Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do in DCU?

• 30-08-2006 2:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭

Im gonna be startin 1st year CA this year and was just wonderin whats there to do in ur spare time and all that. Any tips? Or any good clubs/societies to join? Any info? :D xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Pez wrote:
    Im gonna be startin 1st year CA this year and was just wonderin whats there to do in ur spare time and all that. Any tips? Or any good clubs/societies to join? Any info? :D xxx
    American football club is a good laugh. Lots of socialising, games are pretty good too (see below)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lWqmgUpYaLk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Darz0re

My degree seems to be sitting in the bar, passed all those exams this year.
    unfortunatly they where the only exams i passed this year!

I`m a member of redbrick and thats about it, i`m to lazy for everything else and fear becoming a SU head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Oh please god be a girl if your posting "xxx"s.

There are lots of great clubs and socs in DCU. It really depends on what you're interested in yourself.

There's everything from rugby, to caving. Liverpool supporters club to An Cumann Gaelach. You'll be swamped with info within the first couple of weeks. I'd suggest joining Redbrick if you're going to be doing CA.

There are events run thorughout the year both by the Students' Union and by various clubs and socs. It's really up to you what you get up to, if you want to get stuck in and go to loads of events etc. then you'll have a great time. If you just want to sit back and wait for things to come to you then that probably wont happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Pez

Amz wrote:
    Oh please god be a girl if your posting "xxx"s.

haha yes i'm a girl :)
    what is redbrick? i went on the site there but i dont understand it lol.. computer systems?

the societies sound good! any one got info on the dance society or basketball lol :D xxx

Redbrick is how i got to know a lot of people in DCU

(havent decided if thats a good or a bad thing yet)

its a computer networking soc, but provides email, chat, webspace and many other services to theyre members

well worth 4 euro

thedara wrote:
    Redbrick is how i got to know a lot of people in DCU

(havent decided if thats a good or a bad thing yet)

its a computer networking soc, but provides email, chat, webspace and many other services to theyre members

well worth 4 euro

o rite! so you pay 4 euro for the year? to use the pc's?

ehhhh... no.

you pay 4 euro for the year to be a member of any soc.
    its how they generate revenue.

the 4e you pay redbrick is so that you can connect to redbrick and use its services, its hard to explain in one post and i dont wanna sound condesending or anything as i dont know how much you know about computers

but in very basic terms, redbrick is one computer (at the moment its called murphy) and you connect your computer to it via a program callerd putty.

and from that program you can talk in chatrooms, IM people you know, make a website, host pictures, and it even has a simple version of boards.ie called "the boards" (original i know)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

Pez wrote:
    no, 4 euro for your webspace, email, etc

All the clubs and societies cost 4 euro each per year to join.

Edit: beat me to it Dara....

thedara wrote:
    ehhhh... no.

you pay 4 euro for the year to be a member of any soc.
    its how they generate revenue.

the 4e you pay redbrick is so that you can connect to redbrick and use its services, its hard to explain in one post and i dont wanna sound condesending or anything as i dont know how much you know about computers

but in very basic terms, redbrick is one computer (at the moment its called murphy) and you connect your computer to it via a program callerd putty.

and from that program you can talk in chatrooms, IM people you know, make a website, host pictures, and it even has a simple version of boards.ie called "the boards" (original i know)

oh good grief.. i am very confused lol! :eek: :eek: thank u tho ill try and understand it :o i should prob wait til i get there and it might make more sense haha

just find simon on clubs and socs day and annoy him with a million and one questions!! its very entertaining and you get anwsers at the same time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robnubis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

basically the only craic in DCU is in the clubs and socs. If its something main stream and not a sport, there's bound to be a soc for. Then there's a whole rake of sports clubs. I Play with the rugby club and there's plenty of craic in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

thedara wrote:
    just find simon on clubs and socs day and annoy him with a million and one questions!! its very entertaining and you get anwsers at the same time!!
    You people annoying me is one thing, I don't need any more. :D

Ah Redbrick, as Dara said its one of those things that hard to describe.

Basically you get...
    -another email address with far more storage than your regular DCU account
    -lots of online storage so you can make your own website and save files online
    -chatrooms full of other dcu people
    -tutorials on how to use all of the features of Redbrick as well as other topics such as making your own website etc...
    -other nights out organised such as beers in town, ice skating at christmas, Comedy nights in Temple Bar etc...

These things can be done from anywhere with an internet connection. To be honest when I first joined I thought it was meh but once the Christmas hols came and I went home for the few weeks I really got into it as it helped me stay in touch properly with all the people I had met both in my course and outside it. Its definitly worth the €4.

