Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vegas - Other

• 14-08-2006 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭

I was following the blog updates on antes up from Bohsman and others with great interest at the start but they seemed to die out as the days went on, probably due to the excesses of vegas:D ;):p

I found the updates on how the trip was going in events other than the main event i.e. cash game wise and smaller tourneys a great read from Dev and Bohsman in particular, and was wondering now that the trip is over if any of the crowd that went over to vegas over want to post their overall update on how their cash games/tourneys went apart from the main event that is as I think everyone knows how they went.

Feel free to ignore
    Shay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

:mad:
    shaydy wrote:
    I was following the blog updates on antes up from Bohsman and others with great interest at the start but they seemed to die out as the days went on, probably due to the excesses of vegas:D ;):p

I found the updates on how the trip was going in events other than the main event i.e. cash game wise and smaller tourneys a great read from Dev and Bohsman in particular, and was wondering now that the trip is over if any of the crowd that went over to vegas over want to post their overall update on how their cash games/tourneys went apart from the main event that is as I think everyone knows how they went.

Feel free to ignore
    Shay

Tournaments + $2500
    Cash Games -$2000
    BlackJack +$300
    Craps and Texas holdem bonus poker - $undisclosed. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Im gonna do a blog entry in the next day or two with as much as I can remember, I never really felt like writing the report on the 2k FO which I went deep in and then everyone started arriving so there wasnt much time to write.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭shaydy

bohsman wrote:
    Im gonna do a blog entry in the next day or two

Nice one!
    NickyOD wrote:
    :mad:
    Tournaments + $2500
    Cash Games -$2000
    BlackJack +$300
    Craps and Texas holdem bonus poker - $undisclosed. :mad:

Any interesting/funny stories from the craps game Nicky? dont hear to much of that game but id say its some buzz if you ever manage to get on a role on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

A brief report on how vegas went from a poker perspective:

Arrived in vegas in evening, had food and slept. For the first few days headed down to caesers palace and played some 1/2 NL, made about $800-$900. Then played a $220 tourney in caesers one night, there were about 300 runners, I came 10th for just over $1k. so far so good. Next day, I stalled down to the rio with roundtower who was gonna play some 10-25 plo, but possibly fortunately the only big game going was a 10-25-50 game which was too big so he just played some 2-5. I somehow get talked into playing a 1000 dolla megasat to the main event, which was starting the next day. Despite being shattered tired after the previous nights tourney, I win a ticket. I choose to start on day 1c to give me a chance to get some rest. dont play any poker the next day. the day roundtower is playing i stall down with him to check out what the room is like. I hang around for a while before heading to caesers to play a little bit of cash before getting some rest. Next day i head down to the rio to play the main event. I am an alternate after a **** up by harrahs, get to sit in after a short wait. about four hours in after peaking at an 11k stack i am down to 8k and get it all in with KK v AA. end of WSOP for me, well almost( i had 1% of roundtower after we swapped a percentage). All i can remember of the next few days is doing my bollocks in 2-5 NL after getting some sick beats and dropping about 2k. Then i play a $230 tourney in the mirage, down to 4, i am chipleader, i call all in on a AA55 board against the only guy who can damage me, basically, to win the tournament, i have JJ, he has 99. I am down to less than 1 BB. Winner got 7.6k, i finish 4th and get 1.6k. Cant remember much of the next few days, went downtown one evening and played some uncapped 1-2 NL in the golden nugget and binions and lost about 800 due to some more sick beats. Then, after spending the whole night out drinking celebrating KP's birthday, I took on a prop bet to walk from the mgmgrand to the rio at midday. I did it and made $750 for my troubles. Played some more cash games over the last few days and made about $1k. End of vegas. Was a great trip apart from not making much money.

Also forgot to include the $200 i made in the fun and sick dealers choice game we had in marq and niall's room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

Great trip for me.
    My blog has been abandoned a bit lately, but will sort that out, when i get a few things done at home, and get my laptop sent up again. (feeling i left power lead in vegas).
    Didnt actually play much poker apart from the main event.

