Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Really Irritating Voice for Radio

• 13-09-2006 10:51am
    Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭

Following on from the thread about the annoying wenches on the meteor ads, what irritates me worse is the lad that does the myhome.ie radio ads. He is the lad that plays Raymond (I think) in Bachelors Walk too. He has an extremely annoying monotonous voice with no inflections, no chance of pace, with each syllable spaced evenly apart and pronounced with the same emphasis.

It really irritates me. Is this a tactic that advertisers are using lately? If an ad annoys people then they will remember it. Damn right I will remember it, but not fondly, and if there is any alternative to the thing being advertised, then I will go out of my way to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Most irritating voice ever used on ads? Ed Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭bking

No Way! The worst one is the lad who does the TV licence one. "Back to your RAAADDDDIIIIOOOOO". Or that one for some alarm crowd "I'd like to complain about yurrr alarum moniturin sistum""it's mick, cell nointeen mountjoy". There's also something that really pi$$e$ me off about the lad who does the Neiderburg Wine ads. Really posh accent (English?). He does the ads for Miele fridges too. Oh, and those Champion Sports ads with the really American (Duffman?) accent. If they were realistic they'd have some Skanger telling ya how the new Air Max are deadly,bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The guy who does the Hurling commentary. Just because I can't figure what the hell he's saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

far as I know Don Wycherley is the guy who talks thru his nose in the revolting UCC Cork accent in the myhome.ie ads

Neiderburg I think is Alan Stanford.

FTW... Deirdre O'Kane is plugging something at the mom... sweet sufferin.... what a harsh voice...I have an old tree stump out the back..I'm thinking of geting her to saw it down with that whining nasal tone she has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

...UCC Cork accent...

Eh? There's no such accent.
    FTW... Deirdre O'Kane is plugging something at the mom... sweet sufferin.... what a harsh voice...I have an old tree stump out the back..I'm thinking of geting her to saw it down with that whining nasal tone she has

LOL! :D

Those Harvey Norman ads annoy me, especially if I hear them first thing in the morning. They're too upbeat and cheery for that time of day and they make me want to punch the guy doing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

"myhome dod ie", christ it is annoying! The one that bugs me the most is the D4 one who does the EBS "ore more-gages awr great...mutuality is great"...AAAGGHHHHHH SHUT UP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

agamemnon wrote:

Those Harvey Norman ads annoy me, especially if I hear them first thing in the morning. They're too upbeat and cheery for that time of day and they make me want to punch the guy doing them.

Indeed far too cheery, GO HAVEH GO! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

I can't even quite remember what the ad was for - furniture, I think - but it plays this slow music for a second, then "Hi, I'm Neville Knott(sp??)..." , whoever the hell that is, with his irritating voice. DIE :mad:
    Used to be on the radio a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,712 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

These are by far the most annoying ads EVER! Its annoyin 10 times outta 10. If i met that chap, Id like to punch him. Its just not right to speak like that for that length of time

In the Harvey Norman stores they play those ads throughout the shop all day, so imagine how bad it would be to work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Ruu wrote:
    Indeed far too cheery, GO HAVEH GO! :)

nothing worse then hearing that happy-go-lucky aussie on a sunday morning when you're groggy, hung over and next to some...thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

that bird who does the voice over for the concern tv ad pisses me off. i can't stand her voice. goes right through my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Mike from the Open Mic (Sunday nights on fm104)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭juliuspret

The American on the Clearwire Broadband adds on the radio!

Its not really the accent, but the script that he reads from which makes me rush to the radio and change to a different station for the next 30seconds....."have a nice day"...indeed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Barry O'Neill on 2fm sport.

Wexfooooord, Watfoooord etc. So annoying the emphasis he puts on the ford bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Cillilt Bang never ceases to annoy the bejesus out of me, I mean why oh why o why does the guy have to shout everything out so loudly ? I'd love to introduce him to the business end of Barret light 50 rifle :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

The NTL radio ads.

Bond-007 wrote:
    Barry O'Neill on 2fm sport.

Wexfooooord, Watfoooord etc. So annoying the emphasis he puts on the ford bit.

