Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sporting Emporium / Boards Monthly VOTE

• 16-10-2006 5:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭

OK, I'm not representing either group. I'm just one of the participants.

Let's vote.

You can click more than one time.

your = you're :o

Which day suits for the SE/boards tourney? 81 votes

Friday 03/11/06 18:00
    0%
    Saturday 04/11/06 18:00
    30%
    mewsosikesWashoutmicksteHitman Actualwillisslegsianmc38kpnutsMrPillowTalkcardshark202Norwich Fan RobTrueDubconnie147spectrecarfaxditpokernicnicnicGholimoliEl Stuntman 25 votes
    Friday 10/11/06 18:00
    14%
    charlesantoianmc38califanocardshark202sleepypriestTrueDubEl StuntmanbopsBandana boyJJP PokerManiaPiperTpok3rplaya 12 votes
    Saturday 11/11/06 18:00
    3%
    shaydycardshark202TrueDub 3 votes
    Friday 17/11/06 18:00
    9%
    BigDragonkincsemcardshark202TrueDubpok3rplayaredzerdrogluckyvegas7Silver-Tiger 8 votes
    Saturday 18/11/06 18:00
    4%
    mewsoDe DeracoTrueDubRichieLawlor 4 votes
    Friday 25/11/06 18:00
    24%
    DeVoremewsokarlhHectorjellymdwexfordBigDragonDaithio5starpoolTrueDubconnie147White KnightStraddleFor6Lazarepok3rplayaHauleyBearRichieLawlorredzerdrog58ogaz15dacman 20 votes
    Saturday 26/11/06 18:00
    3%
    super_furryNorwich Fan RobTrueDub 3 votes
    If you click this your taking the ****
    7%
    ShortstackNickyODTrueDubconnie147pok3rplayaredzerdrog 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

As was stated on another thread, Connie's festival is on the 11th.
    A lot of the Dublin players that were there this weekend are going back down for this, and obviously all the Kerry lads that came up for the boards game will be there too.

Probably not a good idea to clash the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Is there anything else that clashes with the above dates?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

john has said that the SE is not available on Sat 4th so that should be removed as an option. Fri 3rd this month, all other months, first sat of every month. NB, 18th is too close to next one in early dec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

DOnt have it on the 11th. Thats been the date for Connies venet for ages now and there'll be lots of boardsies down there (inc. me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

can we have it on a saturday please!?

main reason we go the numbers last time imo.

18th/25th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I can edit the poll if any more unworkable dates come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

sat the 18th looks good to me

having it on the friday with the final table on sunday is a disaster imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

There Are Issues With Many Of The Above Dates

17th/18th/19th November Is The Epm In The Se So That Weekend Is Surely A Deffo Non Runner.

Sat 4th The Club Is Closed - So Im Pretty Sure This Makes It A Non Runner Also.

Sat 11th Is Connies Tourney Which There Is A Strong Desire Not To Clash With

Realistically 25th/26th Is Too Late In The Month If It Is The Intention To Play This Regularly At The Start Of The Month..

Whilst It Might Not Be Best For Everyone The Reality Is The Most Sensible Time Is Fri3rd With Completion If Necessary On Sunday - You Cant Please All The People All The Time. Caveat Emptor - If You Cant Make It Back On Sunday Well I Guess You Better Be Sure To Bust Out Early - Try Get A Seat Beside The Chief If Possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

There Are Issues With Many Of The Above Dates

17th/18th/19th November Is The Epm In The Se So That Weekend Is Surely A Deffo Non Runner.

Sat 4th The Club Is Closed - So Im Pretty Sure This Makes It A Non Runner Also.

Sat 11th Is Connies Tourney Which There Is A Strong Desire Not To Clash With

Realistically 25th/26th Is Too Late In The Month If It Is The Intention To Play This Regularly At The Start Of The Month..

Whilst It Might Not Be Best For Everyone The Reality Is The Most Sensible Time Is Fri3rd With Completion If Necessary On Sunday - You Cant Please All The People All The Time. Caveat Emptor - If You Cant Make It Back On Sunday Well I Guess You Better Be Sure To Bust Out Early - Try Get A Seat Beside The Chief If Possible.

I agree with Noel. The 11th and 18th are non - runners.

Having the Chief about two or three to your left is perfect. I dare you to steal his blind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

it greatly pains me to agree with Lloyd again ;)

Noel, your post hurt my eyes but you're right

stop the madness now; Fri the 3rd it is!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

I voted for 3rd November even though its the only weekend i cant play. I believe this tourny needs to have a set date in order to maintain its attractiveness, different events will be on every month, that dosent mean that this game should move to accomodate them. At the end of the day the tourny with the best value and structure will win out imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

IMO i think the most sensible decision is to postpone this event for November. There seems to be a lack of possible dates for this game to go ahead efficeintly and as a result of trying to please everyone, the event could lose some of its sparkle.

