Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

B.Sc. in Computer Science

• 01-09-2006 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

Hello everyone!

First of all, English is my foreign language; therefore, if I have made some mistakes, please, correct me.

Back to thread’s topic.

I am going to do CK401 Computer Science in UCC starting this year. So, I would like to ask people who are doing this particular course, or who have already done it: what is your opinion about the course and what advice could you give to first year students like me? Maybe you can share useful tips and tricks, or recommendations? And what was the hardest or unexpected thing about this course?

Finally, can anyone describe the registration procedure? What happens after you receive CAO receipt of acceptance?

Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Rozie

Heya,

I'm transferring into the 3rd year of the course. I came from Computer Systems in UL. If they're anything alike, it'll be pretty nasty I'm afraid. But I'll help you if you want, I'm not very good but I made it this far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Artemij

Rozie, thanks, I would appreciate some help. What you didn’t like in Computer Systems course in UL?

What about first year modules, is there Java programming or C/C++?

At third year in UCC you have Work Experience modules. Witch one you are planning to do, 22 weeks or 12 months?

Can I choose? If I could, I'd take 12 months, I guess. 5 1/2 months is a little shorter, I was hoping for 6. Need to make money back. Have to budget now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

Artemij wrote:
    What about first year modules, is there Java programming or C/C++?

you'll be doing Java in 1st and 2nd year in UCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Rozie wrote:
    Can I choose? If I could, I'd take 12 months, I guess. 5 1/2 months is a little shorter, I was hoping for 6. Need to make money back. Have to budget now...
    Guess you will be in my class :)

and you do get to choose, althought we picked at the end of 2nd year but i guess they will just ask you at the start (most do 6mths anyway)

to the OP you do java as the main language throughtout the course but you do C in 2nd year and should do c++ in 3rd (but i think this changes) By 4th you do a project and it can be in any language you like.

Nollaig, about the FYP, what kind of things can you do?

I use a piece of software called "multimedia fusion". It can create applications, games, etc., without programming in the normal sense.

You usually click to detrermine certain events and their reactions, often having to type in mathematical equations to determine a value or particular change in something. However, you often end up with hundreds of lines of scripting and it becomes just as complex as "real" programming at times but with it's own worries since it's higher level and lacks functions and variables in the normal sense.

I'm wonderring if it would be acceptable to use this, to make a piece of software for my FYP. I'd put extra effort into presentation, etc., to make up for the ease of use(which sometimes you forget when the thing crashes or sticks sprites to the screen and you have no frikkin' idea why).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

Derek Bridge (google) is rumoured to be doing first year programming this year, quality lecturer. You do C in second year but they considering improving this because it's tough going straight into c.

For the final year project there's two ways to do it - there will be a number of
    projects offered by supervisors. If you chose one of them obviously you do whatever
    they specify.
    The other option is to find a supervisor and ask them if they will supervise your project.
    That's usually not a problem.

I must check who's teaching the first years this year - lucky buggers if they get Derek.

As for it being tough starting with C - I reckon it's a brilliant starting language. none of the hand-holding you get with Java.

deRanged wrote:
    For the final year project there's two ways to do it - there will be a number of
    projects offered by supervisors. If you chose one of them obviously you do whatever
    they specify.
    The other option is to find a supervisor and ask them if they will supervise your project.
    That's usually not a problem.

I must check who's teaching the first years this year - lucky buggers if they get Derek.

As for it being tough starting with C - I reckon it's a brilliant starting language. none of the hand-holding you get with Java.
    Derek is a brillant lecturer and this years 1st yrs will be lucky if they have him instead of ... "karel"

C isnt done well as you do Java first and its quite different plus java was thought at a completely beginners level while they really throw you into C fast and as a result there is a high failure rate in 2nd year
    Rozie wrote:
    I use a piece of software called "multimedia fusion". It can create applications, games, etc., without programming in the normal sense.

Only way to be completely sure is to actually ask one of the 4th year lecturers, but as said you final year projects can be just about anything once it gets approved such as making a robot out of lego or a complete fps using directx etc :)

Yeah I want to make a good old 2D platformer game but with some cool new stuff in it that older platformers wouldn't have. I'd draw the sprites myself and form the level graphics out of photos I take. I think it'd be a lot of fun to do. Might be hard to find a supervisor that takes it seriously. Do they check up on it every week or just ask you how you're doing now and again?

When should I start asking around?

