Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU accomodation

• 24-08-2006 9:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭

Just wondering has anyone heard whether they have a place on campus or not as we are meant to find out today!

Oooo I hope I get on campus!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭callmescratch

still haven't heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

Don't worry too much if you don't get it. They run the place like a Nazi camp. You're better off in Shanowen or a house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Bec2006

I rang the Accommodation Offices today and asked them what the story is, they said that the offers will be in the post this evening, at the earliest. Which means we'll get them on Monday probably.. which Sucks because we lose out on another weekend of house hunting on the off chance we dont get campus.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Why didn't you just ask them to look up your details on the computer? If they've sent out all the offers then they'll have the details there. Whether or not they give them to you is of course a different story but its no harm in asking. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Katieface

I haven't heard yet either, but I have applied for Shanowen too and after all the stuff I have heard about how strict it is on campus, I am going to turn it down if I get Shanowen, which I should know on Monday
    does anyone know anything about getting out to DCU late at night? because some nights I will want to go into the city (like thursdays at fibbers hehehe) and i am concerned about getting back out since buses to the area stop at half 11:mad:

Getting home from nights out usually means a taxi for us most of the time. There is a nightlink that goes out close enough to DCU but since theres always a few of us the taxi is handier and just as cheap.

And yes, Fibbers for the win. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Finch*

3 euro a drink on a thursday wha wha!

surely you should know if you got Shanowen already? i got mine in the post ages ago sayign i'd been accepted

Finch* wrote:
    3 euro a drink on a thursday wha wha!

surely you should know if you got Shanowen already? i got mine in the post ages ago sayign i'd been accepted

ah excellent! fellow fibbers lovers :D

and yeah see i only heard about shanowen a few weeks ago, and then there was loads of changing of minds because i wanted to get somewhere in the city with my friends until the parents decided they wanted me closer to college so i rang thm today and they had some spaces left so i sent off the cheque and should know monday...

I am screwed for getting back out unless i get people to get a taxi with or something, i would be too freaked out to walk back from wherever the nitelink drops people off

*Edit*

sorry but just a quick question about Shanowen Hall...what do you need to bring with you and what is provided with the apartments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

phreak wrote:
    Don't worry too much if you don't get it. They run the place like a Nazi camp.

Quoted for truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cy_Revenant

phreak wrote:
    Don't worry too much if you don't get it. They run the place like a Nazi camp. You're better off in Shanowen or a house.
    I didn't find on campus too bad, generally, as long as it you keep the room reasonably tidy and give it a quick hoover before they check you should be fine.

Katieface wrote:
    sorry but just a quick question about Shanowen Hall...what do you need to bring with you and what is provided with the apartments?
    In terms of the bedroom, they provide sheets, a pillow and a blanket. Outside of that the rooms is practically bare. The kitchen is, for the most part, fully stocked with enough cutlery, crockery and pots and pans for everyone. The latter mightn't be in the best condition so do yourself a favour and look into getting some new ones when you move in. Note, theres also no TV or Microwave so if you have a spare make sure and bring it up. When you get your letter of confirmation there should be an inventory attached so you'll know exactly whats in the place.

Oh and regarding the whole campus issue, I think my thread above deals with all that stuff. :)

tbh i'll be getting the nitelink back to shanowen whenever i go out, it's not that far a walk back, sure i'd probably walk from town if i have my ipod with me

Doesn't the Nightlink leave at like 1 or 1:30 though? :o

i'm not sure how regular it is, but at least it's there, i mean like, i live in bray atm, any nightlink at all is amazing by my standards

Ah, I assume taxi's are rather expensive out to there so? :)

I didn't find on campus too bad, generally, as long as it you keep the room reasonably tidy and give it a quick hoover before they check you should be fine.
    It's very restrictive if you wanna have a party or bring people back after 12. I lived on campus in first year and while i had a great time i'd never live there again.
    Finch* wrote:
    tbh i'll be getting the nitelink back to shanowen whenever i go out, it's not that far a walk back, sure i'd probably walk from town if i have my ipod with me
    As gizmo already said if you have 3 or 4 people heading towards dcu its actually about the same price or cheaper to get a Taxi.

Thursdays in fibbers are great.... But i'm paying for it now. so hungover and stuck in work :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭markpb

Katieface wrote:
    i wanted to get somewhere in the city with my friends until the parents decided they wanted me closer to college

You're better of living close to college. I know several people (myself included) that lived away from DCU and it was a royal pain in the ass. Living according to a bus timetable isn't fun. (Although you do end up sleeping on a wide variety of sofas and spare beds ;))

gizmo wrote:
    In terms of the bedroom, they provide sheets, a pillow and a blanket. Outside of that the rooms is practically bare. The kitchen is, for the most part, fully stocked with enough cutlery, crockery and pots and pans for everyone. The latter mightn't be in the best condition so do yourself a favour and look into getting some new ones when you move in. Note, theres also no TV or Microwave so if you have a spare make sure and bring it up. When you get your letter of confirmation there should be an inventory attached so you'll know exactly whats in the place.

thanks that was actually really helpful
    they said I can ring them monday to find out if I am in or not
    I really hope I get Shanowen, I want to be able to have people over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Darz0re

Katieface wrote:

Hi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Katieface wrote:

I hope you get in! I might see you around if you do ;)

Winters wrote:
    I hope you get in! I might see you around if you do ;)

Slick.

As always.

Thanks for last night hunni xxx.

Winters wrote:
    Thanks for last night hunni xxx.

You still owe me money "hunni".

thedara wrote:
    Slick.
    Says Casanova over there.

But yea, the ability to have people over does have its advantages. It was one of the many reasons I hated Campus Res...

