Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what to do with pr&^%s speeding behind you?

• 15-08-2006 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭

When you're driving on say a dual carriage way or motorway, going the speed limit, (or lets face it usually ~5-10km/hr above it), and there is someone driving right behind you close up to your car, trying to make you speed up, what do you do? this is happening me a lot lately and its really pissing me off.
    I mean its hard to change lanes and let them pass through because I can barely even see the other lane as they are so close! Also its so dangerous because if i need to break they are too close to the back of me and mightn't break in time? What is the right procedure with people like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,529 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Giruilla wrote:
    I mean its hard to change lanes and let them pass through because I can barely even see the other lane as they are so close!
    I don't understand this one ... what has the distance between you and the car behind you got to do with your ability to see the other (I presume inside) lane and move back into it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Well, there isn't really a lot that you can do. I would just ignore them and make sure that you continue to drive safely.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Pull into the left lane, or if there are no cars in first place in the left lane then stay there. If you find it hard to change lanes then maybe you shouldn't be on the dual carrigeway in the first place. Also, if you keep an eye on your mirrors then it would never get to the point where a car magically appears on your rear bumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

If you're in the inside lane, they're idiots.

If you're in the overtaking lane and just sitting there as "you're doing the speed limit" then you're the idiot I'm afraid. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭declanoneill

Giruilla wrote:
    When you're driving on say a dual carriage way or motorway, going the speed limit, (or lets face it usually ~5-10km/hr above it), and there is someone driving right behind you close up to your car, trying to make you speed up, what do you do? this is happening me a lot lately and its really pissing me off.
    I mean its hard to change lanes and let them pass through because I can barely even see the other lane as they are so close! Also its so dangerous because if i need to break they are too close to the back of me and mightn't break in time? What is the right procedure with people like this?

Don't quite follow, are you in the driving lane, or the overtaking? If the latter are you actually overtaking? If you are sod the guy behind you, overtake and move back into the driving lane when possible, if you're not overtaking you shouldn't really be in that lane.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I personally tend to brake very gradually and slowly decrease speed. We'll say Im in the fast lane doing 70, just pull up alongside someone in slow lane, and decrease speed to whatever the guy in the slow lane is doing. Thus both lanes are blocked, and ****sticks behind you cant get by in either lane. Then occasionally slip him the finger, throw the contents of your ashtray on him and wave your knob suggestively out the window, until he kills you / gets the message and backs off.
    I think, in all seriousness, this kind of tailgating complaint is all too common. Its a favourite trick of white van drivers. The relative clearance of vans means that the ****ers can get right behind you, so they are literally inches from you, even though they are doing 70.
    If u have ever seen lost highway, there is a brilliant scene in it where a gangster is getting tailgated by some 40 year old v-neck pullover wearing prick in a big german car. He slowly brakes and turns out to run the other car off the road behind him, gets out of the car, goes to the car behind thats tailgated him, and pummels him repeatedly with a gun whilst telling him calmly why he doesnt appreciate tailgaters.
    This would be my response if only i had the money to repair my car and connections to hide the bodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

I personally tend to brake very gradually and slowly decrease speed. We'll say Im in the fast lane doing 70, just pull up alongside someone in slow lane, and decrease speed to whatever the guy in the slow lane is doing. Thus both lanes are blocked

Typical imature irresponsible driving from an obviously inexperienced driver. When you break in the fast lane you are forcing a motorist driving too close behind to brake suddenly. Vehicles travelling behind that car also brake hard, triggering a domino effect as motorists react to brake lights in front of them, slowing all traffic in that lane.

Those at the back of the "phantom traffic jam" often assume they are approaching an accident or roadworks and are puzzled when the traffic suddenly clears.

You are the cause of bad traffic jams for no reason. If there is someone coming at you at speed from behind, get out of the way, very few accidents happen on these types of roads if you behave properly, his/her is risking his/her licence for speeding, nothing to do with you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Motorway
    a. is not a dual carriageway
    b. speed limit is 120kph
    c. has an overtaking lane, if you're being tailgated because you're in the overtaking lane and theres either nothing to overtake, or you are just cruising beside someone at the same speed, then your wrong to be there.

d. If you're doing the speed limit and overtaking and a tailgater appears, then simply continue at your current speed, dont go faster, slowly complete the overtaking manoevre and very slowly cruise back across centre of road so that the a$$hole is almost on the grass trying to get by, then flick him/her the bird as they steam past and remember that when you see this muppet wrapped around a lampost further up the road, to laugh at the idiotic driving skills that brought them to such an abrupt end and hope that they havent taken anyone with them.

