Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who put their seats back on planes??

• 17-08-2006 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭sterculelum

What is wrong with these people?? Recently, I was on a 3 hour flight and there was a 50-ish old bitch of a woman who looked pretty rude. She was sitting in front of me and had her chair reclined a good bit. Now, I'm pretty tall, so I couldn't help my legs digging into her chair and she was clearly getting a bit annoyed with this but I was listening to music and pretended to be asleep a bit. It was really uncomfortable.

Then I asked her could she put it back up and she sort of snapped "it's only a little bit back" so I continued making the rest of her journey as uncomfortable as possible. That might seem a bit unreasonable... but she was seriously pissing me off. She asked me, fairly rudely, if I could stop digging my legs in (which I actually couldn't) and I asked her if she could put her chair up and she said again that it was only "a little bit".

Wtf?! What is their problem? Why can't they just sit normally in their seat and not act as if they own the plane?!?! Or am I just overreacting and being rude myself...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I hate that too. I never, ever put my seat back for that reason, there's always some poor fúcker behind you that'll have to put up with it. Being 6ft+ tall doesn't exactley help on plane.

Some people just aren't as considerate as others. dunno.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Very annoying alright, flights in "economy" are bad enough without having to put up with rude baxtards. Especially the kind that shuffle around and move don't mind moving their seats forward when you try and put down your tray for dinner. Grr next time I'll go first class*.

*i wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

Yeah I hate these people- happens loads on buses too!
    I also hate people who sit back in their seat on a bus and jam their knees into the back of your chair so they can kind of lie down! That and people who kick the s**t out of/drum on your chair!

• Well passengers do have the right to recline their seats. I don't do it, but some people are very uncomfortable otherwise. I find it annoying when people are digging their legs in my back but I know they can't help it if they're tall. I find it annoying when fat people spill over into my seat, and when I'm sitting next to a drooling whiny baby. Everything is annoying in Economy Class basically and you have to expect it. I would just love it if they'd give people more legroom and seatroom, but it's not going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

I think if airlines are gouig to insist on putting seats that recline on planes they need to make sure that the seats are far enough spaced in recline position so as not to make the passenger behind uncomfortable. At the moment they only measure the space between seats while they are fully upright. I'm only 5'11" and someone slouching back in front of me pi***s me off.

Damn slouchers, why I oughtta!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I hate people who recline their seats on planes.

I always get a violent urge and want to glass them.

Also annoying - big guys who insist on sitting beside other big guys on the bus - when there are other options available.

I'm 16 stone, above average weight so when someone of that size or bigger sits beside me it drives me mad. It's so obviously not comfortable for either of us. Why the hell don't they sit beside the slim people?

People who sit beside me when I am almost at my stop. Sometimes I get up and say 'do you want to sit on the inside?'. They say 'no' and then glare at me two minutes later when I get up to leave and have to say 'excuse me'. I usually point out that I get off at the same stop every day and if they haven't noticed that by now then that's their problem.
    People who are sitting on the inside of me and ask to get out when we are at the terminus!! Everyone is departing at this point. What's their hurry?

An airline caring about passengers? :)

"Look we a can fit another few seats in here to this 5 inches, lads"
    "But sir, that will cut off the passengers legs"
    "Boo hoo, so they have to sit a bit closer together"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Why do they even bother with the pathetic reclining mechanism in economy anyway? If you get five degrees of tilt-back out of it you are doing well. The benefit to the tilter is practically non-existent.

The ones in BA business class where they go practically horizontal, I can see a point to. And those ones have the passengers sitting diagonal to each other so the tilting of one chair has no effect on another passenger.

Is it Ryanair that are putting the no-tilt chairs in at the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

If you cant fit in economy, you should upgrade to business or first class....
    Seats are there to be reclined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

FuzzyLogic wrote:

Harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    Harsh.
    but fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

It's so they can watch the ceiling for any overhead snakes, silly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

At the rate security is being increased, you will soon have to be bound, gagged, naked and sedated before getting on a plane, so it will no longer be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I'm 6'0 tall and a few years ago on a BA flight to Boston the passenger in front of me reclined her seat to the point where I could hardly move my legs. I asked her if she would mind not reclining to such an extent and she refused to move the seat forward. So I paged the cabin crew. The steward told me that the passenger in front of me was fully entitled to use the facilities provided and reclining the seat was one of those facilities. I explained that it was uncomfortable for me, but he shrugged his shoulders and walked away...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Ryanair's seats cant recline. In fact I've never been on a plane where seats do recline (or maybe I didnt notice). I hate it though when people do it on a bus. It pretty much traps me until they move their seat back up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

people who put seats back on a bus or a plane deserve a serious beating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Has anyone else noticed that short people put their seats back more often than tall people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭LeperKing

A friend of mine who's over 6ft was telling me that he was on a flight where the man in front reclined his seat fully back. My friend asked him straightaway to put it back, and he obliged reluctantly.

10 minutes later the man called a steward and pretended that he didn't know how to 'operate' the seat, and could he show him how to recline it fully. Knowing my friend wasn't going to cause a fuss with the steward. He sat there with his legs crushed, while the guy made himself comfy!:eek:

To the folks who think it's a persons right to recline their seat, I hope they get to sit behind them!:)

LK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Grem

Mossy Monk wrote:
    people who put seats back on a bus or a plane deserve a serious beating

Are you a serious person?

Seats are there to be reclined if you want to recline them. Why else would they put them into planes? Its very difficult to sleep when you are sitting stiffly upright in your chair - and on long haul flights i always recline my chair to try get some sleep.

I would never deliberately make anyone uncomfortable and if someone asked me to move my seat up, i would. I am tall myself so i understand how it would make other tall people mad to be squashed.

But a serious beating? Come on Mossy Monk!

There are people who are plain ignorant when asked politely to move their seats forward, those people (a great deal in my experience travelling) deserve a smackdown. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Grem wrote:
    Are you a serious person?

sometimes but not all the time. the comment about the serious beating is but a reflection of how much i hate people who put back their seats with no regard for those behind them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 isisdublin

Jesus, I'd hate to be sitting in front of Mossy Monk on a long journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I never ever recline my seat. I hate when other people do it in front of me, so I'd never bother making someone fell uncomfortable. It's bearable on a bus, just about, but it's hell in economy on a plane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

it all begins in upper class which causes a cascading effect of reclining chairs through out the plane... ive seen it a million times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

It's a pain in the Swiss Roll.....

Honsesty, I think people just do it because they can. They get the notion that they will be more comfortable, and they're not. Putting the seat back actually reduces yer leg room.

Even more annoying on a bus thou are people that know that they are sitting beside the last seat and still sit on the outside or leave their crap on the seat. I mean, for Jaysus sake, I'm not a lepor, yer not gonna catch anything. I listenin to my MP3 player, I'm not even gonna annoy you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

FuzzyLogic wrote:

so true...
    its the passenger's right...
    is the the passenger's fault that the seats are put too close together... no.

the people behind have nothing better to moan about...
    if you really feel grieved about this, contact the airline, not the person who has paid just as much as you for the privilege of been squashed into a seat with the same leg room as the seat behind and in front and has the right to make their journey as comfortable as possible.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I find a couple of open-mouthed coughs onto the top of their head sorts out the recliners.

spurious wrote:
    I find a couple of open-mouthed coughs onto the top of their head sorts out the recliners.

i find the sudden bush back just as they tuck into the meal sorts that out. red wine on the lap really ticks people off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

bounty wrote:
    it all begins in upper class which causes a cascading effect of reclining chairs through out the plane... ive seen it a million times
    Like a wave of chairs.

Oddly enough ive seen this happen, was on my way to Stanstead and an entire column(?) of seats were reclined... like Connect4 with people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭declanoneill

Jesus, I can't believe how many people are complaining. I'm 6'5 and the better (worse?) part of 18 stone and the majority of times I have no problems with people reclining the seat in front of me. The exception to this being on some holiday flights. On Monarch for example I need a shoe horn and some grease to get me in, and that's only because of my legs.

At the same time if someone asked me politely not to not recline my chair I'd oblige. If someone had a shít fit and tried to force my seat forward again, I become..... unpleasant. Bet that chinese person won't try that one again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Short people recline seats more because the seats are more uncomfortable if you're short.

It's your right to recline your seat; sure, if it's causing discomfort to the person behind, and they tell you politely and ask could you recline it less, of course you should straighten it up.

I assume that the tall, bad-tempered people who have posted about this always ask (politely) when they're checking in for the seats near the exits, where they get more leg room?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

I would only recline if there was a child sitting behind me. I'm so nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I ended up in a fight once on a Ryanair flight when someone reclined their seat into my face. I asked them if they'd move it forward. They replied "I can recline it if I want". I responded "I'm sorry but it's really in my space, can you please move it forward", at which point the person lost and started abusing me.

I'm not one to back down so I responded, and it ended up with the other person moving to an empty seat. (They had suggested that I move so that they could recline, but it was "respectfully" pointed out to them, that if they wanted to have the luxury of reclining, that they would be the ones to f*cking move.)

dudara wrote:
    I'm sorry but it's really in my space, can you please move it forward",

your space... jjjjjjjjjeeeeeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzzzzuuuuuuussssssss

i have heard it all now...

luckat wrote:
    [snip]
    when they're checking in for the seats near the exits, where they get more leg room?

On that note, holiday flights can charge as much as €50(!) extra for those seats. After the last flight I was on I *happily* pay the charge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Really, Declan? Wow! I've often been given one as a treat (and I'm 5'1"!) by a check-in clerk being nice.