It really has to be a tournament that stands on its own 2 feet and is run at the same time each month, ie the first saturday of each month. If we use the 2nd or 3rd saturday of the month, no doubt people will use the excuse "oh i thought it was next week" etc etc.

Theres so much choice of games to play over the next 6 weeks that the boards tournie wont be missed and everyone will be looking forward to the 2nd Dec to take up the reigns again and topple HJ from his perch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

Flushdraw wrote:
    IMO i think the most sensible decision is to postpone this event for November. There seems to be a lack of possible dates for this game to go ahead efficeintly and as a result of trying to please everyone, the event could lose some of its sparkle.

It really has to be a tournament that stands on its own 2 feet and is run at the same time each month, ie the first saturday of each month. If we use the 2nd or 3rd saturday of the month, no doubt people will use the excuse "oh i thought it was next week" etc etc.

Theres so much choice of games to play over the next 6 weeks that the boards tournie wont be missed and everyone will be looking forward to the 2nd Dec to take up the reigns again and topple HJ from his perch!
    i disagree with this ,
    i really wanna play in the next one and it would really piss me off if i was made to wait another month and half for this .
    i think 3rd is fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Mmmmmm November is a very busy month. The 5th is the next Drogheda game at which we will most likely have an evening satellite for the festival as well as the €250 FO.

IMHO the arguments for it being the same week every month don't hold up. As long as the date is posted well in advance on here then it should not matter.

As soon as the dates are sorted I will get satellites put online. However I will be shooting myself in the foot if it is going to be the first Saturday of every month as it is then always going to clash with the GJP monthly game. NOt that it will affect our numbers so much as that I won't be able to play :(

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Shortstack wrote:
    IMHO the arguments for it being the same week every month don't hold up. As long as the date is posted well in advance on here then it should not matter.(
    I think most of the point of having a set date is so that non boards players will know about it every month. Long term, the 2nd/3rd Sat of every month seems to be the best schedulewise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Entry fee
    €20 if playing at 18:00 (me)
    €25 for 18:01 to 18:29 (drinkers)
    €30 if 18:30+ (the bewildered)

That's official. I said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

5starpool wrote:
    I think most of the point of having a set date is so that non boards players will know about it every month. Long term, the 2nd/3rd Sat of every month seems to be the best schedulewise.

I think non-boards players (the few that are out there) will have no problem finding out what date the event is on if it is posted with plenty of notice.

The main problem is that the Sporting Emporium is probably always going to have to shuffle dates as they will be busy with lots of different things at different times.

Just my opinion.....

carfax wrote:
    The main problem is that the Sporting Emporium is probably always going to have to shuffle dates as they will be busy with lots of different things at different times.

Just my opinion.....

I disagree here Stephen. The Emporium has an odd month considering that they are running the Full Tilt EPM on the 18th and have renovation work on Nov 4th. They could easily do it on the weekend of the 11th - but that clashes with the Cue club thing.

Occurances of this nature are definately not going to be the norm.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Personally I think this should be a quarterly game, not a monthly game. That will maintain "event" feeling of it and not have it drop in numbers as people think "ah I'll play it next month".
    Also, the first saturday in the month is always going to clash with the first sunday of the month game in Drogheda that a lot of people here play.

As for people who aren't boards users finding out the date, I think thats a nonissue. This is by definition the Boards.ie Poker Forum game, if they want to know when its on.... well they could come here and find out :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

what about having it somewhere else for one month only?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

Saturday 26/11/06 18:00
    on saturday 4th the heads up 4 nations game is on, and a few boardies might be in that.

from 10th - 18th november approx, i will be in singapore, along with dave masters, kp nuts, probably Daithio and maybe some others also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Im not trying to ruffle any feathers here but if theres a major problem with November,I'd like to offer an alternitive.

The Sunday game at my festival weekend is a €150 f/o with 30 min clock.
    I'd be quite prepared to change the sunday game to a €200 f/o with 45min blinds and let it become the boards game for one month only.

BTW, I agree with DeV that having the boards game quarterly would be more appropriate.Getting lads to travel regularly once a month to Dublin for a two day game as well as all the other festivals they travel to might be a bit much.

Date should be set this week regardless in order for us culchies to make travel arrangements

I'm a bit disturbed by the direction this thread is taking: speaking as an ordinary player, I'd like to play this every month and I would prefer not to see it as a quarterly 'event' game.