Dual Carriageway
    a. is not a motorway.
    b. the speed limit is 80Kph
    c. in Ireland there is no overtaking lane, its a dual carriageway, 2 lane road,both lanes of equal status, this is why there are junctions and roundabouts on them. The problem is every muppet under the sun who drives mostly on motorways, hit's one of these and just assumes its the same rules as a motorway, ignore dual carriageway tailgaters completely, gently press breaks repeatedly (merely to light up your break lights, not to reduce speed as per last post) until the back off, or stick on your rear foglight.

lightening wrote:
    Typical imature irresponsible driving from an obviously inexperienced driver.

Yeah, I was joking.
    But thanks for the judgemental reply.
    U should try "lightening" up a little.
    Oh yeah, U just got zinged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

ye bolloko!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

If you're in the OVERTAKING (NB not fast) lane and preventing someone from passing you, then you're in the wrong. You're not the Gardaí, it's not your place to make sure others stick to the limits.

You should move to the inside lane and let him hurry on to his appointment with a barrier.

What I don't understand is why you can't see the other lane if someone is tailgating you. Don't you know how to adjust your mirrors properly to enable you to see all around you?

Clearly if you have difficulty in changing lane, understanding the rules of the road and using mirrors you shouldn't be on the road, as Delly said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭jd

Morph&#233 wrote: »
    c. in Ireland there is no overtaking lane, its a dual carriageway, 2 lane road,both lanes of equal status, this is why there are junctions and roundabouts on them. The problem is every muppet under the sun who drives mostly on motorways, hit's one of these and just assumes its the same rules as a motorway, ignore dual carriageway tailgaters completely, gently press breaks repeatedly (merely to light up your break lights, not to reduce speed as per last post) until the back off, or stick on your rear foglight.

The rules of the road say to drive left on a dual carriageway unless
    a) overtaking
    b) turning right

jd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

Dual Carriageway
    a. is not a motorway.
    b. the speed limit is 80Kph

I think your wrong here Morpheus. Dual Carrigeways do have drivinig and overtaking lanes - example = Cashel bypass, Naas dual Carrigeway. Also the speed limit can be up to 120KPH on dual Carrigeways.

X.

On limerick dual carriageway, speed limit always at 100 km/h.

gently press breaks repeatedly (merely to light up your break lights, not to reduce speed as per last post) until the back off, or stick on your rear foglight.

Uninformed bullsh1t.

And the above quote is the worst bit. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

Reember that the outside lane is for overtaking only!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Despite all the slagging of the suggestions that've been made, I haven't seen anyone else suggest something that works besides "get out of their way" - which doesn't work where there IS no overtaking lane (say for example, most of the N3) and where the oncoming lane is filled with traffic.

Now I don't know about you guys, but I'm not prepared to pull into the hard shoulder at that speed and take the chance that there won't be glass/bits of tyres, rocks etc strewn all over it - not to mention the fact that decent road surfacing seems to stop at the yellow line in most cases. :(

Simple fact of the matter is they shouldn't be that close/speeding anyway and that's the real problem that needs to be addressed.. preferably by our boys and girls in blue, but I've yet to see them do anything on the roads beyond tax/insurance checkpoints and cynical speedtraps

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    Despite all the slagging of the suggestions that've been made, I haven't seen anyone else suggest something that works besides "get out of their way" - which doesn't work where there IS no overtaking lane (say for example, most of the N3) and where the oncoming lane is filled with traffic.

In that case you'd treat it more or less like a motorway where you are in the overtaking lane and actually overtaking. Maintain your speed and sod him. If a good stretch of road with no on coming traffic came up, I'd move towards the left (I wouldn't pull right into the hard shoulder) and slow down as the tailgater passed me. He gets to take off into the sunset at mach 9, you no longer have a tailgater, and the world is a little bit better.

