Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laois Vs Mayo

• 10-08-2006 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭

So what are peoples feeling regarding this intriguing tie?

Laois have completely turned their season around, after the humiliating defeat to Dublin, and in my opinion would beat the Dubs if given another chance. [Thats not the debate here though.]

So, after desposing of the All-Ireland Champions, Meath and Offaly how do people rate Laois' chances against the Connaught Champions?

The Laois team for the game this weekend has only one change from the last victory, in comes Noel Garvan at full-forward in place of Ian Fitzgerald.

The team: Byron, Fennelly, Rooney, Higgins, McDonald, Kelly, McMahon, Quigley, Clancy, Munnelly, Conway, McCormack, McDonald, Garvan and Sheehan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

Very hard one to call and it's very hard to know how much Laois have improved.

Tyrone were there for the taking after a horrible year of injuries.

Meath were bet out the gate by Wexford and Laois made hard work of beating them.

Offaly have a history of blowing up in the qualifiers and did so again.

Still, you can only beat whats in front of you and I'm sure these games have brought Laois along. It'll be interesting to see how they fare agaist Mayo, who I've seen very little of this summer, should be a good game of football anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Garvan FF? :confused:

I thought he was having a nightmare of a season thus far. *shrug*

Rooney FB aswell...bah. I don't know if he's played there much again tis year.

tbh..I still feel we should beat Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I reckon people have really underestimated Mayo and let's be honest what have Laois beaten since their defeat to the Dubs.

- a Tyrone side absolutely crippled by injuries,
    - a Meath side in the middle of a rebuilding process &
    - an Offaly side who were absolutely appalling.

While no one can question the fact that Laois are on form, I would still expect mayo to come through the tie as I feel they have the better footballers. My only concern from a Mayo point of view is that they won't have played in 4 weeks (a la Dublin) and you can't help wonder if all the controversy surrounding Mickey Moran's temporary resignation will have a negative effect on them.

In my opinion, Mayo will shade this by 2 points and hopefully set up a thrilling semi final with the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

It is a very tough call, if mayo could manage to convert more scores they would of been far more convincing against galway. They can be a class act if they perform on the day. Laois have good momentum at the moment, and more matches played. I don't think people should talk down their victory over tyrone as much. True they were not the same team that won the all-ireland but still. Personally i would love to see laois win and i think they will but not by much

but still? Tyrone were torn apart with the injuries, O'Neill rushed back clearly not 100%, a decent win but nothing to get too excited about in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

DUB wrote:
    but still? Tyrone were torn apart with the injuries, O'Neill rushed back clearly not 100%, a decent win but nothing to get too excited about in fairness.

In fairness DUB, let them have their time in the sun as I can't see any way in the world that we'd let the ball drop if we were to play Laois in a semi. Pillar has the lads too well conditioned to let them get carried away with themselves. I still reckon Mayo will win this one though.

I'd be very wary of meeting Laois again, especially if they overcame Mayo, I'm just saying the win over Tyrone was overshadowed by the horrendous injury problems Tyrone had this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Well it's crunch time for Mayo.

I've followed the evolvement of this Mayo team for quite a while. I've followed their predeccessors for the last 18 years ending in regular despair and disappointment.

Its is tough trying to convince anyone that Mayo have a chance, because history shows that they falter at the final hurdle time after time.

One thing I will say is this......

This team has more talent than any in the last 20 years, more pace, more fitness and very importantly a very strong bench.
    They seem to be pulling in the one direction, and they (like we) can sense that the way the championship has panned out, this years Sam is up for grabs.
    They bloody well should be hungry enough.

This team is creating dozens and dozens of scoring opportunities per match ..... what they have to do, is increase the % that they are converting.
    This point is being missed by many.
    They absolutely destroyed Galway in 14 of the 15 positions (goalkeeper only exception).

Our defence is not as strong as it was in 96/97 era, but I will trade that anyday for a stronger forward line up, which we have now. Scores win matches.
    An in-form Aidan Higgins coming in to the team will help strengthen our defence more, and add some pace going forward as well.

If we have a weakness, it is probably our full back, hence Laois selection Garvin at Full Forward, I'm sure they see the same weakness, and try and do what Kerry did a couple of years ago (and last week).
    Heaney is my favourite player, he has green and red in his blood, he has 400,000 miles up on the clock, he has taken some knocks over the years. He won't let us down, but he's just not a natural full back, but then again, we don't have anyone better, so no point in complaining.

