Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leeds United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I thought of starting one of these before, seeing as there are threads for plenty of other clubs, but reckoned that people would think I was being ironic talking about Leeds transfer dealings!

Personally I think Blackwell should stay. He's worked wonders with the club, and the players are essentially the same players as we had last season. I think it's more a case of some of them not pulling their weight, but hopefully Blackwell can get the best out of them again. There's a rumour that a local consortium want to invest in the club which would be great as it would provide some much needed transfer funds.

On a separate note, it was great to win for a change tonight, even if the opposition are League Two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Yea, i am not totally against Blackwell but i think the team has gone a bit flat this season, they really need a kick up the arse or something.
    I realise that he has achieved alot since he took over and hopefully now that nearly all the wages they have been paying former players at other clubs is over, they can build a stronger squad for the future.

Its been painfull watching every half decent player leave for peanuts....rumours killgallon could be on his way next season...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Yea, cant say iam too surprised but i do feel sorry for him, he has served Leeds well.
    I think Bates has never been his biggest fan and always wanted to bring in a bigger profile as manager.

I suppose the obvious name people will be touting as replacement will be Curbishly, i think lots of managers would fancy a crack at the job, Mike Newell is another possibility

Curbishly is reportedly not interested in the West Brom job as he wants a Premiership job, so I guess that rules him out of the running at Elland Road. David O'Leary, Dennis Wise (shudder!) and Glenn Hoddle (sweet Jesus no!!) have also been mentioned.

Alan Curbishly :D
    Mike Newell :)
    Glen Hoddle :o
    Kevin Kegan :(
    Dennis Wise :eek:
    David O'Leary :confused:
    Alex Mc Cleish :rolleyes:

These are some of the main contenders, Curbishly probably the main target, I know he said he wants to manage a prem club but Leeds would probably swing it for him with their infrastructure and potential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭KeithMur

I read on another forum that it could be Claudio Ranieri !!!!

Sorry to see Blackwell leave, but its as if the players stopped playing for him.

As for the others

Alan Curbishly - Knows what to do with clubs in our position
    Mike Newell - Promising, but not without controversy (good controversy)
    Glen Hoddle - nope
    Kevin Keegan - "I'd just love it..." Too irratic
    Dennis Wise - With old chairman at club you'd never know, but still unproven at this level
    David O'Leary - Wouldn't know what to do with us
    Alex Mc Cleish - Successful in Scotland, plus helped Hibs back to SPL

Either way, we ain't going to be back in the PL any time soon :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,891 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

John gregory gone to QPR so that puts him out...What about Mickey Adams? Heard him mentioned today.

Lee Chapman for Leeds job!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

How about Graeme Souness? He's available and he did get Blackburn promoted.

kinaldo wrote:
    How about Graeme Souness? He's available and he did get Blackburn promoted.

Thought that was a joke first! I dont rate him!!
    In my opinion i think he is one of the poorest managers in the game, a really outdated type of manager and poor tactican
    I dont think he would push Leeds in the right direction and might fill a short term problem but in the long run he would do more damage than good

Not quite a joke but I do think he's a terrible manager, although it wouldn't suprise me if he somehow got the job (stranger things have happened, he did get the Newcastle job afterall!). I suspect most Leeds fans wouldn't be too pleased about it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

infairness to wise hes start well with Swindon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭sofireland

Curbishley would be a good one, but would he take it on....

Its a shame what happened blackwell, i thought he did well on very limited resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,595 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Just saw this on F365's Mediawatch..
    Rumour Of The Day
    'I was just walking past Elland Road only to see what looked like David O'Leary walking into the main entrance of the stadium. I don't know but it could be him' - An email Mediawatch received at 10am. Be afraid, Leeds fans. Be very afraid.

http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8749_1525350,00.html

I'd have no problem with O'Leary taking over, he did very well at the club. The problem there wasn't O'Leary, it was that he had a chairman in Peter Ridsdale who wouldn't say no to him whenever he asked for the chequebook to be produced. Ken Bates would have no such qualms about saying no.

Carver for manager???
    By listening to him he seems to want it, i wouldn't be surprised if Leeds went down this road again although it could be a risk.
    They might leave him there untill they find the right man for the job.

Thank god for win today, finally turned dominating games and losing into actually winning them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭johnos

Lot of money going on one Brian Kerr, according to the Star today. Boylesports odds gone in from 33/1 to 5/1. Denis Wise still fav, followed by Ranieri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Great win for the Whites yesterday. 3-2 against a top-side club who are on form is a great change. Lets hope things stay steady now for a while and they pick up a few points.

As for the manager, personally Id love to see Curbishly but he'll have his sights set way higher. Carver may be a risk to haveif we are to make a continued jump up the table. Kerr is unproven at club lever(has he even managed a club?) so Wise would seem a likely choice. not the worse, but could do better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Fitzo

Good win yesterday for us. Important to boost the confidence. personally, i would love to see Curbs get the job, but i like Newell and Wise as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

I heard from one of my mates, big leeds fan, that Blackwell got the sack for 'misconduct' over speaking out over the clubs financial situation. It seems like an excuse to me on Bates part to give him the bullet.

