Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So....hows it going first years?

• 15-09-2006 7:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭

How did everyone get on in registration/orientation? Lots of new friends? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Talked to loadsa people but didn't really make any friends ya know?

Can't wait to start I only have one 9 o clock start so im friggin ecstatic bout that. To top it off with getting a new bass and a job in a shop where I'll enjoy working, college will be great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 marissa

awk il love love love it!!! been partyin since monday..got a warning 2! talked 2 loadsa ppl but its so haed 2 remember every1!! any of yez staying on campuS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Yeah was a mad 4 days! I didnt expect to get to know ppl so quick but there is one problem I cant remember anyones names :D Also I need to get more sleep then 6 hours a nite!!!!!

My flatmates and I dont have the same hobbies but we got on great despite that!

Tho I have been going to the pub to watch the football on my own cos I didnt know anyone at the time who liked football or who was living on campus who in into football

Yeah im living on campus in the Carrick Apartments!!

By any change you didnt get the bus home today from Maynooth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Nerd007

I'm living off campus in Maynooth with some friends I have in 2nd year. If only I hadn't been kept back! *shakes fist*

I can't remember everyones names but i'm ok remembering faces!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 marissa

6 hours a night!!..lucky u! been going 2 bed every day like 5 in the morn..tis well ledge!

who me eamoss??..nope couple friends did ..goin up sunday thou on it!
    its so cheap like,handy enough too!

marissa wrote:
    who me eamoss??..nope couple friends did ..goin up sunday thou on it!
    its so cheap like,handy enough too!
    Is it the Finlays bus? Im heading up on Monday mor(on the finlays bus) didnt like the fact of waiting in Dublin to get another train to maynooth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

5 hours!! You 1st years are crazy! By the way does anyone happen to know the girl who lives in like.. Leavey #1 I think in the window by the bench? She's insane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Thursday was ok. Friday was a bit **** cos I was feelin sick and the heat didnt help. If I'd known only a handful of people would show up to the mentor yoke I would have skipped it too. Tomorrow should be interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭nookie

eamoss wrote:
    Yeah was a mad 4 days! I didnt expect to get to know ppl so quick but there is one problem I cant remember anyones names :D Also I need to get more sleep then 6 hours a nite!!!!!

My flatmates and I dont have the same hobbies but we got on great despite that!

Tho I have been going to the pub to watch the football on my own cos I didnt know anyone at the time who liked football or who was living on campus who is into football

Yeah im living on campus in the Carrick Apartments!!

By any change you didnt get the bus home today from Maynooth?

So 8 months on... Ended up spending fúck all time in my apartment didnt really get along with my house mates and they didnt really like heading down to L.A/Bradys/Roost. Was so happy leaving in my key card today.

Most of the people I met in the 1st few weeks I never talked to them again. Good few of them dropped out.

Kinda wish I could do it all again. Would do so many things different!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

eamoss wrote:
    So 8 months on... Ended up spending fúck all time in my apartment didnt really get along with my house mates and they didnt really like heading down to L.A/Bradys/Roost. Was so happy leaving in my key card today.

Most of the people I met in the 1st few weeks I never talked to them again. Good few of them dropped out.

thats college life for ya eamoss! i'd reccomend getting a house off campus with friends, much more likely to be fun but your more likely to fail then, i go to dkit but was up in maynooth for the open day not so long ago just for the craic, had nothing else to do, dkit is a kip so was expecting maynooth to be impressive but it wasnt, ended up thanking god i went to dkit, no offence :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

eamoss wrote:

Such is life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

\o/ Us new first years will take over this thread....once we get accepted :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 ballyarse

first year was deadly...second semester pretty quieter than first... became a bit of a grandad me thinks ha :D roll on freshers fortnight again glad i have the experience of first year over and done with... will help me plan second year a bit better...knowing when to savour nights/weeks out and being confident in the knowledge that if you start studying two weeks before the exams you're prob even starting before the majority of final years :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Enemy Of Fate

Rozabeez wrote:
    \o/ Us new first years will take over this thread....once we get accepted :S
    What she said.What are you planning on doing Rozabeez?