RTE do that deliberately I'm sure.... I mean like. whoooo??..... I say whoooo??..in the South of Ireland calls Wexford anything but "Wex frd" and Waterford anything but" Water frd"

Meanwhile cut to a bearded producer in sandals in Montrose...

"Rooysh goys that Sports job in FM ..Mortins son got fixed up in Drooive toime and Raoury is gone to orchives...lets shake it up shall we?
    ... We'll have to go out and find some plumber who DOESN'T comply with the 99% pronounciation of the populace and put that person on the air."

That should annoy the shaggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Dublin14

what about the pledge ad????????? That gets my back up so much I have to switch stations......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

im assuming Deirdre O'Kane is the irish stand up comedian?

Yep... thats the one.... swear to God... 30 seconds listening to her voice makes me physically ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Moy-chael Macmullen on the Today FM sport news. WTF is with his pronunciation?

Then there's that D4 sounding ****head that does the AIB student account ads. "Get directions to a portay!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Nightwish wrote:
    In the Harvey Norman stores they play those ads throughout the shop all day, so imagine how bad it would be to work there.

Thats worse then chinese torture that is!
    Totally agree the guy on my home.ie has an awful nasal sounding voice. Worse thing is though that my soon to be brother in law sounds exactly like him...aggghhhh!!

Haven't heard the DID electical ads for some time. Yes, dubliner.

Geraldine... She was on yesterday... nearly shed me load:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭deedee lepoopoo

Stephen wrote:
    Moy-chael Macmullen on the Today FM sport news. WTF is with his pronunciation?

Then there's that D4 sounding ****head that does the AIB student account ads. "Get directions to a portay!"

Michael McMullen the worst affected voice ever, it makes the inner cavities of my ears bleed.

Don Wycherley - He has a voice like razer blades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 tomaxcars

I totally agree about the guy on the myhome.ie ads - such ridiculous intonation - sounds like he's talking to a dumb kid - the same guy has voiced a couple of ads - i'm pretty sure this says something about people calling the shots at advertising agencies.

Similarly the campus.ie ads that used to be on - I distinctly recall and entire summer holiday being ruined by craig david and those ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭Scruff

the one i hate most at the moment is that irishjobs.ie one where this twat is back from dubai some where and "my mum's delighted, and so am i" - the way he says that line makes my blood boil. Really ****e ad and the other one with the woman talking isnt much better.

Its got to the stage that if i hear the start of either of them i switch radio station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭Archeron

I really hate those ads for Robinsons drinks that feature really snotty kids who sound like they think they're better than their parents. I think there's a male and a female version. What really rubs it in though, is that you can actually hear them swallowing the stuff. Who the hell thought that the noise of a liquid being squoolped down someones neck would be a good thing to have on the radio???

Anyone remember THE GAP. GPO ARCADE. THE GAP, GPO ARCADE. THE GAP, GPO ARCADE!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,909 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I vote for the one from mooney goes wild, Eanna ni Lamhna(sp) Chainsaw on corrugated iron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

agamemnon wrote:

If Im ever anywhere near that harvey norman bloke and he opens his mouth...
    murder will be done:mad:

Its like a personal fantasy, where I get to beat his head in with a grain shovel. in the middle of an Add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Scruff wrote:
    the one i hate most at the moment is that irishjobs.ie one where this twat is back from dubai some where and "my mum's delighted, and so am i" - the way he says that line makes my blood boil. Really ****e ad and the other one with the woman talking isnt much better.

Its got to the stage that if i hear the start of either of them i switch radio station.

Also note how he grunts very slightly before EVERYTHING he says....why!? To make it sound like you're really thinking about what youre saying instead of reading from a script?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭viking

Radio presenter with the most annoying voice? Its got to be that bird from the 98fm morning crew, Siobhan I think is her name.

Holy Jaysus, it grates my eardrums to listen to her irritating voice babble on about celebrity gossip and other such ridiculous ****e. Even the co-presenters sometimes stop and go "eh... right" when she comes out with something stupid mid-conversation.