However, i thought there was something fishy about Blackwell speaking about the finances. It was almost like he came out and said it so that people would give him some praise instead of looking at their results. He has feck all to do with the finances. It was Bates and Trevor Birch who turned around the club financially.

Is that a good enough excuse for a sacking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

johnos wrote:
    Lot of money going on one Brian Kerr, according to the Star today. Boylesports odds gone in from 33/1 to 5/1. Denis Wise still fav, followed by Ranieri.
    Brian Kerr now into Evens at Paddy Power, into 5/2 at Ladbrokes but still as big as 6/1 with Skybet.

That's as strange a variation in odds as you're likely to see. Are PP and Lads just being over-sensitive to taking a few small bets on it or are Skybet behind on their information?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭KeithMur

Crumbs wrote:
    Are PP and Lads just being over-sensitive to taking a few small bets on it or are Skybet behind on their information?

Skybet probably never heard of Kerr.:D

Leeds United
    Leeds United have stated they have not approached anyone regarding the vacant managerial position following a flurry of betting on Glenn Hoddle.

Former Wolves, Tottenham and England boss Hoddle emerged at the new favourite for the Elland Road hot-seat having worked under United chairman Ken Bates at Chelsea.

However, The Whites have now stated they have not held any talks with any interested parties regarding Kevin Blackwell's successor.

"The club can categorically state that we have not spoken to any manager or potential manager, or their agents, licensed or unlicensed, directly or indirectly, since the departure of Kevin Blackwell," read a statement on the club's official website.

"The club will making no further comment at this stage."

Former Charlton boss Alan Curbishley remains the favourite among the fans to take the reins of the club, while Claudio Ranieri and Dennis Wise are also being tipped to land the job.

What happened today? 0-4 at home to Stoke. Just not good. Are they going lower than they ever have and could relegation be a possibilty for the Whites this season?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭watman

Mushy wrote:
    What happened today? 0-4 at home to Stoke. Just not good. Are they going lower than they ever have and could relegation be a possibilty for the Whites this season?

Was at Elland Road yesterday , in the away end. stokie here :) . Leeds were quite simply shocking. It should really have been seven or eight. But hopefully this will be your wake up call, sort it out or enjoy your trips to Vale Park next season

enjoy your trips to Vale Park next season

:eek:this just cannot be good. No offence to Stoke or anything, but they should be the sort of teams Leeds should be beating, maybe even 4-0. good trip for ya to pick though

I wasn't even going to post about this game cos i dont know what to say,
    shocking comes to mind, so angry about it.
    A good kick up the arse is need me thinks :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Mushy wrote:
    :eek:this just cannot be good. No offence to Stoke or anything, but they should be the sort of teams Leeds should be beating, maybe even 4-0. good trip for ya to pick though

I think Stoke might do welll this season and suprise a few people. They seem to be taking a leaf out of wolves book though.

Heard on Off the Ball tonight that Graeme Souness has been installed as the second favourite to land the Leeds job...

That would be a tough break for u guys lol

Hoddle would be my favourite for the job
    Who is the favourite for the job Kinaldo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

jeebus i pray souness doesn't get it...i think i just puked a bit in my mouth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Should have bought Liam Miller when they had the chance

Kinaldo wrote:
    That would be a tough break for u guys lol

And we thought things could actually get better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Leeds United supporters in the news for the wrong reasons

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/6072296.stm
    Home Office figures show a record number of football banning orders have been imposed, up 7%.

The highest number of orders - 115 - was received by followers of Championship team Leeds United.

5-1 :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

A relegation battle? oh god please say it wont be, i think a fresh manager is needed soon, but who wants the job now ?

Haha, you leeds chaps are a gamblers dream.

Sheffield Wednesday mk II.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Haha, you leeds chaps are a gamblers dream.

Sheffield Wednesday mk II.

please dont compare us with fairweathered friends of leeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Fitzo

its really starting to getting worrying now...13 games into the season and were still in the relegation zone...troubled waters eh?

but ye are only 12points away from 6th
    it all kicks off after christmas and if a decent manger is appointed now, Hoodle or Curbs, then Leeds could be in the premierleague next season

Yay, 5-1, another humiliation.

As far as the manager is concerned, I was talking to a lad where i work(Leeds fan and from Leeds), that Gary McAllister is to be appointed manager. Dont know how that'd work out, but I think they need some managerial experience in there instead if its true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Graeme Souness is the new manager lads, I feel your pain :(

source?

Nothing bout it on Sky sports site anyway, so saved for another day anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

I heard it yesterday folks but Ive just seen that his odds have plummeted now to 10/1 and Wise is 1/5 :eek: Bookies rarely get it wrong..

Except with Brian Kerr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/23102006/1/leeds-wise-talks-green-light.html

looks like it could be Wise alright.

Seriously help is needed asap though, losing 5/7 at home is a million miles from good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman