Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bushy's Open

• 16-10-2006 5:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭

After years of waiting Bushy Park Skatepark is finally open. :D A helmet and pads are required, and it was supervised today.
    Opens around 9/10am and closes around 6/7pm.
    Enjoy. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭skate4evr

**** ME MAN THAT IS AWESOME!!!! i was literally up there yesterday lukin to skate it but then it opens the day after lol! SWEET!!!!!! and its free is it? do you actually need pads? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Yeah it's free!
    There were two guys there today supervising it (I didn't actually get to skate it, I was just there at lunch) and they said you're not allowed in without pads and a helmet - so everyone'll be the same. But I dunno if they'll be there every day so it mightn't be enforced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 expn

Savage .......!!! Bushy open at last .......... i'm gonna go in da mornin' about 9:30am , workin' nights all this week , but once the weather's good , i'll be there..... so might see some of yis there too.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭HusseinSarhan

Bmx?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 expn

no , skateboard man.......!

But it doesn't really matter , does it.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Kenjd

I was there yesterday skating! Its the best ever. The deep end of the pool is great for carving...well thats all i could do anyway. The 2 park wardens let me skate without a helmet but i had a full set of pads. They said that a helmet will be required from now on. They kept watch for us 'cos the health and safety officer was on his way! Telling us at one point "He'll be here in 5 minutes lads". I had to go home though! Just treat these guys with respect and everything should go smoothly. Full rules are posted up there as well. No under 10's apparently!! So my wife told me! Typical, I didnt read the rules!! :D:D:D
    There was one guy on bmx there yesterday ripping it up with big airs and manuals all the way around the bowl then back in! Shaggy was there tearing it up as well!!! Its going to be a second home for me!!!! My wife will soon be a skateboard widow...and she agreed!!:D
    The park wardens said that they may start opening it at 8am when the park itself opens. I'm going to go mostly midweek cos it say it'll be mental/somewhat dangerous at weekends. People dropping in blind and stuff like that!
    And back to another point I made in another thread: why dont skateshops stock good quality pads??? One of the wardens said he was going to talk to the bike shop down the road and try and get them to stock pads and helmets!!! But i say hassle your skateshop and get them to stock the good 'uns. We need to support our skateshops!
    Peace
    C you all there soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭JahEerie

Yep Bushy is finally up & runnin - THANK GOD!
    Just heard that da 1st official injury happened earlier today.
    Broken leg :eek:

Injuries will happen, but pads & a lid are a good idea (even when da parkies bugger off & ya don't 'have to' wear them.

1st grind over da deep end tiles gets a prize

JohnBoy

first to grind over the deepend tiles gets a prize eh? well ill be skating there tomorrow with my shiny shoes on :D

"1st grind over da deep end tiles gets a prize

JohnBoy"

Already done mate, was there on Monday and just about managed it!!!
    Hack 'N Slash...... great feeling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭f

anyone got some skatin pics yet? or the 2 block

Kenjd wrote:
    "1st grind over da deep end tiles gets a prize

JohnBoy"

Already done mate, was there on Monday and just about managed it!!!
    Hack 'N Slash...... great feeling

Think ya missed da cheekyness there Kenny
    - I was skatin WITH YOU on Monday when I did it meself!

Prizes only on offer for frontsides...:D

Later

JohnBoy

DOH! where you the guy in the blue t-shirt? I should have introduced myself!! Anyways hope to meet soon there! :D
    Gonna get frontsides next time! hehe

PS Pat in Lazy Dog in dun Laoghaiore is where you can all pick up some helmets!!! ;)

Just after skating there today, its great! cept ya need to bring somebody with you to push you!

By "push you" do you mean encourage??? :D
    Yeah its always better skating with people, i feel you get more inspiration that way! everybody has a different style which is cool!
    Wont be able to get to Bushy till next week!! Damn my job!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭wideangle

It is klass that Bushy is open at long last,well done too everyone who worked hard to get the park done the way it was meant to be done,user input and skater built!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 invisiblewill

Those opening hours are ****ing ****. Any sane country would leave a "free" skatepark open 24/7. I work 9 to 6 Monday to Friday and no way could I get out in time. Weekends I could but what's the point in leaving the park open during office hours and then closing coming 6 or 7? Some skaters aren't in school or college anymore.

I was hoping for some late night skates during the week :mad:

Those opening hours are ****ing ****.
    I was hoping for some late night skates during the week :mad:

I noticed there were no flood lights installed! Hopefully soon.
    Anyone noticed it hasn't stopped raining since it opened? Its just going to rain forever now itsn't it?