I don't run any tournies myself either so no vested interests here unlike most of the people who seem to be posting on this thread....

come on SE, just stick this in your schedule for the first w/e of every month and if you build it, they will come

(and drop huge amounts of rake onto your cash tables)

....nothing wrong with healthy competition between tournaments imho, the one with the most attractive structure will get the most runners...am I missing something here?

I'm a bit disturbed by the direction this thread is taking: speaking as an ordinary player, I'd like to play this every month and I would prefer not to see it as a quarterly 'event' game.

I don't run any tournies myself either so no vested interests here unlike most of the people who seem to be posting on this thread....

come on SE, just stick this in your schedule for the first w/e of every month and if you build it, they will come

(and drop huge amounts of rake onto your cash tables)

....nothing wrong with healthy competition between tournaments imho, the one with the most attractive structure will get the most runners...am I missing something here?

Listen to what the Man said people. SE should run this game on the Friday and Sunday of the first weekend on November, and it should be the first weekend of every month thereafter. No disrespect to Mike, but if it clashes with the Drogheda Sunday game then so be it.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Listen to what the Man said people. SE should run this game on the Friday and Sunday of the first weekend on November, and it should be the first weekend of every month thereafter.

I concur with messrs stuntman et lloyd.

Hooray for free market competition...

we will eventually cripple the unions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Yes i feel they need to make a day and stick to it for every month. No asking for suggestions on what date is best just make a date and thats it.
    Also i dont believe the S.E want this tournament to run over into a second day although i could be very wrong about this. But John sounded quite adamant last time that no tournament should go more than 12-13 hours if my memory serves me?.

Yes i feel they need to make a day and stick to it for every month. No asking for suggestions on what date is best just make a date and thats it.
    Also i dont believe the S.E want this tournament to run over into a second day although i could be very wrong about this. But John sounded quite adamant last time that no tournament should go more than 12-13 hours if my memory serves me?.

He was going down that road initially, but he has agreed to a two day event in future with the same structure once people are informed about it in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Personally I think the third weekend of every month would be better over the long term and if its missed for November due to the EPM thats not the worst thing in the world.

Rounders I think John has gotten over his issues with the two day thing based on a slightly higher rake going forward. If he covers costs and this game pulls in punters for the cash games I'd say he won't have too many issues. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Ah thats good so. Then I'd play anytime they advertise as long as theres no accomodating people that cant make day2 in future. Once everyone knows that the final two tables might have to come back tomorrow or if they cant they finish in the place they stopped at.
    Last time was fine because there was no definate rule on this from the start and people didnt know which is why we were happy enough to give Connies friend who couldnt attend a better deal than 6th.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Seriously, if we try to run this every month, I think it will fizzle out and be a non-event. I'm just putting it forward as an idea that people will make more of an attempt to play it and it will be more of a "I cant miss that game" if we do it that way.

Btw, play it the first Saturday of every quarter if you like. I didnt appreciate the insinuation that I had a vested interest in moving the day, I was pointing out that a lot of the players here DO go to the drogheda game and since this is a game for this forum, its a pertinent piece of information.

Finally, if we're all being frank with each other, I'm uncomfortable with the snuggly relationship with the SE and the Boards.ie name. When we ran forum games before (anyone remember Suited Aces?) we moved them around the casinos to avoid favouring any one of them. I'd very very much like to see at least 1 of the quarterly games or 2-3 of the monthly games be outside the pale and to move casino if possible.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭zsoulking

I am going to run this game on Friday 3rdNovember starting at 7:30pm. The buy in will be the same as before. As for people having to return for the final table I am having on going discussions to come up with the best solution for this. Will let you all know in the next couple of days.

Just to set the record straight Alex, Dave and myself were already putting together a monthly €250 game for the first Saturday of the month when Ian approached us about a deep stack game that maybe 40 boards.ie players wanted to play. We saw this as a good opportunity to re-launch a monthly game at the SE.
    The idea was always to have a monthly game on the 1st Saturday of the month and this will be the date we will stick to after November. So Saturday 2ndDecember etc.
    I feel that we have to have consistency with the date and I don’t want to chop and change it. We will run satellites for this and all monthly games.It was very unfortunate that the poker room was booked for 4thNovember.

Again my apologies for any inconvenience this may cause to players or other card rooms but I think that the majority will be happy with this decision.

Please note that I or nobody at the SE put the boards.ie name to this tournament I was under the impression that boards was a form that people could communicate with each other what they were thinking. The people on the form communicated that they wanted a well run deep stack tournament. I am just doing my best to accommodate what people have asked for.