Mayo playing well are a sight to behold, Mayo playing poorly is laughable to the neutral.

I think we'll take Laois, no disrespect whatsoever, I tipped them last year for an All Ireland within 3 years, I can handle being wrong:o

I just think it's our year, never said that before any other year, I am saying it this year.

Midfield to be critical, I think we have the better midfield.

Maigheo Abú

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Laois' performance against the Dubs was appalling, but they have buckled down and got their act together.

Higgins is back in the position he is best suited for, and in my opinion is the best in the country in that position! With Rooney providing a more stable full-back than used in the Dublin game, and an All-Star winner and nominee on either side of him, Laois' defence is stronger than earlier in the championship.

Up front Laois can be excellent to watch. Sheehan, Munnelly and Beano provide some excellent play, with Conway and McCormack doing some of the grunt work so to speak. Garvan at full-forward will be an interesting spectacle. After his superb season last year he has been atrocious this year, and if it wasnt for the discovery of Quigley Laois would have been in trouble in the qualifiers.

I'm going for a Laois win, and hopefully a rematch with the Dubs in the semi.
    By the way thats not a guarantee either....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Culchie/ wrote:
    This team has more talent than any in the last 20 years, more pace, more fitness and very importantly a very strong bench.

Midfield to be critical, I think we have the better midfield.
    I agree on these points we've a good chance in this tie. Very quiet build up to this game even here at home where we usually go a little crazy. I think that could be down to Moran he dampened expectations in the county before the Connacht final and it hasn't built up yet. This is GREAT for Mayo we love being quiet, we love being underdogs, we love being written off. If we can't win Sunday then we're just not good enough as the build up is perfect.

One more point papers have cited Mayos 'lack of experience in Croke Park' compared to Laois. This is bullsh1t. This essentially same team got to the final in 04 beating Tyrone and Fermanagh in Croker along the way. We also have Heaney,Nallen,McDonald,Brady and O'Neill who played in previous finals not to mention the other Crossmolina and Ballina players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I'd have to go with Laois on this one. Mayo struggled to overcome Leitrim (Who were better than people gave them credit for) and a poor Galway team - they could only win with a dubious free in the last minute.

Laois were appaling against the Dubs but it could have been just what they needed. Before the game there was a lot of hyoe about Laois, now they realise that hype alone isn't good enough. They have beaten teams equal (if not ahead) of Mayo on their run to this stage of the championship.

The placing of Noel Garvan at full-forward is a bad idea. Micko sees what Donaghy is doing for Kerry, but you have to remember that Donaghy was having a relatively good season up to that out in mid-field. Garvan, at the present moment, is having a nightmare. I doubt he will be as effective as Donaghy.

Laois to win by 2 to 3 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭starman100

Following Mayo for the past 20 or years or so has not been easy, especially for someone living in Tuam when Sam came west in '98 and '01 :( . And as for the last time we played Kerry in Croker in '04, I had a great seat in the Hogan, alas to no avail.....

However, I agree that this Mayo squad has got great potential in terms of talent and fitness andI would expect them to win a lot of possession on Sunday but it all depends on how they use it. A repeat of the Connacht final performance would be a no-no. Mickey Moran is a fairly shrewd operator though (despite the Mayo county board's best efforts) so hopefully the heads will be right on the day.

Laois have done very well to recover after the Dublin debacle, it could be Micko's last hurrah and all that and they will be hungry to have another go at the Dubs. Beating Tyrone (even with all of their injuries) was no mean acheivement.

Suits Mayo not to be favourites, but a very hard one to call overall. David Brady off the bench to be the Mayo trump card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Kojak wrote:
    I'd have to go with Laois on this one. Mayo struggled to overcome Leitrim (Who were better than people gave them credit for) and a poor Galway team - they could only win with a dubious free in the last minute.

Laois were appaling against the Dubs but it could have been just what they needed. Before the game there was a lot of hyoe about Laois, now they realise that hype alone isn't good enough. They have beaten teams equal (if not ahead) of Mayo on their run to this stage of the championship.