Ri_Nollaig wrote:
    e they really throw you into C fast and as a result there is a high failure rate in 2nd year

that's how they did it my year (a long time ago). the failure rates were way lower than they are these days, but then again the points were a bit higher.

In terms of project supervision - it varies. I had a total of 3 meetings all year with my supervisor. I think that included the final grading demonstration.
    I don't recommend doing it that way!
    Each supervisor manages things differently, some will want weekly meetings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Artemij wrote:
    what is your opinion about the course and what advice could you give to first year students like me? Maybe you can share useful tips and tricks, or recommendations? And what was the hardest or unexpected thing about this course?
    • Attend all lectures, even if no one else does, I remember three people in one maths lecture, out of a class of 160 :eek:
    • Attempt all tests/assignments/etc that contribute marks to your final year grade.
    • Don't cheat or copy assignments, there's a high chance you'll get caught, first year programming especially.
    • Don't neglect "easy" subjects like Internet Programming or Systems Organisation, it's easier to get high marks in them than in Intro to Programming (for most people anyway).
    Rozie wrote:
    When should I start asking around?
    If you're going into third year and considering doing a 12 month placement, I wouldn't even worry about your FYP yet. Just have your project proposal ready for when you enter 4th year. You'll definitely get a lecturer to take on your project. As far as I know, there were two computer game projects for the xBox and Playstation 2 on offer last year.
    Rozie wrote:
    If they're anything alike, it'll be pretty nasty I'm afraid.
    Computer Science in UCC is far easier than what you're used to in UL. With a little effort and gumption, you'll do fairly well.
    Ri_Nollaig wrote:
    Derek is a brillant lecturer and this years 1st yrs will be lucky if they have him instead of ... "karel"
    Everyone takes a swipe at Karel the Robot and Manning, I did too when I was in first year. It wasn't until I got into second year that I realised what Manning was trying to do. His purpose was to teach programming principles with an object orientated slant. I'd have to say, his module was the most informative one I have ever taken in Computer Science. Bridge would have to do well to match it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

cheers for the advise Raskolnikov, Im starting in Computer Science in UCC in September.

hopefully its not that hard, I have a fair grasp of HTML, PHP, CSS and DHTML so I hope those coding skills come in useful.

exiot wrote:
    cheers for the advise Raskolnikov, Im starting in Computer Science in UCC in September.

hopefully its not that hard, I have a fair grasp of HTML, PHP, CSS and DHTML so I hope those coding skills come in useful.
    HTML and CSS will come in handy for internet computing and PHP will be very handy for enterprise software in 2nd year.

But it is a programming course and Java is the main language so an understanding of that before you even start will definity benefit, with some luck you will have Dr Derek Bridge teaching you this. Like what Raskolnikov said attend all lectures/labs/tutorials and do all assignments, you will find it hard to fail 1st year if you do that.

exiot wrote:
    hopefully its not that hard,.

It's not that hard at all.

The main things are to turn up to everything - including the boring labs.
    The practical side of things is usually worth 20% of your final mark and it's very possible to get the full 20 in most subjects. That leaves you sitting in the final exam only needing 20%, which is very very reassuring the night before the exam. I guarantee you right now that half your class won't even bother trying to get the marks during the year.
    Be smart doing assignments too - don't put them off or you'll end up with a bunch of them due the same day, then you'll compromise.
    Get them done early, it's money in the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 GeogA'

I would like to study Computer Science when I finish my current degree. However I would like to study by night or part time and hold down work at the same time. How many hours a week is the course?

Is the course also run by night? I think law is also run by night.
    Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

cheers peeps, will definatley do what ye say, the 20% does sound great.

Some other questions, how many hours a week is the course? Is it more lectures or more hands on? For someone who isnt great at Maths, is it hard to get a grasp of the uni standard maths?

exiot wrote:
    Some other questions, how many hours a week is the course? Is it more lectures or more hands on? For someone who isnt great at Maths, is it hard to get a grasp of the uni standard maths?
    Don't worry about the maths, you take one class in first year that's worth 1/6th of your degree. It's definitely geared insofar as you can pass with a very basic knowledge of the subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Froot

First year consists of the following:

Introduction to programming (Java only, no other languages whatsoever) 20 credits

Discrete Mathematics 10 credits

Internet Computing 10 credits

Systems Organisation 10 credits

One elective subject 10 credits (eg: Applied calculus, economics etc)

The course has a ridiculous drop out rate (70% of first year fail, and 50% of those people fail the repeats). The year after I finished there 3 out of the 5 1st year lecturers were fired and replaced, thats an indication of the attitude towards the course in general. It has the lowest funding of any UCC degree course and the lowest points also so it attracts genuine people but also a lot of people who have no idea what they are doing.

