Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

06 D Bentley Taxi

• 01-09-2006 3:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭

Driving through Drumcondra last night and saw a 06 D Bentley with
    a Taxi sign on the roof actually it was in Irish TASCAI and who do
    you think was sitting in the back !! Mr Ryan Air himself :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

It has been discussed here before, it's a Chrysler 300c, doesn't even come close to being a Bentley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭ismynametoolong

I know its an old story but he originally had an oul 500 Merc and i suppose it did not look too much out of place but a 06 D Bentley now thats a 2 finger job !! just sorry i couldnt get the phone out quick enough to get a pic !

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I know its an old story but he originally had an oul 500 Merc and i suppose it did not look too much out of place but a 06 D Bentley now thats a 2 finger job !! just sorry i couldnt get the phone out quick enough to get a pic !
    as already said - its not a Bentley!

I also notice from the BBC article:
    A spokesman for the Irish Republic's Taxi Drivers Union accused Mr O'Leary of "making a mockery" of the rules of the road.
    In all fairness, its not hard to make a mockery of the rules of the road!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

Guys .FFS. Get over it .

IT'S a BENTLEY

I've seen it myself in the airport , its not a 300c , I know the differance . I nearly crashed when I saw it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Chrysler 300C and a Bentley for the doubters. (The Chrysler is a taxi/limo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

jaysus them guys parked beside the bentley are brave men. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭jayok

Funny I was on here before and I too spotted it was Bentley. Had the B on the front and all. But alas, everyone was convinced it was a 300C - it was not. It was a Bentley.

I think if it ran some people over here, they still wouldn't believe it was a Bentley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

I have seen it too heading out the N2 from Dublin.

Someone told me it belongs to a fancy hotel for getting the VIPs to and from the Airport in a rush !! makes sense. I wonder will the resale value drop like a stone as it's a PSV ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I saw a Bentley taxi in Harolds Cross. Dunno who was in it.

It was definately a Bentley. I always look twice to check its not a Chrysler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

I'm a FO with Ryanair and after asking around, MOL's car is 100% a Bentley.

Must be why he bleeds me dry every month!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If hailed from the street while not carrying any other passengers, the entrepreneur would be obliged to pick up the customer.

Lets line the streets and keep hailing him then reporting him when he doesnt stop.

Stekelly wrote:
    :D Stekelly Quote:
    Originally Posted by BBC Article
    If hailed from the street while not carrying any other passengers, the entrepreneur would be obliged to pick up the customer.

Lets line the streets and keep hailing him then reporting him when he doesnt stop.

He's chauffer driven, therefore, he is the passenger/fare. When he's not in it the driver simply removes the roof sign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Magown3

FFS lads , is it not possible that there's 2 cars out there...

One's a Bentley, the other's a Crysler..... Easy!!!

Magown3 wrote:
    the other's a Crysler
    There are several Chrysler 300C operating as taxis - not just one!

Big Balls wrote:
    I'm a FO with Ryanair and after asking around, MOL's car is 100% a Bentley.

Must be why he bleeds me dry every month!!! :rolleyes:

here's Mo'L in getting into his CL 500 recently ( Oh how I miss the "here's what I saw today Thread"

img1lr2.jpg

sharkman wrote:
    here's Mo'L in getting into his CL 500 recently ( Oh how I miss the "here's what I saw today Thread"

img1lr2.jpg

The departures road looks deserted there - I've never seen it so quiet (well apart from Christmas Day).

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

The departures road looks deserted there - I've never seen it so quiet (well apart from Christmas Day).
    That looks like the time there was a security alert at the airport when a suspicious looking character sitting in a car was spotted taking pics

Ah Ha , mister O'Leary starts early as do I ..

picture taken : 2006/04/18 06:26:05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭unklerosco

He's chauffer driven, therefore, he is the passenger/fare. When he's not in it the driver simply removes the roof sign

Not all the time, he used to come into my old job to pick up stuff in his car.. always drove himself n always had the plate up.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Its definitely a Bentley, have seen it myself on Drumcondra road a few times.

sharkman wrote:
    Ah Ha , mister O'Leary starts early as do I ..

picture taken : 2006/04/18 06:26:05

6.26 am on the Tuesday following a Bank Holiday Easter Monday would not normally be considered early in Dublin Airport terms.

Many of the staff begin work at 4am and the place is usually very busy from 5am onwards.

6.26 am on the Tuesday following a Bank Holiday Easter Monday would not normally be considered early in Dublin Airport terms.

