Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Bum

• 20-09-2006 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭

So, anyone know his story? Was told last night he "lived" somewhere in the region of Newman, but he's been lounging on the stairs on the ground floor of the Sci Hub right opposite the new canteen for the past week or so, well between eight and nine anyway!

Anyone know anything about him?

Should this thread be locked? 3 votes

Yes
    0%
    No.
    100%
    WaltonsMr.Nice Guyhullaballoo 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Doesn't 'live' on campus but somewhere down towards Vincents/Syndey Parda DART station. Used to see him walking up Nutley Ave. every day at about 7.30/8 for as long as I can remember, probably last 10 years at least.

Its why you might hear him called 'Nutley Bum'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

i heard he saved some girl from being sexually assaulted a few years back and as a result ucd give him free food etc. but i cud be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Font22 wrote:
    i heard he saved some girl from being sexually assaulted a few years back and as a result ucd give him free food etc. but i cud be wrong

yeah that one's a popular tale alright, I've heard it spoken almost as Gospel by loads of people. Again though, i have no real idea if it's true or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I started a thread on this last year, that had a load of replies....... some quite helpful.

Maybe someone could find it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

Well he definitely gets free food, dunno if the story as to why he does is true though, everyone's heard that story so you never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Dave I remember the tread got locked because didnt some crazy people want to patronise him or something?

anyway yeah. Few hobos on campus c/w lots of rumors. The reason he stays is more likely because service cant remove him phsically and the gards arnt bothered not that hes some Arnold Schwarznegger woman saver

oh yeah I remember that, lol

Still worth a look, though, if someone can find it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

apparently if he does actually talk to you he's a sound enough bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

Sangre wrote:
    Its why you might hear him called 'Nutley Bum'

Nutley man too, eh?

I prefer Johnny Twocoats.

I know what we could call him....

Seb ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Grimes wrote:
    Dave I remember the tread got locked because didnt some crazy people want to patronise him or something?
    We werent trying to patronise honest!Just wanted to give him a xmas gift.
    Anyway I know countless people who have tried to start up conversations with him but he's just not intrested and I brought him dinner once and he looked slightly pissed of that I did so maybe its a good idea we didnt get that scarf

I was only joking with you Panda dear . I know your intentions were good.

KABLAMO!

ps. please nobody offer to buy him anything this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Grimes wrote:
    ...not that hes some Arnold Schwarznegger woman saver
    Pffft, I think we all know what Arnie would really have done in that situation ;)

I haven't seen the bum in a while 'cause I haven't bothered coming in much in a long time...too long.
    Lol, I do love a good "KABLAMO", Dave.

Dave you have way too much time on your hands. You should sort that out and come to my beers :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

there was a LONG thread about this last year do a search and your questions shall be answered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

As far as I know the Little Sisters of The Poor in Roebuck offer him shelter on occasion, he's a quiet man who likes to keep to himself, although probably likes the hustle and bustle of college as security now and then.

He's been around this area (I live beside UCD) for a good 15 years, anyway. Never caused any trouble in that period to the best of my knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

panda100 wrote:
    We werent trying to patronise honest!Just wanted to give him a xmas gift.
    Anyway I know countless people who have tried to start up conversations with him but he's just not intrested and I brought him dinner once and he looked slightly pissed of that I did so maybe its a good idea we didnt get that scarf

What did you bring to him? He only likes Beluga caviar,
    none of your cheap sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

wyndham wrote:
    What did you bring to him? He only likes Beluga caviar,
    none of your cheap sh1te.

A jacket potato, beans and some milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Id turn my nose up at that too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

I really, genuinely thought this thread was going to be about Seb when I saw the title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Sarchasm

Font22 wrote:

yeah thats what I heard

Sarchasm wrote:
    yeah thats what I heard

me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

and me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

worst thread ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

worst thread ever.
    you're not too new to be called a n00b ye know.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

No.
    worst thread ever.
    I warned you in another thread, but I'm going to warn you again here, and probably PM you as well.

Cop on to yourself. Other people have no problem using this forum without acting like 13 year olds. Why can't you? If you don't drop the emo attitude I'll ban you. I hate emos.

If you don't drop the emo attitude I'll ban you. I hate emos.

Roffles

Okay kids. Here is the situtation. There is a homeless lad that hangs around campus. Probably simply because there are plenty of indoor places ect. It was rumored that he saved a girl from being raped along nutley lane a few years ago . Thats about it. Its really not that exciting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

People have seen him piss himself in broad daylight. So I doubt that the rumour that he has two phd's is true

Píssed His Drawers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Sangre wrote:
    Píssed His Drawers?

Heh..

I'll say its that version. Roffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Het-Field wrote:
    People have seen him piss himself in broad daylight. So I doubt that the rumour that he has two phd's is true
    Ah come on now, I doubt very much theres a link between higher education and incontinence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Scraggs wrote:
    Ah come on now, I doubt very much theres a link between higher education and incontinence.

Maybe with being a bum..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Conor, do you ever actually have a point?