Good luck to all.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

this all sounds good to me... i think on a regular basis with this structure etc the SE can expect 50+ players always.

Now all i have to do is qualify for it! i assume the first SE qualifier will be after the EPM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

The other casinos have had plenty of chances before to run well structured events and have failed/not bothered, so I think we should give huge respect and encouragement to John and the SE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭yopnailbrush

DeVore wrote:
    Seriously, if we try to run this every month, I think it will fizzle out and be a non-event. I'm just putting it forward as an idea that people will make more of an attempt to play it and it will be more of a "I cant miss that game" if we do it that way.

Btw, play it the first Saturday of every quarter if you like. I didnt appreciate the insinuation that I had a vested interest in moving the day, I was pointing out that a lot of the players here DO go to the drogheda game and since this is a game for this forum, its a pertinent piece of information.

Finally, if we're all being frank with each other, I'm uncomfortable with the snuggly relationship with the SE and the Boards.ie name. When we ran forum games before (anyone remember Suited Aces?) we moved them around the casinos to avoid favouring any one of them. I'd very very much like to see at least 1 of the quarterly games or 2-3 of the monthly games be outside the pale and to move casino if possible.

DeV.

I agree with DEV.... To be fair to all clubs I think it should be rotated and outside dublin too... There are lots of clubs outside Dublin who are capable of running great tournaments... If its every quarter every body could get together for the weekend and have lots of side games and most importantly fun... Lets keep this special and not just another regular tournament!!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I think the boards direct association should be dropped. Organise a boards tournie if ye want on a rotating basis, but if the SE keep running this it will be fine by me. To be honest, I know a load of players wouldn't travel out of Dublin for this, probably including me. A load would, but I think that having it somewhere outside on a rotating basis wouldn't be successful in the long term. I know there are also loads of players outside of Dublin, but by far the greatest concentration of them are in it. Having it outside Dublin just increases the number of players who would have to travel to make this a success.

Since the SE have said they were in the process of organising a monthly event anyhow then this is probably a moot point.

Well ill definitely keep play this on a monthly basis. Im usually spending 500 euro to get a tourney that has a structure as good as this one.

Like HJ said, the casinos in this country have all had ample time to organise similar events and have failed. John and the SE have been really helpful in customising the structure to accomodate our needs, so i'll have no problem supporting this game.

The other casinos have had plenty of chances before to run well structured events and have failed/not bothered, so I think we should give huge respect and encouragement to John and the SE

Id have thought this was pretty obvious. WD to the guys in the SE. I look forward to donking away my cash on a monthly basis.

Well said HJ.

I for one will be attending on a monthly basis, starting Friday 4th.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Well said HJ.

I for one will be attending on a monthly basis, starting Friday 4th.

moi aussi

wp SE, hope this goes well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

i second this and a big thanks to the lads in the SE.

[/QUOTE]

DeV.[/QUOTE]

I think the Sporting Emporium is a fantastic casino and offers something different in Dublin city. We have a number of card rooms here which are run to a very high standard (The Fitz is one of the best card rooms in Europe, imo)......But the Sporting now seem to understand how important poker is and that treating players well will be good for them. I really hope they continue to get support from players.

I didn't actually make it to the last Boards Game so I'm looking forward to playing in it in the Sporting Emporium but I agree with DeV.....
    The Boards game would work very well as a quarterly or maybe even bi-monthly game in a different location around the country each time.

There are a number of fantastic casino clubs around the country that would be delighted to run Boards Games.....Clubs could advertise to their local players and qualify people months in advance of these tournaments and travelling boards players could be assured of a big field, big prize-pool and quality tournament.

A big travelling contingent always means there is going to be a good laugh and great atmosphere at any tournament too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

[/QUOTE]
    The Boards game would work very well as a quarterly or maybe even bi-monthly game in a different location around the country each time.

There are a number of fantastic casino clubs around the country that would be delighted to run Boards Games.....Clubs could advertise to their local players and qualify people months in advance of these tournaments and travelling boards players could be assured of a big field, big prize-pool and quality tournament.

A big travelling contingent always means there is going to be a good laugh and great atmosphere at any tournament too.[/QUOTE]

As pointed out by SE management, this is not a boards game only. They will have a deepstack tourny on the 1st weekend of every month, open to all players. It only got the boards name as Ian suggested it to SE staff, we got 40lads saying theyd play, SE put it on, and now theyve decided to make it a regular deepstack tourny. I will be attending most months even if nobody else from boards did...in fact id rather less boardsters turned up!