Summary as follows:
    Main event +47,000
    Other tournies -1,800
    Cash game -800
    Blackjack +700
    Roulette -200
    Craps -500
    Bonus texas holdem +1,500
    Entertainment -4,000

All in all, lots of fun.
    Looking forward to next year already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

cash (1/2): -$845
    tourney: -$35 (played 6 total buyins $770)
    table games: +$18.50
    other: n/a
    overall: -$861.50

after a shaky start to the trip i eventually got up almost a monkey but my last two sessions playing cash cost me about 2k, both times getting stacked with a set versus pair/gutshot plus flush draw each hitting hit on the river :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭staringelf

did anyone actually turn a profit from cash games while in vegas? seems to me every report i've read so far has been losing money (in cash games at least). i thought cash in vegas at wsop time was supposed to be easy money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

tournaments -3000 (7 events excluding the main event - took a few sick beats.)
    STT Sats +1300
    cash -20 (played for 2 minutes in caesars)
    blackjack +100
    texas holdem bonus poker +2200
    craps - $500 ... not too sure as i was quite drunk
    video poker +200
    keno +300
    travel/entertainment/accomodation -5k

i plan to do a blog entry when i get the time. vegas seems to leave u with less than 5 minutes for yourself!

shaydy wrote:
    Any interesting/funny stories from the craps game Nicky? dont hear to much of that game but id say its some buzz if you ever manage to get on a role on it

Actually craps at the rio was a lot of fun. A certain boardster was betting fistfuls of hundreds and basing his bets on whether or not the shooter was a)evil or b) not evil. He also took 20 minutes to realise TJ Cloutier was at the table. It was one of the few times I enjoyed losing money in Vegas. :)

As for the money I lost in cash games those stories belong in the bad beat thread but they're so bad I could be writing for hours.

staringelf wrote:
    did anyone actually turn a profit from cash games while in vegas? seems to me every report i've read so far has been losing money (in cash games at least). i thought cash in vegas at wsop time was supposed to be easy money?

After a terrible start I ended up making money in the cash games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Then i play a $230 tourney in the mirage, down to 4, i am chipleader, i call all in on a AA55 board against the only guy who can damage me, basically, to win the tournament, i have JJ, he has 99. I am down to less than 1 BB. Winner got 7.6k, i finish 4th and get 1.6k.

i assume he rivered a 9?

I cant wait to do the whole vegas thing

Rnger wrote:
    i assume he rivered a 9?

I cant wait to do the whole vegas thing

That so deserves a sarcastic comment but mneh. Yes he rivered a 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I also lost money in cash games, I didn't play that much but I was only in one really good game the whole trip, and lost about 2k in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

My vegas trip was divided into two halves. For the first week or so I literally did not win a hand. I started playing 25 but moved down to 12 after a while, I had something like 6 losing sessions in a row losing nearly 3k. I got quite sick then and had to take some time off. I then had 8 winning sessions in a row, making about 2.5k.

I dont think I was playing that much better for the second run, poker can be a strange beast.

The most mermorable hand was this, playing 12nl at the venitian. I have about $500 in front of me and get moved to a new table. I sit beside a friend of mine and he tells me a little about how everyone at the table is playing. He says that the girl on my left has bluffed a few times. Anyway he puts a $4live straddle utg, and I call directly to his left with KQs. Most of the table calls to him and he raises making it 15 to go (or something like that). Everyone calls. The flop comes up K24 with two diamonds. I bet out 60 and the girl calls. A large guy at the end of the table thinks for a long time shuffling his cards back and forth and generally looking suspicous. We lock eyes for a few seconds and then he folds. The turn is a black six, I bet out 100 and the girl then pushes all in. She does this pretty quickly. All of my immediate instincts are to fold, but I talk to her for a while. At first I ask her will she show me a card (others had been doing this) and eventually get into a funny discussion about her boyfriend. All this time she seems really confident, but I was trying to discover whether this confidence was based on her hand or her thinking I might fold. Anyway eventualy I decide that I cant fold for a number of reasons and call. She says good call and doesnt show. The river is dealt and I take the pot. She leaves.

