Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Before the anti-dublin crowd come let me say this...

• 27-08-2006 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

Hard luck to dublin.

Now, i'll admit that i too had got a bit annoyed with the media the way theyve portrayed this dublin team and how some felt it was dublins right to be in the all ireland final and take part in the first dublin kerry final for 21 yeats. But after watching todays game my feelings towards dublin have changed.

Both teams played excellently, and, being a hurling man, i havent seen a football game like that in many years. I know the dubs will feel like crap at the moment and i know how they feel. Ive seen waterford lose 4 semi finals in 8 years. And if i came on here after one of those matches and read people rub our faces in it i'd be pretty disgusted.

So hopefully, the anti dublin army can think about how the dublin fans are feeling at the moment before they write their comments on here, but also hopefully the dubs will take their defeat with grace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

deise59 wrote:
    Hard luck to dublin.

Now, i'll admit that i too had got a bit annoyed with the media the way theyve portrayed this dublin team and how some felt it was dublins right to be in the all ireland final and take part in the first dublin kerry final for 21 yeats. But after watching todays game my feelings towards dublin have changed.

Both teams played excellently, and, being a hurling man, i havent seen a football game like that in many years. I know the dubs will feel like crap at the moment and i know how they feel. Ive seen waterford lose 4 semi finals in 8 years. And if i came on here after one of those matches and read people rub our faces in it i'd be pretty disgusted.

So hopefully, the anti dublin army can think about how the dublin fans are feeling at the moment before they write their comments on here, but also hopefully the dubs will take their defeat with grace.

Thanks. Well said. The better team won but my heart is broken, such is GAA. :(

Yep. As I said in the other thread, I'm sad that we're out but that was the best game I've ever seen. Now, fast forward to 2007 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Some match! Fair play to Mayo. Hard luck to Dublin though. Just hope if Mayo play like that in all-ireland Kerry can match it:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

I would be first to rub salt in the wound but that match was so good it would be an insult to the game.

Well done Mayo and hard luck Dublin, couldnt ask for more off the teams or players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Gabbo

Gutted we lost but thats football. I knew Mayo would put it up to us alright but never saw a performance like that coming. It's the same every year though the media spin a load of hype around the Dublin team. The genuine Dublin supporters have no control over this but seem to get it rubbed in our faces when we do lose. I'd rather the hype wasn't there although to be fair you couldn't blame them on making Dublin favourites before this game. Ah well hopefully we can learn a lot from today and come back stronger next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

I'd love to see the Caterpillar's blackboard after that one :)

On the original point, great game, but I don't think Dublin and their true supporters will want to be pitied tonight. They always took their beatings well (as Colm O'Rourke said before the game). Unlike Mayo funny enough......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

We were beaten, but what a match. The best match of the year. Very few latecomers and no one was leaving early. Now the hunt for my All-Ireland Football Final ticket begins. I hope Mayo go the whole way now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Lads am totally gutted.

Fair balls to mayo they didnt give up and came behind from 7 points down whereas most teams would hae had the head down and had no hope

Cant say anymore except all the best to mayo in the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

This is a photo I took of the lead up to Dublin's second goal, just before the pass to Jayo is made.
    DubGoal.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,080 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I'm a Dub supporter with Mayo family connections and even though I was cheering for Dublin today I was happy that Mayo won the way they did. So much heart and determination was shown.

