Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRL: 1X12 / 1X13 - "Odd Man Out" / "End Of The Tunnel" [* SPOILERS WITHIN *]

• 08-08-2006 9:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN "ODD MAN OUT" / "END OF THE TUNNEL" -

Episode Title: "Odd Man Out" / "End Of The Tunnel"
    Airdate: August 8th 2006

TV.com Summaries: [edited]

Odd Man Out:
    After learning all the escapees can't make it over the prison wall, the group decides who to get rid of. Sucre gets some good news from Maricruz. Abruzzi's operation goes wrong, and he turns to God for help.

End Of The Tunnel:
    A bleeding Abruzzi is transported to a hospital. With Lincoln's execution scheduled for the following day, Veronica comes out of hiding to contact him and gains an ally.

Next Episode: 1X14 - "The Rat" - August 15th 2006

What did you think of "Odd Man Out" / "End Of The Tunnel"? (avg score for both) 24 votes

0%
    16%
    zuutroycmoneygustavoFuzzy_Dunlop 4 votes
    33%
    godtabhRollo Tamasi[Deleted User]NotInventedHereAliasFan47JelloDMBanditHaven't a Clue 8 votes
    33%
    BacchusweemcdShiverinEskimod4gurlfobspokerwidowDermot2468Baby4 8 votes
    4%
    irlrobins 1 vote
    4%
    prospect 1 vote
    4%
    Umaro 1 vote
    4%
    padraigmyers 1 vote
    0%
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Two more top episodes tonight!

And at the end of tonight's episode is the point that Fox took that gruelling break which all us "US viewers" had to endure last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Excellent....the end of the episodes that I have seen! :)

edit: episode 13 is terrific, with an ending that had me pulling my hair out because I couldn't see what was next!

"Get on the train, fish.... get on the train!!"

Love that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Now thats just wrong. How am I gonna wait 166 hours to see what happens next. Brilliant episodes....Edge of the seat stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I love that ending, perfect cliffhanger. Everything just gone tits up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

No matter what, no episode is going to get 10 from me. There ain't no such thing as perfect. But this came damn, damn close. An absolutely brilliant episode. Poor auld Michael. And Lincoln I suppose. And the rest of the gang. And poor us for having to wait another son of a bitch of a week to see if Lincoln gets killed, des the fine lawyer get the evidence or what and t-bag presumably won't kill Michael....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Am I right in saying there was a 4 month break in the US after that episode?

zuutroy wrote:
    How am I gonna wait 166 hours to see what happens next?
    Heh.. 166 hours!? At least you didn't have to wait 2712 hours!
    zuutroy wrote:
    Am I right in saying there was a 4 month break in the US after that episode?
    Indeed there was!
    1-13 28 Nov 05 End of the Tunnel
    1-14 20 Mar 06 The Rat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭AliasFan47

The show gets more suspensful week after week. But what's with the one line given to the vice president actress Patricia Wettig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

Well at least John found God before he died.

Yep.. how many people gasped at the T-Bag slashing Abruzzi's throat scene?

Remember i almost shat (note.. i said ALMOST) when i first saw it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Heh.So is Abruzzi really dead then?That for me was the best night of the series so far , So much happened. Felt really sorry for the other secret service guy that Kellerman is a royal prick . Thoroughly riveting , television at
    its finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

That was absolutely amazing television! [ramble]So many things happened, how the bloody hell can they possibly gonna go on with this for another 10 or so episodes, and a second series of course. Somehow i think the whole prison break aspect of it is going to disappear at some point, unless of course they do the rest in slow motion or get stook in there for another few months, or just break out of that one in the pimped out escalade(well possibly not now) and go find other prisons to break out of. Actually now that i think of it(i formed those theories before everything went arseways), i suppose what is going to happen is they won't bother with the breaking out and the execution will be put back by yer wan and they'll give it another shot[/ramble]
    Also, why didnt your man give her the fookin envelope?!:confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

4 months is a long time to wait for a new episode! What was up with that? Why was there such a long wait?

I think it was a kind of give away that the route to the medical room would be blocked when the janitor had a look snoop around.

Great show other wise.

Gona be fun to see how it progresses over the next 9 shows/4 weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

10.40pm Tuesday nights - my least favourite time of the week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Man, Abruzzi is gonna kick T Bag's ass when he finds out he was lying about the kid. (Note: that's not a spoiler as I'm speculating that Abruzzi is still alive and that T Bag's man got the drop on Abruzzi's).

What a cliffhanger. Can't believe you guys had to wait four months for a resolution. That must have been excruciating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

Again another great double bill, the second episode was brilliant apart from the fact I had people trying to have a conversation around me when I was watching it!!

"Get on the train fish, get on the train" :D:D:D

How many episodes are there in Series 1 is it 16? I could google it but I don't want to read any spoilers/episode names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

I dunno guys...

I think alot of you have the blinkers on here. Sure it was highly entertaining stuff, and alot of suspense, but it was deffo not a 10/10 episode, none of them are.