Well said wideangle. Everybody involved should stand up and take a bow.
    Thank You

Kenjd wrote:
    Anyone noticed it hasn't stopped raining since it opened? Its just going to rain forever now itsn't it?

Yeah, it sucks. It was completely deserted at lunch time today, which looked funny compared to its over-crowded state yesterday.

Though it might be alright for tomorrow. http://www.met.ie/forecasts/regional.asp?Prov=Dublin#

I'd be lyin if I didn't say I had doubts over the past few years
    - especially when 100 or so residents arranged a meeting with council (18 months ago) to say " Down with this kinda thing"
    Thankfully it all worked out

Just goes to show if ya stick at it, anything can be done.
    Havin helped from da start (along with Shaggy, Roj, da Bentforkers & others) its really satisfyin to see everythin up & runnin.
    I still don't know how we managed to get Airspeed all da way from Oregon :D

Re the lights (or lack of) - there are no plans to have any.
    Locals will defo have an issue with that, cos the tennis courts never had lights & opening hours will be coordinated with courts/general park opening times. Unfortunately we're just gonna have to put up with da dark evenins.

Lucan has lights (& the leisure centre stays open til 9.00 or 10.00)
    Hopefully some of the other parks will be floodlit too.

If ya feel strongly enuf about it, give Dublin City Council a call

Cheers,

JohnBoy

JahEerie wrote:
    I'd be lyin if I didn't say I had doubts over the past few years
    - especially when 100 or so residents arranged a meeting with council (18 months ago) to say " Down with this kinda thing"
    Thankfully it all worked out

Just goes to show if ya stick at it, anything can be done.
    Havin helped from da start (along with Shaggy, Roj, da Bentforkers & others) its really satisfyin to see everythin up & runnin.
    I still don't know how we managed to get Airspeed all da way from Oregon :D

Re the lights (or lack of) - there are no plans to have any.
    Locals will defo have an issue with that, cos the tennis courts never had lights & opening hours will be coordinated with courts/general park opening times. Unfortunately we're just gonna have to put up with da dark evenins.

Lucan has lights (& the leisure centre stays open til 9.00 or 10.00)
    Hopefully some of the other parks will be floodlit too.

If ya feel strongly enuf about it, give Dublin City Council a call

Cheers,

JohnBoy
    Lucan has lights, but theyre not gonna be used till the centre takes control of the park seing as the council still controls opening and closing times. When the centre takes control your all gonna have to start paying, but i guess its worth it with the lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭h-street23

I'll be up there tomorrow if there's any dudes heading up to get a buzz goin'.....They NEED to open it all early though cos loadsa dudes skating there inc myself are 'grown ups' and have work and uni and **** to deal with...

Just read the official times when I was there today. It opens at 12 every day throughout the whole year and right now it's closing at 5:30pm. When the clocks go back and all that it'll be closing at 4:30pm. (so that's only 4 and a half hours opening time!) But the parkie said he'll try and get it open at around 10:00 tomorrow and for all the weekends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 will_c

that sounds a little dodgy
    not that im ungrateful for the park being here, but the restictions are a bit nasty.
    what can we do to change this?

any idea when the center will get control of the park in lucan?

will_c wrote:
    that sounds a little dodgy
    not that im ungrateful for the park being here, but the restictions are a bit nasty.
    what can we do to change this?

any idea when the center will get control of the park in lucan?

well its been two weeks for alond time now, but i shouldnt say too much longer. but the park ranger was sayin , the centre closes at like 11 on some week days so maybe late night sessions on fridays which would be handy for the older people, but i dont know whats holdin them back.

I turned up and after the hassle of getting to Bushy, the fences,security guards, crowds of youngsters,weird opening times, squawking parentsetc... I realised the event wasn't going to live up to the anticipation for me at least, so I gave my board and helmet to a random kid and went home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭fisheye

Haha! Squawking parents? Soccer moms and rad dads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 will_c

you gave your board to a kid?
    thats sarcasm innit :D
    yeah the sooner they get late night sessions up the better.
    a marquee to protect us from the rain would be a bit deadly too :P

Giving a board to a kid in a public space in front of parents is a euphemism that'll get you arrested. Skating in Ireland is just a pissing into the wind contest and I'm now not sure that having parks will actually change that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

All this talk about the park but where are the pics???

I'm getting really close to being tempted to bring my bmx to dublin from home, i just need to get myself bearings for the crank allong with new axles etc for wheels.

