Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sign that you're getting old..

• 08-08-2006 9:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Yesterday I was cursing myself that I didn't bring my 'bag 4 life' when doing my shopping.. that what my Gran does. I'm supposed to be young and careless, I'm supposed to waste endless amounts of money on plastic bags cos I can.

Wtf like?

That aside, the most worrying thing is something that Billy Connolly has spoken about - making groaning noises when leaning down to pick up something.

This morning I let out a bit of a 'uuugghhhh' when I bent down to take my phone off the charger. What the hell is that about eh?

What is making you feel old? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

connundrum wrote:
    What is making you feel old? :(

Was traveling back to Dublin after going to see my parents over the weekend...got on the bus and it was pretty busy. Free seat beside a very hot girl so sat down beside her. She started chatting away as did i.

Had a nice chat, passed the two hour journey nicely and as we hit the environs of the city i said something about not wanting to go to work today!

She said "Yeah, thats rough, i'm going back to school soon."

Now i had thought she was abuot 19-20 or so, but she was only going into 5th year....i felt like a dirty old man. :eek:

Even a few ago an age gap like that would have been nothing....now it just seems huge and wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

5th class??? so she was like 11?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

lol, think he meant 5th year.

......right dragan?

o_Ó

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Seeing coppers that look like they should still be in school.

Looking at an '87 model Toyota Carina and remembering how they were nice cars when they came out first.

what makes me feel old....when i go into a night club and see my younger brother propping up the bar before me, and buying me a pint...

thinking that music is too loud in clubs....yes that has happened to me and my friend and made us very depressed...but we overcame it and got drunk instead.

yeah i thought so too....but you never know! those kids are getting older and older looking everyday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

No they're not that's just your eyesight going to s***e

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I painted my bedroom yesterday.
    Today every muscle in my body is screaming.
    I feel about 90

awww crap.....it'll be the hearing next.

I bumped into my 16 year old sister and her mates in Barcode on Sunday!!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

All the songs that I love have become 'Classics'... only old songs are classics :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

NiSmO wrote:

Ha ha, yeah...i'm a dirty perve but i'm not a SICK perv!!! :)

i was at a party on saturday night...i spent from about 3am to 6am on the bouncing castle. OH MY GOD..the pain....i am still sore today after being like a cripple yesterday, i have bruises in places i didnt know possible. It was soo much fun though.

yeah the gaurds looking like they've been let out in their daddy's uniform is a sure sign youre getting on.

Also i think you're legally entitled to claim your pension once you've adressed a random kid in the street as "son".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Not caring when someone cuts you up while driving.

Having a shopping list instead of just picking up beer first and then picking up whatever you need when you see it on the shelf.

Buying gardening books and spending a hour or two pottering around a garden centre.

Complaining about the price of something loudly in a shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Beruthiel wrote:
    I feel about 90

Yeah they say that a day spent painting a room will make you feel 10 years older alright.

Anyway Pigheads definitely feeling older these days. The grey hairs are starting to appear and the skins getting all wrinkly. And thats just my groinal region. I've started to use the word "Bah" a lot more too, which is kind of worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Beruthiel wrote:
    I feel about 90

Ah yeah, but in fairness, you only look about 70.

mwahahahah.

Actually knowing who your doctor is, there's another one. I never saw a doctor until i hit 30, i just got better by meself :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

connundrum wrote:
    This morning I let out a bit of a 'uuugghhhh' when I bent down to take my phone off the charger. What the hell is that about eh?

Whats worse that that is Ive started making that groaning noise when Im sitting down in a chair, not when getting up, but sitting down. That really shouldnt be happening till Im like 78.

Also I got my first nosehair a few weeks ago. Jesus Im not looking forward to having to deal with those buggers on a regular basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

Everyone calls my pal 'granny'. She was 24 at the weekend, and, as much as I love the gal, she is the moaniest fecker I have ever encountered.
    She moans about everything, bad service, Q-ing, bad manners, cost of living, bar prices, bus timetables, traffic, the weather, young girls wearing very little, young lads who slap arses, wolf whistle etc, drunken behaviour, immoral behaviour - as in people having one night stands etc, Emmmmm, jesus, you name it, she'll have a granny style rant about about it!
    (She really really hates being called granny, by the way, she moans about that A LOT!)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

The main sign that I am getting old is the ever increasing onset of sobriety. I used to be able to avoid this beast for months on end, but now I get endless attacks of sobriety.
    I also have a lot less patience with bone-idle ignorant ****er students in shops. Its like, serve me, dont scrape me off yer shoe!

Or the fact that I am "too old" for things. Like a festival. I would rather **** out a nuke than go to oxegen or Hi-fi, camp in a cramped boiling canvas tent, falling asleep to the sound of scumbags puking and rioting. Its just not my idea of fun anymore.
    My body aint creaking yet, but there are signs of a general downturn in affairs of physical health.
    Im not making it past 30!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

I've noticed that Garda Sergeants are looking younger these days...

that's *really* scary...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Stiff joints... and not the kind you get when you've used too many skins. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I told some kids to stop kicking their ball off my wall because I was trying to get my kids to sleep.

And I don't even have kids !!!! :eek:

Now thats a sure sign I'm getting old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

My young cousins from abroad when introduced to me as their cousin quietlyu confide to their mother that "he can't be our cousin, he's too old!"

I'm balding.