Best of luck either way and just make sure you keep up to date with your continuous assessment and your lab practicals etc.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    GeogA' wrote:
    How many hours a week is the course?

When I was there first year alone worked out at about 30+ hours a week, including the labs and tutorials which were all compulsory.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Rozie wrote:

You usually click to detrermine certain events and their reactions, often having to type in mathematical equations to determine a value or particular change in something. However, you often end up with hundreds of lines of scripting and it becomes just as complex as "real" programming at times but with it's own worries since it's higher level and lacks functions and variables in the normal sense.

I'm wonderring if it would be acceptable to use this, to make a piece of software for my FYP. I'd put extra effort into presentation, etc., to make up for the ease of use(which sometimes you forget when the thing crashes or sticks sprites to the screen and you have no frikkin' idea why).

Thats called what you see is what you get programming.

I have no idea whether or not you can use this but I would laugh if I saw anyone submitting a project made with a program which is in effect click and drag, like Dreamweaver. Chances are you will actually be able to wirte the code yourself by the time you get into 4th year anyway and resorting to a program like the one you mentioned to do your project is either laziness or showcasing how little programming skill you have to the examiners.

It would be great if you could I suppose but its too easy methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 darren85

sorry to jump in here but doesn't computer science in UCC have a very high failure/drop out rate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

the reason it's so high failure/drop out rate is people with sub 300 points have it as their 3rd choice... They take it;"computers, i can do that." Then they might scrape through first year... If your not prepared to give the effort you'll drop out. It isnt insanely difficult.
    I know a girl and she asked on the first day how to turn on a computer. She passed first year(repeats) and failed everything in second year. It's tough going if u let it be, once you understand what your doing and learn the general concepts + enjoy it in some respect there is no problems. Second year is **** but that's because it's sooooo different from first.

As for the game programming, the lecturers who are clued in,and some of them are geared towards that. People like Derek Bridge, for example would be into this, so I hear. So if you come up with a concept for your 4th year project and you set yourself goals into making it what you want to do then you should be grand. Everyone complains about everything in it though, sometimes the department give you reasons to, sometimes it's unjust and because ppl will want their hands held in first year. Just put your head down and aim for 3rd year. That's the year everything clicks into place.

A bit of programming like html, css and php will help alot. The php will stand to you in particular, depending on how far into you have gone. Anything is an advantage but not essential. Just be prepared to learn a whole new way of thinking :D

it does seem to be stuck in limbo, as people who dont really like computers end up doing it due to the low points who end up failing and making it look like the hardest course in UCC. Then people hear of the huge failure rate, avoid it and the points never go up.
    But if you have an interest to begin with you will have no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

First year is a weeding out process, it gets rid of all the people who don't have an interest in computers and shouldn't be doing computer science, which explains the high/dropout failure rate in first year - its nothing to do with the difficulty of the course because its quite easy. You don't have to go to all the lectures, but the key is to hand in all of the assignments, even those worth 1%. For the most part, the assignments are really easy, and marks in the bag - any problems and you can go to the lab and get someone to help you. Just make sure you're getting the bulk of the marks, because you don't want to be going into the end of year exam with 0 out of 20% for the year's work.

Regarding work experience - its a tough one... I did a full year because I wanted to go to one of the big companies like Intel/Microsoft/etc and not somewhere like Scally's Supervalu Kilorglin or the Southern Health Board. I think it was a bad choice - if I had my time over I would do a 6 month placement instead.

I have to disagree with Rask regarding Manning. Unless Manning's course was very different when you did it, it was a waste of time imo. Derek Bridge is an outstanding lecturer, the best that I had in UCC, and not only will he teach you programming better than anyone else could, he can help you develop a genuine interest in it which is something that most lecturers don't bother with.

Get the notes for your courses the start of the year from someone in the year above you, pay if you have to, it makes a huge difference.

I have no idea whether or not you can use this but I would laugh if I saw anyone submitting a project made with a program which is in effect click and drag, like Dreamweaver. Chances are you will actually be able to wirte the code yourself by the time you get into 4th year anyway and resorting to a program like the one you mentioned to do your project is either laziness or showcasing how little programming skill you have to the examiners.

It would be great if you could I suppose but its too easy methinks.