The placing of Noel Garvan at full-forward is a bad idea. Micko sees what Donaghy is doing for Kerry, but you have to remember that Donaghy was having a relatively good season up to that out in mid-field. Garvan, at the present moment, is having a nightmare. I doubt he will be as effective as Donaghy.

Laois to win by 2 to 3 points.

Maybe Micko has realised that Fitzgerald is only effective when he comes off the bench? He started the last day and was virtually absent onfield before being replaced by Parkinson, but anytime he came in instead of Kavanagh he played well. I cant see Garvan last the game in full forward and can only imagine he will be replaced by Fitzgerald in due course. Although if Micko wants a big lad up front thats capable of scoring a few goals, why not give Cooke the run he really deserves instead of the paltry few minutes here and there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Very very hard to call this one.

We (Mayo) are probabley underdogs coming into this one. Yes we may have beaten Galway in the Connacht final but Laois have beaten Tyrone, Meath and Offaly through the qualifiers, all good sides. We have yet to hit a bit of form like we had in the league. Hopefully it starts on Sunday.

Starting at the back, John Healy was poor against Galway. Many even suggested he should have been taken off at half time. Clarke is by far a better keeper and was unfortunate to lose his place due to injury rather than performances. The full back line is a bit iffy. Nallen should probabley move back on Garvan if they start bombing high balls in. Heaney, whilst a superb athlete and fairly tall isn't a great fielder compared to Nallen. Geraghty is lucky not to have been dropped. As long as he gets close to his man he'll do alright. If he ends up under high balls we'll get buried. Higgins is now a Denis Irwin of the team. Auromatically picked, does his job and is consistent. Exactly what you need from a back.

Our half back line is alright. As long as Nallen isn't getting ran at (like Mossy Quinn did in the league or Savage) then we'll be alright. Higgins should do fine on Munnelly. Not who I'd have picked but still, he'll do ok. Aslong as he stays on the pitch!

There has been a lot of talk of Tom Kelly getting forward from center back. If he does, all that means is more space for Ciaran Mc. He'll destroy Laois from deep if he's given time. He's the gamebreaker for us.

Up top, it's an improvement. Kevin O'Neill will relish the chance to be back in Croke Park after so many years. His selection shows the management aren't afraid to make changes, unlike Maughan whose loyalty to some players was bordering on stupidity at times.

Even more importantly is the guys we have on the bench. Brady: who we can get a good 20 mins of all out action from. I don't think Clancy would like to see the big guy come on and ruffle some feathers. T. Mortimor: Unlucky not to be starting but his injury problems are well documented. Can make a difference though. Moran: If things are going wrong in midfield, this guy can change it. Austin O'Malley, Trevor Howley and James Gill are almost good enough to start. So it's a good squad we have.

Verdict: Mayo..Just about.

I do hope for a good game of ball really.

There is no shame in losing a good game..not like the team rolled over.

There's also the added incentive for Laois that Mayo beat us in the Club Championship aswell :-/

Well, after seeing the Dublin/Westmeath game .... the carrot is there for both teams now.

Just as Dublin think they have got the weak side of the draw.... so do Mayo and Laois I'd imagine.

Game on:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

We may have won, but it was a disappointing game. It was over by half time. Dublin didn't play particularly well. They say it is good when you play bad and win. Maybe it was the opposition, Westmeath never got going, but Dublin can do a lot better. They had a lot of posession, but a lot of bad wides. A better team would punish them. A lot of work to be done.

Laois v Mayo should be a lot better. They won't have seen much today to worry them, but of course their concentration is on tomorrow. Definitely a tough one to call. You don't know what to expect with Mayo. They often play badly in Croke Park, way below their potential. If the right Mayo turns up tomorrow, they can win this. We just don't know. They are arriving into this on a low profile. Laois have great potential, but they will be meeting a stronger team tomorrow than over the last 3 matches.

A great game that deservedly finished in a draw.
    Both teams had chances to finish each other off.

Mortimer vs Higgins was an excellent tussle, with the Mayo man slightly shading it which is hard for me to admit.

Garvan at full-forward scored 3 superb points, and had a big influence on the game by creating chances for others and winning frees, and also catching one ball on his own goal-line.

Keith Higgins also had a great game and was unfortunate to be substituted, unless he was injured.

It will be interesting next week to see what happens.

C'mon Laois!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Cracking game, probably the best of the Championship, roll on the replay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭tom_k

Will it be a croker replay?