Seriously, life is too short to get annoyed into playing games with these nutters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

Some good responces there. Think I should clarify a bit. Whats happenned me the other day was i was driving down the right hand lane about 80-85-90 on a dual carriage way, sl 80,. Then a van comes speeding up behind me. At first i think he's going to approach within a certain correct distance behind me and keep at that speed as its the limit. If he approached further i was going to move to the left hand lane. Instead he dove right up to the back of my car tailgating me. Now my car is a hatchback. he was so close that I couldn't see what was coming in the other lane, so i didn't move out. I don't know what speeds cars could be coming at in the other lane. My wingmirrors are adjusted fine btw at this stage. So what should I do? What i did do was eventually speed up (to which he continued to try and speed up behind me) but i could then see the other lane and then indicated and moved out. As the spa was going by he gives me a stare like i just raped him or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,774 ✭✭✭jd

Giruilla wrote:
    Some good responces there. Think I should clarify a bit. Whats happenned me the other day was i was driving down the right hand lane about 80-85-90 on a dual carriage way, sl 80,.

If you are not overtaking, drive in the left hand lane.
    jd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 speck

You shouldn't be driving in the right lane ITS FOR OVERTAKING. It really bugs me when people insist on driving in the right lane even when the left lane is empty

Your man was unquestionably out of line, sounds like a stereotypical van driver.... BUT in fairness if there wasn't anything on the left, you should have been in that lane long before he tailgated you (unless you were planning to turn right)

Kaiser2000 wrote:

You don't have to pull into the hard shouler if you don't want to.

Sitting behind someone too close on national routes like you suggest is simply tailgating and is a penalty point offence - I don't see the confusion myself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Giruilla wrote:
    Some good responces there. Think I should clarify a bit. Whats happenned me the other day was i was driving down the right hand lane about 80-85-90 on a dual carriage way, sl 80,. Then a van comes speeding up behind me. At first i think he's going to approach within a certain correct distance behind me and keep at that speed as its the limit. If he approached further i was going to move to the left hand lane. Instead he dove right up to the back of my car tailgating me. Now my car is a hatchback. he was so close that I couldn't see what was coming in the other lane, so i didn't move out. I don't know what speeds cars could be coming at in the other lane. My wingmirrors are adjusted fine btw at this stage. So what should I do? What i did do was eventually speed up (to which he continued to try and speed up behind me) but i could then see the other lane and then indicated and moved out. As the spa was going by he gives me a stare like i just raped him or something?

buy the sounds of it... you should not be behind the wheel of push car let alone out on the public road... do you have a full licence.

the high road deaths on the road.... its people like you.
    do us all a favour and stay off the public roads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

Giruilla wrote:
    i was driving down the right hand lane about 80-85-90 on a dual carriage way

This is the most annoying thing I see on the roads here evey day - stay in the Fukin left hand lane dim wit!!!

X.

For a start i had been overtaking people thats why I was in the right hand lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Everything ive read here so far is a true indicator of whats wrong with driving in this country. People over here have absolutely zero curtosy on the road. If someone is coming up fast behind you and you are in the overtaking lane then pull over for them. Even if you are overtaking a long line of cars over 400m find an opportunity to pull in for the faster approaching car from behind, when he has past you then contiune with your overtaking manouvre. Whatever about disapproving about the guys speed and using the fact that you are overtaking as an excusse for clogging a lane in which people wish to travel faster in its still poor manners to hold another driver up.

A good attitude with consideration for other road users like this would not only help with traffic congestion where traffic can build up (especially at rush hour) by one person overtaking at 105kph a length of cars doing 100kph and 20 cars stuck behind wishing to travel at 120kph.

And to the person who said they never pull onto the hard shoulder for faster moving vehicles why not? Your just as likely to find broken glass and "bits of car tyre" on the actual road as you are on the hard shoulder. People are perfectly entitled to drive on our roads as slowly as they like to suit their own levels of confidence and ability, that doesnt make them immune to common curtosy and if the opportunity is there you should always pull over for the cars behind wishing to move faster even if you are doing the speed limit. Its people getting held up and frustrated that causes many road accidents nowadays. A positive friendly attitude on the road by everyone could go a long way to imporving traffic flow and reducing other drivers frustration and as a result roads accidents and deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Regarding someone tail gating you, i did an advanced driver training course and their advice was to simply tap the brake peddle (do not actually slow down) to light up the brake lights. They also tell you to do this in the Hibernian ignition course for young drivers. It works sometimes and they will back off but of course other times the prick will just drive further up your exhaust pipe. Not alot you can do in that case apart from finding somewhere safe to pull into and letting the f*ck wit off to his/her firery death....