With regards country casinos, get these casinos to put on deepstack 2day €200 buyin events and im sure plenty here would flock

willis wrote:

With regards country casinos, get these casinos to put on deepstack 2day €200 buyin events and im sure plenty here would flock[/QUOTE]

I'm sure that plenty of casinos will cater to this demand in the future, (its not my place to tell them what types of events to put on).

There are already a number of top quality tournaments running throughout the year in different locations around the country. But I think the issue here is the Boards monthly game.
    I would be very happy to see this tournament take place in the Sporting Emporium every month but because of the massive support that Boards players can bring I think it would be better, for Irish poker, to host it in different venues.

carfax wrote:
    But I think the issue here is the Boards monthly game.
    I would be very happy to see this tournament take place in the Sporting Emporium every month but because of the massive support that Boards players can bring I think it would be better, for Irish poker, to host it in different venues.

like it or not, the SE's monthly tournie is now just that - the SE's monthly tournie (albeit with a good whack of advice on structure from this forum). It doesn't 'belong' to this forum although we can claim a certain proprietorial interest in it (plus we have a cup!! which HJ is polishing every day...).

if we decide to organise a quarterly or whatever "travelling Boards game", that's fine but it's got nothing to do with what is now the SE monthly game...

like it or not, the SE's monthly tournie is now just that - the SE's monthly tournie (albeit with a good whack of advice on structure from this forum). It doesn't 'belong' to this forum although we can claim a certain proprietorial interest in it (plus we have a cup!! which HJ is polishing every day...).

if we decide to organise a quarterly or whatever "travelling Boards game", that's fine but it's got nothing to do with what is now the SE monthly game...

I'm delighted that the Sporting have put on a tournament with a structure like this and long may it continue.
    John will vouch for me that I was one of the first players to help him promote his Poker Room when both he and Dave took over in there.
    He ran satellites into the Irish Poker Championships last June and while I was with Poker Events (although I'm doing my best to forget about that, lol) we did a lot to promote each others events.....

This is going off on a bit of a tangent but again;
    I hope that in the interests of Irish Poker and seeing the sport develop that Boards players will support some sort of "Travelling Boards game"......I also hope that card rooms take John's example in the Sporting Emporium and start to offer players the type of structures that they want.

Then its agreed. Fair play to the SE for listening to the desires of the players and putting on a good show the last time and it is a smart move on their part to offer it to all their customers regularly. Its a game I will play if I'm here for it!

The Boards game should be something else I feel and while I dont want to simply dominate this discussion, I feel its important for me as an admin to clarify what our name is associated with and how its used. If we held a boards game in Kerry, I can guaruntee you we'd have as many players in Connie club as we had in the SE, Dublin gets spoiled with all the best tournies and they always travel to play in ours to be fair.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

its a fair point
    none of the dublin players travel to tourneys outside of dublin, admittedly they dont need to because they are spoilt for choice but i regularly attend games like the macau monthly etc and there are never any dublin players there.

if we want to play a decent regular game with a good stack, structure, prize money, standard etc we have to go to dublin or cork. it would be a good idea to have games at various venues around the country, it would improve the standard of poker around Ireland as well because outside of the above places the standard is pretty terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

mdwexford wrote:
    its a fair point
    none of the dublin players travel to tourneys outside of dublin

Ahem. Cough. I'm not a regular player but I've been to Athlone, Sligo, Cavan, Galway, Las Vegas, London.

And I've spotted Hectorjelly, Dathio, OCallagh, KPnuts, Devore, Shortstack, and many more Dublin boardies at these. Of course Fatboydim and NickyOd will be there.

If the tourney is advertised, the numbers expected are reasonable, the structure is good, and the rake is 10% or less we will be there.

I don't think boardies should be locked into one venue. If a venue / organisation put up a similar event to the SE tourney outside Dublin it will be supported.

Half of the fun is finding these feckin venues outside Dublin.

P.S. About time someone put a bounty on the big fish, Chief Brody, and play a little Jaws music when he is all-in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

mdwexford wrote:
    its a fair point
    none of the dublin players travel to tourneys outside of dublin

This isn't really true, alot of us would travel quite frequently to tournaments around the country as Sean said.

I don't see the need to change the venue for the boards game from month to month. The fact is that the majority of the players are in Dublin, and if it's held in other casinos it wouldn't get as many runners. I'd say over half the people that played in last month's boards game wouldn't travel to the tournament if it was in Cork, Kerry or wherever. It's kind of similar to the Government's whole 'decentralisation of public services' thing. It's a nice idea and all but it wouldn't work if you ask me.