Replay indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

What's the deal with McDonald? Does the man think he's too good to track back. If he did that on my team the selectors would drop him, no matter how good he is.

If I was a Mayo supporter, it'd do my nut in watching him standing while his marker rushes down the pitch with the ball. It was as if he couldn't care less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭starman100

Where will the replay be - hardly in Croke Park as numbers won't add up? Maybe Salthill or Hyde Park? Gaelic Grounds?

A good match to watch for the neutral, I was frustrated again by Mayo lacking the 'killer touch' in front of goal. Billy Joe was like a bull in a china shop at times. The Laois backs did very well I thought, Kelly and Joe Higgins were very good. Young Donie Brennan was a very tricky customer when he came on. Mortimer was Mayo's best player although he was very tightly marked.

The replay should be close again - any word on McGarrity's injury? Looked like an arm or shoulder, could put him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

According to Pat Spillane tonight, McGarrity will be ok for the replay. Good news for Mayo.

Judging by today, Ciaran McDonald seems to be going for 13 All-stars, the exceptions being goal keeper and corner forward, where he is supposed to play. It is ok moving around a bit, but the way he was going was crazy. He was all over the place. On one or two occasions he ended up giving scores to Laois and on a few other occasions Mayo did not score because there was no one to pass the ball to in the place he should have been and Mayo were denied an option that should have been there. He did a lot of good work, but he needs to control himself a bit.

He was telling everyone else what to do and where to go while neglecting his own position. I know it is said that he is unmanageable, but what he was up to today was ridiculous. He is good, but would be even better and of more use to the team if he could control himself a bit and not be popping up at fullback, as he did today, and leaving a major gap in the forward line where he should have been.

Delighted with the result to be honest, would have taken it 2 minutes from time no problem, fair result on the day.

Think Mayo will come on alot for the game, needed it after long lay off since Connaught Final.
    Mayo have still an awful lot of improvement in them, and feel Laois don't have the same potential to impove, the are at 90% whereas I think we played at 65% of potential.

Few bevvies on board, so probably won't make too much sense. Thought laois would be better than they are....Donie Brennan and Munnelly class act (what else would you expect from a father from Crossmolina;).
    Timmy Sheehan looks dangerous every time he gets ball, luckily enough today, not too often.

McDonald gave a great exhibition of passing, but too much in his own half, no causing enough trouble in the final third of the field. Keith Higgins was brilliant.

McGarrity should be fit for next day (Ennis or Roscommon the rumour).

Can't see Laois beating Dublin, but can see Mayo beating Dublin.......that's not to say Laois won't beat Mayo next day......All ye Dubs should be praying for a Laois victory.

Before today, heart said Mayo, head said 'toss of a coin'........ now 'Heart says Mayo, Head says Mayo'

Mayo keeper a disaster, worst keeper Mayo have had in 20 years, haven't a clue how he is on team with so many good keepers in the county.
    Absolutely critical this clown gets dropped.

Think Laois's 'Plan B' will to come out hitting hard the next day.

Hurling match was great for us football followers to see, 'Cha' and Henry.... 'something else':)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Culchie wrote:
    Can't see Laois beating Dublin, but can see Mayo beating Dublin.......that's not to say Laois won't beat Mayo next day......All ye Dubs should be praying for a Laois victory.
    I think either Laois or Mayo are capable of beating the Dubs, but I agree that Mayo would have the better chance. Still as a Dub, I'd prefer Mayo to win. I'd prefer to lose to Mayo rather than Laois, and I'd prefer to beat Mayo over Laois. Plus the novelty factor would add to the occassion - its 21 years since Dublin played Mayo in the championship, its only a few weeks since we played Laois!

But of course whoever wins the replay will be the team that deserves to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Any thoughts on where the replay will be. ?
    Could it possibly be added to the Kerry v Cork ticket on Sunday?.
    If it is to on in Croke Park then this is the only day that would make sense
    Seeing as I am going to the other semi-final I am rooting for the above, but I admit it is unlikely.
    If it is going provincial then I reckon Roscommon or Limerick.
    Someone said Ennis but that place is a kip, someone could die of infection from getting too close to the rusty barbed wire !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Replay confirmed to be a double header with Cork v Kerry in Croke Park on next Sunday. http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/0814/laois.html

Feck that anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Tickets available now on www.ticketmaster.ie

Culchie wrote:
    Feck that anyway.