Maybe ill dig up my old Roces Streets :D and go blading again

Are week days the best time to go? Weekend only really suit me best, college during the week that i cant really skimp of

h-street23 wrote:
    Giving a board to a kid in a public space in front of parents is a euphemism that'll get you arrested. Skating in Ireland is just a pissing into the wind contest and I'm now not sure that having parks will actually change that much.

Oh my god! Why doesnt everyone just shut the **** up and skate?

Kenjd wrote:
    Oh my god! Why doesnt everyone just shut the **** up and skate?

Dont mind that prat! Going there in the morn if anyone is around...and also depending on the weather!!!

Hey has anyone noticed that theres a group of like 16 year old skaters who are there alot of the time and theyre the most obnoxious people you'd ever meet! Like i saw one kid fall down then this total tosser just starts laughing at him trying to be the hard man! They act like they own the place! And there's this other fat ginger guy who keeps cuttin out infront of everyone then if they dont get out of his way immediatly he starts giving out to them and giving them a hard time! Like they're pretty alright skatersin fairness but it makes me sick to see the name they're giving skating! there's alotof people in that park just like em too, its a shame! advce guys... dont go up on a saturday, the place is literally always full!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Beks

I was there on sunday, and I thought it was pretty funny how the parkie went around telling people to put their helmets on... yet he hadn't even cleared all the mushy wet leaves away from the outside of the bowl, which could probably cause a few accidents too. I was there for a total of 15 minutes before I left... I love tricks that involve the foot on the front wheel but even though I dried off my wheel really well, every time I went to the flatbank I'd have to go through leaves so the wheel would be wet by the time I got up there and so it was impossible to stop the wheel with my foot... so I just rode the small rail over the other side of the bowl then went off to ride street. Thank God for street!! It was just so annoying at the park with kids everywhere having to wait ages for a turn... I learn ten times more stuff on street just because of the fact that I don't need to waste half my time waiting to take a go!!!

The looks on the faces of some of the tiny skater kids was pretty funny, seeing a girl on a bike. Some looked disgusted. Not that that would normally put me off, seeing as I'd just ride and be able to prove that I can ride just as well as any guy... but I couldn't even do that due to wet leaves and lack of room! haha.

I just think it's going to be a bit ridiculous trying to ride there until things calm down and more skateparks are built in Ireland/Dublin so everyone just doesn't have ONE park to ride.

Personally, I can't wait for Greystones, it looks so much better, well thought out and more open plan, allowing more people to ride it at one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭moonboy

skate4evr wrote:
    Hey has anyone noticed that theres a group of like 16 year old skaters who are there alot of the time and theyre the most obnoxious people you'd ever meet! Like i saw one kid fall down then this total tosser just starts laughing at him trying to be the hard man! They act like they own the place! And there's this other fat ginger guy who keeps cuttin out infront of everyone then if they dont get out of his way immediatly he starts giving out to them and giving them a hard time! Like they're pretty alright skatersin fairness but it makes me sick to see the name they're giving skating! there's alotof people in that park just like em too, its a shame! advce guys... dont go up on a saturday, the place is literally always full!!
    similar people in lucan. "owners"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭fisheye

skate4evr wrote:
    fat ginger guy
    The laugh's on him. He's fat.

And ginger.

You're right Beks
    The parkies real priority should be to ensure that the facility is kept safe - swept / dry as possible, etc.
    I've let the council know about this & they're doing somethin about it
    - I might even bring a brush meself!

Hopefully the crowds at Bushy will encourage the powers-thet-be to build more parks in Dublin.
    They certainly can't argue that the demand isn't there

Cheers

JohnBoy

FFS if there's anything i hate at a park its kids laughing at others misery and people not watching out letting others go before them. I used to be a local at a mini ramp (different country/city) we used to always help others, check if they ok if they fall hard etc. :(

How long should it take from town to cycle out there? For the moment ive no crank on my bmx (need new axels for both wheels to :( ) Until i get both sorted i'll be using my ancient :D Roces street if i can get out sometime next week.

Jozi

I went there yeasterday bout midday and was there most of the day! I meet some cool people! For once in my life I'm happy that i work weekends!
    As regards people laughing at others I'd be the first to rip them out of it!
    Little punks!!! Weekdays are the best for going there!
    In regards to the park wardens, most seem pretty sound as i chatted to a few of them, but the dont really no what to do at the best of times! There was a guy there yesterday skating the bowl with a builders helmet on! The parky let him!! It was funny though.
    There was a polish guy on a bmx there yesterday getting 360's over the spine and a parky told his mate to stop filming cos there were kids about!!! FFS
    But when a mummy wanted to take pics of her son skating that was ok???
    It'll all settle down soon!
    Later
    Ken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Chong1

Alright,

I've been in england for a couple of years and i just came home, to my complete disappointment i've learned that Ramp n Rail is now closed. Man i fu**in loved that place. So i'm now lookin for somewhere else to skate as there is absolutely nowhere to skate where i'm from(Dundalk), i see on this forum that there is alot of talkin about "bushys park". where is this place, how do you get to it from the M1, is it concrete or wood, indoor or outdoor, is it public or private, how much is it to skate, so many questions!!?!! If anyone can help that would be sweet.