Mayo have gotten so close so many times in the last 10 years or so.
    They really deserve to go all the way.
    I think it was the 50's the last time Mayo won the all Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭sweeneytodd

Sitting in the Canal End and watching what unfolded before my eyes yesterday was one of the most enjoyable experiences of my life (so far). I've watched Mayo play in Crokers many times but feel yesterday's performance outweighs any previous encounters. The strength the players shown to come from 7 points down was remarkable. Dublin did put up a good fight but (& I think most people would agree) the better team won on the day. Contrary to many peoples beliefs, this was never going to be a one sided affair. Dublin may have been the bookies favourite but that really was only based on media hype. Dublin had never really been challenged this year (before yesterday). I was delighted to take 3/1 from the bookies in a 2 horse race :D

Some people are calling this the best game this championship and I would agree because bar a brutal tackle on Ronan McGarrity the game displayed excellent control & terrific ball play. The Mayo men done us proud yesterday and all we ask is that they repeat it again in 3 weeks time against Kerry and finally bring Sam West after it's 55 year absence. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I'm just back this minute from Dubin after having a few beverages:)

Without any exception the Dubs were brilliant after the game, they were gutted, but took the defeat very well.

Was in The Sunnybank, and so were the Dublin team, and the Dubs really made it a great night with their generosity and goodwill.

Yesterday is a day I'll remeber as long as I live, it was just absolutely incredible, pulsating, tumultuous.... can't describe how good that game was.

Well played Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

To be honest I would much rather lose in a match like the Mayo V Dublin match, then win in a match like the Westmeath V Dublin match.

My heart was in my mouth the entire time yesterday, and I seriously didn't think we would lose, right up until they blew the final whistle - I really thought we would pull level.

I am heart broken to see the lads come so far and walk away empty handed, but it was one hell of a game and I am truly glad I was in the Hill to witness it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Totally gutted here this morning. NEarly sick when I think back of that 7 point lead we threw away. But in fairness, we didn't throw it away... Mayo came in and grabbed it from us. They deserved it because they worked harder for 73mins. We only played for around 20 at most yesterday, and this has been out problem all season. Consistancy - lack of.
    Well done Mayo. I just hope you are a good match for Kerry.
    And Dublin.... we'll keep dreaming for another year. Hard luck lads, but thanks for an amazing Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,055 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Congratulations Mayo. Will be one of the all time great matches. Due to work commitments I had to make do with listening to it on the truck radio. I was exhausted at the end of it. Go all the way now in the final. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Thanks for the reminder that it was a great game.

No shame in admitting I am gutted. A game we should not have lost and probably deserved a draw. A bit unlucky at the end not to get a score, but thats sport.

Good luck to Mayo in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭missmatty

I'm living in Dublin eleven years and from Mayo and I'm thrilled. I was the first one to say that Dublin would bury them but I didn't see that one coming! The best match i've ever seen Mayo play. I've been pretty down on them the last few yrs, was in Drumcondra watching the last final they played and was embarrassed really. But i'll take it all back if they do it this year....finally??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

finally bring Sam West after it's 55 year absence. :D:D

A Lillywhite with amnesia, surely you mean West after a 5 year absence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭delanest

I'm in the gutted brigade too. Fair play to Mayo for having the heart to come back like that, showed heart. In saying that taught the Mayo lads let them selves down holding up play so many times. Standing in the hill, watching them roll around killing the clock was horrible to watch, ref played right into their hands - really poor performance by him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

delanest wrote:
    I'm in the gutted brigade too. Fair play to Mayo for having the heart to come back like that, showed heart. In saying that taught the Mayo lads let them selves down holding up play so many times. Standing in the hill, watching them roll around killing the clock was horrible to watch, ref played right into their hands - really poor performance by him

And Dublin wouldn't of done the same if it was the other way round......
    Thats sport...

Thought the ref was poor though, on numerous occasions when both midfields caught kick outs and then were suffocated by opposition players and couldn't move, he gave frees against the player that caught the ball, i know there is alot of debate over this rule which i think is awful, but my point is that on other occasions when it happened he gave a free against the players that were blanketing the man with the ball....

Just stick to your guns is what i think, whatever your interpretation of the rule is

delanest wrote:
    taught the Mayo lads let them selves down holding up play so many times. Standing in the hill, watching them roll around killing the clock was horrible to watch, ref played right into their hands - really poor performance by him

Well, that's your point of view, but I thought the ref gave Mayo absolutely zero for that game except for a free towards the end which Mortimer missed.

The reason he gave that soft free (after a hop ball) is because he obviously knew he had missed Whelan's dig at Brady when he was on the ground, not to mention the fact that he should also sent Whelan off.... so I think complaining about the referee is pretty ridiculous really.

I think the moving of Shane Ryan to the backs was a mistake by the Dublin management team.

Mayo deserved the victory, and were marginally the better team, but Dublin always had a menacing goal threat..... it was an incredible game. of football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,605 ✭✭✭patmac

Great game, Dublin earned a lot of respect for the quality of their football (Ciaran Whelan excepted) Brogan was immense and should have got man of the match, but Mayo wanted it more which seems to be the case in a lot of the games I have watched recently either club or championship. I thought it was a bad day for the Dublin management team who should have got the Dublin team to warm up in front of the canal end instead of getting involved in the skirmishes in front of the Hill especially Caffrey who didn't do himself any favours yesterday compounded by the fact that he took Shane Ryan off at a crucial time.
    From a Dublin perspective they gave Mayo a 4 point start (due to the Hill schmozzle?) then played excellent football for 35 minutes outscoring Mayo 2-11 0-6, before succumbing to an inspired Mayo comeback, if they can improve their consistency (the other 35 minutes the score was 0-1 to 1-10) they could be very strong next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭sweeneytodd

mickd wrote:
    A Lillywhite with amnesia, surely you mean West after a 5 year absence.

Apolgies mickd, didn't intend to discredit Galway's easy win over Meath in 2001. Should have said ' Sam's return to Mayo'

P.S. I'm no lillywhite - Mayo man through & through !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Blackjack

It was an immense game of football, and to be honest apart from Whelan not being sent off, I though he had a good game. There were a few occasions when a player on the ground did not release the ball and he gave the free to the possessing team (usually Dublin) but that is indeed a contentious rule anyway.

I really did not see that result coming and thought Dublin would be too much on the day. I really though it was going to be a disaster when we went 7 points down, but I should have had more faith in the current team. I have reminders of Tyrone 2004 when we were written off that day too. Brolly and O'Rourke were remarkably complimentary of Mayo after the game, with O'Rourke saying it was one of the best games he'd ever seen.

Have already booked my travel to Dublin for the weekend of the final, just need to get me a ticket now!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Apolgies mickd, didn't intend to discredit Galway's easy win over Meath in 2001. Should have said ' Sam's return to Mayo'

P.S. I'm no lillywhite - Mayo man through & through !!

Your from Mayo we will let you off this time :D . Fair play to Moran and the team had that been in Maughan's time the heads would have dropped and the ball would have gone everywhere except between the posts. Now on to banish deamons and defeat Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Goalpost hater

Well played to both teams. I was on the Hill and enjoyed the match but am well browned off with the result. Only a fraction of how the players and management team are feeling this morning. Heroes one and all.

Maybe next year.

I think it's now time to drop the "when the Dubs go up to lift the Sam Maguire" tune at this stage. Cringeworthy stuff.

It's also time to take the watch from the referee. It's a hard enough job refereeing without having to figure out how long 3 additional minutes lasts.

It's also time the linesmen helped the referee by ensuring that free's awarded on the line are taken from the correct position and not 15 yards in on the pitch.

Good luck to Mayo in the final I really hope you win. Mac Donald deserves an All Ireland now. He killed us yesterday and IMO is a true football genius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭starman100

Culchie wrote:

Without any exception the Dubs were brilliant after the game, they were gutted, but took the defeat very well.

Anyone listening to Galway Bay FM around 9:30 this morning? Thay phoned up this guy called John Doyle who is apparently the secretary of Dublin GAA Supporters Club - he admitted he was the one screamin obscenities during the game from the Hill (the guy with the warpaint on TV I think).

According to him , Mayo should be thrown of the championship for deciding to warm up in front of Hill 16! He reckons the Dubs own the Hill and some Dubin fella by the name of O'Toole paid for building Croke Park originally, also the rubble from 1916 was used during construction, blah, blah - basically Mayo broke the unwritten rule.

What a load of cobblers! He's selling his mobile home in Ballinrobe, good riddance I say.

Of course most of the Dublin fans will accept what happened yesterday and move on but there's always one................

Mayo could have had Hill tickets if they wanted, but they requested all stand tickets. Most regular GAA match goers from outside of Dublin prefer to sit than stand. Mayo wanting warm up in front of the Dublin fans is just silly buggers stuff. Done for one reason and one reason only, to annoy the Dublin team and fans. Dublin had no choice but to go down that end as well. Its not like its the first time its ever happened. And each time it had no impact on the game. A big hullabaloo over nothing.

I was more disappointed with the many of the Mayo players refusing to shake hands with their Dublin counterparts when offered, prior to the throw-in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

You were more disappointed with Mayo not shaking hands were you? As a Dub you should be a lot more disappointed with your managers attitude prior to throw in. Who does this amadán think he is?

Just two incidents marred a fantastic advert for football yesterday. Both team served up one of the best games I've seen in my lifetime. Caffreys pathetic attempt to shoulder the Mayo mentor was nothing short of stupidity and should earn him a ban for a few games. That stupidity could have escalated into a riot and I hope the GAA come down heavy on this idiot. There's no need to even go into the Whelan incident.

Having said that I cannot praise both sets of players (almost) enough for a wonderful afternoons entertainment.

Dublin had no choice but to go down that end as well. Its not like its the first time its ever happened.

I was more disappointed with the many of the Mayo players refusing to shake hands with their Dublin counterparts when offered, prior to the throw-in.

What was wrong with the Canal end?. Seriously, what right do Dublin have to command the Hill end of the pitch when they've lost the coin-toss?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

Awwwww man, totally and utterly gutted.

What a match. What a comeback. Fair play to both sets of players for a nerve jangling exhibition of football, always so many ifs and buts in a one point game, argh, it was pure agony watching that lead be clawed back and then passed.

I'd like to say hard luck to the Dublin panel and thank them for a great summer's entertainment. Pillar will have some job picking them up again for next year.

As for Mayo, I hope yez go on to lift Sam. After all the discussion last week McDonald's last point for Mayo was sheer quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

Sick we lost. But as most have already said, the best team won and Mayo now deserve to go all the way - and I hope they do. They showed true spirit to come back against Dublin at 'home' with such support.

I think it's actually best that Dublin were stopped at this stage so we can build on our strengths for next year and beyond rather than winning this year and fading out after the glory. We made dramatic progress this year over previous years with the physical strength and fitness of the team showing through.

We'll have our day. This year it's for someone else. Best of luck Mayo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Well played to both teams. I was on the Hill and enjoyed the match but am well browned off with the result. Only a fraction of how the players and management team are feeling this morning. Heroes one and all.

Maybe next year.

I think it's now time to drop the "when the Dubs go up to lift the Sam Maguire" tune at this stage. Cringeworthy stuff.

It's also time to take the watch from the referee. It's a hard enough job refereeing without having to figure out how long 3 additional minutes lasts.

It's also time the linesmen helped the referee by ensuring that free's awarded on the line are taken from the correct position and not 15 yards in on the pitch.

Good luck to Mayo in the final I really hope you win. Mac Donald deserves an All Ireland now. He killed us yesterday and IMO is a true football genius.

Also time for video evidence so players like whelan get what they deserve.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

And each time it had no impact on the game

Didnt they lose the match?

As said before Dublin do not own croke park so what right do they have to go to the Hill end all the time. It annoyed them and cost them 4 early points.

