Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JayZ concert

• 31-08-2006 9:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭

anyone here going to it? ..and anyone know who the support acts are gonna be??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

Not going to it, but a friend is. The support acts are Rhianna and Neyo. As far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭franglan

i'm goin to it. i heard that the two artist mentioned will support him for some of the tour. in an interview jay z said he wanted to bring on tour artists with new albums in the pipeline. would anyone like to see young jeezy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

i wouldn't.

i'd prefer to see Freeway and TruLife on there, although i doubt either of them would be brought along on a world tour, but ya never know, Freeway's got a new album out soon, and no doubt Rocafella will be wanting some promo for that. dunno what the story is with Tru these days though. still on RocLaFamilia last i heard, but haven't heard much from him lately apart from the odd guest track on a mixtape here and there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭PG4000

Green Lantern is the DJ for the tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

Doomspell wrote:
    The support acts are Rhianna and Neyo. .

Oh FFS:rolleyes:

You go to a hip hop concert and end up listening to sH1te pop. THats puttin me off goin now:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

Rhianna and Neyo arent the support acts as they're touring america at the same time. Lupe Fiasco is supporting. I'm looking forward to seeing him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

yeah just read (not in the above post:)) Lupe is supporting him, should be good. He's decent enough I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭DermoMIO

lupe is supporting him in the uk apart from manchester so he might not be supporting him here unless the manchester gig is after our one and rihianna was in the uk alst nite for the mobo;s so u never know if she turns up and lupe doesnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

http://www.myspace.com/rihanna
    http://www.myspace.com/lupefiasco

Check the tour dates. Lupe is supporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

anyone know of anything decent on after the gig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 kevri

rick ross is also supporting with green lantern djing and lupe fiasco + possibly memphis bleek.

regards anything after, the rap ireland afterparty is on in the cavern club (beside radio city and opposite busaras) that will be Hip-Hop/RnB until 2.30/3am adm is 5e with guestlist/advance or 10e on the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Oooo Memphis Bleek and Rick Ross!!And ye had a problem with Ne-Yo...

Heard on the radio that Beyonce will be there tonight. 100% confirmed.

Linoge wrote:
    Heard on the radio that Beyonce will be there tonight. 100% confirmed.

Well, thats 2FM, 100% Bollox:rolleyes:

What did yas think of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭mazroo

I was un impressed... thought it was nothin special ALL.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Busterpuss

i was hugely impressed. had to move from the middle to the back cos all i could see were hands and backs in the middle. couldnt even see the screen.

thought it was the business, he could sh*t on me and i would think its the business tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭peepsbates

loved it, great night:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Yeah it was a brilliant night. He's a class performer, I was in the pit about 10 feet away from him. Its crazy to see him up close! Anyone got any pictures they can upload? Where were the rest of you watching from?

ill put some up when i get em off a mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

he was unreal
    best gig ever
    jay-z is da man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

great ****ing gig, dude rocked the gaff. i got a **** load of footage from the gig i'll stick it up when i get a chance. that "heart of the city" over U2's "bloody sunday was class. shame about the bono intro. oh can somebody please tell me who was that dj that played before jigga came on, think its the same guy who played before kanye too. god he was awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

So who were the special guests? God Id have loved to see Nas at it.

As for false rumours, its part and parcel of Irish gig promotion. Like when Dr Dre was meant to be on holiday in the ould emerald isle and decided to call in to Snoop in the point to sing his halves of G Thang and Next Episode. Or when a bird in work who was going to Take That and got wetter than an otters pockets (judging by her screams and face when it was announced on radio) when the news from a "reliable" source had FM104 prolaiming Robbie Williams would join them.

I hate the media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭fermoyboy

Wouldn't be a massive Hip Hop fan but was really impressed by Jay Z the other night, he put on a good show. I was in the pit so was able to watch it in comfort and enjoyed it.

Anyone else get annoyed at every gig they go to in Ireland when that stupid 'Ole Ole' starts up??? Wrecks my head

Jay Ru wrote:
    that "heart of the city" over U2's "bloody sunday was class. shame about the bono intro. QUOTE]

I thought that was absolutely awful. In agreement that Bono's intro was absolute crap also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

David19 wrote:
    Rhianna and Neyo arent the support acts as they're touring america at the same time. Lupe Fiasco is supporting. I'm looking forward to seeing him.

whoops!

I got my pictures back today, they came out completely $h1t. Really dark. And before anyone asks, yes I did have the flash on. I bought the camera off a fella selling them off the street outside. Maybe they were just bad quality. A bit pissed off now, but what can ya do.