To the incoming new 1st years: Enjoy yourself but just remember exam time sucks hard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Lucas10101

What she said.What are you planning on doing Rozabeez?

I think she's doing English in Arts Degree.

Hahahaha.I am extremely confident I got the points for my first choice!!!See you in September everybody!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

What would you do different Eamoss, just out of interest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭sunflowerz

ahhhhhhhhhh...UCC or maynooth, only 2 weeks left to decide.
    any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Where are you from?
    I'd say NUIM. Its a cool place, I like UCC but NUIM is great!

ask on mikadosoc.ie if you need more or more serious opinions, there are more maynooth people there. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭sunflowerz

well i really wanna go to maynooth, was at the open day and it seemed like a really nice unniversity, but being from cork ill be the only person i know in maynooth so it might be a lil lonely....cork would be the safe option seeing how i'd probably know more than half the first years next year, and my friends kinda freaked when i told them was moving away a few weeks ago.
    hmmm......where's my magic 8-ball?

In college ya gotta make new friends though. I wouldn't have enjoyed my first year in maynooth nearly as much if I stuck with people I knew. It's great making friends with as many people as ya can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Slurms wrote:
    In college ya gotta make new friends though. I wouldn't have enjoyed my first year in maynooth nearly as much if I stuck with people I knew. It's great making friends with as many people as ya can.

i second that, much better making new friends at college

*Tripper* wrote:
    What would you do different Eamoss, just out of interest!
    1st of all the way I got up and down. I got a bus from Dundalk at 6:50am to Maynooth and I only could get it on a Monday. I now get a train to Dublin and get a bus to Dundalk along with the rest of people I have gotten to know in Maynooth from Dundalk.

Moved out of my apartment after the 1st semester and moved in with some lads I knew from the soccer team.

Some stupid mistakes I made with a few people, wish I could go back and do things different.

Start heading from day one, I only started heading out after the 2nd semester. Had some great nights out in Maynooth.

A few things with sport.

Exams in the 1st semester, didnt work at all for them becasue I thought I was gonna leave Maynooth.

There is good few more but I just cant think of now.
    sunflowerz wrote:
    ahhhhhhhhhh...UCC or maynooth, only 2 weeks left to decide.
    any advice?

When I did my LC I thought I was heading to UCC or Edinburgh. But ended up getting my 1st choice in Maynooth.

Ah tbh when I was filling out my CAO I had the choice of going to Dundalk but I wanted the hole college experience of moving away from home. Imo go to Maynooth, Like I knew fúck all people when I went to Maynooth and I found it hard to settle in but after a while of getting to know people I started to love Maynooth. But the reason I found it hard was becasue I didnt get along with my house mates and everyone in my class went home(like to their parents) after 6.

sunflowerz wrote:
    well i really wanna go to maynooth, was at the open day and it seemed like a really nice unniversity, but being from cork ill be the only person i know in maynooth so it might be a lil lonely.
    I'm the same way.I'm really the only person I know who has NUIM as their first choice (or even on their choices!!), so t'would be quite lonely for a while....But i'm sure it'll grand.What'll be even worse for me is that i'll have to head into Dublin every Friday to catch a bus home, because theres no direct bus from Maynooth to Donegal (on a Friday.Theres a direct one on Sunday evening)....and I hate buses.I mean I guess I could just take the train into the bus station, and then i'd only have to take one bus....But that'd probably be more expensive.Actually can anyone from NUIM clarify that for me?Which is more expensive, taking Dublin Bus into the city centre, or taking the train (one way)?

Bus fare is cheaper I think. Never gotten the 66 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭nothing

Bus is 2.20, Train is 2.50+ not sure of the actual price there.

Train from Drumcondra to Maynooth is €2.35 and a train from Connolly to Maynooth is €2.90 they are both single.

The train takes about 35mins.

Tbh I have once gotten the 66 into Dublin and it is way slower than the train. The bus has 2 deal with traffic while the train doesnt.

I know a good few people from Donegal in Maynooth, they get up & down by getting a bus from Donegal to Dublin and then get a train from Connolly.

