EZ pass lane hoggers

Dyflin wrote:
    Now I'm all wound up and have to vent more...:mad:
    My auntie lives on a busy main road and has the exact same problem! Every time I visit her I insist on reversing in (I wouldnt like to try reverse out in fairness) and you get fellas drive right up your arse and then slam on the horn. I just sit there calmly (in reverse with my indicator going) until I have the space to complete the manoeuvre

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Jebus - a thread where we can whinge and the word 'fog' doesn't appear until post #24!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Road workers who think its their God given right to block all traffic from all directions so they can stand in the middle of the road talking to the JCB driver about what he wants for his lunch. That one is aimed at those dudes who are renovating the Fonthill road by Neilstown. Its feckin bad enough that half the road is shut without you making it worse.

(Ham salad sambo and a bag of salt and vinegar frisps in case you're wondering)