This thread is really illustrating the current bee in my bonnet: that humans don't know how to resolve conflicts in a way that leaves both parties happy and satisfied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I hate people in general. Life would be much easier without them.

I've only ever seen it on holiday flights (I ask no matter what flight I'm going on). I went skiing in Feb and the check in staff gave me the seat for free, but I was the last person checking in and they tonnes of room to spare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

i love reclining my seat, if i do it fast enough to hear the crunch of bone behind me all the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

the trouble with airplane seats is that thety are there to be reclined because often its really uncomfortable to keep them upright (some tend to tilt you forward). I have a bad back so Im sorry but I do tilt my seat back a little bit. If everyone just reclines there seat a bit then no one will be uncomfortable,,,well except the poor feckers in the back seats cos those seats dont go back!. I dont mind someone putting their seatback a bit but when they put it the whole way back (differs between planes I think how far back you can go), it does really annoy me as theres no need to practically lying down in the seat and ite obv making the person behind you v cramped. To be honest though teh most truly annoying thing on a plane is a baby who wont stop screaming the whoel way (im in favour of sedation!!) or children who sit there and kick the back of your seat non stop the whole time while their moronic parents just sit there allowing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭shnaek

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    lol! Ryanair have the right idea. Seats should not be reclinable. I don't recline out of courtesy to those behind me, and I expect the same courtesy - though I don't always get it. There will always be those more concerned with their own comfort than the comfort of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

What is wrong with these people?? Recently, I was on a 3 hour flight and there was a 50-ish old bitch of a woman who looked pretty rude. She was sitting in front of me and had her chair reclined a good bit. Now, I'm pretty tall, so I couldn't help my legs digging into her chair and she was clearly getting a bit annoyed with this but I was listening to music and pretended to be asleep a bit. It was really uncomfortable.

Then I asked her could she put it back up and she sort of snapped "it's only a little bit back" so I continued making the rest of her journey as uncomfortable as possible. That might seem a bit unreasonable... but she was seriously pissing me off. She asked me, fairly rudely, if I could stop digging my legs in (which I actually couldn't) and I asked her if she could put her chair up and she said again that it was only "a little bit".

Wtf?! What is their problem? Why can't they just sit normally in their seat and not act as if they own the plane?!?! Or am I just overreacting and being rude myself...?

In fairness you were being completely out of order imo. personally I have a bad back and need to recline the seat or the flight will seem like its twice as long me and theres no way i'd get to sleep. So not everyone can sit normally. I can only imagine what is like for a 50 year old woman! If you were really uncomfortable you should have asked her if you could swap seats with her or asked for a different seat. The way you dealt with the situation was completely immature.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Dr Pepper

RE*AC*TOR wrote:

So true.

I also hate when people in front of me recline their seat because it ends up right in my face. The solution is simple. Don't make the f***ing seats reclinable in the first place. It's probably the cause of 100 arguments on flights at this very minute! Just choose the most appropriate inclination for them and fix them at that. Everybody would be happier and more comfortable I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

shnaek wrote:
    lol! Ryanair have the right idea. Seats should not be reclinable. I don't recline out of courtesy to those behind me, and I expect the same courtesy - though I don't always get it. There will always be those more concerned with their own comfort than the comfort of others.

well naturally someone will have more concern for their own comfort than that of someone they dont know?! Why shoul dsomeone care more about you than they do about themselves now?

If they made planes with stright seats that cant recline - great idea. Trouble with loads of the ones at the moment is when you out the seat 'straight' its actually tilting you forward !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

Buy a knee defender
    http://www.kneedefender.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

Unshelved wrote:
    Buy a knee defender
    http://www.kneedefender.com/
    Are they legal? I'd go ****ing mad if someone did that to my seat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

Another point to concider is claustrophobia. I personly suffer from this, I find it hard enough to relax in a space the size of a plane as it is and when someone reclines into my face it tends to set it off.
    Once a guy reclined into me and i asked politely if he could move his chair back and explained why. He refused very rudely so i just sat back and said no more but just could not calm myself down. I ended up having a full blown panic attack and the steward had to comand the guy to move his seat forward again. The whole thing was just extreamly embarrassing for me. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

I would only recline if there was a child sitting behind me. I'm so nice

I still have nightmares from a rude American man doing that to me all the way from London to America when I was 5 years old. Its possibly worse when you are a child cause you have no real way of getting across to the person in front that they are making you uncomfortable. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I learned how to sleep sitting almost bolt upright so that I didn't have to be an ignorant baxtard and cause someone else discomfort at my expense on long/hungover journeys.

Just because you can make a seat recline, doesn't mean you should.

well naturally someone will have more concern for their own comfort than that of someone they dont know?! Why shoul dsomeone care more about you than they do about themselves now?
    A little courtesy is always appreciated

Maybe they shouldn't care more about someone else, but caring about them equally is a good start.