Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

G'wan tell us, what did you join...

• 02-10-2006 4:13pm

I went for the following...

Comedy Soc (well I was on the stand all day)
    Engineering Soc
    Sign Language Soc
    LGBT Soc
    & Netsoc.

What did you join?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Dublin University Basketball Club
    Trinity Young Fine Gael
    Dublin University Paintball and Speedball Society
    College Historical Society
    Dublin University Internet Society
    Dublin University Rifle Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

DUBES
    The Phil
    Classical Society
    Sci-fi

I'm pretty sure there was at least one more and there are a good few other ones that I still want to join, but I ran out of money and risked spending my bus far home so I said I'd leave it till the morrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

Netsoc
    Computer Science Soc
    Surfing
    Paintball
    Rifle
    The Phil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Paintball
    Orienteering
    Netsoc
    DUCSS
    SFSOC
    Comedy
    I signed something to do with the PSN, they probably own me now or something.....
    Someone mentioned "free" and "ratio of 3 girls to every guy", and it was only after I signed that I found out it was for the dance society.....honest..... ¬.¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Don't think I'll be making it in for Freshers. Shame really, I'll have loads of free time during the year.

Do they do a FLAC thing in Trinity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭MB44

Cards,
    Rifle,
    The hist,
    Comedy,
    Food and drink,
    Fine gael,
    Engineering

Thats all good but that bloodty timetable confused me. Like on some of the times u can have 3 subjects at one time, how can u be at all 3 at once?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭RagShagBill

Jazz
    Classical
    Comedy (I was that annoying guy with the black jacket and green jumper who returned on numerous occasions.)
    PDs
    Geographical (Wahey the box, in which sits the Croc Hunter)
    Chess
    Hist
    Historical
    Modern Languages
    Metaphysical
    Publications
    DURNS
    Radio (mais pourquoi, je ne sais pas)

Sangre wrote:
    Do they do a FLAC thing in Trinity?

Yup... http://societies.csc.tcd.ie/~flac/
    MB44 wrote:
    Thats all good but that bloodty timetable confused me. Like on some of the times u can have 3 subjects at one time, how can u be at all 3 at once?

Sometimes in a big class you'll be split into groups (by name, or whatever list they come up with). Or else it refers to MT, HT and TT (the three terms). Or some other random reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭MB44

oh rite thanks myth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

Far too many, far too many

The Hist
    The Phil
    Metaphysical
    History
    Comedy
    DURNS
    Food + Drink
    PDs
    Publications

And there's more to come...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 estilos

Have yet to go back for a few (because I'm a
    nutter, apparently), but so far:

Netsoc,
    DUCS,
    Maths society,
    Chess Club,
    Science Fiction,
    Meta Physical,
    Singers,
    Aikido,
    Rifle Club,
    Players.

:D Funness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Dave Larkin

I resisted the urge to join a deluge of societies, and just went for the following:

Comedy
    Dance
    Astronomy and Space

I'll probably join the Phil and the Hist soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

When I arrived at the DURNS stand I was already signed up. Now that's efficiency!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Except for Dave Larkin, I have no idea who these people who joined comedy and that myself and Myth signed up are - intriguing (I was the bearded one who was smoking the whole time :))

I'm pretty sure there were two bearded chaps smoking. In any case, I played my part in the prosposal of a beard society with somebody at the comedy table. Oh, how I pine some serious follicle action.

ah, you were the one who couldnt grow one? :) also, two bearded guys, only one smoking. and i was the one without glasses.

I was the one who couldn't grow one, and several hours later, so the situation remains. As the week progresses, I'll keep you posted. Anyway, those stated distinctions are unclear in that they are almost indistinctive. I'll just have to approach you tomorrow and annoy you guys again, before further annoying you at the Laughter Lounge. I assume you'll be there, stroking your big hairy face.

Speaking of beards, that chap (Diarmuid?) from the metaphysical society had a mighty one - convinced me to join on the basis of its fullness. Seriously, for future reference, beards are really the best way to lure us pre-pubescent freshers in. Obviously worked for the comedy society.

I assume the LawSoc, DUBES and those slutty windsurfers (d'apres eux!) are taking careful note.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

PDs
    SVDP
    Politics
    TES

Plan on joining a few more as soon as I have a moment free from manning the stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 disco--dave

lemme see if i can remember, as not all gave cards!! :eek:

the phil,
    law soc,
    sfsoc,
    SVP,
    maths soc,
    phys soc,
    psyc soc. (my pig kicked ass)

i shall join, cards soc, comedy soc, d.u.b.e.s., perhaps ultimate frisbee, and maybe dance soc...

*checks wallet*, *moth flies out* :(

I'm very much looking forward to this Dáil bar trip, b.ie, although I think everyone would appreciate if it could be moved forward to tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

i'm guessing ye didn't see marcus at the surfing one, quite beardy these days

Hmm, this interests me. I had always assumed watersports of most persuasions were inherently anti-hair growth. But if a man with a beard surfs, my world view is radically altered.

I'm very much looking forward to this Dáil bar trip, b.ie, although I think everyone would appreciate if it could be moved forward to tuesday.
    Off topic: It was actually very difficult to book the Dáil at all this week. As it is, we're only getting the truncated tour (just get to watch a bit of a private members bill and then go to the bar).

Topic: Also signed up to write for the Record, but I have no intention whatsoever of doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Topic: Also signed up to write for the Record, but I have no intention whatsoever of doing so.

TBH I was a little surprised that peopple signed up for the record at all. People were really enthusiastic about it today.

