Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Picture the Scene

• 14-08-2006 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

You're sitting in a park area surrounded by a a group of friends. You notice three people cycling towards you pointing you out. Two thirds of your group jumps up and walks away but you stay with two others, unaware as to why the others have left.
    The scumbags on the bikes reach you and demand your phone to ring a friend. You refuse and the situation begins to boil. They threaten to pull a knife on you, but you know you have a small pocket knife in your back pocket. You're tall and of medium strength, they look to be the same strength and are all smaller than you.
    They push you and your phone slips out of your pocket and onto the ground. You pick it up and they demand it from you.

You have a number of choices... What would you do?

1/ Pull out your knife and force them down
    2/ Chance the fact that they could be bluffing with their knife and fight with your fists.
    3/ Hand the phone over and stay un-harmed.
    4/ Try Run for it while they chase you on the bikes

(By the way, this happened to me today and I chose option two, I managed to disarm the guy with the knife before I was hopped by the others. I got a few hits in but they basically kicked the **** out of me. I still have my phone by they took the chain around my neck before they were chased away by a passing man. I ended up in the hospital with a broken index finger, fractured jaw and a broken nose along with plenty of cuts and bruises. But it was worth it because not only did I manage to keep my phone but the passing adult was able to catch one of the scumbags. Gardai arrived later and took the the fella away. B*****ds)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Probably would have done the same as you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead would run away as fast as his muscular tanned well toned legs would carry him. He'd head straight for the nearest internet shop and start a thread on the wonderful www.boards.ie and pretend to everybody that he bet up the scumbag fcukers to within an inch of their life. Then he'd probably check his Emails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

You were damn lucky you weren't a lot worse off OP after they were finished with you. Its good that one of them was caught. I'm not the fighting type so I probably would have legged it, I'm skinny and quite fast. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

Fair play to you op :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Christ, a broken jaw and nose is not fun, not fun at all. Honestly, I'd probably have done the same thing as you, but you have to ask yourself if your phone is worth a broken jaw and nose. If I knew beforehand that I would get those injuries then I probably wouldn't have went with option 2, although I would just act on impluse so it's hard to say. I'd like to think that I could handle myself fairly well in that situation as I have nearly 5 years of martial arts experience, but it really depends on how I feel at the time of the event. Sometimes it is better to walk away you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Run like (the) Rincewind, I would. Don't think those guys would listen to reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Pighead wrote:
    Pighead would run away as fast as his muscular tanned well toned legs would carry him. He'd head straight for the nearest internet shop and start a thread on the wonderful www.boards.ie and pretend to everybody that he bet up the scumbag fcukers to within an inch of their life. Then he'd probably check his Emails.
    Rofl :D

Ah I would have probably done the same, I'm tired of takin shit from the scum of this country, it's always nice to get one up on them if you can!

I can't believe your "friends" did a legger like that though, without so much as a warning! Bet they felt guilty afterwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Caryatnid

deise_boi wrote:

2/ Chance the fact that they could be bluffing with their knife and fight with your fists.

I'd've done option 2/ -> which, I would later awknowlege, probably wasn't the better option..........followed by option 5/, which is chasing up my 'mates' who legged it and didn't warn me and give them the same treatment?????

Well, maybe not - but I think that was pretty sh!tty that they did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

I didnt really have much time to think, I would probably normally have ran as I knew I didnt have much of a chance, however the two people that stayed with me were girls (one being my sister) so I didnt want to run and leave them behind. Was'nt sure wheter they'd run as fast as I could. Interesting to hear what ye would have done, keep the relpys coming :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Demetrius wrote:
    Run like (the) Rincewind, I would. Don't think those guys would listen to reason.
    i think i'd have to pull a rincewind myself. no amount of money is worth a mouth full of broken teeth. well not any amount i carry around with me anyway.