I gave it a 6, as increasingly alot of the stuff that happens is down to luck & chance. Like Burrows being left un-restrained and unguarded in the infirmary, that is pure B.S., the guy attacked a guard and is hours away from execution, but they leave him alone in what has already been identified as the lowest security section of the prision....

Also, Abruzzi, not a single mention of him in the second episode, that is pants, very LOST, like. Ditto the Taj-Mahal made out of lolly pop sticks, what happened that? One day it is big news, the next day it is gone!!!

It is entertaining, but it could have been alot tighter.

How many episodes are there in Series 1 is it 16? I could google it but I don't want to read any spoilers/episode names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭homeOwner

Sorry if this is a stupid question, am new to this board.....What number episode are we up to since last night? I thought we were so near then end when started the escape. If there's 22 for this series, we have a bit to go no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Read the title of the thread for your answer... RTE are up to episode 13.

First of all, I thought "Odd Man Out" was pretty weak. I didn't like the whole Abruzi finding God thing. His sudden feelings of remorse for his life just didn't sit well with me. Aside from what Michael was doing in the tunnels with the water not much interesting happened in that episode for me. So 6/10 for the first episode.
    "End Of the Tunnel" though was great stuff. Michael's last ditch plan to get Lincoln out of solitary, the tension in the group as the breakout approaches, the agent going against his superiors (who didn't see that coming since the start of the season though) and the last 10 minutes or so everything going to muck. Can't believe there is still 9 episodes left of this. I really hope they don't drag things to the end of the season. I reckon, Michael and co will have a shouting contest for a while, see the guard coming, go back down the tunnel, back into PI and hold off the escape till Michael can sort the new pipe and Lawyer girl will get an extension on Lincoln's execution... seems too easy though... maybe they'll get caught by the guard..... thank GOD it's only a 1 week wait :)

Anyway, 6/10 for "Odd Man Out", 9/10 for "End Of the Tunnel". 8/10 overall.

Oh, and how stupid is Lincoln anyway. Of all the things he could have done to delay the guard, he decides to hit him :rolleyes: I see all the brains in the family went to Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

no one else find the whole "jesus on the wall" thing a little bit hammy? Appearing / dissappearing? I know this stuff happens in lost all the time, but c'mon - abbruzzi is a villian - I prefered him when he was hardcore.

might've been mentioned before, but what is t-bag in for anyway? What was john saying about him destroying families etc. Was a big shock to see john slashed. Though I suppose the escape and execution will be delayed now, and john will be back for the real deal (just a guess) - though what're they gonna do? burst another pipe in the guard room? suppose micheal has something else up his sleeve.

Cant wait for next episode though - I thought last night was the finale for a minute - cant believe there's another 9 eps. Hope it dosent get dragged out too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

This is an entertaining TV show, but no more than that. I don't go along with the hyperbole expressed by others.

My understandnig is that the 4 month break in the US was attributable to the success of the show. The network realised they had something worth keeping , so commissioned more episodes for Series 1 and a whole 2nd series.

It is reasonable to assume that the writer's original narrative arc will be stretched to breaking point.

Veronica going public with 'new evidence' before she had even met her Deep Throat ? How dumb was that ?

A significant piece of precision engineering installed below the infirmary in an afternoon ? Not plausible.

Westmoreland having the upper body strength to haul himself up that rope ?Not plausible.

Lincoln being kept on Death Row in a cell on his own, being kept in the exercise yard on his own, yet being allowed engage in PI ? Not plausible.

That said, it is must-see TV from now until the end of this series - 12 September by my reckoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

No one else find it impossible that Micheal could climb the rope and then lift the grate up, which the rope was attached to?
    It seems, in my mind, to defy gravity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

Slurms wrote:
    No one else find it impossible that Micheal could climb the rope and then lift the grate up, which the rope was attached to?

Implausible, but possible.

IIRC the pit narrowed before the grate, so he could have climbed to that point, wedged himself where it was narrow and then lifted the grate. Similarly, going back down, how did he get the grate back in position without putting his weight on the rope ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Slurms wrote:

Yeah, I spotted that too.
    Also, the reverse, he tied the rope onto the grate, then pulled out the bag that was blocking the shore. So how did he climb back in, and put the grate back in position without making an awful racket. Also why? Would it not have been easier to jump into the water and use his bouyancy to help with the grate, then pull the bag, and let himself drop down nice and easy with the water level?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭meepmeep

Slurms wrote:

I'm nearly sure that there was a bit hanging down from the metal under the grate that he held on to. We saw him use it to pull himself out of the water, so he could have held that while removing the grate.

There is also a possibility that I imagined it!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Slurms wrote:

Never mind the grate - climbing a ship's rope is a bitch and a feat of extraordinary strength - climbing that piece of string he called a rope would be impossible - you could never get enough surface pressure to hold your weight.

But its a TV show that I've seen all of the first series of and I still think its the best TV for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,135 ✭✭✭lukin

TarfHead wrote:
    Westmoreland having the upper body strength to haul himself up that rope ?Not plausible.