Outside of that I'm not going to play favourites with the clubs and socities, most of them are self explanitory. If you see a soc/club in something you enjoy or even think you might enjoy during Clubs & Socities Day then join it, go to some of their events and then make your mind up if you want to continue going, its only €4 and its the only way to find out if you'll enjoy it. :)

Oh and if you don't know what Clubs & Socs Day is, well basically its two days set aside over Freshers Week where all the Clubs & Socs in the college setup stalls and try and get you to join. You can find out all you want from them on the day as they try and lure you in. :D

Heres a list of all socs and clubs

SOCS:

AIESEC
    Accounting and Finance
    An Cumann Gaelach
    Anime and Manga
    Art
    Astronomy
    Bangladesh
    Biological Research
    Boost
    Celtic Supporters
    Chinese
    Christian Union
    College View
    Dance
    Debating
    Drama
    Eclectic Music
    Economosoc
    Electronic Music
    European Business
    Family Guy
    Fianna Fail
    Film
    Fine Gael
    Fotosoc
    GAISCE
    Gaelic Club Men
    Games
    German
    Globalinks Tandem
    Islamic
    Japanese
    Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender
    Labour
    Law Society
    Led Zeppelin
    Liverpool Supporters
    Macgyver
    MathsMechanical Engineering
    Media Production Society
    Murder She Wrote
    Music
    Nursing
    One World
    Poker
    Postgrad
    Publications
    RedBrick
    STOCS
    Science and Technology
    Sinn Fein
    Sport Science and Health
    St Vincent De Paul
    Strange Things
    Style
    Traditional Music
    Youth 2000
    ultrasound
    Club
    Aikido

CLUBS:

American Football
    Archery
    Athletics
    Badminton
    Basketball Men
    Basketball Women
    Camogie
    Canoe
    Caving
    Cricket
    Dodge Ball
    Equestrian
    Fencing
    Gaelic Club Women
    Goalball
    Golf
    Gymnastics
    Handball
    Hiking
    Hurling
    Judo
    Karate
    Karting
    Kick Boxing
    Kung Fu
    Ladies Hockey
    Ladies Soccer
    Martial Arts
    Mens Hockey
    Mens Rugby
    Mens Soccer
    Olympic Handball
    Orienteering
    Paintball
    Pool & Snooker
    Rock Climbing
    Rowing
    Sailing
    Snowboarding
    Squash
    Sub Aqua
    Swimming/Waterpolo
    Table Tennis
    Taekwon Do
    Tennis
    Ultimate Frisbee
    Volleyball
    Windsurfing
    Women Rugby
    Yoga

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

GavMan wrote:
    basically the only craic in DCU is in the clubs and socs. If its something main stream and not a sport, there's bound to be a soc for. Then there's a whole rake of sports clubs. I Play with the rugby club and there's plenty of craic in it
    Gav, we've talked about this, the craic you're talking about is spelled "crack".

CuLT wrote:
    Gav, we've talked about this, the craic you're talking about is spelled "crack".

I was going to ask.. but have since decided that it would be better if i didnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Darren1o1

Pez wrote:

I'd say try something totally new. Don't get sucked in like most first yrs and join 10 clubs or socs. Try limit it to 3-4 max.

CuLT wrote:

I am the CRAIC in DCU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

haha..im going to be doing this course as well.. :D

Very interested in doing the "games society" and like the way they have lan partys every now and again :)

How and when do you sign up for these societies??

IgsTer wrote:
    haha..im going to be doing this course as well.. :D

Very interested in doing the "games society" and like the way they have lan partys every now and again :)

How and when do you sign up for these societies??

you doing comp apps? :)
    theres a clubs/society day where u can sign up so i believe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Ok, for starters, dont join Redbrick unless you like Linux and Ugly people, because thats all Redbrick is, I did CA and I never joined, purely because the people are too ugly. Why would you party with ugly people?

Pez wrote:
    you doing comp apps? :)
    theres a clubs/society day where u can sign up so i believe :D

Yeah i am :D ..are you doing the access by any chance ?

Alri ye i know what ya mean...should learn more about it when were in the college :)

IgsTer wrote:
    Yeah i am :D ..are you doing the access by any chance ?

Alri ye i know what ya mean...should learn more about it when were in the college :)

haha yeah prob
    no im not lol are u?
    Draupnir wrote:
    Ok, for starters, dont join Redbrick unless you like Linux and Ugly people, because thats all Redbrick is, I did CA and I never joined, purely because the people are too ugly. Why would you party with ugly people?
    haha im sure theyre not allll ugly :D

Possibly not, but the ugly ones all form a barricade around the remotely eye pleasing one and protect her like their queen.

In fairness, Redbrick is probably good craic if you are into that kind of thing and you want to get to meet loads of people, I had plenty of friends who were big into it and had a ball with Redbrick. I wasnt being very serious with the whole "UGLY" thing, sorry.

Probably the best thing going for Redbrick is MUD, do they still have the MUD I wonder, man do I long to remort just one more time!

Draupnir wrote:
    Possibly not, but the ugly ones all form a barricade around the remotely eye pleasing one and protect her like their queen.

In fairness, Redbrick is probably good craic if you are into that kind of thing and you want to get to meet loads of people, I had plenty of friends who were big into it and had a ball with Redbrick. I wasnt being very serious with the whole "UGLY" thing, sorry.

Probably the best thing going for Redbrick is MUD, do they still have the MUD I wonder, man do I long to remort just one more time!