It could have been worse as Whealen was pissed off and should have gotten a red card for his assault *cough* tackle..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

No disrespect to Mayo, and I do believe they deserved to win, but the Dubs were atrocious and any team who can only score one point in 25 mins, don't deserve s**t. When are Dublin going to start taking players off the field who continually kick the ball wide. It's a disgrace but Dublin should be able to field 10 teams good enough to beat Mayo and Laois and Offaly etc etc. It's the whole set up that's the problem. Guys who have less than a 50% score rate being selected week in week out. It's time that Dublin staretd to wield the axe on these guys. I'm sick of us settling for Leinster titles with poxy die hard wins over teams like Laois who we should be comfortably beating. One other thing, what is this mentality from some of our players who feel they have to kick the bloody ball miles in the air in order for it to go over the bar. What the hell is that about?

Fair play to Mayo, you thoroughly deserved it. I think Kerry will win without breaking too much of a sweat. I'll be rooting for Mayo however. I'm just glad I don't have to watch my county embarrass themselves had they made it to the final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

walshb wrote:
    I'm sick of us settling for Leinster titles with poxy die hard wins over teams like Laois who we should be comfortably beating.

I'm just glad I don't have to watch my county embarrass themselves had they made it to the final

I think your being a little harsh here. I don't think any member of the Dublin squad settled for a leinster title. Both teams were hungry for this and no way could you question their commitment.

To loose a 7 point lead is the most upsetting thing but Mayo's goal when it was scored changed everything. I'm proud of Dublin anyway and I think they'll come back stronger for it.

On another note, the Mayo fans (aswell as the Dublin fans) were brilliant yesterday. Fair play and good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Fair enough Misty, but don't you think Dublin needs some tough talking and leadership that is not afraid to make the necessary changes to make us successful. No matter what way you look at it, 17 or so wides in a game is just not acceptable at this level. Mossy Quinn I think was 1 from 4 attempts in the first 25 minutes. That's bloody 25%. To allow that to remain on the pitch is itself a crime. I don't believe that's being too harsh. Dublin simply do not have enough players who can confidently score points from either play or frees at a consistent level. Maybe Dublin as a whole do, but certainly not those players who our selectors are continually picking. How hard is it for Dublin to get 15 players on a pitch with an 80-90% score rate when in a half decent situation. The hurlers can score from 65+ metres from awkward angles under pressure and we have the likes of Keaney missing from 20 yards in a free situation. I'm a Dub, but I cannot understand their methods, I cannot explain why we can let a 7 point lead dwindle, no matter how good Mayo played. I cannot explain players kicking the ball so damn high in order to get it over the bar. What the hell is Caffrey telling these lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Th eatmosphere at the game yesterday was electric, was a little dissapointed that the Mayo fans easile out cheered us in the 2nd half barron patch when the team did need a pick-me-up.

What a game right from the start with Mayo going to the wrong end. No matter what you say Dublin always have and always will practice in front of the hill, Mayo went there for one reason and one reason only to cause trouble. The dietitian getting hit with the bal in the face was unfortunate.

As many papers have said today Dublin lost it on the line Ryan was a victim of being played in too many positions, that and the fact he was b0ll0xed after playing out of his skin for the whole game in mid-field should have been pulled. Was impressed with Bonner after his game last year. The Mayo substitution early in the 2nd half of bringing on for Billy Joe Padden changed the game. He just controlled the game with great posession and perfecting passing the way Cullen usually does. Mayo were better and did deserve the win.

GL in the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

well, I would like to echo all the positive things everyone has said here.. Dublin did us proud, free taking and scoring outside the 21 will have to improve. Im looking forward to people like mark vaughan, Dotsy O Callaghan ,razor and connell looking to do that for us in the league.

The ref was ok ... as good as anyone could have done..no use in complaining about 60 seconds when you score 1 point in 25 minutes. The dubs should have had the hill for the warm up..really they should have but mayo took it. I would have liked to see the dubs march to the hill then do their the warm up at the davitt end (plenty of dubs there too) never the less i understand the position they took. Whelan...was going for the ball...im sure he was, but he was very lucky to have stayed on. very lucky.