Sometimes I just want to read a book and have a cup of tea instead of going on the lash.

I'm the one who says 'ah lads turn the music down a bit' even if it's not my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Jotter

talking about ironing to a friend the other day wtf !!
    ive been caught discussing kitchens and radiators over the last few weeks bec work being done on house but I actually found the conversations interesting rather than neccessary!!
    just lectured husband on cc bill!!
    found first grey hair the other day!
    due to go into labour in about a week!
    oh but the biggest one was hearing about someone being born in 1987 and realising (after counting fingers) that this makes them 19 and Im 7 years older than them - omg and that just made me realise im left school 10 years next year !! ok im getting out of this thread its just freaking me out - im going to get a tattoo or go bungee jumping - although that could dislocate my neck so think ill just log off and see if how clean is your house is on tv !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I look forward to my bed from about 1.30am on a night out :(

I turned off The Simpsons last night and flicked over to a home makeover show... hanging is too good for me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭freewing

Oh this could turn nasty
    when I showed my 14yr old nephew my old 12inch LP he said "Jaysus how many songs can you fit on THAT?!!"
    I got a new phone and I think I'm Mr Digital (but I cant work most of the stuff on it)
    I recognise nothing in the charts except when somebody does a dance version of one of my old favourites (but thats just a drum machine and a sampler)
    and I now know its me they mean when kids come up to me and say "here MISTER"
    I feel the uncontrolable urge to impart wisdom(that I dont Have) to all and sundry (just like I am doing now)
    Oh and I also make an abundance of noises when I do anything other than blink an thats next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Spotting retro fashions (like all that skangy 80's stuff or retro nike and addidas) and recognizing them from the first time around. :)

Getting on well with your parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Hearing "Classic" songs from the 90's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

She bought me a nasal trimmer at christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

There was a couple of younger children running down the street last night and I started to stay "pff teenagers these days" *queue shaking of fist* Things aren't looking good for Ruu. :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Things that make me feel old at 25:

- Footballers now being younger than me, i.e. Rooney, Ronaldo, etc. Back in the old days footballer always were people you could imagine yourself being once you finished school, studied your degree, etc... now its too late!

- Not having the energy to go out partying every night and get to work the
    next day. Just reading or working in the evening instead.

- Realising there is a generation gap between me and "the next generation".

- Turning 25 recently and realising that I've probably lived 1/3 my life and will never be as young and innocent again.

- Being called "Mr" or "that man / gentleman" (I still feel 14 inside!).

- Actually wondering what life is supposed to be about, if anything, and thinking morbid thoughts about people you know and how you'll all die and be dust in a cosmic instant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

drinking responsibly. like going to the pub for four pints and actually having four and not twelve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

People calling me sir annoys me, ya know I haven't been knighted just yet:) and not getting the kiddies menu or colouring pencils before meals anymore. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭deedee lepoopoo

Hearing Oasis songs that are considered 'golden oldies', when I considered myself slightly too old for Oasis the first time round!

zoinks!

Getting Grumpy. The older you get the less you care about what people think and the more you please yourself. You feel like you have a right to be grumpy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Waaaaw..listening to current affairs programmes..instead of stupid inarticulate DJ's speaking in fake "American" accents.

Driving responsibly...not shunting around in a 99 Honda with a group of rees in the back...with fcukin gelled hair

Actually paying for something with your own money... instead of using credit and climbing the walls when the bill comes in...an approachin yer Dad

knowing how fcukin much gas/lekkie/mobile bills /petheril costs...(sic)

not dhrivin the car when yer skhuttered:D

not adding "like" to every frikken word you say...

Hidin yer flabby belly instead of flaunting it

Knowing Kells is in County Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Damn punk kids and their Heelies!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

I had a moment the other day when I went "Oh no I'm old!" in my head.

My 13 yr old cousin had never heard of Axel Rose or Kurt Cobain! :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

When a girl at work likes me but she is too young. There was no *too* young before. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Damn punk kids and their Heelies!

It's witchcraft I tell you! The Devils work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

When a girl at work likes me but she is too young. There was no *too* young before. :P

That's the one :(

And when you try to be interested you can't relate to what they're into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

Agh I show no signs yet [hopefully] I still run instead of walk around my house. It's like I'm in a rush but I'm not really I just jump into rooms and suprise people :D

When my back goes out more than I do.

When I'm in a nightclub and thinking, "this music is too loud" and that I'd rather be at home reading a book.

.. I'm only 21 but feel 90 most of the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

When I'm in a nightclub and thinking, "this music is too loud"

I always think that especially if there's a live band playing. I dunno what's wrong with me because I can never actually hear what they're playing since it's too loud if that makes sense. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

When the pain in your knee/elbow/ankle makes you sit on your porch and say.

"Yup. Rains a comin"

In other words, when you stop saying you feel it in your bones as a figure of speech, and you actually DO feel it in your bones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

When your 14 year old niece says "Who are the Beatles?", or give you funny looks when you say your going to make popcorn on cooker and not the microwave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

When you friends start getting engaged/onto the property ladder/married/having babies! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Jotter

my cousin was walking down the road with me and I said hello to the guy who used to deliver coal to our house when we were kids. She asked who he was and I said he used to be our coalman - she laughed her ass off thinking I was joking and laughed even harder when I told her we used to have a coal bunker out beside garage!! She thought I was making it up!!