It really isn't comparable to Dreamweaver. Difficulty-wise, it's definitely a good bit harder than HTML/XML and possibly Javascript, let alone Dreamwaver, though I guess that's not too hard either. The problem is that it doesn't look like it on first glance.

I've never really made a finished game or piece of software in it. It's just fun to piss around in, or useful to help imagine how things would work in a final product should I ever make one.

It's probably most similiar to Visual Basic - it's a click-to-script interface with built in level/frame editor and graphics editor.

events1.gif

That's what it looks like. Different "objects" can have different "events"/code though, that one had about 80, probably about 200 in that short demo altogether. Maths are about the same as they would be in "proper" programming, though sometimes it just gets too confusing and I use a special object to help me out(no different from using a C++ librarier IMO).

I've a pretty low confidence level with programming, I'd be too worried about it all going kaput. This has a similiar risk but at least I'm used to it.

Also, is the drop out rate as high as UL Comp Sys? Because our drop out rate was a lot to do with the sheer difficulty of the material and difficulty of lecturers explaining it to us.

I have a pretty bad attention span, I sincerely doubt I'll attend all lectures or anything near that, most maybe but there are bound to be some days where I can't take more than 3, and I probably won't have picked up much in the 3rd. It's a serious problem, not just laziness, I have this mental drop off point that seems to be a little shorter than other people's. Though I can't blame people for being lazy in college either, really. What can I do in my own time to help get around this? My psychiatrist thinks medication might help me with this but after reading up about it I don't think it will. If I go to all/nearly all of the tutorials or whatever will that be enough to catch up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Skud wrote:
    the reason it's so high failure/drop out rate is people with sub 300 points have it as their 3rd choice... They take it;"computers, i can do that." Then they might scrape through first year... If your not prepared to give the effort you'll drop out. It isnt insanely difficult.

Not entirely true. Alot of the drop out/failure rate is due to people not being prepared for the maths modules. People do not research the course properly and assume they will be able for all the modules. In first year, a good 50% or more of our class only had pass maths, ie little or no Calculus, and our discrete maths module picked up where the honours LC course left off. I spent half my time teaching my class mates how to integrate. Most of the people who I knew that dropped out or failed, it was down to the maths. Mostly I guess as there is no prerequiste and also due to lack of interest in the module.

First year material is not rocket science. I mean is Java Joe still using IO.Getlin() and all that lark?? heehee. Good old Joe :) Derek did not like that.. what a shock we all got when we made it to CS2000 and realised there was something called System.out.println(); and that use or attempted use of io.getline() or putline() would result in serious aural damage in a derek lecture!

Nothing like a derek lecture though, sure miss them... wait till you get to AI in 4th year and learn all about Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance :D
    Skud wrote:
    As for the game programming, the lecturers who are clued in,and some of them are geared towards that. People like Derek Bridge, for example would be into this, so I hear. So if you come up with a concept for your 4th year project and you set yourself goals into making it what you want to do then you should be grand. Everyone complains about everything in it though, sometimes the department give you reasons to, sometimes it's unjust and because ppl will want their hands held in first year. Just put your head down and aim for 3rd year. That's the year everything clicks into place.

Be warned though, Derek does not entertain wasters. He will only work with what he considers to be the very best in the class. So dont bet on him taking on your project. Most likely he wont.

Computer Science in UCC IMO is more difficult than it is in UL. So, be warned Rozie, I hope you are up for a challenge. My favourite year was third year though, I agree with you there Skud.

All the best guys :)

What did you find more difficult about it? I don't see how it could be any harder looking at the modules.

Rozie wrote:
    What did you find more difficult about it? I don't see how it could be any harder looking at the modules.

I studied in UCC and teach in UL. The detail covered in the modules in UCC far exceeds what is covered in UL. You have more time for the modules (given the lack of semesters) and so you cover more material in greater depth. Also the exams are more difficult. Rozie, the best advice I can give you for this change is to work from day one. Having to study a module for one single exam at the end of the year is not easy. Trying to remember in May what you covered in October, and having less credit for your years work, attendance etc. Not operating on a QCA system etc, it will be a big change. This is going to be a big challenge for you, but going by your posts in UL I think you have made the right choice. The work will be harder, but the lifestyle may be more to your liking. I hope it all works out for you. I loved my time in UCC and would go back in the morning!! I think you will like it. All the best with it.

Is it possible you think so because it was quite some time ago? Someone earlier said Comptuer Science was easier than Comp Sys.
    It looks like the course may have changed much as Computer Systems has - I don't see much detail in 3rd or even 4th year modules from what I can see.

