Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Staunton Must GO NOW

• 07-10-2006 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭

Ok enough is enough, the Joke is over he has to go.

Now the FAI must appoint an expierenced manger, not a reserve team manger from a lower league club.

Bloody joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I'd rather see Kilbane and O' Shea go first tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

We don't have the feckin players and have been punching above our weight for over 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

irish1 wrote:
    not a reserve team manger from a lower league club.

He wasn't reserve team manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Didnt Eamon Dunphy say something like this 2 months ago & most of us thaught he was talking ****e again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

sjones wrote:
    I'd rather see Kilbane and O' Shea go first tbh.

And O Brien, god dont forget him please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Could any manager make that bunch play well?

*despairs*

9 of the starting 11, playing in the Premiership, no excuses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭pp_me129

Dam you got to the thread before me

Could any manager make that bunch play well?

*despairs*

Compare Aston Villa under O'Leary with Aston Villa under O'Neill t see what difference a good manager can make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Seriously I will be very suprised if he dose not resign after Wedensday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

This team is going backwards at an alarming rate. Imagine the state we will be in after four years of this. It would take 10 years to get back to where we should be.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I agree Stan must walk and let a real manager take over for the rest of this campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

On balance, it was probably right that Kerr went. He made some bad tactical decisions and maybe didnt get the most from the players.

But we've gone 1000 miles backwards from a stupid 2-2 draw at home causing us to miss out on qualification.

This team is going backwards at an alarming rate. Imagine the state we will be in after four years of this. It would take 10 years to get back to where we should be.

Imagen if we are a 5th seed for the next campaing....:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Where do you think we should be?

Zabbo is spot on above

kdjac

He's got to go, but what are the options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

He wasn't reserve team manager.
    Well he wasn't bloody manager of the first team anyway, seriously I said it at the time and I'll say it again now the FAI made a total cock up appointing him as manager.

Kevin Kilbane doesn't play center midfield it not his position, Andy O'Brien just isn't good enough.

Seriously Staunton hasn't a clue, I mean he showed that by the way he ruled himself out of todays game with his silly bottle kicking.

5-2 to Cyprus and Dunne out of the next game!

Oh and wheres the one fit Center Midfielder that has been playing in that position in the premiership, Lee Carsley?? sitting at home because Staunton didn't want to call him up even though other Irish players were even saying he should have been called up.

Its a sad sad joke.

He's got to go, but what are the options.
    He needs to resign. The options arent the question. A journeyman like Aldridge or O'Leary who can help us thread water for a few years until a new batch of players come through.

Our midfield was ran over today,the Carsley saga will be Stan's downfall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

KdjaCL wrote:
    Where do you think we should be?

Zabbo is spot on above

kdjac

We should be making a decent fist of qualification. Which I suppose is still possible, but highly unlikely. I don't expect us to qualify for every competition but we should be there or thereabouts. We shouldn't be getting hammered by the likes of Cyprus.

Its more the manner of the defeat which is alarming. We look very, very poorly organised at the back. You would think that if there's anything Stan could do right it'd be that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

zabbo wrote:

Well said. I have never seen a worse performance. Staunton said earlier that there were no easy away games anymore. Personally, I am sick of this line and I fully expected a win tonight. The San Marino players must be rubbing their hands with glee. We may have been punching above our weight for years but we never punched below it as today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

you know, they made a song out of it and put all the tactics for an underachieving team to do better.

its called 'put em under pressure' and its by jack charlton

seriously, staunton needs to get bcak to basics. or the next manger does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭illumin

Bring back Kerr :P Theres no way Stan will survive now. I'd say he will be sacked before wednesday. There have been rumblings of discontent in the FAI even before this match and now these people are going to become more vocal. As a replacement however it would be tricky to say who would be bothered as the FAI have pee'd off managers such as Dalgleish and Kinnear with their stupid interview process

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

zabbo wrote:

Says a lot about the premiership to be honest. Take out the foreigners out of that league and your left with mediocrity tbh.

Remember Dunne is out of Wednesday's game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

tdv wrote:
    Didnt Eamon Dunphy say something like this 2 months ago & most of us thaught he was talking ****e again

Dunphy called it right as he so often does. I just wish the game was on RTE to see what Dunphy, Giles and Brady would make of this shambles. Surely one of Ireland's all-time worst performances. I mean Slovakia walloped Cyprus so they can't be that great. We succeeded in making an ordinary team look like world beaters.