Good luck to mayo...fastastic football team. hope ye stuff kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Mayo could have had Hill tickets if they wanted, but they requested all stand tickets. Most regular GAA match goers from outside of Dublin prefer to sit than stand. Mayo wanting warm up in front of the Dublin fans is just silly buggers stuff. Done for one reason and one reason only, to annoy the Dublin team and fans. Dublin had no choice but to go down that end as well. Its not like its the first time its ever happened. And each time it had no impact on the game. A big hullabaloo over nothing.

I'd disagree. It obviously riled the Dubs. Look at Pillar's reaction and the fact that they failed to register a score for 18 minutes. So what if it was done to annoy the Dubli team and fans, that's what Mayo wanted to do and fair play to them.

If the Dubs had no choice but to go to the other end why did they start launching balls into the Hill end? If it didn't rile them, why didn't they just go to the other end? Take off the Dublin blinkers here please Rooster.

Mayo's tactic worked well and wound the opposition up. Little things like that can really affect a game.

Why?. Really, I mean why Should they have?. Mayo practiced that in the previous 2 outings, so they have as much right as anyone to practise there if they want to. The pitch is Big enough for both teams to practise, so why could the Dubs not do so the other end of the pitch?.

I don't think he had any intention of going for the ball, but it's irrelevant now. It's a shame that a player with his talents had to resort to those tactics.

Ack...Blackjack... I edited this post by accident trying to copy your text...Very very sorry !! ALany

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Getting back to the original point of the thread i thought the atmosphere was great at the match and this was mainly created by the Dublin fans. Sure we have great fans and we rose to the occasion in the stadium but it was the Dub fans who set the tone. Speaking to Dubs after the match they were all gracious and genuine in defeat. Your players were a credit (except for the Whelan incident) very clean and disciplined. Ye will be back next year as ye have a good young team and a few testier games in Leinster will do ye the world of good. Dublin forwards had a bad day shooting from more than 30 yards out but sometimes you have to leave players on to let them gain confidence and learn from their mistakes, especially youger ones. If they think they will be hauled off if they miss a few its no good. Trust me i'm from Mayo i've seen plenty of good young players get the yips in front of goal and its the ones who are left on and encouraged to keep taking shots even if they've missed that turn out the best.

the reason you feel the atmosphear was created by dubs is maybe cause you were surrounded by them, I was on the hillas usual... and as usual it was awsome, but what made it for me was (for the first time this year including longford) hearing the oppisition fans chear so loud the hairs on may arms stood on end. The entire stadium made the atmosphear.

Blackjack wrote:
    Why?. Really, I mean why Should they have?. Mayo practiced that in the previous 2 outings, so they have as much right as anyone to practise there if they want to. The pitch is Big enough for both teams to practise, so why could the Dubs not do so the other end of the pitch?.

I don't think he had any intention of going for the ball, but it's irrelevant now. It's a shame that a player with his talents had to resort to those tactics.
    I think Dublin have a real claim in warming up infront of their own fans... I think the tradition od dublin warming up at the hill is longer standing than mayos "last 2 outings" ... I thought mayo should respect it as much as rugby respects the haka. But they didnt, im ok with it honestly. as i said I think they should have went to the davitt end. but I understand what they did. Its a dublin thing.

As for whelo, I honestly think he wanted to get the ball. but I do agree its a shame to see a player of his standing constantly comitt these silly challenges. he is a risk to dublin when he gets frustrated cause this sort of thing happens

Alany wrote:
    I think Dublin have a real claim in warming up infront of their own fans... I think the tradition od dublin warming up at the hill is longer standing than mayos "last 2 outings" ... I thought mayo should respect it as much as rugby respects the haka. But they didnt, im ok with it honestly. as i said I think they should have went to the davitt end. but I understand what they did. Its a dublin thing.