the thing about these people is they're cowards. they only attack when they have a weapon or six mates to back them up. the OP was lucky but usually you'd have a choice between having your money robbed or getting a beating (or worse) and then having your money robbed. given that choice i'll choose the former

we need a thieves guild don't we demetrius :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

fair play to you for standing up to them. i probably would have legged it. i don't really like getting into fights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

deise_boi wrote:
    I didnt really have much time to think, I would probably normally have ran as I knew I didnt have much of a chance, however the two people that stayed with me were girls (one being my sister) so I didnt want to run and leave them behind. Was'nt sure wheter they'd run as fast as I could. Interesting to hear what ye would have done, keep the relpys coming :)

That changes it completely, I would have definitely stayed so. Your mates are bastards by the way. I can't believe they did that. Just out of curiosity, what age are you and your mates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Pighead wrote:

As if we'd believe you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

i think i'd have to pull a rincewind myself. no amount of money is worth a mouth full of broken teeth. well not any amount i carry around with me anyway.

the thing about these people is they're cowards. they only attack when they have a weapon or six mates to back them up. the OP was lucky but usually you'd have a choice between having your money robbed or getting a beating (or worse) and then having your money robbed. given that choice i'll choose the former

we need a thieves guild don't we demetrius :D

Naaa...just a few trolls, Vimes, if they ever log on.:)

I am 16, I am the oldest of the group that was there.. the rest were mostly 15. The scum that attacked us looked to be 16/17ish. Oh and yeah, I'm quite pissed off with my mates for not telling me or at least staying with me.

I'd have run or tried to, anyway, assuming the others could keep up with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sorry to hear you got beat up. I think most people would give up their phone and that's what these b@stards are counting on.

Good man himself (the passing adult) for getting them off you and also pinning one of them down 'til the G-men arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

What I would have done is either fought or talked to them from a position of authority.
    stand up.
    say, "lads, theres easier fights to be had today, I'm not giving in without a fight and im definetly going to take a piece of one of you with me if I do."
    (show the end of the knife handle, rest in your hand so they dont see how small it is)
    that would take them a little by surprise, then you say again
    "easier pickings down the road, keep moving and we've got no trouble"

They would almost certainly fúck off. They are not used to that sort of confrontation.
    By the way, Im not talking completely through my arsé, Ive had occasion to do this sort of thing before. Unfortunately.
    But always be prepared to fight them back, if you think you can win or at least get away relatively unscathed. Also, dont atcually *use* your knife, only for threatening really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

^^^ Snigger.

Option 2 ftw op and fair play to you. Let us know how this follows up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Cannot edit the message for some reason.

^^^ Snigger relates to Sonnenbluments comment.

would liked to have told them to **** off.. but It really didnt seem like much of an option at the time. Didn't really want them attacking one of the girls behind me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

A simple "**** off" and then play it by ear. To be honest, I probably wouldn't be approached by a couple of 17 year olds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

deise_boi wrote:
    You're sitting in a park area surrounded by a a group of friends. You notice three people cycling towards you pointing you out. Two thirds of your group jumps up and walks away but you stay with two others, unaware as to why the others have left.
    The scumbags on the bikes reach you and demand your phone to ring a friend. You refuse and the situation begins to boil. They threaten to pull a knife on you, but you know you have a small pocket knife in your back pocket. You're tall and of medium strength, they look to be the same strength and are all smaller than you.
    They push you and your phone slips out of your pocket and onto the ground. You pick it up and they demand it from you.

Number 3. Give them the phone with grace and apologize for the low battery on it

Remember that teenager who was killed over not handing over his mobile phone a few years ago? Its just a mobile phone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Mear wrote:
    Cannot edit the message for some reason.