For instance, the AI module in 3rd year sounds much simpler and is more of an introductionary thing with the meat of it in 4th year.

The main issue for me after doing Paddy's DSP is maths. If there's little maths, I think I'm in with a chance.

Have you checked the module list recently, out of interest?

Also, who should I get to help me with the final year project?

Thanks for the support :) I'm sure I'll find it much easier if I'm not as depressed and lonely anyway.

Rozie wrote:
    Is it possible you think so because it was quite some time ago? Someone earlier said Comptuer Science was easier than Comp Sys.
    It looks like the course may have changed much as Computer Systems has - I don't see much detail in 3rd or even 4th year modules from what I can see.

For instance, the AI module in 3rd year sounds much simpler and is more of an introductionary thing with the meat of it in 4th year.

The main issue for me after doing Paddy's DSP is maths. If there's little maths, I think I'm in with a chance.

Have you checked the module list recently, out of interest?

Also, who should I get to help me with the final year project?

Thanks for the support :) I'm sure I'll find it much easier if I'm not as depressed and lonely anyway.

Heehee it wasnt THAT long ago, im not that old :) I finished up there 3 years ago. Yeah some of the modules have changed or have introductory courses running the previous years and stuff you are right.

Paddy's DSP course is a nightmare Rozie, take it from me! Dont worry too much about that. I TA DSP in ECE dept for comp engies and elec engies in 3rd and 4th year and our course is a hell of a lot easier than Paddys. I dont know the guy but from helping the lads with their DSP exam his course seems off the wall. My PhD is DSP based and I reckon the paper was too much for 3rd year comp sysers.

Regarding your project... When I was in UCC noone was really into game programming so Im not sure who would be. I guess one of the multimedia heads would be your best bet. I know that Dave Murphy had a fascination with VRML when I was there ( I know shocking), or Ian Pitt or someone from the multimedia side. I can ask around though, Ill throw an email to some of the lads who are still there who would know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

There were 3 games last year, one team did a 3D FPS game like Quake, and their supervisor was Colin McCormack. Another group did a PS2 game, and a third group did an XBox game, and both of those were supervised by David Murphy.

Regarding third or fourth year Comp Sci, you can choose easy modules and have a very easy time, or you can choose difficult modules and you'll have to work. I don't remember doing any maths at all in 3rd or 4th year so I wouldn't worry about that too much.

Colin McCormack :-o my project supervisor in 4th year! It was his first year there but my advice.... RUN AWAY. My project lowered my average so much. I put unreal amounts of effort in and got screwed over by that <insert horrible name here>. Dont do it to yourself.

I'd recommend waiting till you've been in UCC a while, maybe had a chance to get to know some of the lecturers before worrying about getting a supervisor.
    From what I can tell there's going to be plenty of supervisors available, so I really don't think you have to worry.
    Besides, you've the 3rd year project to worry about first.
    The people helping you on that are much worse :)

What's the third year project?

Illkillya, I only had choice to drop one module when I was registerring out of all the possible ones. Which is a shame. I have no idea what "middleware" is. Though I look forward to the internet programming one, I always wanted to learn PERL. Though come to think of it, setting up an environment for that could be difficult.
    I finished up there 3 years ago.

Remember to add a year since I'm gong into 3rd year not 4th. So hopefully that's plenty time for it to be softened up!

Rozie wrote:
    What's the third year project?

It's a group work project, designed to give an idea of team/project work in the real world. the group will likely be 5 or 6 people. You'll have to work on a project, from doing up design docs/requirements right through the implementation and delivery.
    There's normally postgrads acting as a helpdesk/customers/whatever we feel like.

If I remember correctly it's in the second term - after christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Artemij

Thanks to Raskolnikov and everyone who shared their own experience!

Now I have better understanding of what’s going on.

Of course previews experience matters! As for me, I am familiar with XHTML, CSS, C++. Without doubts it will help. Java sounds good, especially, then it’s the one and the only at first year. ;)

exiot

I guess, I meet you on Orientation day. ;)
    BTW, nice web site you’ve developed.

Some more questions.

1. Is it possible to combine study and part-time job, while getting good results?
    2. What opportunities you have after you finish this course?
    3. What should I bring with me to Orientation day? :)

deRanged wrote:
    It's a group work project, designed to give an idea of team/project work in the real world. the group will likely be 5 or 6 people. You'll have to work on a project, from doing up design docs/requirements right through the implementation and delivery.
    There's normally postgrads acting as a helpdesk/customers/whatever we feel like.