It's not too bad, we'll get the same amount of tickets we did for the last day.

Bah ... other comittments make Dublin an impossibility for me this weekend, I would have been able to manage Roscommon

Culchie wrote:
    Bah ... other comittments make Dublin an impossibility for me this weekend, I would have been able to manage Roscommon

As much as I'd have loved Ros, it was just a bit much of an advantage to us if it were held there.

I tried posting my view of the game earlier but feck it up completely. Anyways here we go again...

As a spectacle, it was pretty good. One of the better games of the Championship. As a contest it wasn't very physical. Too much walking out of defence unchallenged. Something that needs to be rectified.

Laois were alright. Nothing more than we expected. Midfield was powerful, and lots of running up front allied with tight marking at the back. We looked rusty in a lot of areas. This game will stand to us next week though.

There are a good few changes that need to be made. Healy..why oh why is he still in goals? I count that as 4 points in three games that he has given away. Not only that but he was nowhere near Quigley's shot on goal. Not exactly confidence inspiring. Geraghty was destroyed by Donnie Brennan. Couldn't get near him, and when he did he fouled him. His head was in the clouds most of the time. Aidan Higgins was pretty poor in the first half. Didn't want the ball at all when he was free. He kept close to Shehan even if there was someone running towards him with the ball he'd turn around and look for Shehan. Forgetting that the immediate danger is the man with the ball. McGarrity was quiet but so was Clancy, the real battle was between Harte and Quigley. Ger Brady was poor, no tracking back, no off the ball running, no bursting runs like we saw in the league. Needs to improve. That goes for all our forwards. There was no running off the ball. Granted, Kev O'Neill is not a runner more a playmaker or target man. Conor Mort is lazy as sin though which is annoying seeing as he has a trememdous amount of talent.

On the positive side, Keith Higgins was superb. Don't listen to the managements "tactical change" nonsense. He was wrecked. I watched him come over to the sideline and point to his chest and signal that he was gone. Heaney played well apart from one pass that cost us a score. In his defence, he couldn't see the other guy on the far side of Gardiner. Harte did well, Dillon was superb. McDonald was good again, I hate this nonsense that he shouldn't be that deep. Why not? He is the catylyst to most of our attacks. He finds more space in midfield. This crap about staying in the 22m line is just Old School experts who don't believed in withdrawn forwards. Mc does this because A) He leaves more space in side and B) He is able to hit precision passes. Why does nobody else see that?

My changes for the next day would be: Clarke in goals, Howley for Geraghty and Trev Mortimor for Higgins. I'll get slated for this but Trevor Mortimor is a top quality half back. He plays there qutie a bit for Shrule and is a good man marker. He's also a tough tackler and has good determination. A lot of guy I've talked to say his best position is half back.

Prediction: Mayo to just win the replay.

First of all it was a bit of a strange game some people have said it was a lack of intensity or that players weren't trying to win it. Personally i just think that the two teams play a similar brand of football with half backs breaking forward and with no massed defence. This often lead to a situation with a men from midfield/halfback breaking forward and not being tackled because the defender was afraid of commit due to the possibility of a two on one situation occuring. Pundits would also give out if both teams played massed defence and closed down everything.

Having said that it doesn't excuse half forwards not tracking back. Most Mayo forwards were guilty of this not just McDonald. Ger Brady didn't track and he done nothing going forward yet McD gets much more stick it's unfair.

In the backs Keith Higgins played fantastic, A Higgins and Gardiner well, Nallen and Heaney not great but both provided leadership at different times when they were needed. Both should play the replay as experience required both Nallen at 3 and Heaney 6. Geragthy got roasted in the 2nd half and has to be dropped he keeps trying but unfortunately not good enough at this level.
    Midfield good not McGarritys best day but it's good that he's fit for the replay.
    Mort played well not brilliant but scored 6 points and will keep shooting all day when given ball the more perssure the better. Dillion and O Neill again played well. BJP tried all day but he should be left out at half forward the switch inside for O Neill in 2nd half didn't work. Brady v poor should be dropped he had his chance and hasn't taken it. McD should play out at centre forward putting him inside is a waste best part of his game is passing (doesn't mean he shouldn't track back).