Yeah, totally implausible. They didn't evn show him climbing the rope, they just showed the lads helping him up, and he didn't have a bead of sweat on him!

Oh I know I was being pedantic.

Still I'm loving the show, probably the best thing on TV at the moment.
    First episode gets a 6 from me, thought it was fairly average. Second one stepped it up alot so it gets a nine. So I'm giving them an 8.

Anyone think the evil Secret Agent, has the weirdest eyebrows ever?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Yeah, noticed the silly grate issue myself; nicely skipped over by the camera work so they never had to actually deal with the issue...

It's a TV show though, and has plenty of pretty implausible goings on (like how people keep organising murders over the payphone... are we supposed to believe that isn't tapped in a high security prison?)
    Still entertaining though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Evil_Bilbo wrote:

might've been mentioned before, but what is t-bag in for anyway?
    he's innocent, however, he does have a conviction for raping and killing about 4 kids.

re: the grate. There was a support beam under it that they could have used for positioning their weight to propell themselfs thru the grate.

good episodes. The next episode,
    "the rat",
    is one of the best episodes of the series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭The Insider

basquille wrote:

Thanks, I guess it could be double episodes untill the season finale?

more than likely, the competition during the ads that RTE are running for PB finishes on the 22nd of September so that sounds about right if they continue with double bills :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭fobs

Thought the first episode was average but really enjoyed the second epsisode though. Like has been mentioned there seems to be a number of implausable scenarios going on there but it is a Tv show. Definately couldn't imagine that Lincolbe left on his own in the infirmary like that!
    If this is episode 13 of 22 can't imagine what is left to happen and what would justify another season unless they escape and one of the gang is sent to another prison and they attempt to break him out ....(repeat until series 10)

he's innocent, however, he does have a conviction for raping and killing about 4 kids.
    He killed those kids in Self Defense!!

Slurms wrote:
    He killed those kids in Self Defense!!

bob dylan and cat stevens are coming together to write a song about it.
    "here comes the story of the tbag"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Apocalypse

Just seemed odd to me the other night but mabye i missed somthing.
    Michael fills the room with water and ties a rope to the grill then lets the water out again , then when they all go and climb up the rope Michael somehow pushes the grill up which the rope is attached to :confused: .
    Just thought id point it out , not moaning or anything :) .

Prison Break FTW \o/

bob dylan and cat stevens are coming together to write a song about it.

"here comes the story of the tbag"
    Lol.legendary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭padraigmyers

Junt one of the many plot holes in this show.
    I've been watching this show from the beginning and the number of plot-holes and unlikely coincidences are really starting to get annoying. I think I'm going to give up on it now. Also, some of the acting is really bad, Micheal and his brother (especially his brother) wouldn't even make it on Fair City!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭AliasFan47

That's harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Micheal and his brother (especially his brother) wouldn't even make it on Fair City!!

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Classic

Have to agree though i watched the series as it was airing in America and i gave up on about episode 18 as i was sick of all the set backs they faced and yet managed to overcome them every week.

It went small tiny bit of progress......setback.....overcome it. Small tiny bit of progress......setback......overcome it. Continue loop

So i just got bored/ frustrated with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

yeah i noticed that too..he climbed up , but managed to move the grate its attached to while still hanging onto the rope. I think he untied it then and tied it to a shelf or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Dermot2468

Is it just me or in the same scene where he fills up the room with water, is the place where he swims in lower than the grill ie ground level am i wrong or did any one else notice this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

Dermot2468 wrote:
    Is it just me or in the same scene where he fills up the room with water, is the place where he swims in lower than the grill ie ground level am i wrong or did any one else notice this?

Imho, he slids down a small tunnel into the room. I know there are some 'irregularities' but it is by far the best thing RTE are showing at the moment.

Apocalypse,

In the future, please keep all posts regarding to an episode in the appropriate episode thread.

Merged!

Also, some of the acting is really bad, Micheal and his brother (especially his brother) wouldn't even make it on Fair City!!

the worst is LJ, everytime he cries or is worried (which is all the time) he looks like he is in desperate need to take a dump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

cmon people - focus!

you are all complaining about "how did micheal push the grid up while he was hanging off a rope that was attached to it?"

Yet I'm the only one who is in the least bit interested as to how a pretty perfect picutre of jesus with a crown of thorns can appear / dissapear willy-nilly on abbruzzi's cell wall. This is far more ridiculous than someone maybe wedging themselves into a smallish hole and pushing a grate up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭meepmeep

Evil_Bilbo wrote:
    Yet I'm the only one who is in the least bit interested as to how a pretty perfect picutre of jesus with a crown of thorns can appear / dissapear willy-nilly on abbruzzi's cell wall. This is far more ridiculous than someone maybe wedging themselves into a smallish hole and pushing a grate up.

Erm, the point of that was that Abruzzi was seeing Jesus but he wasn't really there - as highlighted when the minister looked up and only saw the blood.