I made you breakfast, is that not good enough? :O

I'd reccomend Shanowen over on-campus mainly due to late opening Spar right beside it thats stacked from head to toe in everything possible. Ability to have overnight guests (without getting charged for it and having to book it etc.) and just general fun atmosphere ^_^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Rockerette

a question about the on-campus: is the only real problem with coming back late if you have someone with you?
    i assume otherwise you can come and go as you please, whenever?

Rockerette wrote:
    a question about the on-campus: is the only real problem with coming back late if you have someone with you?

yes, but there are inspections and crap all the time as well
    and you get fined if your place is dirty, i've never lived there
    so i dont have all the details, but after living in Shanowen Square sin Jan.

I dont wanna live anywhere else!

Rockerette wrote:
    Yes and no. One thing that bugged me in my second year on campus was the new security guards or their policies, whichever changed most significantly. Basically any time I came home after 12 I was asked for my swipe card coming back. If it was later, say around 2 or 4 in the morning I was asked for my swipe card AND my student ID. I was also treated with what seemed like suspicion week in, week out. This really got to me eventually and added to my dislike of the place.

Theres also, as Dara said, the frequent room inspections and their accompanying fines and the lack of atmosphere in the Resident buildings after Larkfield. Again, when you take all this into consideration its not surprising that many people wouldn't move back on campus. :o

Thanks for the info

roughly how "frequent" are these inspections on the rooms??
    and what are they inspecting exactly? just general cleanlines?

Gah you've got me all reluctant about on-campus now.. Im still gonna take it like.. But.. hhmmm..

i hear its good fun for first year, you get to get to know loads of people like
    which is good like

dont quote me on this but I think the inspections are twice a semester

thedara wrote:
    dont quote me on this but I think the inspections are twice a semester
    hah. owned.

Yep, twice a semester. General rules are, bedroom can have no posters or marks on the wall (depending on what complex you're in), room has to be spotless (vacuumed) and bathroom has to be washed down and spotless including the shower. The kitchen must also be spotless, bins taken out and freezer defrosted each time (a pet peeve of mine). :rolleyes:

phreak.

get a life

I found it hilarious...but then again I'm rather sad. :o

gizmo wrote:
    I found it hilarious...but then again I'm rather sad. :o

QFT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Aww lads ye are making it sound really really ****e in campus and I was soo happy I got a room :(

It couldn't be that hard to sneak someone into your room could it?!
    Say i brought friends from Waterford up to a concert or something and wanted say 1 or 2 to bunk in with me... is that even possible???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robnubis

deisedolly wrote:
    Aww lads ye are making it sound really really ****e in campus and I was soo happy I got a room :(

Say i brought friends from Waterford up to a concert or something and wanted say 1 or 2 to bunk in with me... is that even possible???

Where are you staying?

If its Larkfield and they dont mind the floor :D

deisedolly wrote:

if you're bringing them in after 12 you haven't a hope in hell of getting them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

phreak wrote:
    if you're bringing them in after 12 you haven't a hope in hell of getting them in.

I did it all the time.

I stayed in someones room there about 18 months ago

it wasnt Larkfield.. Hampstead maybe?

but yeah, that was no problem, and it was just after 12.. maybe i was just lucky

there is some way of doing it, you email the res office before 12 saying youd like your friend over, they have to have photo id and be over 18, you will get a reply before 4, and there is a charge of 5 euro.. i think 5 euro could be more.

sounds like visting hours on death row to me tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

ground floor hampstead apts don't so much have that problem though do they? ;)

Afaik;The only entrance to res after 10:30 is through the Sports Complex. After twelve, the only way into the complex is through the security guys. If you don't have a student card encoded for res to swipe, or if you're name isn't on teh guest list, you're only option is the fence.

If, that is, you're willing to risk impalement. It wouldn't be the first time. :D

I still haven't heard from campus Res, but I have to give Shanowen a call tomorrow.
    Everyne says Larkfield is the best place to meet new people and make friends and stuff but surely its not that bad in Shanowen right? I want to meet new people and make friends obviously but I want the freedom of Shanowen over the rules of Res :confused:

you can meet new people in Shanowen, i'm sure myself, phreak and gizmo
    (we will all be in the square this year) will be drinking out on the grass some night to meet all the new people moving in

The best place to meet people is the Old Bar though, I cant count the number of great people i've met there and the amount of great nights i've had there.

I did it all the time.
    You didn't last year? Well you must have either a) known a security guard, b) hopped over the fence or c) done some jiggery pokery with some swipe/student cards out the window becuase otherwise its now nigh on impossible to get people in after 12. There are some nights when you might get lucky and there won't be someone on the door but tbh, its rarely worth the risk.

So in light of that I'd have to say no deisedolly, you're not going to be able to do that.

Oh and I should also point out that trying the above and getting caught will results in a trip to the security/Campus res manager and an €80 fine for the first offence. :)

One thing I forgot to mention for people worried about whether or not there will be rooms available on campus.

My roommate in Larkfield last year applied for a room on the first day of freshers week. Thats the day after the lease had started and most other people had moved in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

I've applied to shanowen; haven't heard anything from them but theyve cashed my deposit cheque..? Anyone any idea if this actually means anything or do they do that anyway?
    I've emailed them & am waiting to hear back.

ring them. tomorrow, you might wanna know where your living and when you can move in like :)

thedara wrote:
    you can meet new people in Shanowen, i'm sure myself, phreak and gizmo
    (we will all be in the square this year) will be drinking out on the grass some night to meet all the new people moving in

The best place to meet people is the Old Bar though, I cant count the number of great people i've met there and the amount of great nights i've had there.

hahah drinking on the grass sounds like fun