Everybody needs to remember that they were that little clueless kid at one stage. Laughin at kids isn't cool - hopefully I'll witness it myself so I can 'have a word'.

The one thing that'll take a bit of time is 'park etiquette'
    - ya shouldn't need a list of rules to know that droppin-in on people / snakin is not cool. Its sorta understandable when its packed, but some people are genuinely stupid when it comes to bein cool.
    I have to say that the worst offenders I've seen were bikers - not so much BMX'ers but some morons on mountain bikes.
    For a start they shouldn't even be there - but if they are, they should make an extra effort to be cool (since they're flingin 35 pound lumps of metal around)

Anyway as Ken says, it'll all calm down in time

Nice lil session happenin as I type - perfect day for it.
    Lucky b*stards!

JohnBoy

Chong wrote:
    where is this place, how do you get to it from the M1, is it concrete or wood, indoor or outdoor, is it public or private, how much is it to skate, so many questions!!?!! If anyone can help that would be sweet.

Location: Bushy Park, terenure, concrete, outdoor, public, free
    Check here for more directions:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/searchbt.php?search=direction+skatepark&order=0&user=&scope=4&cat=1&frm=-1

Bushy Park
    Rathfarnham, Dublin 14, Ireland

JahEerie wrote:
    but some people are genuinely stupid when it comes to bein cool.
    JohnBoy

Couldn't agree more John!
    I even went outside the skatepark to smoke and eat my food! Respect an' all that!!!
    Some f**ker drank an aptimel drink and let the plastic carton fall into the deep end!!! FFS! Then i had to bail to pick up the remains from someones helmet buckle that they left in the deepend!

Everyone needs to show the park and its patrons + wardens more respect!

And beks dont worry bout those kids! Give 'em hell! Closed minded idiots!

Anytime i've been there there is always a warden on duty! Any cool skaters need a job? It would be better having a rider there than those guys! Although on monday they did know the difference between a mountain bike and a bmx! So they are learning!
    Later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Chong1

Nice 1 man,

Loving the skate scene, gotten alot bigger this last 2 years. Gonna try skate this bushy place at the wkend? Is it worth trying or is it too busy?

fisheye wrote:
    The laugh's on him. He's fat.

And ginger.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! so so mean but so so true! :D
    Yeah it really isnt cool snakin, the laughing at little kids thing is even worse! (well, kinda) yeah the guys on their mountain bikes really take up alot of space when they're in the pool and they tend not to give anyone a chance to go

skate4evr wrote:
    yeah the guys on their mountain bikes really take up alot of space when they're in the pool and they tend not to give anyone a chance to go
    You are joking, rite? Mountain bikes in a skatepark :mad:

no joke man, every kid with a mountain bike thinks their allowed to go into the park and ride the bowl :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭chicoben

who is actually allowed go into the park? is there like a set of rules sayin who can and cant ride the park?

Boards, bikes & blades only
    - no Mountainbikes, scooters, shopping carts or any other sh*te

The word 'SKATEpark' should be a hint really

There is a set of rules on the gate
    - the parkies have copped on now & they seem to know the score.
    In an ideal world every mad yoke would be welcome.
    Unfortunately its not an ideal world....

JohnBoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 potato

JahEerie wrote:
    Boards, bikes & blades only
    JohnBoy

bikes....of course they're allowed then.
    provided it's not kids on their "full suspension" bikes.
    as long as the guys, or girls of course, can prove themselves in the park on their bike...be it mountain, dirt, jump, any kind of hardtail or whatever...then it's cool for them to be in there.
    And fair play to everyone whose flingin these '35 pound lumps of metal' around, its clearly heavier and harder than boards or skates, and if you can pull off your trick, all the better. more skillful.
    so in a little nutshell , if you can do it on your bike, then get in there.

Waste your time if ya like
    - the only bikes gettin in are BMXs

Check the rules on the gate
    You may reckon its 'cool' & all for MTBs
    - try to explain that to the parkies

JohnBoy