However if you are just sitting in the overtaking lane of a dual carriageway/motorway chugging along at 60kmph then you are a inconsiderate, stupid thick bastard and the unfortunate who is stuck behind you should be allowed (by law) to pull you out of your car and slap you about the head with a wet fish to vent their justified frustration. A dual carriageway/motorway is built/designed to help with the flow of traffic from A to B and lessen journey times in a safe manner. Hence all the new motorways and bypasses being built. Morons who do not know/care what an overtaking lane is for should be banned from these roads and banished back to the older roads where they can toddle along with the tractors, sheep, soccer moms etc as they are a danger to themselves and other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

xabi wrote:
    This is the most annoying thing I see on the roads here evey day - stay in the Fukin left hand lane dim wit!!!

It's true that the right-hand lane is for overtaking (or turning right) only. However, it should also be noted that consistantly driving at 120 kmph on a 100kmph road in the right-hand lane isn't overtaking, it's just plain speeding - another annoying thing I see on the roads here every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭nealmac

What annoys me more is when your at the speed limit, in the fast lane, and some tit is front of you doing about 100kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Ratchet

Giruilla wrote:

u r in wrong lane

phutyle wrote:
    It's true that the right-hand lane is for overtaking (or turning right) only. However, it should also be noted that consistantly driving at 120 kmph on a 100kmph road in the right-hand lane isn't overtaking, it's just plain speeding - another annoying thing I see on the roads here every day.

Yeah spot on there. The speed limits are in place for a reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 fallout_girl

Giruilla wrote:
    doesn't give you the right to block the fast lane though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Giruilla wrote:

I would also point out that all speedometers in cars are roughly 10% off your true speed (overestimating your speed), so if you thought you were doing 100kph you were doing closer to 90kph in reality dont just assume that because your speedo says 100kph "feck the guy behind im doing the speed limit and its there for a reason".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

doesn't give you the right to block the fast lane though

I know it's been said here a thousand times, but it looks like it need to be said again. There is no "fast lane". There's the driving lane and the overtaking lane. The speed limit is the same in both.

Giruilla wrote:
    I mean its hard to change lanes and let them pass through because I can barely even see the other lane as they are so close!

Giruilla wrote:
    I don't know what speeds cars could be coming at in the other lane.
    Giruilla wrote:
    What i did do was eventually speed up i could then see the other lane and then indicated and moved out.
    Giruilla wrote:
    For a start i had been overtaking people thats why I was in the right hand lane.

what you say doesn't add up at all...

you couldn't pull in because you didn't know what speed cars were doing in the inside lane.... yet you said you were overtaking them?????

then when you were able st see behind you:confused: you pulled OUT,

out where? onto the central reserve...

you definitely should not be on the road.... again i ask. do you have a full licence and if you do, where did you get it a lucky bag...

people who drive like this are the cause of many deaths on the road...

you should of been dragged out and kicked up and down the road.

If there's one thing you learn about driving today will you learn this?

THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A FAST LANE.

It's called an overtaking lane.

Moving over for a fast approaching car is one thing, driving like a lunatic way above the speed limit just cause you are in the overtaking lane expecting everyone to move over for you when they can't is dangerous driving.

people who drive like this are the cause of many deaths on the road...

you should of been dragged out and kicked up and down the road.

Would someone ever ban this fool? :rolleyes:

Big Balls wrote:
    Would someone ever ban this fool? :rolleyes:

hehehe getting the mads are ya...

relax, take a chill pill. no need to spit the dummy out just because you made your self out to be an idiot in the fog lights thread...

please keep your comments to the thread....

that off the topic attack could get you banned....

hehehe getting the mads are ya...

relax, take a chill pill. no need to spit the dummy out just because you made your self out to be an idiot in the fog lights thread...