^^^ Snigger relates to Sonnenbluments comment.
    happens to me sometimes. refresh the page. that usually fixes it.
    Number 3. Give them the phone with grace and apologize for the low battery on it

Remember that teenager who was killed over not handing over his mobile phone a few years ago? Its just a mobile phone...
    actually, that's probably the best thing. you wouldn't have ended up in hospital. a wise man* once said "possesions are fleeting"

*homer simpson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Couple of points:
    *If they're on bikes, chances are tehy can move faster than you, and running from scumbags without knowing you can escape is like dragging a string past a cat.
    *The average scumbag doesn't know how to use a knife with any effectiveness, and generally will just threaten you with it. In the event they do use it, anyone faster than a stoned sloth can generally disarm them in a heartbeat if they know what they're doing.
    *If you do pull a knife, you better be prepared to use it, as you just threw the shit at the fan. Much better to do it without bringing a second weapon into it. Besides, you may very well be in the position of Joe Knacker in poin number 2.

Personally, I congratulate you on standing up to the scum who think they run this country, and who all too many allow to think so. I would have done the same as you, and **** the injuries. As long as you take some of them with you you can walk away wincing and grinning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Your aim in this situation is to come out of it as best as possible and to protect your sister and her friend aswell. For you to pull a knife is a terrible idea and will greatly heat the situation up. There's 3 of them a year or 2 older than you, and only one of you. Even somebody trained in self defence and attack would find it quite difficult to come out of this situation un hurt. If they say they have a knife, you should be very cautious and even though it would be best to disarm, you could get seriously injured in the process. Never underestimate to power of a kick to the balls, seriously, a swift full force kick will put somebody out for a good few minutes, don't try and fight the other two at the same time, move constantly so that one is behind the other so you're just fighting one at a time, remember, kicks to the balls.

Just curious, did they actually see you with your phone or did they just assume you would have a phone? It may be an idea to carry around an old phone, pretend it's the only one you have, keep an old sim card in it too, say the battery is dead, they wont be interested. I'm sure you could get an old phone easily enough.

How long did it last from the minute you saw them come to the time they ran away? Did your friends not even go to get help?

There are a lot of self defence training videos to be found online, check out youtube. Of course it's best to train for real with an instructor but videos give great information too.

Get well soon. It could have been a lot worse. Well done for protecting your sister too:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Definite fold here for me.
    Oops, wrong forum.

Option 5-Pull out your 9 and put a cap in their a$$es.
    Two thirds of your group jumps up and walks away
    ?
    That's your problem right there. You haven't blooded your homeboys properly during initiation.If they had stayed it would have been 9 of you against 3 of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Giblet wrote:
    A simple "**** off" and then play it by ear.

I wud prob do the same or tell them I have no credit or dont have my phone on me.

I have been lucky enuf not to get into any trouble with scumbags. Tho had a good few problems with the younger ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

Why did they try rob your mobile, this is not 2003 hello, they should've been asking for your Ipod ffs :rolleyes: amatuers.

:D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

I remember a few years back my mate was being held at knife point he just said 'Has it been raining lately lads'' they looked at each other like wtf and my mate just knocked the knife out of your mans hand and tackled them to the ground

true story, me personally i'd probably play it by ear, OP would be safe to say that if your mates hadn't of ran away you probably wouldn't be sitting here talking about your experience with all those nasty injuries? some friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭phil

Only trouble I ever had was going home one Christmas, got off the train and got asked for all the stuff I had in the bag. Damn near 300 pounds (as it was then) worth of stuff and I wasn't giving it over.

I was able to take two guys down and the third just went and helped his mate who was probably trying to pull one of his nuts out of his stomach.

Would be far more wary since though since a mate of mine got a slashing in the city centre after trying to help two younger kids who were being harrassed / robbed by some older scumbags.

Spur of the moment stuff is hard to resist and I think a lot of guys natural reaction is to rise to a challenge if it's there which is why it's easier to walk away as early as possible. Btw, as you get older this kind of **** _tends_ not to happen, but if it does it's probably more serious, so maybe best to avoid it altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

What kind of knife had these scumbags got, did they even pull 1 in the end? Were they typical stereotype tracker knackers or how did they look. Did your sister and friend get injured whilst they were fighting you. You should have stabbed the dirty aids ridden cnuts.

You sure you were in the park with your friends? It doesnt seem that way. Did your so called friends run back at least when ye were engaged in the fighting.