I have to wonder how she actually got a job on the radio, she must have family who own the station 'cos there's no way anyone sane would inflict that voice on the ears of listeners!

Eanna Ni Lamhna was my lecturer in college. Believe me, listening to her first thing on a Thursday morning was far from easy.

I sent a question into Fix It Friday before, asking "Whats the deal with your sports guys accent. Moy-cheal Muck Mollen, surely must be taking the pi$$". Needless to say they didnt answer it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭cxcully

PERLICO.....aaaaaRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!?!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Nightwish wrote:
    Eanna Ni Lamhna was my lecturer in college. Believe me, listening to her first thing on a Thursday morning was far from easy.

I sent a question into Fix It Friday before, asking "Whats the deal with your sports guys accent. Moy-cheal Muck Mollen, surely must be taking the pi$$". Needless to say they didnt answer it.
    What does she teach?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

With the exception of the english accent, i hate most foreign accents on the radio especially on ads! I particular hate the australian accent. (Note that does not mean i late australians!!)

Bond-007 wrote:
    What does she teach?
    Environmental management in DIT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

im assuming Deirdre O'Kane is the irish stand up comedian?

well, we say comedian :D

i second the cillit bang bloke, FFS youd think the stuff was gonna explode before the add ends. thanks christ for the mute button

marrian finucane is the one that annoys me, always sounds like shes had a bottle of wine or two before starting the show. in fact most to the "dort" type accents on RTE. has anyone ever met anyone that actually talks like that in real life?

god i just rememberd theres some bird that does the traffic, for newstalk i think or maybe today fm, anyway she keeps pronouncing BALLY CULLEN as BALLY QUE LEN. im mean WTF. it does my head in everytime she says it. you'd think someone would tell her

Ger Canning on tonites Premiership insisted ..I say... INSISTED on pronouncing Portsmouth as Ports MOUTH... when 99.9% of anyone anywhere who speaks English as a first tongue pronounces it Portsmuth.

He rammed it down my throat so much that I may have damaged the TV....

Why does somebody not TELL these guys????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Moycal McMuulllen. Why laddy, why?
    Barry O'Neill. Longfoordt. Waterfoordt. Wexfoordt. What the f#ck is wrong with you?
    Deirdre O'Kane. Don't get me started on the nasal, break into my one and only comedy voice, man bashing b1tch. She's not funny. At all.
    Myhome.ie? I'll never. ever use that company, just because of that ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

il gatto wrote:
    Moycal McMuulllen. Why laddy, why?
    Barry O'Neill. Longfoordt. Waterfoordt. Wexfoordt. What the f#ck is wrong with you?
    Deirdre O'Kane. Don't get me started on the nasal, break into my one and only comedy voice, man bashing b1tch. She's not funny. At all.
    Myhome.ie? I'll never. ever use that company, just because of that ad.

Is she the one that does Sonia O'Sullivan and the Dolores (from the Cranberries)? She is terribly annoying.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

This must be I've got a hair up my arse thread or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,568 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Theres one who does the voice on Ulster bank telephone banking and she has done radio adverts, last one I heard her on was one where she rings some bank manager or something and asks does he work out and she's been watching him etc, she's done a couple of other ads through the years, I saw her interviewed once and she is about 60 and a fugly, but her voice really annoys me

Cheers

Snake ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Them "go walking" adds melt my head and anything with an Irish sports star trying to raise awareness about something or other.
    Someone most people can't stand listening to on the radio is Sarah Cox but for some reason I find her voice quite arousing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Ruu wrote:
    Is she the one that does Sonia O'Sullivan and the Dolores (from the Cranberries)? She is terribly annoying.:(

She's the one who looks like a hatchet faced bint. She keeps talking in this mock "bogger woman" accent and none of hey jokes are funny. NONE of them. Why we even know her name is beyond me. Suppose it's par for the course. All women comedians are crap. Or at least all the ones I've been unfortunate enough to see :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Nightwish wrote:
    In the Harvey Norman stores they play those ads throughout the shop all day

No, they don't.
    so imagine how bad it would be to work there.

It's good craic most of the time, actually.

They do in Australia!