For the replay team should be:
    Clarke (Healy poor again on Sunday)
    KHiggins Nallen O Malley (Howley if he's not fit)
    AHiggins Heaney Gardiner
    McGarrity Harte
    BJP McD Dillion
    CMort O Neill TMort(Kilcoyne if he's not fit)

We should win the replay the extra game will have done us more good than Laois but it will be tight again. Possibly the two most evenly matched teams i've ever seen play.

PS: Apparently there was a massive row between Moran and selectors on the sideline over the McGarrity switch. Which would explain the it took but surely not a good thing. Any thoughts?

As far as I'm aware it was Sean Feeney's fault for the length in getting a sub on. I may be wrong but he hadn't the appropriate paper work filled out or something. McEnany is a fool for letting the game go on (not just once or twice but numerous times) when a player was down injured. I don't know about you, but I wouldn't like to be swallowing my tongue (not that it was happening) whilst play went on around me.

Also I've heard O'Neill was taken off because he had an injury in the first half and the management gave him a few minutes to see if he could shake it off. That's why it was so soon into the half he was taken off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Should make for a good replay. I think this side of the draw is very open at this stage. I would be more worried as a Dub to face Laois again as i could see them repaying the favour this time round. They have certainly come back with some style from such a bad day against the Dubs. Mayo as we all know can be a great side well capable of getting to the final but again it will depend what team turns up for the replay. While ill be abroad for the semis, i cannot wait to watch it. Should be a wonderful game no matter who goes through from the replay.

Also I've heard O'Neill was taken off because he had an injury in the first half and the management gave him a few minutes to see if he could shake it off. That's why it was so soon into the half he was taken off.

As far as i know it's just a niggle and he should be grand for the replay which is good cos i thought he was really good in the 1st half.

Any news on injuries? Will T Mort, the two OMalleys, D Brady and McGarrity be fit for replay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭The Rooster

As a Dub, I hope Austin O'Malley continues not to figure. He's the forward who's caused us most problems over our last 3 league meetings.

Team named, Same as last time with only two changes. David Clarke is in goals and the corner forward is unnamed.

Thanks be to Jaysus that Goalie was dropped, worst keeper Mayo had in 20 years.

Good that the CF is unnamed.... means that one of the injury list are nearer to fitness and pushing for place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

I think David Clarke is a much better goalie than John Healy, thank god his injury has healed. I have a feeling that Mayo will win on sunday. They have gotten used to Croke Park again and are comfortable with their surrondings there, David Brady is back to full fitness as is McGarrity, Healy is dropped, they are a more experienced team than laois and have learned more from last sunday's match than laois have. I have no doubt that they will perform excellently on sunday.:D

Laois team named with only one change. Due to injury Peter O'Leary replaces Paul McDonald at right-half back, otherwise the same team which started the last day.

This surprises me as I felt that Donie Brennan deserved a chance after his performance after coming on as a sub. But Micko must feel that his original 15 have a point to prove firstly.

ARGH!!!!!!!!!!

Congratulations to Mayo. Bitter disappointment on my behalf, but the better team won on the day.

Laois may have kicked dreadful wides but so did Mayo. I'm not so bitter about losing but more so about the poor display by Laois. However, I dont want to detract from what was an excellent display from Mayo.

Once again congrats to them.

Until next year for us....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Unlucky to Laois and congratz to Mayo.

Pld Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

A poorer game than last week. Would be worried about the forwards, who seemed to tire very early. The Backs were very strong all the same.
    Sad to say but I don't think we'll get past Dublin on that performance. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭charba

Congrats to Mayo.

Even though it wasnt a great match today. There are positives.

Preventing Laois from scoring until the 16th minute, be it from rued opportunities on Laois's behalf or the pressure that the Mayo defenders put on the Laois players was good.

Perhaps the fact that the could get revenge against Kerry for 2004 might put the needed energy into them.

Anyway its great that they've made it into the semi final and hopefully it'll be put up to Dublin next week.

*fingers crossed*

Was a poor game... Dublin will be red hot favourites and justifiably so......perfect !

Mayo were the better team today. They should have been out of sight by half time, with the amount of chances they had. Mayo's old failing of putting the ball wide over and over is still with them. McDonald was a little bit more controlled today, though he did go wandering a fair bit. I think we will take them next Sunday though.