Nuttzy wrote:
    You should have stabbed the dirty aids ridden cnuts.

Haha, if it were true, possibly the worst advice ever:eek: :D

wyndham wrote:
    Definite fold here for me.
    Oops, wrong forum.

Bullets would be handy here;) I'd go all in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Put hat into pocket. You've then got a 6 foot nut standing there. Then, I'd have gone psycho with the aim of ensuring they don't get back up off the ground when they fall, using any means necassery. If they die, f*ck it.

Oh, and for any thick c*nts that think kicking them in the balls is low, its either them or me, tbh.
    Its not the mobile phone. They'll keep asking for stuff untill they have a reason to kick the sh|t out of you, tbh.

=-=

Dump the "friends". THey're worse than the scum who kicked lumps out of you, tbh.

Kick to the groin is not low at all. Also increases the chances of them not being able to reproduce. I mean if they are going around robbing people, what will their kids be like.

cormie wrote:
    Kick to the groin is not low at all. Also increases the chances of them not being able to reproduce. I mean if they are going around robbing people, what will their kids be like.
    I like this theory. We can turn it into the average joe's version of "happy slapping"! We walk up to a random scummer an kick them AS HARD AS POSSIBLE in the family jewels. Video footage purely optional for giggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Jeez, OP thats harsh.

What park did this happen in, if you dont mind me asking?

Did they get off their bikes before demanding your phone?

Not sure what I would have done. The old phone / kick in the balls idea certainly has merit.

I would probably hand over my cheap Nokia 1101 and leg it. No phone is worth a beating like that.

But you cant always predict how you will react - the old "fight or flight".

A few scumbags carried my bike away when I had foolishly left it outside a chemist several years ago and hadnt locked it to any immovable object - it just had a lock around the back wheel.

On learning that some young fella had just ran off round the corner with my bike, I had a rush of adrenalin and decided I would go and get it back.

Found two 11/12 year olds in the council estate there, tower block looming overhead, trying to get the lock off the back wheel with a hammer (this was in the inner city of a southern UK port city).

Asked them what the feck did they think they were doing, threatened them with my swiss army knife and then, getting a bit too cocky, insulted their mothers.

Picked up bike and ran off, but they chased me and hit me on the arm with the hammer as I was running. I turned round and used the bike as a weapon to hit one of them on the head, then fell over the kerb by the chemist while they laughed and ran away.

The good thing was that I kept my bike and my ego was intact. I had no injuries apart from a grazed knee and a bruised shoulder.

The bad thing was that I spent the next two hours giving a statement at the police station, only to be told they are too young to do anything about, despite being known to the police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I would have gone with option 2, simply because I do not like fighting with weapons and will refrain from doing so unless they pull one first. Also because if I tried option 3 or 4 they would have sensed weakness and started a fight anyway. better to stand up for yourself and take the odd bating than be a pussy all your life. I found that lesson out the hard way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

deise_boi wrote:

1. Not a good idea - If you kill them, you're in trouble
    2. Not a good idea - If they kill you, ................
    3. The best solution, mininal harm and loses
    4. Embarrassing

If you have to ask yourself, is mobile phone risking your life for? I mean they really could have harmed you bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

What does a phone cost, about €150?
    To be honest, I'd gladly pay €150 euro to not get a knee in the children's allowance. Let them have the phone.

Why are people going around with knives in their back pockets? If you have to fight with someone at least keep it clean.

CyberGhost wrote:
    4. Embarrassing

If you have to ask yourself, is mobile phone risking your life for? I mean they really could have harmed you bad.
    Yes but hindsight is a marvellous thing, i know if that were me I would have told them to pry my phone from my cold, dead hand and then belted the nearest one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

yer friends are worthless...

like what's the story? They were so scared that the legged it before the knackers even asked for the phone?

They left you and two young girls to fend for yerselves?