Maybe with being a bum... he earned two PhDs, fell on hard luck and became incontinent? Maybe with being a bum... he's happy enough with how he lives and doesn't need us analysing his every move, or making derogatory comments about him because we have no idea who he is, and even if we did it'd be none of our business? Maybe with being a bum... it still makes him a human being entitled to living his own life, thank you very much.

God, I really need to be less grumpy. Sleep. It's all about the sleep. Urgh.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

No.
    Chakar, please show some sort of rational thought.

Blush_01 wrote:
    Maybe with being a bum... he earned two PhDs, fell on hard luck and became incontinent? Maybe with being a bum... he's happy enough with how he lives and doesn't need us analysing his every move, or making derogatory comments about him because we have no idea who he is, and even if we did it'd be none of our business? Maybe with being a bum... it still makes him a human being entitled to living his own life, thank you very much.

I doubt that he is happy at all to be honest. Its more than likely that rather than falling on hard times and not being able to get a job with his Arts degree or PHD or whatever he has he is some guy who turned to booze. The drink ate away at his brain over time to the point where he is borderline psychotic (ever seen a homeless alcohlic sober? I have , its worse) . Not the kinda life i think anyone would be happy with.

Nutley bum is the ultimate Arts student.

welcome to your future

Weathr you like it or not. PHD or no PHD. Hard Times or no Hard Times. The man pisses himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I think the three of you missed the point of what I was saying. I'll give you a hint, it's in the second last sentence of my last post in this thread.

Get over judging him and leave him alone. That simple. I'd be surprised if you still didn't get it.

Paddy, is compassion so completely lacking amongst members of the USI that you can't let the guy live in peace?

Blush_01 wrote:
    IPaddy, is compassion so completely lacking amongst members of the USI that you can't let the guy live in peace?

Its not just Paddy (Het_Field) taking the piss out of The Bum . But I do see why the last hobo related thread was locked and I think this should go the same way. We all know hes a human being able to live his own life but you cant stop a bit of dark humor and specualtion. I doubt he reads this thread anyway.

Im not taking the piss. Excuse the pun. Im just stating fact. But he clearly has some reason to be around the college, otherwisw he wouldnt be there ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Het, not to sound like a right cow, but what is your problem? Anyone could piss themselves for any number of reason's. And if you end up incontinent in your old age you can see how much you enjoy it, and you'll know full well people are talking about you, making fun etc, because you used to do it about him.

I didn't start this thread to abuse the man just to find out if anyone knew his story.

Le Rack wrote:
    Het, not to sound like a right cow, but what is your problem? Anyone could piss themselves for any number of reason's..

Roffles . Le Rack you crack me up however this thread hoblows.....get it?

I pissed myself once, i was in a car when i was younger, much younger and left there for an hour. Holding it in for as long as I could i just ended up pissing myself . It was quite the embarresment, I also shat myself in Junior Infants becuase i was too shy to ask could I go to the toilet. So If anyone knows about incontinence its me ! which makes it perfectly ok for me to slag others . (for the record my logic means i can also make fun of impotence) .

Anyone else ever pissed/shat themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭the evil lime

Grimes wrote:

Well this thread has gone downhill.

Not that I object, just remarking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

Grimes wrote:

So tempted to out someone on this....

Grimes wrote:

I had just joined the cub scouts... First day, we had all assembled and were waiting to pay our dues and show our good deed for the day. I needed to pee. The assembly was taking longer than I had anticipated. I tried to fight it, but the urge was too great. My shorts grew damp, and my tighty-whiteys were soaked. But I soldiered on and ended up spending the hour or so playing games despite my stinky pants :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

Right. Before this thread collapses I may have I know have something to add to the mystery of the bum (I used to always know him as the Science Bum because he sat in the science building opposite the canteen smoking - pre ban of course).
    Anyway, I also believe that he doesn't live on campus. But there is definitely somebody who does or did. I went wandering around the campus in second year and discovered a pair of largish (3-man or so) tents (I won't say where they were in case they're still there and someone from services reads this and decides to tear them down, but I have photos of these which I can upload, though they don't really prove where it is), which are clearly lived in. They seemed unoccupied, so I looked inside them, and they were full of used coke bottles, torches (but no evidence of food or alcohol). I know sometimes homeless people do camp, and that's not strange, but what was strange was these tents had newspapers in them for months. I went back a few weeks later and they had books in them which were clearly from the library. Weird.

Then there's the shack of course, if anyone can remember that. It was in the woods between the race track and the nova centre, right by the N11. It was a bunch of planks put together with a big heavy green on the top. Myself and a few friends after finding it even made a few improvements to stop it collapsing, but it eventually did. I'm pretty sure that was students though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

Grimes wrote:
    Roffles . Le Rack you crack me up however this thread hoblows.....get it?

I pissed myself once, i was in a car when i was younger, much younger and left there for an hour. Holding it in for as long as I could i just ended up pissing myself . It was quite the embarresment, I also shat myself in Junior Infants becuase i was too shy to ask could I go to the toilet. So If anyone knows about incontinence its me ! which makes it perfectly ok for me to slag others . (for the record my logic means i can also make fun of impotence) .

Well... when you get to my age...

No.
    Where the fook is my thread-locking key gone?

I'm adding a poll to see who thinks this thread should be locked, partially out of interest, and partially to be democratic.