Many of the staff begin work at 4am and the place is usually very busy from 5am onwards.
    True , and I had 2.5 hours allready done at that stage , However as you can see Mr O'L is there before everyone else .

sharkman wrote:
    True , and I had 2.5 hours allready done at that stage ,

Ah, I see - you were driving a taxi. Apologies.
    (I still think it looks suspiciously quiet :confused:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

does anybody else find it incredibly ironic that the chairman of the Taxi driver's union is accusing someone else of making a mockery of the rules of the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭sk8board

does anybody else find it incredibly ironic that the chairman of the Taxi driver's union is accusing someone else of making a mockery of the rules of the road?

yes, BUT, remember this is the same union that shot every taxi driver in the foot by asking for MORE MORE MORE in 1997; only for tax-avoiding thiefs to be deregulated (yayyyyy!). Now we have 12k taxis in dublin alone, and its easy grab one. Happi days.

sk8board wrote:
    tax-avoiding thiefs

Tax 'avoidance' is perfectly legal. I presume you may mean tax 'evasion' which is a different matter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 frankdrebin

MOL is legend. If I had the money I would do it too.

Someone mentioned the taxi union called it a "mockery". But who cares what they say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The sunday Tribune has a feature on this business.
    THERE is growing concern in the taxi industry that taxi plates are being bought and attached to high-value cars in order to write off massive amounts of tax.

Since deregulation, almost anyone can purchase a taxi plate for an average of 6,300. Between 35 and 40% of the value of a car used as a taxi can be written off over three years. The higher the value of the car, the more money can be written off in tax. A three-litre engine car, like a Bentley, costing around 80,000 would have a massive regain on a tax bill. "On an 80,000 car you could write off over 48,000 over two years, " said Tommy Gorman, president of the National Taxi Drivers' Union, who is aware of the practice. "There are three or four aspects where you would have a big saving, " Gorman said. Other savings can be made on car tax, which stands at 72 a year for taxi drivers, instead of around 1,500 for a luxury car of a normal driver.

Cars with taxi plates can also benefit from beating city traffic by using bus lanes, a practice highlighted when it was discovered that Ryanair chief executive Michael O'Leary had bought a taxi plate for this purpose. "That's a big advantage, but they're breaking the law if they're not actually working as a taxi driver, " Gorman said. There is at least one Bentley using a taxi plate in Dublin, and Gorman says he knows of other cases where wealthy professionals purchase the taxi plates. Plates have dropped massively in value from around 80,000 to just over 6,000 since deregulation. "I've heard of a solicitor in the north Dublin area who puts a roof sign on his car every morning to drive all the way into the city using the bus lanes, " he told the Sunday Tribune.

It is unclear whether people who are buying taxi plates for this purpose are actually using their cars at all as taxis.

"It's definitely not playing from the same deck, " Gorman said. "They wouldn't be welcome in any organisation of ours."

Taxi regulator Ger Deering was more cautious about any abuse that may be occurring. "The Revenue will be looking for the evidence of the business, " he told the Sunday Tribune. "You couldn't write off your tax from an income you didn't have. You would have to show an income. A tax write-off is only good to you if it is against the cost of something.

The tax man is not foolish."

The regulator told the Sunday Tribune that measures to improve customer service and combat fraudulent drivers will be introduced on 25 September. "Coming in to force this month and in the future are a tamper-proof disc which will identify the car as a taxi at all times, as well as permanent in-vehicle information."

Deering will also appoint enforcement officers to ensure that if a driver is not picking up a member of the public, he is refusing to do so because he already has a callout or previous booking, and is not merely driving around under the guise of being a taxi driver. All of these measures will "make it difficult for people who are not genuinely running a business, " Deering said.

A spokesman for the Revenue Commissioner said taxi drivers were eligible to write off 40% of their cars' value as a "wear and tear allowance."

The spokesman said a cash-based business like taxi driving "presents a challenge to Revenue and would be relatively high risk in terms of shadow economy practices although it's important to stress that the vast majority wish to pay their fair share.

"Revenue's strategy in relation to all sectors of the economy, including taxi drivers, is a simple one . . . to promote voluntary compliance, " the spokesman said.

Mike.

A three-litre engine car, like a Bentley, costing around 80,000

Tommy Gorman is talking crap as usual. AFAIK Bentleys have 6.75 litre engines and cost way more than €80,000.