Hmm, this interests me. I had always assumed watersports of most persuasions were inherently anti-hair growth. But if a man with a beard surfs, my world view is radically altered.
    he's captain of the surf club :) , actually quite alot of people in the surf club haven't seen a razor recently, or a hair cut for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭The_Radiator

Judo
    Boxing
    Netsoc
    DUCS
    SciFI
    DURNS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Rifle club (bastards give the names out to the guards), physsoc (seriously considering hijacking the stand to liven it up a bit. The person in charge is taking it seriously), werner chemical society, DUHAS (D.U. homophobic and antisemetic society).

Join surfing folks. I'll hopefully be down on the first trip with my video camera again, fingers crossed :)

lol *shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭d4gurl

Only joined two as of yet!

Phil soc
    Yoga club

going back tomorrow to sign up for more!:D Dave Larkin your in Science you couldnt pm me our timetable? I lost mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

I miss Freshers Week:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Inglorious

Not many,
    The Hist
    Cards
    The Phil .... them slush puppies were just too tempting.

I intend on joining more tomorrow. Does anyone know if the zoology society still exists? I couldnt find them at the stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Troglodyte

PDs
    Phil
    Hist
    Rifle Club (concur with Dead Ed about having your name given to the guards, felt uneasy with that tbh)
    SFSOC
    Comedy
    Politics

• Loads of things I never planned to join. I'm not going down there with a 20E note again. I joined the Japanese soc though, which I was actually interested in :D and Dance, Capoeira, Trinity FM, Afro-Carribean (they mentioned something about free food), Yoga, the Hist, the Phil, VDP, and more things I can't remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭The_Radiator

The Japanese Society (hoping to get a bit of Kendo action).
    Might join yoga and dance (I encourage all males to join these as they're full of chicks and fun).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

LGBT
    Ultimate Frisbee
    Paintball
    V de P

Though naturally I plan on joining plenty more once I have 20 minutes to actually wander around the stands properly and get the sales pitches. I've kinda half-joined but not yet registered with the Hist (which, seriously, I should probably do soonish) as well as the Phil and Lawsoc. I still plan on joining at least some of the following: Dance Soc, the Greens, Pubs, Kempo, Players, Filmmakers and Sci-Fi.

I feel like such a whore this week. And not in the good way, in the "I feel dirty and am slightly ashamed of myself" way. There's something not just skeevy, but incredibly dishonest about me flirting with girls to get them to sign up/buy tickets/come to an event. It's also kinda irritating that I seem to be much better at it.
    Ibid wrote:
    Dublin University Paintball and Speedball Society

Please, please tell me you're coming to the trip next Sunday. *dances with glee at mere thought of shooting Enda repeatedly*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

I joined SFSOC, The Hist, The Phil(4 year membership from last year), Europa, Netsoc.

I think thats it, not sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

Freshers' Week no. 7! [well, 2002/3 wasn't real, as I was only involved via the miracles of modern technology in TFM stuff...]

I joined or rejoined:

Trinity FM (first thing Monday morning, by longstanding tradition...five years ago this week I had the dubious honour of being the first society chair)
    FLAC
    Sci Fi
    Labour
    Her Majesty's Philosophical Society

and still have to get to
    Cycling
    DURNS
    The Hist
    Law
    and others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

shay_562 wrote:
    Please, please tell me you're coming to the trip next Sunday. *dances with glee at mere thought of shooting Enda repeatedly*
    Well, you puerile little chump, I might "have to see your membership card first."

Had to join two societies just to get into the bloody conversation room tonight to see my mates. The Cards (I don't gamble. Ever) and the Hist (who are promising Bacarach (sp?) again. Yeah right.)

Also joined Tennis, despite the unenthusiastic stand peeps.

The Phil won me over with Joanna Lumley. I swear, if they let me down on this one I'll make El Presidente's life a living hell.

Joined TFM thanks to some very persuasive (and loud) stand peeps.

Joined Netsoc for no apparent reason. I was drunk at the time. They said I had a chance of winning a giant care bear, but I'll eat my hat if that raffle isn't rigged. I've treaded the line of homosexuality too many times for the care bears not to deserve to win that raffle.

The Japanese Society (hoping to get a bit of Kendo action).
    Might join yoga and dance (I encourage all males to join these as they're full of chicks and fun).

I joined yoga, some dude does the classes.

I also joined:

Netsoc
    Judo
    Boxing
    DUCCS
    DURNS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Troglodyte

xeduCat wrote:
    Her Majesty's Philosophical Society

That really raised a smile :D
    The Phil won me over with Joanna Lumley. I swear, if they let me down on this one I'll make El Presidente's life a living hell.

Make his life a living hell? Is that all? Christ, the way you were going on today I wouldn't be suprised if you were to do a Dunblane in Trinity if Lumley doesn't make it here.

Troglodyte wrote:
    Make his life a living hell? Is that all? Christ, the way you were going on today I wouldn't be suprised if you were to do a Dunblane in Trinity if Lumley doesn't make it here.
    "Eddie, Eddie, Eddie, the bee's on me! The bee's on me! Oh! Its a little shoe..."
    Joanna Lumley, talking about a ringing phone.

My Freshers' Week has been well and truly made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

Just wait until you see my reaction if Ruth Bader Ginsburg is cancelled...

xeduCat wrote:
    Just wait until you see my reaction if Ruth Bader Ginsburg is cancelled...
    Hopefully we'll never have to compare heartbreaks. /wub.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

would you two get a room or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Dead Ed wrote:
    Rifle club (bastards give the names out to the guards)
    Troglodyte wrote:
    Rifle Club (concur with Dead Ed about having your name given to the guards, felt uneasy with that tbh)
    In practise lads, the names go into a file that gets shoved in a drawer and probably never looked at again. Certainly in the 12 years I've been with the club, I've yet to see the list ever mentioned by the Gardai, let alone any one person on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Yeah, I know it's just a formality, just made a mental note of it!