Afterwards the guy who had been sitting on her left tells me that he had been watching her the whole hand and whilst we had been talking during it (for about 3-4 mins) she had her finger between her thigh and had been fingering herself discretely. God only knows what I would of made of this had I seen it at the time. Now this isnt the strangest thing about the hand. Later
    when I was cashing out the pudgy guy comes over to me and says he folded 44, for middle set! Apparently he put me on KK! Only in vegas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Afterwards the guy who had been sitting on her left tells me that he had been watching her the whole hand and whilst we had been talking during it (for about 3-4 mins) she had her finger between her thigh and had been fingering herself discretely. God only knows what I would of made of this had I seen it at the time. Now this isnt the strangest thing about the hand. Later
    when I was cashing out the pudgy guy comes over to me and says he folded 44, for middle set! Apparently he put me on KK! Only in vegas!
    LOL what a hand for so many reasons... I'd say it's standard for most players to Limp in EP with KK then flat call a raise. :D

And as for your woman :eek: :eek: , HJ you Stud, were you not meant to follow her upstairs, after all, she did pay for your services... :p:p

Later

lol! I had a very similar hand where I saw a flop 3 handed with AK. and the flop came J-T-6. I came over the top of the guy first to act because he always bet hard to protect his legitimate hands and small when on a continuation bet/weak. He was basically an open book. The guy behind me took about five seconds to fold and said he had pocket 6s. I believed him 100%.

BTW that story brings a whole new meaning to the phrase, "Mmmm Smells like fish" Oh god :eek: I went too far there didn't I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Entertainment -4,000
    This needs more details! And I'm not talking about drinking.

Quote of the trip " I wish my Granny had a body like that"
    Some very drunk luckbox after being told that the stripper he just gone off with was a granny, closely followed by

Stripper: How old are you
    Me: 23
    Stripper: "Oh youre just a baby, we like molesting babies"...pause... "in a good way"

The graveyard shift in Vegas stripclubs not recomended.

And the award for the best story goes to HectorJelly!! (round of applause!!) Absolutely quality HJ!

Btw, what is Texas holdem bonus poker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

bohsman wrote:
    Some very drunk luckbox after being told that the stripper he just gone off with was a granny, closely followed by

Stripper: How old are you
    Me: 23
    Stripper: "Oh youre just a baby, we like molesting babies"...pause... "in a good way"

The graveyard shift in Vegas stripclubs not recomended.

lol you have to tell me more about this sort of sh!t!!!

I think there must have been a lot of boardsters in Vegas who have good stories like these they witnessed or were part of and would like to tell but not under their own username.
    How about sending them to a bureau(bohsman) by pm and he then copies and pastes all the nameles stories in this thread on friday afternoon?.
    No names or usernames published without consent!.

bohsman wrote:

The same luckbox re-quoted this when completely sober the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

texas holdem bonus poker is a new table game which is good fun.

B4 any cards are dealt, u place a blind of your choice , ie $10,
    Then u get 2 cards, the dealer also gets 2 cards, both face down.
    U look at your cards and u can either fold (and lose $10) or see a flop, in which case u bet 2x your blind (ie $20).
    U are playing against a dealers random hand, so K high is a monster.
    Depending on the flop, u can either bet the amount of the blind (ie $10) b4 the turn is dealt, or just check.
    U can then bet another $10 b4 the river is dealt if u want.
    If u beat the dealers random hand, u get paid on your pre flop 2x bet and your pre turn and river bets at even money, (ie $40 profit).
    You also get paid on your blind bet if u make a straight or better.

(if 3 or 4 mates play this together, tables are 6 handed, and u share cards, u can actually gain an edge on the house, ie u have 95, someone else has 95 and another has 92, u all fold, if u all have lives u generally play).

a lot of muppets just bet every street , play every hand etc, with some poker skills u can do well at this, a few of us smashed this game on occassions out there.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

shaydy wrote:
    And the award for the best story goes to HectorJelly!! (round of applause!!) Absolutely quality HJ!

Btw, what is Texas holdem bonus poker?
    A sick game noone should play (but I did too :( )

Cash games are about selection over there imho. I'm not usually a game selection person, I sit and play (which is wrong). Over there I quickly learned to move game if I didnt want to play with the players, the difference between sharks and fish is pronounced over there. More then once I sat down and after playing a few hands would know who was here for the beer and who for the cash. On one occasion (after I made a good fold against the pro to my left) he leaned over and started telling me tells and history on every player at the table, including one guy I nearly reraised with JJ while he was telling me he was a total rock. I dropped the hand and rock showed me KK.

My experience was that I was down 150 on the first day and then never really looked back though I didnt make as much as I would have liked. I took some really sick beats, especially on one night. I dunno why but having Karl H on the table to witness them made it somehow easier to shake off!