Did they not look back at all?

drop these fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

CyberGhost wrote:
    4. Embarrassing

Who's to say they weren't only after a fight and after taking his phone and the two girls phones and any other belongings(because if he gives them the phone that's what they'll probably do) that they wouldn't try and give him a kicking anyway .

I think you did the right thing , if you pull the knife out you have to be prepared to use it and when you use a knife things could get real messy .

Some friends you have though , well if you can call them friends .

If it makes you feel any better your phone is in your possession , you r sister and her friend are fine aswell as having all their possessions and lastly and possible just as important your pride is intact .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Use the fact that they are on bikes against them, run over ground or in a direction that is not bike-friendly or even better up steps. Odds are, if you are going fast enough they wont want to leave their bikes alone. Them having to even make that decision gives you valuable seconds.

Been in similiar situations a few times, I use an electric wheelchair so more often than not, escape is not an option. My own personal favourite is to scare them by saying somthing like "Id advise you to go, its not worth the injuries I'd give you"...... usually startles them a bit that the guy in the chair is actually threatening "them", and, if it dosent work, all I gotta do is move my thumb to push my joystick forward at full speed and any legs in the way get pounded by an extremely powerfull metal monster, as long as I protect my trunk with my free hand, and keep going, I'm fine ;)

Although I try to always carry *somthing* useful, be it a cigarette (great for mashing into a face or hand), or a biro, (wonderful things, biros), Im also usually at crotch height (sitting) so that can be an advantage if used correctly.

failing that there is a little surprise built into my chair, its rather amazing what you can come up with when you are angry the next day ;)

b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Was walking past a book shop in the square when I noticed in the front window

"encyclopedia of knives- everything you have wanted to know about them"

what's the story with that!!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

If you do this you are instantly escalating the situation to the point of "cutting someone". It's that simple. I know many, many people of a somewhat dodgy nature, lots of them are my friends. Pull a knife on that type of person and they will **** you up for it, especially if they have the numbers advantage. If you did this you were getting cut, with your own knife if they had none. This would have been the worst thing you can do, you instantly bring it to the point of being a weapons fight, means somone could verye asily die…..as you pulled the knife you could very easily end up in jail.

It's not a question of forcing them down. You can only pull a knife if your willing to use it. It's not there for "bluffing".

Once again is a risky option. The COULD have a knife and be more than willing to cut you with it. Most scumbags never went to med school, so a cut can turn into a bleeding to death pretty easily. Depending on the situation and curcumstances I may have fought….if I thought I could get at least one of them down for good with my first shot then more than likely yes, and depending on how many people are with me and what they are like…..too many variables without having stood there.

Normally the best option for most people to be honest.

Just run towards people…..not a lot of people are willing to go in front of a witness, or a dozen of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Lone Wolf

Trying to speak to them in the authoritarian tone helped me when I was about 14, granted I was a big kid for my age.

I just told them that there was no point, that they weren't getting anything from me and basically stalled them until somebody came down the road and they ran off. The little scumbags are terrifed when they think there'll witnesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

What time was it?

If it was any sort of decent hour, I would definitly just run towards some people, even on foot against bikes you have an advantage, you are much more manouverable and if there is a low wall or anything nearby then your away (They probably are not that willing to give chase). Having two girls with me would change the situation though and I might just hand over my phone depending on how they reacted. Yep, I would pretty much do anything to avoid the fight I guess, wimpy old me!

Some scumbag tried to rob me once at central bank in the middle of the day while I was waiting for a friend. Came up and said "Give me your phone, I have a knife" he had his hand in his pocket, all that usual crap. I told him I didn't have a phone but he had seen me with it a minute or two ago when I was texting my mate and he knew I still had it up my sleeve in my hand. He reached down to grab it and I belted off.

He just wandered off with me about 30 feet away.

Oh and your "friends" are asshats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I like this theory. We can turn it into the average joe's version of "happy slapping"! We walk up to a random scummer an kick them AS HARD AS POSSIBLE in the family jewels. Video footage purely optional for giggles.
    Added bonus of possibly preventing scum from breeding!