Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

favourite theme song from your youth

• 19-08-2006 3:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭

I am mainly concentrating on cartoons. for me it is a tie between Ghostbusters and TMNT. Ghostbusters for the excellent buildup at the start. TMNT because when I was 8, every time that came on I would jump all over the sitting room in excitment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Probably the one from The Raccoons. Theme song located here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Was the Ghostbusters theme that good?

The lyrics were pretty lazy.. it was just 'Let's go, ghostbusters, let's go, let's go" over and over again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm not concentrating on cartoons.

Thunderbirds, Double Deckers, Banana Splits! :o

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Thundercats had the best tune. Pity the show itself was so shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

Was the Ghostbusters theme that good?

The lyrics were pretty lazy.. it was just 'Let's go, ghostbusters, let's go, let's go" over and over again.
    oh ****, I was thinkng of the film "who you gonna call?"

Battlestar Galactica, Airwolf and Nighthrider are all cool.

Marts wrote:
    oh ****, I was thinkng of the film "who you gonna call?"
    There was also the Real Ghostbusters cartoon series which would have used the films theme tune.

Actually wasn't Ray Parker Junior's song actually a rip off of another song..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

cartoon? Mysterious cities of gold or jayce and the wheeled warriors

tv/film? streethawk. (love that synth)

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Ruu wrote:
    Goddamn, I forgot about the Raccoons! LOL.

Good enough theme alright.

For me though, favourite themes had to be Fall Guy, Knight Rider, or indeed MCoG.

Joe 90! Sounds almost like something from the Beach Boys. :)Linkage

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Airwolf and Knightrider were definitely my favourites, but I also quite liked the theme tune for 'Ducktales'.

http://www.audiosparx.com/sa/play/play.cfm/sound_iid.29548

'D -D -Danger, look behind you
    There's a stranger, out to find you'!

All kinds of awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭tom_k

Knightrider was good. Miami Vice was cool too. should have used it for the new film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Trap Door was my favourite :)

And Count Duckula was another good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭solskjaer20

The Raccoons,
    Translyvania Petshop
    Thundercats
    The Hurricanes
    TMNT

All valiant choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

Battlestar Galactica and The Greatest American Hero are among the top few. The A Team also. McGuyver - so many to choose from :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Dutz

saved by the bell. . . .it never leaves the mallet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Madge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭eljono

Definitely the Turtles for me. I remember getting so excited hearing it come on and I still remember it perfectly. Turtle Power!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

1 the A team
    2 the fall guy
    3 minder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

AS always it's got to be...

Danger Mouse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Ruu wrote:

OH my! what a blast from the past! I loved that song. The memories. I loved the Gummi Bears song too. That racoons song reminds me of something Roxette would sing.

Truely brilliant, Lisa Lougheed sang it if you want to know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Ulysses & Transformers - awesome!
    BSG was simply epic - a fantastic theme.

I'll also hold up my hand and admit to having a soft spot for the Baywatch theme "I'll Be Ready" :p - brings me right back to '91 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

'California Dreams, dont wake me up while I'm dreaming,
    California Dreams, just let me lay here in the sun...until my dream is done oohhh'

What a show. Sly was a hero and the one where Sally goes on steroids is one of the funniest things I've ever seen.

The theme song from My So-Called Life and Roseanne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

The main theme tune still echoing in my mind is the original melody from Star Trek with that high pitched voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Movie themes were so much better back in the day. The Theme from "Fletch", "Back to the Future", "Beverly Hills Cop" etc. Class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭john_g83

Surprised no one has said this yet:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PINxfouNQFw

Saw the show again recently, man does it look bad now compared to how good I thought it was way back when.

The littlest Hobo will never look bad! It was class and still is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Garda Patrol FTW!

Did anyone ever turn up an MP3?-
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=316562&referrerid=59211

The main theme tune still echoing in my mind is the original melody from Star Trek with that high pitched voice
    Ever hear the version with lyrics? It's horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

As well as the Transformers cartoon theme tune, the rocked up one for the movie really reminds me of seeing it as kid. I hope they use it in next year's movie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭retrospect

Everyone should remember MASK :p
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0BzBFWt8V8

The littlest Hobo will never look bad! It was class and still is.

Theres something in my eye..*runs away like a blubbering fool* :)

me too...sob... those puppy eyes.

Garfield and friends (sad to admit i watch this on tiny pop some nights when my flatmates are making tea).

"Ladies and Gentleman, Garfield & Friends.
    Friends Are There
    To Help You Get Started, To Give You A Push On Your Way.
    Friends Are There
    To Turn You Around, Get Your Feet On The Ground For A Brand New Day
    They'll Pick You Up When You're Down
    Help You Swallow Your Pride When Something Inside's Got To Break On Through To The Other Side
    Friends Are Someone You Can Open Up To
    When You Feel Like You're Ready To Flip
    When You Got The World On Your Shoulders
    Friends Are There To Give You A Tip
    Friends Are There When You Need Them
    Their Even There When You Don't
    For A Walk In The Park, For A Shot In The Dark
    Friends Are There. Garfield: "I Don't Care"
    but frineds will care for you......"

www.retrojunk.com/details_theme/36/

I liked Garfield but was not impressed by Orson, that mad duck (with the float around his waist) or the egg that used to run around. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ruu wrote:
    Haha, best cartoon evaaar. Had completely forgotten about it.

Indeed, I MUST have all six volumes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

Ruu wrote:
    I liked Garfield but was not impressed by Orson, that mad duck (with the float around his waist) or the egg that used to run around. :)

And the way the small duck head on the float used to mimic the facial expressions of Orson himself. Scary stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Anam

James Bond Jr

But this ones the best,
    Rescue Rangers

And the way the small duck head on the float used to mimic the facial expressions of Orson himself. Scary stuff.

Wade the duck scarded ye lol! what about sheldon, i mean an egg with feet? Ant Orson's evil brothers...i could go on.
    Orson was a harmless little pig. Shame on ye!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Can't believe no-ones mentioned this one:
    Dogtanian
    Or the Mighty He-Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Narcissus

Slurms wrote:
    ...Dogtanian...
    Classic!

Count Duckula
    Jonny Quest
    Rude Dog
    Super Ted
    Bananaman
    Sharky and George
    Inspector Gadget
    and last but not least...

Duck Tales

Thundercats was probably my fave though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

harney wrote:
    Battlestar Galactica and The Greatest American Hero are among the top few. The A Team also. McGuyver - so many to choose from :eek:
    Can't fault any of the above. Great taste.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Yup, Greatest American Hero, Believe It Or Not, had to learn that one back in 81 in school, can still remember most of the lyrics, sweet!
    Theme to Simon and Simon, Fall Guy and of course The Misfits Of Science all good.
    Trap Door was always the best, got it on VHS a couple of years ago and still stick it on from tine to time.
    I also love the music from the Tom & Jerry cartoons, not the later Chuck Jones ones but the originals, very good music, not to mention the main theme itself.
    Hated Hart to Hart theme but still like hearing CHiPs, go figure.

CiDeRmAn wrote:
    Trap Door was always the best
    Don't you open that Trap Doooor...

Slurms wrote:
    Can't believe no-ones mentioned this one:
    Dogtanian
    Or the Mighty He-Man

I have every episode but haven't watched yet. :(

Dogtanian or He-Man?