HAHAHA!!! i dont wanna meet weirdos lol! i dont really understand the whole redbrick thing.. and wats MUD? sounds.. interesting lol

yeah i am..haveta stay on campus for a week starting this sunday :(

learning bout the course and stuff i think..gonna be a if there is a good few peeps there ..

everyone on the access is staying in the dcu apartments..should be good..try get some good late nights in.. :D

awww that sounds deadly!! :D u a girl or a boy btw? lol

Pez wrote:
    HAHAHA!!! i dont wanna meet weirdos lol! i dont really understand the whole redbrick thing.. and wats MUD? sounds.. interesting lol

Well, the Redbrick crowds arent really weirdos, because you know exactly what you are getting with them, Computer Nerds who like to drink. Cant say fairer than that really.

You dont want to know what MUD is, I almost failed second year over MUD!

You'll enjoy DCU, trust me, just dont be nervous and chat to people on the first couple of days when the groups start forming

Draupnir wrote:
    Well, the Redbrick crowds arent really weirdos, because you know exactly what you are getting with them, Computer Nerds who like to drink. Cant say fairer than that really.

You dont want to know what MUD is, I almost failed second year over MUD!

You'll enjoy DCU, trust me, just dont be nervous and chat to people on the first couple of days when the groups start forming

computer nerds... lol hmmm no thnx :D ah ill see when i get there lol
    Ye ill b really nervous ill prob just stand there and look like a fool lol! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

Go with Karting club.. great fun.. especially weekend away in galway or kilkenny.. get the adreneline pumping

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Pez wrote:

4 euro jebus i remember when the socs where 2 pounds!

Haha. A female like yourself I joined the tag rugby team, the climbing team and redbrick.

Just go around on clubs and socs day and take a look at all your options then decide.

Have a brilliant time.

TheGooner wrote:
    4 euro jebus i remember when the socs where 2 pounds!

Haha. A female like yourself I joined the tag rugby team, the climbing team and redbrick.

Just go around on clubs and socs day and take a look at all your options then decide.

Have a brilliant time.

haha yeah! i'll have a look round!!
    thank u :D

Pez wrote:
    awww that sounds deadly!! :D u a girl or a boy btw? lol

yeah it sounds like it could be good alri..we'll just have ta see..hopefully it will :D

haha Im a boy :D ..wonder is there many other girls doing the Comp apps course.. :rolleyes:

.............and I feel old.

Didn't take long :(

IgsTer wrote:
    yeah it sounds like it could be good alri..we'll just have ta see..hopefully it will :D

haha Im a boy :D ..wonder is there many other girls doing the Comp apps course.. :rolleyes:

haha yeh i havent really heard of many other girls doing it... scared ... :eek:

GavMan wrote:
    I am the CRAIC in DCU

he is the craic, if its the same person i think it is

Pez wrote:
    haha yeh i havent really heard of many other girls doing it... scared ... :eek:

loads of girls do CA ull be fine!

I did multimedia and that year guys where the minority!!!

Draupnir...I mean seriously...MUD? :p

You shouldn't have a such a low opinion of Redbrick, I mean really, thedara and are in it, 'nuff said to be honest. Then again we could just be the exceptions that prove the rule but who am I to comment... :D

Yup IgsTer, the Games Soc is great craic. I've been a member since first year and am going onto my third year on the committee itself. We have plans, big plans for the year. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Finch*

GO KARTING!!!!! I'M THERE!!!

oh and i suppose seeing as i'm doing CA it's probably a good choice to get on with this redbrick shenanigan ey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭neGev

Finch* wrote:
    GO KARTING!!!!! I'M THERE!!!

oh and i suppose seeing as i'm doing CA it's probably a good choice to get on with this redbrick shenanigan ey?

Not if you value your life, no.

Tiddlywinks ftfw!

Finch* wrote:
    That'd be a yes. :)

18 Days till the Old Bar opens!!!

*counts down*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Join Pokersoc!!
    That is all

thedara wrote:
    18 Days till the Old Bar opens!!!

*counts down*

alco.

Think i'll join karting if i can get some of my useless friends to join too

what happened to snowboarding??

you change your mind more than a woman does.

haha..ye gizmo it sounds good..although all i can see everywere is to do with cs...now ive never played it but ive played games like it and i dont like the way if you die, you die and dont re-spawn..i rather games wwere you keep re spawning..like enemy teritory..etc any chance yous be playing ET quake wars when it comes out.. :D

phreak wrote:
    Think i'll join karting if i can get some of my useless friends to join too
    Now all you need to do is join a Friends Soc to get some...

IgsTer, yep CS was a focus over the last year since it was one of the more popular and it ran on pretty much any machine it was put on. This year however, we'll be focusing on alot more games so you're guarenteed to find one you like. And yes, I for one and really looking forward to Quake Wars. :D

gizmo wrote:
    Now all you need to do is join a Friends Soc to get some...
    Find someone elses apartment to stay in this weekend... because you're not staying in mine![SIZE=-2]
    [/SIZE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Finch*

oh! Snowboarding, i love boardin'!
    i'm definately joining go-karting and snowboarding!!

gamesoc should stick to CS :D

Finch* wrote:
    gamesoc should stick to CS :D

Quoted for truth