IMO id get the bus & then the train it is how I commute & a lot of people I know do as well from different areas.

eamoss wrote:
    I know a good few people from Donegal in Maynooth, they get up & down by getting a bus from Donegal to Dublin and then get a train from Connolly.
    Eh?But theres a direct bus on Sundays!!Why would they take a bus and a train when they could just take a bus?Thats a bit weird is it not?Anyways if theres only <50c difference between the 2 i'll probably end up taking the train, specially if its faster too.Thanks for the info.

Ah dunno, I know one gets a lift to Derry and gets a bus from there to Dublin. And the others get a bus from Donegal to Dublin(well they have everytime I met them on the train).They mightnt get that bus becasue the time doesnt suit but tbh I dont know.

eamoss wrote:
    Ah dunno, I know one gets a lift to Derry and gets a bus from there to Dublin. And the others get a bus from Donegal to Dublin(well they have everytime I met them on the train).They mightnt get that bus becasue the time doesnt suit but tbh I dont know.
    Yeah its probably the times.I think the direct bus goes round lunch time, so maybe some people want to stay on a little longer...although I can't see why.God I can't wait to get out of this place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 CosaFada

Im from Dublin and thinking about going to Maynooth but staying at home in Dublin.Does anyone think you miss out in terms of having to get the bus train/home early, missing nights out etc.??:confused:

You dont miss out on nights out at all. I got the the train in every day and still had plenty of nights out. Just make friends with people so you can crash in theirs or bring money for taxi fair.

Jaysus, hopefully we'll be first years in a couple of months. You people up there with no friends (not meant to be as mean as it sounds) ^^ you'll be fine, make new friends, come find me and share my friends if you're desperate etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I'm in UCD at the moment, but I've been accepted into the BMus degree. To make my decision ever so painful, I have till 31st August to write the confirmation letter. :/

Decisions etc!

To the people who fear the loneliness (I'm in the loner boat too).....We shall have a boards beer the first week (if I'm there).

To Rozy... <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Tchocky

I'd better see all of these freshers at fairs day :D

Funky_penguin, I'll look after you! <3

The rest of you, bow down to us tbh.

Rozabeez wrote:
    Funky_penguin, I'll look after you! <3

The rest of you, bow down to us tbh.
    Heh, you're in for a shock when you go to college tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

She was making with teh jokey jokes tbh. :)

No no, I'm entirely serious. I expect the entire college to bow at my feet every morning. /rolls eyes.

Ah I am looking forward to starting college though, something new, hooray.

Rozabeez wrote:
    Jaysus, hopefully we'll be first years in a couple of months. You people up there with no friends (not meant to be as mean as it sounds) ^^ you'll be fine, make new friends, come find me and share my friends if you're desperate etc etc.
    I don't need your pity......yet.Although I may be glad of it in September!
    To the people who fear the loneliness (I'm in the loner boat too).....We shall have a boards beer the first week (if I'm there).
    Sounds good!Anything for a good excuse to get drunk with strangers!
    Rozabeez wrote:
    Ah I am looking forward to starting college though, something new, hooray.
    Me too, mainly because its finally my ticket out of this ****hole, but also because i'm sure it'll be great fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Me too, mainly because its finally my ticket out of this ****hole, but also because i'm sure it'll be great fun!

Even though I live....nearby (<_<``````>_> ) .....and so won't be escaping from anywhere, college will be great!
    So all the boardsies will be getting drunk circa week one I suppose.

lemansky wrote:
    So all the boardsies will be getting drunk circa week one I suppose.
    Probably.Speaking of which whats the student bar in NUIM like anyways?Is it more expensive than most places, or cheaper?And are there ''better'' places in the town anyways?Need info people!

I dont like the SU, some people love it(mostly people who commute) but I dont. On a monday night its €3 a drink and there are plenty of Bar-Exs(where the SU stays open later and bands play). I only went to two Bar-Exs last year (the Freshers ball and Monday of rag week).

Now for the clubs in town
    1st off there is only ONE night club in the town and the others are all disco bars. Also exp for Monday nights in the L.A everywhere is free in.

L.A - Only place to resemble a nightclub IMO - Main night is Monday night €5 in and €2.50 a drink also on a Wednesday its €3 a drink & free in.