The defence as a unit looked like a bunch of lads who'd never met each other before. There was absolutely no organisation, and before anyone tries to defend Staunton, it's the manager and coaching staff who have to take the blame for that squarely on the chin.

I've seen junior club sides better prepared than Ireland were tonight. If we get tonked again on Wednesday, STAUNTON AND HIS SIDEKICK MCDONALD (WHO?) MUST GO!!!!

On second thoughts, just get rid of them now. Now as in 7.30pm saturday. out. gone. capoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Problem now is we have no real chance of qualifying so chances of getting a top class manager are very slim.

TBH I blaim Delaney and his mates at the FAI, they went for the cheap option and now it has been thrown back in their face, we not only need a new manager we need a new board at the FAI.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

but hes got 102 caps dont ya know

irish1 wrote:
    Well he wasn't bloody manager of the first team anyway,

Sorry, may have given the wrong impression earlier, I'm not disagreeing with you.

He wasn't even reserve team manager at Walsall, he had a job coaching the kids.

Yes Delaney has a lot to answer for....I don't blame Stan for taken the job who would not its the plonker who offered it to him that needs sacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

The chiefs in the FAI should be sacked. Staunton should be sacked. The players were woeful on the night as well though. The glory days are well and truely over. :(

The FAI will probably lose money now when they rent Croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Even if he does go, who is gonna take over a team that has lost the fisrt two games and is six points off the pace which will more than likely increase on Wednesday to nine? The same happened when McCrathy was pushed, Kerr was given an impossible task

fade2black wrote:
    Says a lot about the premiership to be honest. Take out the foreigners out of that league and your left with mediocrity tbh.

That's very true. Over-rated mediocrity at that. I watched bits and pieces of the England game today aswell and they were useless. Just picking up where they left off in the World Cup, devoid of ideas and with a few massively over-hyped players. And they're supposed to be the cream of the Premiership.

We've seen before how a good manager can get an otherwise ordinary team to perform at a high level, you don't have to have a team of superstars in international football if you're well organised. Ireland were lacking in the most basic organisation tonight. That is a damning indictment of a manager (and coach) at this level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The Irish defence was opened up time and again by a side ranked 103rd in the world (one place below Estonia and one above Botswana:confused: ). Back to the drawing board for Staunton if he is to turn around his team's Euro 2008 qualifying campaign.
    Should be the chopping board.

Now, someone criticized me earlier in the week for my "anti FAI manifesto" and how I said the FAI had shafted the eL.

Well people, wake up and smell the fúcking coffee. Not only have the FAI shafted the eL, but it is very obvious that they have shafted each and every Irish football fan.

Steve Staunton?

No experience in the management game, apart from a few months spent as assistant to another novice (Paul Merson) at Wallsall.

Why the fúck didn't the FAI spend money and get a decent experienced manager in?

Because the suits that make the decisions do not have football in their hearts, for too long we have been lead a merry dance by the association. Calling for the managers head will do no good.

Or maybe there's another reason. Maybe Staunton was the only idiot left who actually wanted to be employed by that shower of clowns.

It's not Staunton that should be on people's hitlist, but the fúcking disgrace that is the Football Association of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

No shape, no defending and more imporetantly no idea what to do with the ball once we got it.

I've supported him until now but I think Staunton has been shown to be out of his depth and it's probably better if he goes.

I know that people will be in the 'don't be reactionary' camp saying well the team isn't the same or 'we've been punching above our weight for years'.

Simply why can't we continue to punch above our weight?

When was the last time Ireland conceeded 5 in a game(or 10 in three games)?

If Ireland had an actual manager like Toshack or O'Leary at this stage I'd even give him a chance as I don't believe swapping managers straight away can be productuve. However giving Staunton time now is basically saying that you're prepared to give a man with no experience more time in the job.

We're not going to qualfiy now, simple as that. As Steve Staunton has said it's all about thinking for 2010. I really can't see hoiw anyone at this stage can imagine that he could possibly be a part of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

Has to go

The team showed absolutely no organisation, its seemed as though they had never played with each other before

that has to be attributed to the manager and coaching staff

and the FAI should refund the travelling fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

tdv wrote:
    Seriously I will be very suprised if he dose not resign after Wedensday

i agree, but there is no one to replace him - anyone think curbs would be interested?

time to get my CV ready again!!