Cash: +960
    Tournies: -90
    Table games -about 250... I was very drunk but I usually dont account for those kinds of games out of bankroll, I account for them out of entertainment.

Cash, as I said, is about game selection and then huge variance. You rarely can back off a big hand and you'll end up with your tank in the middle (or theirs!) on just about any big clash. AK vs AQ on an A-high flop is perfectly fine to them. Sets = stacks. Thats about it. Preflop raises of 20 on 1/2 means they remember the nickname of the hand.

Variance will blow your mind but if you can keep your discipline the "long run" is very short in vegas. Stay sober, stay on target and you will make money.

I'd like to hear more about Niall's "entertainment" expenses :)

DeV.

lol you have to tell me more about this sort of sh!t!!!

I think there must have been a lot of boardsters in Vegas who have good stories like these they witnessed or were part of and would like to tell but not under their own username.
    How about sending them to a bureau(bohsman) by pm and he then copies and pastes all the nameles stories in this thread on friday afternoon?.
    No names or usernames published without consent!.

what goes on in vegas rounders123....... stays in vegas!!!

DeVore wrote:
    A sick game noone should play (but I did too :( )

I'd like to hear more about Niall's "entertainment" expenses :)

DeV.

i'm an innocent man, some spent a lot more than 5k on booze and other such things! at $64 a bottle the bill in the little buddha restaraunt where we frequented cost a bit.. not to mention getting limo's when twisted and ordering rounds for 15 people... :rolleyes: and on kp's bday id say we dropped more than two wsop main event buy-ins!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

ocallagh wrote:
    and on kp's bday id say we dropped more than two wsop main event buy-ins!

heh :D did you refer to everything in relation to wsop buy-ins? i spent 1/500 of a wsop buyin at the shops just there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Cash Games: +1315
    Tournaments: -640
    Table Games: -525 (took me a while to work this out as I was invariably drunk, should probably go down as entertainment expenses)
    Other gambling: +250

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Marq wrote:
    Other gambling: +250

Care to elaborate? :p

Golden Tee, Mythical, Klag, Prop Bets. You know, the usual.
    Also forgot to include the $200 i made in the fun and sick dealers choice game we had in marq and niall's room.
    this game started with blinds of .50c/.50c and after three hours the nine players involved collectively had almost six grand on the table. Fun night.

Marq wrote:

this game started with blinds of .50c/.50c and after three hours the nine players involved collectively had almost six grand on the table. Fun night.

When are you going to put up your report of the main event?

Marqs report - Decided to concentrate on small tournies and cash games and not play any satelites

Union Jack towel wearers report - Spent a fortune on satelites and decided to get nearly 10,000 chips in with the blinds at 50/100 with KK against AA after around 20 minutes at the table.

You can definitely afford to slag other people for not playing the ME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Poker (Tournaments) +$13,000
    "Entertainment" -$8,000
    Texas Holdem Bonus Table Poker +$4,100
    Flights & Accommodation -$3,500
    Poker (Cash) -$2,500
    Pool +$700
    Craps +$550
    Paper, Scissors, Stone +$100
    Golden Tee -$84
    Larry Lobster slot machines +$6.13

I broke Vegas!

Marq wrote:

i forgot about that game, i trebled my initial buy in and then was too scared to go near another pot as my entire bankroll (or what was left of it) was sitting in front of me while 6 card omaha with straddles up to $32 (from .50 .50) were in place...

i think i broke even on golden tee with a few winning sessions near the end.. i'd be up if bohsman hadn't jammed that hole in one...

kpnuts wrote:
    Golden Tee -$84

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

ocallagh wrote:
    Even in Vegas, I took time out for at least one charitable gesture.
    it's the kind of guy I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Tournaments = +$4880 (not including ME buyin as I qualified)

Cash = +$3900 (4 sessions)

Texas Bonus Holdem = -$400 (this was actually plus 1100 untill on the last night I decided playing the last hand all the way at the table max of $500 a street)

Craps = -$550

Blackjack = -$400

Roulette = +$430

Flights & Hotels = -$4200

Online Poker = +$2650 (actually a result as I only played four times and managed to lose nearly 10k the first night whilst wildy intoxicated)

Pool = -$475

Staking Players = -$2200

Entertainment & Living Ex's = -$4600

After I got knocked out of the ME I basically knew my head wasnt right for poker as I had put so much into the tournament, so I just treated the rest of the trip as a holiday and basically played close to no poker. Winning $10k in the mega really was a saver for the trip, if I hadnt turned that result I would be down considerably on the trip.