Well, I disagree - they are the only team that reckon they have such a right, and to be honest you can Salute your fans by all means (as they did), but insisting that you get a right to practice there is a bit arrogant in my opinion. The situation would have been laughable and probably forgotten about had it not been for the injured dietician (which was an accident) and the actions of the Dublin Manager - that was certainly very poor (and from a Garda as well!).

Perhaps it was the Psychological thing more than anything else, as Mayo have had a reputation of choking on the big occasions. I think they answered all critics yesterday.

oh I think the decision by mayo was a great one kinda said to dublin "you have no god given right to beat us ... " but from the dub perspective i think we have a tradtion ...we need to try and maintain it and tradition is very important. didnt see what pillar did , I guess emotions were running high. itwas a terrible shame that lady was hurt indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Alany wrote:
    the reason you feel the atmosphear was created by dubs is maybe cause you were surrounded by them

No i was surrounded by Mayo people in the upper Cusack at the Canal end corner possibly the furtherest point from the Hill. When we saw the Hill clapping in unision at the other end it really got us going we had to respond. And i think we did i know i'm still hoarse after it. But if it wasn't the Dubs we were playing the Hill would have been separeted betwwen teams and the atmosphere would have been affected

Alany wrote:
    oh I think the decision by mayo was a great one kinda said to dublin "you have no god given right to beat us ... " but from the dub perspective i think we have a tradtion ...we need to try and maintain it and tradition is very important. didnt see what pillar did , I guess emotions were running high. itwas a terrible shame that lady was hurt indeed.

To be honest, Mayo going to the Hill sent a charge through the Stadium like plugging in a Nuclear Bomb.

It raised the stakes, it raised both sets of supporters levels of vocal support even higher .... so it all added to the atmosphere as far as I'm concerned.

Mayo just set their stall out..."We're here to win" .... it wasn't disrespectful to The Dubs at all, and all the Dubs around me were saying to each other "Mayo mean business" .....and that's the nessage they were trying to get accross, nothing else.

anyways, back to the point of this thread, every single Dublin fan I met, and I met a feck load of them in various states of drunkeness (me that is) ... were 100% genuine.

There's definitely an All Ireland close for Dublin.... they need to strengthen the bench in my opinion, that's all. There wasn't one player that came of the bench I felt was a 'heavyweight' ... no match winner, (Vaughn an exception, but unproven as of yet at Inter County) .... and that's what Mayo had, a strong bench, full of U21 Champions playing with confidence, and seasoned campaigners like David Brady and Keith O'Neill wh all played brilliantly. Don't forget Austin O'Malley and Trevor Mortimer are still there as well, and should now be fit by the final.

After the buzz of Sunday, it's feet on the ground now, heads down to training and video analysis, and ensure we give Kerry a good bloody run for their money.

Mayo Abu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Alany wrote:

As for whelo, I honestly think he wanted to get the ball. but I do agree its a shame to see a player of his standing constantly comitt these silly challenges. he is a risk to dublin when he gets frustrated cause this sort of thing happens

Al I was watching Whelo and Mc Garrity for that kickout. Mc Garity made a run and Whelo looked at him and then let him go. He saw where the ball was going and made a charge. He was never getting that ball, and I think he should get a suspension for it. Its a pity because it was a great contest cleanly fought otherwise. Regarding the Mayo warming up in front of the hill, I must confess I had a bit of a giggle to myself about that, but Dublin were always going to go and warm up in front of the same goals as they have done in the past. The Mayo players knew this, and to be honest, it does not really matter, the pregame shenanigans had no real effect on the outcome of the game.

Lemlin wrote:
    Mayo's tactic worked well and wound the opposition up. Little things like that can really affect a game.
    Dublin were 7 points up at one stage, so I think the affect it had on the game was miniscule. Dublin started slowly against both Laois and Offaly also, it wasnt the first time it took them a while to settle. Each time they recovered and took control. But this time Mayo came back again - which had nothing to do with the warm-up.