Who takes over isnt the issue. No manager should be able to survive a result like that. Resignation is the only honourable course to take.

Collie D wrote:
    Even if he does go, who is gonna take over a team that has lost the fisrt two games and is six points off the pace which will more than likely increase on Wednesday to nine? The same happened when McCrathy was pushed, Kerr was given an impossible task

Someone like Lawrie Sanchez,at least he will get them playing with some hart.

but kerr never had the team actually playing well. look at MON at villa he comes in and the performance chnages completely - at this stage i dont care about qualification if that happens - i'd be happy to wait til 2008 but its not gonna happen with staunton and never happened with kerr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Actually, I have more managerial experience than Steve Staunton did before he took over the job.

I actually managed a side in a game last Sunday, when did Satunton ever do it before he got the Ireland job?

The FAI are just a complete set of wánkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Dub13 wrote:
    Someone like Lawrie Sanchez,at least he will get them playing with some hart.

He'd leave Northern Ireland for us? You must be joking.

We were an absolute disgrace.

The manager and half the squad have to go NOW. And with him he should take:
    O'Shea
    Kilbane
    Andy O'Brien
    Morrison and
    Robbie Keane - captain? An embarrassment to have as the leader of our national team. Offers absolutely nothing positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

I'm sorry for posting this and I'm a mod I should know better but...

What the FCUK are you people talking about?? Stan is not in the job a wet weekend and you want him out?

Get a bloody grip lads and give the Stan a chance.

I'm fed up with this typical cynical narrow minded Irish soccer 'supporter' attitude.

To paraphrase a song

STAND BY YOUR STAN

Cop on the lot of you Stan bashing freaks.

S

slumped wrote:

What the FCUK are you people talking about?? Stan is not in the job a wet weekend and you want him out?

I'm fed up with this typical cynical narrow minded Irish soccer 'supporter' attitude.

To paraphrase a song

STAND BY YOUR STAN

S

we're terrible, a better manager would not have allowed that to happen. the manage motivates and organises the players. he is the worst manager we have ever had. just coz you're willing to settle for mediocrity, doesnt mean we have to.

we dont have to support a manager none of us wanted - i want the best for the side and he is doing more damage than good. so i think you;re the one who needs to cop on.

now can you explain how that opinion is narrow minded?

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

slumped wrote:

To paraphrase a song

STAND BY YOUR STAN

S

Your entitled to your opinion but hey No one agrees with you!

He has to go NOW before its to late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

slumped wrote:

In international football all you get is weekends, you have to have a plan. There is no we can change ti next week.

You get whatever players are available and make a team, thats why international management is considered the highest level for that very reason that you dont get next week to fix it, its months before you see the players again.

Agree with seansouth The FAI have fcuked us in the ass only thing is me and him used to it.

Seansouth for manager FTW!!!!1!

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Call_me_al wrote:
    we're terrible, a better manager would not have allowed that to happen. the manage motivates and organises the players. he is the worst manager we have ever had. just coz you're willing to settle for mediocrity, doesnt mean we have to.

we dont have to support a manager none of us wanted - i want the best for the side and he is doing more damage than good. so i think you;re the one who needs to cop on.

I started supporting the Faroe Islands at the start of this years campaign, I havent been too disappointed with our results thus far :) at least the lads seem to play with a bit of heart :) maybe you guys should join me too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Agreed, Staunton simply must go. There was absolutely no organisation or cohesion in the team. No player had the desire or motivation to take the game to the Cypriots tonight. Staunton is the Niall Quinn of International football.

Even if Staunton is still in charge on Wednesday, I think it will only be delaying the inevitable. As for who we'd get to replace him, lord knows. We had the chance to get in a top class manager a few months ago and the FAI fcuked it up as per usual. If this crisis is not handled well (which of course it won't be), we could be back to the dark days of the mid 80's when Eoin Hand was in charge. i.e getting stuffed every other week.

As if things weren't bad enough, I've a ticket for Wednesday. Anyone want it?! :)

PS It's in the Czech end so at least you can pretend you're a Czech if we're getting stuffed.