(Is he also confusing them with the Chrysler 300C?):eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Firstly i dont think mick o leary has a bentley or crysler. Secondly i was in Drumcondra on saturday afternoon at around 2pm and the traffic was quite busy and i saw a silver/light colored crysler 300c with taxi plate in irish on top, the driver was dressed like a business man and wasnt mick. Must be a few floating around the city. These guys can write off 40% of the cost of the car EVERY year against their income tax,so a selp employed business man can reduce his tax bill for one of his businesses by buying an expensive vehicle.

i was in Drumcondra on saturday afternoon at around 2pm and the traffic was quite busy and i saw a silver/light colored crysler 300c with taxi plate in irish on top, the driver was dressed like a business man and wasnt mick. Must be a few floating around the city.

The 300C's are everywhere. The second silver one pictured here looks very like a Bentley alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

These guys can write off 40% of the cost of the car EVERY year against their income tax,so a selp employed business man can reduce his tax bill for one of his businesses by buying an expensive vehicle.

40% over 3 years...If it was 40% a year they car would have paid for itself in 2.5 years !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Chryslers design tactic has worked a treat methinks! Cheapo cast-off Merc e class and everyone thinks its a posh car.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

The powers of marketing!

I don't know though, I quite like the look of the 300c...

http://www.cwwcardesign.com/cars/pics/chrysler300coupe.jpg

I'm not sure whether this is a production car, prototype, or one off custom job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭paconnors

Road tax on Taxi only cost €79 per Year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,613 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

sk8board wrote:
    Now we have 12k taxis in dublin alone, and its easy grab one. Happi days.

Make that 31k+ taxis (according to roof sign numbers).

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

how many times is this gonna be brought up..... it's not a bentley, there is photo evidence in the what I saw today thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

esel wrote:
    Make that 31k+ taxis (according to roof sign numbers).
    They use the same numbers nationally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

The is the (or one of the) Chrysler taxis - thats not to say that there is not a Bentley taxi - I have no reason to doubt the people that say they have seen it

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Stekelly wrote:

Taxi drivers are only obliged to stop if their roof light is lit indicating that they are available for hire.

Taxi drivers are only allowed to drive in the Bus Lane if they have a fare on board, or they are on their way to pick up an arranged fare.

There is nothing to stop a taxi driver driving around Dublin with his light off selectively picking up passengers they only like the look of. In fact, after dark, this is what most of them do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

steve06 wrote:
    how many times is this gonna be brought up..... it's not a bentley, there is photo evidence in the what I saw today thread!

IT IS A BENTLEY, I know the difference between a 300C and a Bentley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Magown3

steve06 wrote:

It's gonna be brought up the same amount of times that you refuse to believe that it isn't possible to have 2 different car model taxi's... I mean wtf:rolleyes: .

Some here are sure there's a Bentley taxi around somewhere and I have no reason to doubt them. Stop being so f-ing narrow-minded....

(Maybe this'll be the end of it but somehow I doubt it :rolleyes: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bmoferrall

This may be common knowledge, but Chrysler supply a custom grill for the 300C that's based on the Continental GT. From the front the car could easily be confused with the Bentley. With or without it, the 300C is a beautiful car, and far better looking than the GT.

Not saying there isn't a Bentley out there with a taxi plate.

jay_kay002.jpg

"Who touched my Bentley!"

bmoferrall wrote:
    Chrysler supply a custom grill for the 300C that's based on the Continental GT. From the front the car could easily be confused with the Bentley

Like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bmoferrall

Like this?
    Yeah, that's it alright. On reflection it looks more like the Arnage than the GT

whippet wrote:
    IT IS A BENTLEY, I know the difference between a 300C and a Bentley.
    Well I think everyone has camera phones at this stage so can people take photos.... people seem to get photos of the 300c's but the mysterious bentley seems to get away from everyone! If there is one out there then we're gonna need proof. I think every exotic car in this country has been photographed at some stage and put on boards.

steve06 wrote:
    Well I think everyone has camera phones at this stage so can people take photos.... people seem to get photos of the 300c's but the mysterious bentley seems to get away from everyone! If there is one out there then we're gonna need proof. I think every exotic car in this country has been photographed at some stage and put on boards.

Where is The Porsche Carrera GT??? No photos of it, so that cant exist either , even though there are two on the Island .

1 was said to have been sold by des cullen for 1,000,000 - I saw it when it was in his garage. I never knew there was another one here. Whoever bought it from des cullen probably has is locked up tight.

steve06 wrote:
    1 was said to have been sold by des cullen for 1,000,000 - I saw it when it was in his garage. I never knew there was another one here. Whoever bought it from des cullen probably has is locked up tight.

people on here have seen it , but not got photos .