When I went over I expected to play a lot more cash games than I actually did, the wait lists in the rio where a pain in the arse but when I did play the games where uber soft. I probably could have made some nice bank if I had stuck to my plan and just played cash every day but I was having too good a time living like a king and decided to focus on the tourneys.

Best trip I ever made, and a great bunch of lads, roll on wsop 2007.

Edit: All my table game losses were accumulated in one drunken night so they could probably be crossfiled under Ex's.

On the blog now you welching cheating thieving bottom-feeding angle-shooting british scum.

bohsman wrote:
    Marqs report - Decided to concentrate on small tournies and cash games and not play any satelites

Union Jack towel wearers report - Spent a fortune on satelites and decided to get nearly 10,000 chips in with the blinds at 50/100 with KK against AA after around 20 minutes at the table.

You can definitely afford to slag other people for not playing the ME.

I don't think you realise that marq actually played the main event but was unlucky to only last 5 hands.

Still did better than you so.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I think I ended up $700 down or thereabouts. I actually did keep the blog updated which is amusing when I consider it had at best one reader...me checking for typos. Couldn't be arsed breaking that figure down by the way. It includes all games mentioned above bar craps.
    I am not including cash spent on that which "stays in vegas". I should have taken Mike on when he was saying he would do that walk with Reggie. Would have been easy money.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

lol.. this thread is funneh!!

Watching Reggie slowly suck limes with a face like a kid being made to take medicine was one of the funniest things... (it was a prop bet that just got funnier and funnier).

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    Watching Reggie slowly suck limes with a face like a kid being made to take medicine was one of the funniest things... (it was a prop bet that just got funnier and funnier).
    DeV.

hahaha that sounds hilarious!! More stories lads, spit them out!!:p
    S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

musician wrote:
    I actually did keep the blog updated which is amusing when I consider it had at best one reader...
    LOL, that must have been me so... :o:o

DeVore wrote:
    lol.. this thread is funneh!!

DeV.

THe full(er) story - we ordered a hell of a lot of Corona up to the room, RT decided to hustle Reggie by offering him 3/1 on a $100 bet that he couldnt eat a whole lime - which we set at 8 slices, Reggie imediately say yes, then starts laughing at Dave telling him he loves lime and eats them all the time, he then finds out its skin and all, hes not laughing for long.
    Then Tom comes along and says, hmm thats interesting, Ive never tried lime before, so tries some and says - thats really nice, I could definitely do that, want to offer me the same bet Dave? born hustler that one.
    Bit like Marq, a couple of months ago we told him theyd got a fussball table into the Fitz, that we were all **** but wed been playing for 50 a game, Marq turns around and says - Fantastic, Im brilliant at Fussball, Im gonna make so much money off youse. Think I played hime for a tenner once.

I nearly got murdered when I hid everything from the hotel room safe on Karl H (who had told me earlier he had stuffed robbed from the room by the maids in Vegas). You should have seen his face, I only wish I'd had the camera. He chased me around the room a bit lol...

Other memorables... the state of Mike after KP's b-day party night, Joe's singing and Andrew Leonard and I trying to get Helmuth to hold up 10 fingers (he wouldn't acknowledge us)... there were a lot more but some are simply unrepeatable and not for a public site!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

DeVore wrote:
    You should have seen his face, I only wish I'd had the camera. He chased me around the room a bit lol...

bbmountain2dt5.th.jpg

Quiet you! Our love is a many splendoured thing....

DeV.

splendoured

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Ste05 wrote:
    LOL, that must have been me so... :o:o

Cheers Ste. Also had a few work buddys checking to make sure I didn't strike it rich so I could quit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

Hey guys, great reports, I'm going to Vegas on Monday ! Staying on the south of the strip in the Luxor, I was there in November but I didnt stray too far away, just messed about on the limit, or the 1/3 NL game in excaliber.

This time tho I'm taking quite a nice roll, and looking for some better action.
    Any ideas? I heard Mandalay Bay had a nice 2/4 and 5/10 games, and that would be handy as I could just walk back to hotel, in bout 5 mins.

But where would you advice for other cash games or food etc.

Cheers
    Matt