Eamon Sweeney gave the gig an awful review today in the Indy,not that I expect anything else from the Irish media.However,I have heard Jigga is supposed to be pretty weak live.What were his support like?I know Nas turned up for a gig in Germany with Jigga.

fermoyboy wrote:
    Anyone else get annoyed at every gig they go to in Ireland when that stupid 'Ole Ole' starts up??? Wrecks my head

big time
    i fcukin hate it

Orizio wrote:
    Eamon Sweeney gave the gig an awful review today in the Indy,not that I expect anything else from the Irish media.However,I have heard Jigga is supposed to be pretty weak live.What were his support like?I know Nas turned up for a gig in Germany with Jigga.

anyone who gave that gig an awful review doesnt have a clue what they are talking about
    where did you here he was weak live???
    any live performances ive seen have been excellent

it was a fuppin great show, jay played a stormer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I repeat AD nausueam

WHO THE **** SUPPORTED????

Was Bono there on stage? Fair play, seeing as U2 have treated their Irish fans 2nd to the American fans pretty much since they hit the big time.......

lupe fiasco & rick ross provided support and that terrible dj (don't know who he is) bono wasn't on stage it was a recorded video message!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭chief_stains

Gig was excellent, the ole ole's were a freaking joke, DJ before was terrible he even threw a bit of Blur in for good measure, Rick Ross was unimpressive - was hoping for him and JayZ to do the Hustlin' remix, Memph Bleek sounds more and more like a 14 yr old girl - and i only managed to get one decent pic on my phone...

photo0229xg8.jpg

Does anyone know if he'll be coming back to Ireland? And it was being recoreded, anyone know if it will be on sale on DVD?

don't know if it will be on any dvd. the same set is available on the dvd "fade to black" its the same concert recorded in m.s.g. but with a hell of a lot more guests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

I was therem in the pit, savage night out

never even planned on goin, jus saw 2 tickets on eBay for 30 so tot, wth, good way t spend a Tuesday night

But where the fvck was Beyoncé????

Lupé was legend, the rest were good, but i dodnt know any of em, and that english rapper was a bit bleh

got loads of deadly fotos, but my comp is sheet so cant transfer em

grrrrrr arrrgh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Busterpuss

abetarrush wrote:

QUOTE]

supposedly there, people were saying they saw her at the side of the stage, dont know if this is true, but seein as she appeared with him the next night in london i dont see why she couldnt come out in ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Riceomatic

My videos:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=8222101355283964888&hl=en

Click "from user" on the right hand side...still have a few left to upload

Busterpuss wrote:
    abetarrush wrote:

QUOTE]

supposedly there, people were saying they saw her at the side of the stage, dont know if this is true, but seein as she appeared with him the next night in london i dont see why she couldnt come out in ireland.

maybe she didnt want to spoil ticket sales for june???

disgrace she appeared at the english gigs and not over here
    boycott her own gig next summer i say ;)

disgrace she appeared at the english gigs and not over here

erm, you for real?!? I'm glad she didn't come out. Wha would that have done for the gig, nothing. I went to see Jay-Z not freaking her. Would have been a different story if it were Nas, Beans etc. So to call it a disagrace, i dunno, maybe you're the disgrace...

some people wanted to see beyonce, she shouldnt have appeared at the english gigs and not here imo. maybe open your tiny little mind to the fact that what you wanted to see isnt the be all and end all :mad:

Calm down everybody.Personal Attacks are against the forum rules.Suspensions will be handed out and all of that.

Riceomatic wrote:
    My videos:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=8222101355283964888&hl=en

Click "from user" on the right hand side...still have a few left to upload

thanks mate great vids much apreciated

any1 have audio to him rapping over the u2 instrumentals ?

i have it on my camcorder, will post the vid as soon as i get it up'd

some people wanted to see beyonce, she shouldnt have appeared at the english gigs and not here imo. maybe open your tiny little mind to the fact that what you wanted to see isnt the be all and end all

She can do what she likes, why shouldn't she appear in England and not here? You went to a Jay-Z gig fella, get your tickets for Beyonce and off ye go.

Jay Ru wrote:
    i have it on my camcorder, will post the vid as soon as i get it up'd

thanks ill rip it off that then :)

bumping this for jay ru to post up bloddy sunday/heart of war if he can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Hub

mdwexford wrote:
    some people wanted to see beyonce, she shouldnt have appeared at the english gigs and not here imo. maybe open your tiny little mind to the fact that what you wanted to see isnt the be all and end all :mad:

Thats pretty simple to answer. There is more money to be made in england due to the higher population. Its that simple. Beyonce is all about the commercialism...