If I remember correctly it's in the second term - after christmas.

Yeah, we had a project like that in 2nd year in UL. There were 3 a group though.

Not sure how this will work out for me, I'm not the most sociable person with these things. If it's 5 or 6 people though hopefully each person will have one simple clearly defined function to do with one person in charge of putting it together.

Artemij wrote:
    Some more questions.

1. Is it possible to combine study and part-time job, while getting good results?
    Should be able too, i had plenty of free time in 1st year
    Artemij wrote:
    2. What opportunities you have after you finish this course?
    ask me in about 2 years :)
    Artemij wrote:
    3. What should I bring with me to Orientation day? :)
    nothing should be needed, maybe a bag(to put freebies in) and a pen/paper but nothing important

Will I have much free time in 3rd year? Just so I know what I can and can't do...

Rozie wrote:
    Will I have much free time in 3rd year? Just so I know what I can and can't do...

Tbh most of your free time in third year will be spent on the group project. sucks I know.. but im sure you will find some time to explore cork and ucc!

440Hz wrote:
    Tbh most of your free time in third year will be spent on the group project. sucks I know.. but im sure you will find some time to explore cork and ucc!

Well to be fair it would be more than a bit **** if I didn't. I hope the group project isn't too bad - I can't go straight into a hefty workload, it'll kill me as I'm still not that well at all. Luckily I'm only looking to scrape through.

you won't even have the project before christmas so you should have a decent amount of free time till then. After christmas it's a bit of a rush with exams and heading off on work placement but it should still be ok.

440Hz wrote:
    Colin McCormack :-o my project supervisor in 4th year! It was his first year there but my advice.... RUN AWAY. My project lowered my average so much. I put unreal amounts of effort in and got screwed over by that <insert horrible name here>. Dont do it to yourself.
    I always thought it was the second reader who graded the project, not the supervisor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 justhim

Its both. Its done in consultation. The main aspect is the supervisor, they will be the main judge of your project as they will be able to tell how much work and effort you put into your project. Some supervisors dont mind not being involved, one or two in particular are quiet happy not to have anything to do with it but most love to feel part of the decision making. You definitetly increase your chances of getting high marks by keeping the supervisor involved. Meet with them once every 2 or 3 weeks, they love that crap and it definitely increases your points. If you dont see the supervisor from the start to the finish, your not giving them any reason to back you up with the second marker. That simple! Even if you have nothing to talk about, mention a problem you already solved, that way they give you theyre suggestions and the next time you visit you get to say you fixed it! Its all about getting the best points you can and the final year project is by far and away the easiest source of points you'll ever get!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭mrac

I'm thinking of doing computer science next year and i was just wondering what are the class sizes in ucc and (i know the answers will be biased but..) what if any diffrences are there in quality, material etc between ucc and cit ?

mrac wrote:
    what are the class sizes in ucc

80 in first year, about 40 in 4th year.

as for the second part of your question (and I should point out that I'm in UCC and never even set foot inside CIT) - there's a big difference between the courses. UCC teaches Computer Science, so it's more theory oriented. You'll learn maths, applied maths and statistics as well as the theory of computer science. The idea is that with the strong knowledge of the background and theory you'll be ready to apply it to any practical area or research/academia.

If you want to stay with a practical focus (learn to program or admin networks) I'd say CIT would be better.

I think an important aspect of choosing between the courses is to look to what you want to do after them. Do you want a programming job, or would you like to go on to further education i.e. an msc or Ph.D. Of course, neither course will preclude you from any career path.

Hey, I'm having serious problems with the Multimedia Technology thing. Does the module have a website? If not, what book do you use?

And how do you get into blackboard? I was given a "password" but it doesn't work and I don't know what username to use(have tried everything I could think was relevant, which is why I'm assumin the password doesn't work).

I need to sort this out by tomorrow. Please help...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 justhim

Rozie to access blackboard you user your student number and you pin/password that you use for logging into the student services, and your "@student.ucc.ie" student email account. Its different from the comp sc account so different login. If you can't remember your pin the people in the Computer Center (Boole Basement Open Computer Labs) should be able to get it for you.

I can access blackboard, but not the module, a friend of mine is having the same problem. Does anyone know the lecturer's email?

What's the lecturers name?

Ah, it's okay, I figured it out :) I was clicking something other than "Enroll". Thanks anyway.