Bradys - Not a big fan of the place TBH its really small and its NOT a disco bar like the other places. The dance floor is well its a space which they have made by moving tables and chairs. Main night is Wednesday and its jam packed.

Roost - Main night Thursdays(&Fri&Sat for people who stay up in Maynooth for the weekend). Very big as a hole, smoking area is massive then they have two parts one where a band is playing and other where there is DJ.

Fizz - only nightclub in the town and iv yet to go there, only open on weekends AFAIK and its €10(from what iv heard its shít)

Now when I was doing my exams they where building a steel structure beside Centra and the rumour is its a new nightclub but thats only a rumour.

Also no-one heads out on a Tuesday.

As you can tell I never head out in Maynooth :D

eamoss wrote:
    (from what iv heard its shít)

You heard correctly:D

Whenever I go out in Maynooth its the Roost. As said its a big place, its nice, good atmosphere, you can have fun there, the disco bar section is good as well, the DJs are sound, and best of all most people seem to go there, so when you go out, a small group of friends always turns into a bigger one as you meet people there...also its big enough so that you can avoid people easily!
    As for night clubs......I wouldn't bother with any in Maynooth, we're always happy just sticking to the Roost. If you wanted a night club though you can find a better one in Leixlip, a bus ride away or taxi if you're feeling generous, and it'll do but its not a great place.Far too much scum gets in IMO, and the good people get thrown out.

Ozone = scum of the earth, tbh. :)

Rozabeez wrote:
    Ozone = scum of the earth, tbh. :)
    Sp myself and my friends aren't the only ones who think that!That opinion always seems to get a hostile reponse from others!I always find that its full of people who try and make eye contact with you and/or bump into you to spill their drink, all so as they can start a fight with you and blame it on YOUso as YOU get thrown out!Anyway, little rant aside*grabs vodka to calm self down*.....I'm looking forward to going to Maynooth even though I already live there......any idea what you gonna study Rozabeez...I think I read it somewhere before on some thread but not arsed to remember!

Hey when is registration day usually? Beginning or end of Sept?
    Any mature students out there beginning this year????? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

eamoss wrote:
    I dont like the SU, some people love it(mostly people who commute) but I dont. On a monday night its €3 a drink and there are plenty of Bar-Exs(where the SU stays open later and bands play). I only went to two Bar-Exs last year (the Freshers ball and Monday of rag week).

Now for the clubs in town
    1st off there is only ONE night club in the town and the others are all disco bars. Also exp for Monday nights in the L.A everywhere is free in.

L.A - Only place to resemble a nightclub IMO - Main night is Monday night €5 in and €2.50 a drink also on a Wednesday its €3 a drink & free in.

Bradys - Not a big fan of the place TBH its really small and its NOT a disco bar like the other places. The dance floor is well its a space which they have made by moving tables and chairs. Main night is Wednesday and its jam packed.

Roost - Main night Thursdays(&Fri&Sat for people who stay up in Maynooth for the weekend). Very big as a hole, smoking area is massive then they have two parts one where a band is playing and other where there is DJ.

Fizz - only nightclub in the town and iv yet to go there, only open on weekends AFAIK and its €10(from what iv heard its shít)

Now when I was doing my exams they where building a steel structure beside Centra and the rumour is its a new nightclub but thats only a rumour.

Also no-one heads out on a Tuesday.

As you can tell I never head out in Maynooth :D

No, Brady's was the greatest place on Earth until all the other dickheads realised the same and decided to jam it.
    The roost is grand, a bit boring, not much atmosphere.
    LA is a bit ****e but funny on a drunken monday.
    Fizz is brutal but is open during the week and is free in before about 11.30 or something.It's great when you bring about 12 friends from home and just abuse the place.
    Caulfields, nice pint, nice food.
    S.U....stinkhole but still it's our stinkhole...you can meet lots of random people there.
    Newtown inn, very nice clean open spaces...modern, nice pint, great for watching a match but not many young people.

Brady's was great because it was mostly students but then that seemed to change so now the Roost smoking area is great.

In conclusion the Roost smoking area is good craic.
    Bar-ex's are **** enough too...it all depends on the company I guess.

I had to write it in a disjointed manner, to appeal to your drunken psyche.