Eh, no I didn't. You tried telling everyone that fog lights are perfectly fine to use in all weather.

You're completely taking the thread off course by telling someone they shouldn't be on the road! Who are you to judge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Giruilla wrote:

now that's what you should have posted first time..85mph? fast enough..what i would do in this circumstances is keep to the same speed while grinning insanely into the review mirror..he's guaranteed to see it and be more pissed off..fortunately enough i be going faster than that but only on a dual carriageway..the thing is, once you've overtaken you should immediately move back into the left hand lane, this avoids the above situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Whats also annoying regarding the overtaking lane is when your driving in the left lane and you have some idiot who wants to drive at 60kph on a motorway and everyone and I mean everyone is in the fuking right hand lane basically locking up the traffic on the left.

With regards to a tailgater. If its the overtaking lane tap the brakes (don't brake) and do not speed and pull into the left lane when possible.

If they are tailgating in the left lane just slow down until they understand the concept of safe braking distance or overtake you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭smarty

Hobbes wrote:
    Whats also annoying regarding the overtaking lane is when your driving in the left lane and you have some idiot who wants to drive at 60kph on a motorway and everyone and I mean everyone is in the fuking right hand lane basically locking up the traffic on the left.
    I don't really understand what you are saying here. I often drive at 80 - 100 kmph on the motorway. When I do this, I would drive in the left lane.

Big Balls wrote:
    Eh, no I didn't. You tried telling everyone that fog lights are perfectly fine to use in all weather.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054975924

please show me where "I tried telling everyone that fog lights are perfectly fine to use in all weather."

what i did do is try to explain to you how and why they work so well in fogy conditions...

yet again you make your self out to be an idiot... for your own credibility on here stop digging now...
    now please PM me for any more other off this topic stuff... dont wreck this thread for everybody else, thank you.

now bact to this topic... the op should have pulled over.

I've no desire to engage in any conversation with you by PM. You're an aggressive, arrogant individual who comes on here to either moan about the guards or tell someone they can't drive.

Don't dare accuse me of taking this thread off course when you came on to shout your mouth off and tell the OP he shouldn't be allowed drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

In Australia they have these
    image140.jpg

while in Ireland we have these
    moving.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

smarty wrote:
    I don't really understand what you are saying here. I often drive at 80 - 100 kmph on the motorway. When I do this, I would drive in the left lane.

I was referring to the drivers on the motorway. Actually over the weekend (Sunday around 2pm) I was in the left hand lane, the next car ahead of me was way way in the distance and no cars behind me in the left lane. The right lane on the other hand was full in both directions.

Felt like I was in Germany.

I have no problem someone driving 80-100 (or 60) for that matter on the motorway as long as (a) they do so on the left lane and (b) the right lane is clear to overtake them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

el tel wrote:
    In Australia they have these
    image140.jpg

while in Ireland we have these
    moving.gif
    I laughed out loud, seriously! Fair play! :)

Hobbes wrote:
    I was referring to the drivers on the motorway. Actually over the weekend (Sunday around 2pm) I was in the left hand lane, the next car ahead of me was way way in the distance and no cars behind me in the left lane. The right lane on the other hand was full in both directions.

Felt like I was in Germany.

I have no problem someone driving 80-100 (or 60) for that matter on the motorway as long as (a) they do so on the left lane and (b) the right lane is clear to overtake them.

its clear that from some replies on here that people don't know how to drive.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Big Balls wrote:
    I've no desire to engage in any conversation with you by PM. You're an aggressive, arrogant individual who comes on here to either moan about the guards or tell someone they can't drive.

Don't dare accuse me of taking this thread of course when you came on to shout your mouth off and tell the OP he shouldn't be allowed drive.

Yeah so thats why you replied to my post with this then?
    Big Balls wrote:
    Uninformed bullsh1t.

And the above quote is the worst bit. :mad:

a little bit of the "Kettle Pot" syndrome i think.

Maybe i was uninformed, but a lot of what i posted wasnt complete bullsh!t. thats a derogatory and unintelligent way to reply to an attempt at a genuine opinion on the matter. Grow up.

If someone tailgates you, get their licence plate and report it to the Gardai.:mad: