Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daughter ambulanced to James', says drink spiked

• 06-08-2006 11:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

SORRY THIS IS LONG, WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE PEOPLE'S OPINIONS THOUGH.

My daughter, just 19, was apparently in Palace around Aungier St last night Saturday and remembers going up around 2 am to buy drinks for herself and another of the 2 guys she was with. She remembers getting sick soon after, and then nothing until she was in a taxi home about 8 am this morning.

The other guy she bought a drink for apparently felt unwell and got a taxi home early. Apparently my daughter didn't get ill so soon, it took a while. Her friend C realised her condition was out of the ordinary and called an ambulance. My daughter was drifting in and out of consciousness at this stage. She was brought to James' Hospital - God bless the staff there, what they have to deal with - apparently had blood pressure checked, acceptable; blood sugar, slightly raised; and heart rate, slightly elevated.

Unfortunately my daughter's friend (who I appreciate had a terrible night, and I'm so grateful he looked after her, if she had been out of his sight at all we'd be looking at a far worse scenario) didn't call us so we knew nothing until she arrived in, upset, about 9 am. She gave us a very short story, said nothing about hospital, just that she thought her drink had been spiked, she'd been very sick, and she needed to sleep before she went to work at 2 pm (she's a college student with a part time job). Not knowing she'd spent the night in hospital, I asked could I not bring her to get her blood tested. She said no she needed to sleep.

She got up in time to get ready for work and her friend C was on the same shift so my husband offered to bring him to work too so we could get his take on the story - we knew nothing about the hospital at this stage. When he came back and told me I was in shock. She did most of her day's work, I went to collect her and she'd been let off an hour early because of not being well, caught her on the phone and gave her a lift home.

She insists she didn't take any drugs. C says that where their drinks were it was possible for someone to toss something in. C insists she had no more than 3 drinks, he's in our house a lot and seems reasonably trustworthy.

I'm not hugely thrilled to admit it but I think it would normally take my daughter a lot more than 3 drinks for her to end up losing consciousness. I don't like her going into Dublin city as often and as late as she does, but what happened doesn't seem like the usual self-infliction that you read about in the papers and see on the news.

She's not a total angel, we've waited up late many nights, but she wouldn't normally let herself be in a position where she is out of control.

I would imagine the hospital would have tested her blood if they really thought someone had poisoned her, but what do I know? You read these stories and wonder is it being exaggerated, you warn your beloved child just in case.

My husband and I don't know what do do, and would appreciate any observations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Weed? before she went out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

What the hell does that have to do with weed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Dublinboardie

She went straight into a taxi from work where she finished at 11 and then got dressed up; reckon it was near midnight before she got to whereever all this happened. Short timescale for her to get into this state if alcohol only, seems like more than that. I'd like to think she has sense but am worried she took something herself - needless to say she says no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Based on your post, what I think happened is...

- Your daughter went out and got extremely drunk
    - She passed out or got alcohol poisoning or something
    - She didn't want to "let you down", so made up that story and never thought you'd investigate further

That's what I think is most likely, but failing that, perhaps she took E or somethin, and it didn't agree with her.

My money's on the first one though!

Just what I gather from your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 pbull69

I am working in a hospital lab as we speak, but all our tox testing is sent to dublin. rohypnol is very hard to detect the nite after a dosing. My colleagues here tell me that an awful lot of stuff can be use to render a person unconscious so the only way to sort that is mind your drink, take it with u, or discard it if u leave it unattended for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

She went straight into a taxi from work where she finished at 11 and then got dressed up; reckon it was near midnight before she got to whereever all this happened. Short timescale for her to get into this state if alcohol only, seems like more than that. I'd like to think she has sense but am worried she took something herself - needless to say she says no.

She could have taken something, or to catch up she could have done a few shots plus another few drinks knocked back. Agree with Dave McG tbh :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I would also say she had more to drink that her friend C said.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Based on your post, what I think happened is...

- Your daughter went out and got extremely drunk
    - She passed out or got alcohol poisoning or something
    - She didn't want to "let you down", so made up that story and never thought you'd investigate further

That's what I think is most likely, but failing that, perhaps she took E or somethin, and it didn't agree with her.

My money's on the first one though!

Just what I gather from your post

I appreciate what you're saying, and thanks. I wish I could get results from James' but they can't give me results from tests they didn't take, besides she's over 18 anyhow.

BUT, 1. it was a very short timescale, and I've seen my daughter after several cans of beer (Miller is her thing) and she'd be ok, just giddy, 2. her friend C is fairly straight up - he'd usually hum and haw rather than tell a barefaced lie.
    However, I wonder if something is being held back somewhere, just don't know what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Kids lie to their parents, no matter how much you trust them. If yous weren't informed that she was going to hospital when it actually happened, but were later, what makes you think she didn't use that time to get her "facts" straight for you.

Or, her drink might have been spiked, and you have an honest prefect daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I was actually in the Palace last night playing designated driver to a bunch of my friends. The place was jam packed and an absolute sweatbox. I wouldn't find it hard to believe that someone could get drunk on only a few drinks when they're losing so much fluids. If your daughter was up dancing it's quite possible she dehydrated herself and the alcohol had far more effect than normal.

Usually I don't drink much water or coke or whatever when I'm off the alcohol but last night I got through about 5/6 pints of water in the couple of hours that we were in there.

While certainly not impossible, I'd say it's unlikely that she was spiked. Most of the crowd in there were pissed up GAA fans and most of them seemed to concerned with singing their counties songs and lepping about like a bunch of eejits to be concerned with much else.

There is of course, always the possibility that the 3 drinks could have been lethal cocktails of some kind or simply just far more than 3 drinks. As someone that once woke up on a hospital gurney with the mother of all hangovers and no clue how I'd gotten there whilst in college myself I have to say you really don't need to be that worried. If she got herself into that state, she'll have learnt her lesson. If someone had spiked her drink, she'll have learnt to be more careful where she leaves her drink down. If she did take something, she now knows that it doesn't agree with her and won't be doing it again.

Whatever happened, she's okay and you now know that she can rely on her friends to take care of her if things do go wrong.

Thank you Sleepy (and everyone else who took the time to respond).

I suppose I worried so much as I know a woman whose son was really done badly, in ICU for 48 hours because whatever he got dosed with meant his heart could stop at any time, but I found it hard to believe any hospital would miss something that serious.

Having been brought to Loughlinstown myself a while ago, I appreciate that they are ridiculously understaffed though, and just worry that the poor staff can keep up the medical standards. What a job, I think they're amazing.

As to my daughter, one way or another this had better be a big wake up call.

Thanks again all, appreciate the comments, I'm going for a well deserved sleep now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Sleepy wrote:
    If she got herself into that state, she'll have learnt her lesson. If someone had spiked her drink, she'll have learnt to be more careful where she leaves her drink down. If she did take something, she now knows that it doesn't agree with her and won't be doing it again.

Whatever happened, she's okay and you now know that she can rely on her friends to take care of her if things do go wrong.

I think this is about the best advice you are going to get here. It's possible her drink was spiked, and it's possible that she took something herself or got drunk. Either way nobody here can tell you for sure, but what you do know is that she has good friends who will take care of her if she needs them to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

the first suggestion that it was weed is highly doubtful, as unless she smoked large amounts of marijuana (of any sort), the medical and physical results she underwent do not match.

in terms of other drugs, ecstacy and cocaine fit the profile, but even casual users of those drugs are usually au fait enough with the substances to realise how much to take etc.

I'd say it's either one of two things; she either drank far, far too much or her drink was spiked. Despite what pbull said, if a person is under the influence of drugs and simple alcohol poisoning is not obvious, testing for rohypnol (and similar drugs, which belong to a family called benzodiazepines) can be carried out and intoxication from such substances can be differentiated from that of alcohol.

If she simply just drank far too much, everything would seem to make more sense. I'm nearly 22, and only once have I ever ended up in serious way because of simple alcohol poisoning (i realise "only once" is once too many times, but nonetheless). This was when I was 17 and first started going to "proper" nightclubs. Thankfully, no hospitilisation was neccessary, and 6 hours of having my unconscious head held up by a caring, albeit angry, parent had me learn my lesson.

I can tell you that if this was a case of simple alcohol poisoning and, even though your daughter may not feel comfortable telling you about this incident, she will certainly have learned a vital lesson in regards alcohol comsumption. While I continued to drink after my unfortunate event, and often not entirely responsibly, I quickly learned that unconsciousness and severe illness is not where you want to end up on a night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

I would imagine, that the hospital would have taken a simple blood test to rule out anything if they at all suspected her drink had been spiked.
    Without it they would'nt know how to treat her as they would be afraid of drug
    interactions.

To my mind there are lots of things she might be holding back, but consider this,......
    Daughter agrees to try somthing a friend told her "is great!"
    Daughter panics or has bad reaction and gets brought into hospital.
    Daughter tells docs what she has taken (negates need for bloods somwhat).
    Daughter "sleeps it off" in casualty and comes home.

Not at all an uncommon scenario in casualty wards these days.

b

(Also, I think a good honest talk with your daughter might settle your mind and her's, let her know that whatever the situation was, you will respect her as an adult (over 18), and there will not be any argument or repercussions as she has gone through enough allready).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Maybe her drink was actually spiked, or had something dropped in to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I would imagine, that the hospital would have taken a simple blood test to rule out anything if they at all suspected her drink had been spiked.
    Without it they would'nt know how to treat her as they would be afraid of drug
    interactions.

To my mind there are lots of things she might be holding back, but consider this,......
    Daughter agrees to try somthing a friend told her "is great!"
    Daughter panics or has bad reaction and gets brought into hospital.
    Daughter tells docs what she has taken (negates need for bloods somwhat).
    Daughter "sleeps it off" in casualty and comes home.

Not at all an uncommon scenario in casualty wards these days.

b

(Also, I think a good honest talk with your daughter might settle your mind and her's, let her know that whatever the situation was, you will respect her as an adult (over 18), and there will not be any argument or repercussions as she has gone through enough allready).
    that's exactly what i was going to say.

you seem to want us to tell you that she willingly took something and she probably did.
    let's face it. 19 year old college student. of course she's going to experiment.

you just need to get her to confide in you. tell her that you won't be angry with her if she did willingly take something and that you are just concerned for her wellbeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

julep wrote:
    that's exactly what i was going to say.

you seem to want us to tell you that she willingly took something and she probably did.
    let's face it. 19 year old college student. of course she's going to experiment.

you just need to get her to confide in you. tell her that you won't be angry with her if she did willingly take something and that you are just concerned for her wellbeing.

There's probaly alot of college students who wouldnt agree with that.

op, is there any point in going over this? Shes already told you her side of the story. She obviously wont come out and say if she did take something. I am sure shes learnt an important lesson. There isnt really anything you can do. I would just drop it and move on and try and forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

In my experience, girls seem to think the "my drink was spiked" line is the reason why they were in a mess. Not because they drank too much, because someone spiked their drink :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I appreciate what you're saying, and thanks. I wish I could get results from James' but they can't give me results from tests they didn't take, besides she's over 18 anyhow.

BUT, 1. it was a very short timescale, and I've seen my daughter after several cans of beer (Miller is her thing) and she'd be ok, just giddy, 2. her friend C is fairly straight up - he'd usually hum and haw rather than tell a barefaced lie.
    However, I wonder if something is being held back somewhere, just don't know what.

Too much drink probably. If she had taken an awful lot of ecstasy its highly likely you would have been able to tell it by her physical appearance/movements the next day. Iirc date rape has never once been proven in this country, and in most cases its found that the girl simply drank an awful lot more than she thought she did.

Also, I think its possible to simply have a bad reaction to drink sometimes. In an average night out Id usually down maybe 6-7 pints, maybe 6-7 bottles of WKD and maybe a shot or two as well. Fairly rubbered afterwards, but sure so is everyone else. However, I remember one night I only had about 7 beers and I was throwing up all over the place and talking some serious nonsense it was crazy. I even started raving to my friend that Id been smoking crack, I dont know where that came from.

In fairness it felt like Id been drugged, but sure who would drug me? I was out with my mates and it wasnt as if it was a gay bar or anything. So unless I accidently picked up a girls drink who had been spiked, I dunno. Even at that, whilst I felt rather confused and was talking bollix, I wouldnt say I was anywhere close to unconsciousness. But it certainly wasnt a recreational drug (I likes me recreation :D I didnt like this) And for all the stories you hear of drinks being spiked (hell, you get into convo with a girl who claims her mate was spiked that night maybe 10% of nights out) I have yet to hear of anyone being caught in the act. Its all "my friends drink was spiked", not "I caught this guy putting stuff in my friends drink".

And if fat chicks wanted some Id have rathered if she just tanked me full of beer all night :D :eek:

Oh yes, and real mates will ALWAYS lie to parents :D I remember my mates mother called my mobile after he went missing on a session (id assumed he went home). Despite the fact she knew I was lying I held out :D

Her "Did he stay with you last night?"
    Me "What? He didnt come home?!!?" (last id seen him he was in a right state, he had been drinking since 11am that day)
    Her "Where is he?"
    Me "Eh......oh yeah what am I sayin, he stayed at mine"
    Her "Can I talk to him?"
    Me "Eh......hes gone down the shop, ill tell him to give ya a buzz later"

Theres me ringing the hospitals sh1ttin it, he was eventually found at 5pm alive. Bollix :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Afaik, presenting at A&E saying your drink was spiked would mean that a bloodtest was a 100% certainty. How else would they treat you?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Dublinboardie you should probably post this in Personal Issues, you will get some good responses there. It wont be long before someone will start taking the pi$$ in this thread as its after hours.

its hard to tell what happened to your daughter without knowning what her diet was that day, what drinks she was drinking (you mentioned millar was that it?, medication she may be on etc. It may be worth when you get through this asking her to visit her GP for a chat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

In my experience, girls seem to think the "my drink was spiked" line is the reason why they were in a mess. Not because they drank too much, because someone spiked their drink :rolleyes:

Couldnt be further from the truth.I saw one girl at the bar Sat night and she was downing vodkas and coke with her friends, one minute she is standing there the next she is flat on her arse.She had to be carried out the door puking all over the gaff and her friends were too fvcked to even give a sh1t.Im sure she must have thought her drink was spiked:rolleyes:

This happens to me, some nights i'd have 7-10 cans and be fine
    some nights I would get sick at the party after drinking them !!:(
    Other night's(last night) I'd have a few vodka's before going out another few when I'm out then head onto shots of jagermeister and tequila followed by a couple of pints of bulmers at the end of the night!!! I was grand feel fine today!!!:D

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Too much drink probably. If she had taken an awful lot of ecstasy its highly likely you would have been able to tell it by her physical appearance/movements the next day. Iirc date rape has never once been proven in this country, and in most cases its found that the girl simply drank an awful lot more than she thought she did.

Also, I think its possible to simply have a bad reaction to drink sometimes. In an average night out Id usually down maybe 6-7 pints, maybe 6-7 bottles of WKD and maybe a shot or two as well. Fairly rubbered afterwards, but sure so is everyone else. However, I remember one night I only had about 7 beers and I was throwing up all over the place and talking some serious nonsense it was crazy. I even started raving to my friend that Id been smoking crack, I dont know where that came from.

In fairness it felt like Id been drugged, but sure who would drug me? I was out with my mates and it wasnt as if it was a gay bar or anything. So unless I accidently picked up a girls drink who had been spiked, I dunno. Even at that, whilst I felt rather confused and was talking bollix, I wouldnt say I was anywhere close to unconsciousness. But it certainly wasnt a recreational drug (I likes me recreation :D I didnt like this) And for all the stories you hear of drinks being spiked (hell, you get into convo with a girl who claims her mate was spiked that night maybe 10% of nights out) I have yet to hear of anyone being caught in the act. Its all "my friends drink was spiked", not "I caught this guy putting stuff in my friends drink".

And if fat chicks wanted some Id have rathered if she just tanked me full of beer all night :D :eek:

Oh yes, and real mates will ALWAYS lie to parents :D I remember my mates mother called my mobile after he went missing on a session (id assumed he went home). Despite the fact she knew I was lying I held out :D

Her "Did he stay with you last night?"
    Me "What? He didnt come home?!!?" (last id seen him he was in a right state, he had been drinking since 11am that day)
    Her "Where is he?"
    Me "Eh......oh yeah what am I sayin, he stayed at mine"
    Her "Can I talk to him?"
    Me "Eh......hes gone down the shop, ill tell him to give ya a buzz later"

Theres me ringing the hospitals sh1ttin it, he was eventually found at 5pm alive. Bollix :D

padi89 wrote:
    Couldnt be further from the truth.I saw one girl at the bar Sat night and she was downing vodkas and coke with her friends, one minute she is standing there the next she is flat on her arse.She had to be carried out the door puking all over the gaff and her friends were too fvcked to even give a sh1t.Im sure she must have thought her drink was spiked:rolleyes:
    i'm sorry, but was that meant to be sarcastic?
    i'm just asking. that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Shellie13

Does your daughter not want to talk about it?
    If she had talken something or drank too much this could be the case...
    Chances are if her her drink was spiked and she is on relativly good terms with you she'd be more open in discussing the hospital visit with you even to just put your mind at rest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

She overdid it.
    That her drink was spiked is the oldest load of b/s in the book.

She probably downed a naggin or something before going in to the Palace to play 'catch up' ... and it hit her a bit later.

Shame on you for swallowing that turd.

Disclaimer: obviously my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I have to agree with most posters in here and say that I'd find it very unlikely that her drink was spiked and her symptoms were more self-induced.

From the sketchy details, I'd rule out anything like hash, cannabis, cocaine or LSD. I'd say she had taken a lot of drink plus either speed/ectasy plus she was extremely dehydrated.

Kids experiment and kids always lie. Christ knows I did!

I hope it all works out ok for you and her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

If she went straight from work, chances are she hadnt eaten?

Also if she was meeting with her friends late, she probably wanted to "catch up". So no food, plus lots of quick drinking. One minute you can be fine, & the next you cant remember a thing.

Another thing: im 22 & im still never too honest with my mother about what ive drank the night before. she would be shocked. I know its a different situation, but my mother thinks more than 2 drinks & i should be drunk. So despite how much ive had, its usually 3 drinks, maybe 4 max.
    Maybe that says more about my relationship with my mother.. but i know my friends are similiar. Sure i have one friend whos mother thinks she rarely drinks at all (very far from the truth)

But these are just all suggestions. Maybe your daughters drink was spiked, none of us really know either way. But too much alcohol really could be all it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Shame on everyone giving their 'expert' opinions. None of us know this girl and therefore cannot comment on the situation at all ! Maybe her drink WAS spiked ? Maybe she drank too much ? who knows.

If you are to believe everything in this thread she got up to quite a lot. Pills, coke, speed, weed, downing naggins, dangerous cocktails and getting alcohol poisoning. Shes quite the trooper.

chump wrote:
    Shame on you for swallowing that turd.

Disclaimer: obviously my opinion.

Well actually I don't know where I stated that I had swallowed anything!
    Being honest, I think I'd prefer she drank herself into a state and learned from it, than to think that someone with malicious intent poisoned her.

However, as I learn more, it seems that it was likely not alcohol. I had a brief talk with C today, but he was at work and it was difficult to get much detail. He is full of apologies for not calling us. I wish so much that he had, (I'd have made certain her blood was tested) but I'm grateful he was there to look after my daughter. He said that the other guy who was unwell was very sick on the way home. It seems unlikely to me that this guy and my daughter both got sick from alcohol at pretty much the same time. And my daughter told me before that the only drink that ever made her sick was neat absinth and she said she was well cured of that! (I don't encourage her excessive drinking by the way, but hope she'll settle down and be sensible soon. Ranting at her isn't going to change things.)

Food or lack thereof was mentioned, she had dinner, don't know what exactly but knowing my daughter's diet it had plenty of carbs.

So it seems to be some sort of drug, and of course the next question is was it self inflicted or otherwise. If self inflicted, is it likely that C was ok while the other 2 weren't, or that C abstained while the other 2 indulged? If self inflicted, a major lesson learned I would think, but if not self inflicted then just another reason for Mum & Dad to find it hard to sleep while she's out at night.

C told the hospital staff that she hadn't drunk much, and he thought her drink was spiked. She was brought into a different room to be assessed, and he wasn't told much aside from "there's not much we can do, we'll just leave her on a trolley and keep an eye on her, and have the doctor check her out". It doesn't seem that any blood was taken for testing. It was apparently mayhem, no doctor came near her, and around 8 am she was kicked off the trolley because someone else needed it. C was told it would be the afternoon before a doctor saw her, and at this point decided to get my daughter home in a taxi.

She has a total blank between buying the last 2 pints and being in the taxi home. C assures us that she was in his company during that time and we needn't worry that she may have been assaulted in any way. Obviously I was frantic that she might need the morning after pill, STD testing or worse still, HIV testing. I am still shaking from top to bottom over this.

Someone - Shellie? - suggested discussing the hospital visit with me even to just put my mind at rest. She remembers absolutely nothing. At all. First she knew of being in hospital was when C told my husband as he drove them to work yesterday.

My husband is working where there are plenty of Dublin clubbers and he was asking their opinions today. The general consensus is that spiking is rampant, that the cigarette ban coupled with no outdoor drinking means drinks are often left unattended while people go for a cigarette break, and that it's easy to become complacent when you're regularly going to certain clubs. Virtually everyone he talked to today had a horror story about someone they know.

Like I said, I'd prefer to think of something being self inflicted and being a learning experience, but it seems there are some really perverted people out there. I know it happens, I referred to my friend's story about her son (PCP, I think it was?). I just don't want to believe that my daughter and her friends are targets of these scum of the earth.

To every one of you who have posted on this thread, thank you. I have been hugely distressed by this episode, and even though most of you opined that she was simply drunk, it has been very supportive and helpful to me to use those thoughts. It being a bank holiday I couldn't talk to my GP, would just get some locum who doesn't know my family. So to have some angles that I wouldn't have thought of has been very helpful.

One way or another, it seems the overworked staff in the A&E departments of so many hospitals can't cope with what's landing on them. Please, everyone, look after yourselves. Self inflicted or not, this is a dreadful situation to be in.

So it seems to be some sort of drug, and of course the next question is was it self inflicted or otherwise. If self inflicted, is it likely that C was ok while the other 2 weren't, or that C abstained while the other 2 indulged? If self inflicted, a major lesson learned I would think, but if not self inflicted then just another reason for Mum & Dad to find it hard to sleep while she's out at night.
    i don't mean this to come across as me telling you how to raise your child, but i really think you should sit your daughter down and tell her exactly what i have quoted above.
    it's not very fair on you or your husband to have to go through that.
    you seem to be a very caring and concerned parent and that is a good thing, but regardless of how much your child knows that you love her, she could still go out there and risk taking drugs or leave her drink unattended.
    i understand that she has no recollection of last nights events after a certain point, but this is still no excuse to put you through all this worry.
    i would also try to talk to her friend and get some more information out of him. do it face to face as lying over the phone is an easy thing to do.

sleep well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I have to agree with most posters in here and say that I'd find it very unlikely that her drink was spiked.

Why do you find it unlikely that her drink was spiked? It's happening more and more. I'd suggest that you talk to her in a non authoritive voice, be her friend, and don't sound like you're gonna open a can of whoopass on her if you here something unpleasant.

She's much more likely to tell the truth if you take that approach!

John

Lump wrote:
    Why do you find it unlikely that her drink was spiked? It's happening more and more. I'd suggest that you talk to her in a non authoritive voice, be her friend, and don't sound like you're gonna open a can of whoopass on her if you here something unpleasant.

She's much more likely to tell the truth if you take that approach!

John

Ummm, I hope you're not confusing me (OP, Dublin Boardie) with the author (Dublin Writer) of the post "I'd find it very unlikely that her drink was spiked"? As someone who "did" Dublin years back, and worked abroad as well, I wouldn't describe myself as someone who came down in the last shower, but I do recognise that "society" in Dublin is quite different to what I was used to before my daughter was born.

The only voice I've talked to her in has been pretty shaky so far. I don't even know if she has any idea of how vulnerable a situation she was in. She's not working tomorrow, so hopefully we'll have a meaningful conversation. She knows I'm not going to kill her, if I was going to do that I'd have done it before now! But I do feel her priorities are a bit assways and it's time to remedy that. Hopefully she has grown up enough to see this, she's a bit big to be sent to bed early and be told to behave.

Thanks Julep, C is coming around probably on Wednesday, he has two jobs going at the moment so he doesn't think he'll make it tomorrow.

Again, thanks all, off to bed now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Lump wrote:
    Why do you find it unlikely that her drink was spiked? It's happening more and more.

John

Might be happening more and more, but i find it hard to believe its happening as often as people claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Lump wrote:
    Why do you find it unlikely that her drink was spiked? It's happening more and more.

Without meaning to be pedantic, is it really? Im fairly sure I read that the place that tests for this kind of thing has yet to even confirm a case of it in this country (Rohypnol and the like that is. Sure, people have been spiked with ecstasy, but its not like the stuff really renders people unconscious unless a great deal is taken). Also, the fact Ive had 50 million birds tell me "my mates drink got spiked" but havent yet heard one who said "I caught some lad slippin stuff into my friends drink" makes me suspicious as to what the real cause of their bad state is. Ive never been offered the stuff for sale. As said, I on one occasion had a very negative reaction to what in my mind was a rather small amount of drink compared to my usual intake. Ive also seen one or two mates throw a mad one for no particular reason.

Hell, maybe thats the reason Mel Gibson was so belligerent and waffling despite not even being twice the legal limit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

to be quite honest,ive been their done that and my drink was most certainly not spiked.yet i had more of an excuse seeing as i was 15, it was still completely irresponsible but at 19 years of age id say she got trollied but i think she should know a little better. a nurse or doctor can usually see tell tale signs of drink spiking can they not?imo,if her drink was spiked id say the doctors would have told you that it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭heggie

tbh if it wasnt spiked, she's a bit old to be telling stories, u might want to address that also

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Without meaning to be pedantic, is it really? Im fairly sure I read that the place that tests for this kind of thing has yet to even confirm a case of it in this country (Rohypnol and the like that is. Sure, people have been spiked with ecstasy, but its not like the stuff really renders people unconscious unless a great deal is taken). Also, the fact Ive had 50 million birds tell me "my mates drink got spiked" but havent yet heard one who said "I caught some lad slippin stuff into my friends drink" makes me suspicious as to what the real cause of their bad state is. Ive never been offered the stuff for sale. As said, I on one occasion had a very negative reaction to what in my mind was a rather small amount of drink compared to my usual intake. Ive also seen one or two mates throw a mad one for no particular reason.

Hell, maybe thats the reason Mel Gibson was so belligerent and waffling despite not even being twice the legal limit :D
    you make a good pont.
    similar thing happened me last week. i didn't have a blackout or anything, but i did get really drunk on very little.
    it can happen to the best of us at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Tusky wrote:
    Shame on everyone giving their 'expert' opinions. None of us know this girl and therefore cannot comment on the situation at all ! Maybe her drink WAS spiked ? Maybe she drank too much ? who knows.

If you are to believe everything in this thread she got up to quite a lot. Pills, coke, speed, weed, downing naggins, dangerous cocktails and getting alcohol poisoning. Shes quite the trooper.

We can only give our opinions on the information given in the original post, and my opinion is that she more than likely got herself into a state that lead her to hospital to have her stomach pumped, so she made up a story.

Most people have done similar things in their youth, there's nothing unusual. I certainly wouldn't be eager to tell my mother if I ended up in hospital cos I got so p*ssed that I needed my stomach pumped.

But yeh, maybe she got spiked, maybe she did it herself, maybe her friend did it, maybe some subliminal illness caught up with her, maybe she had a reaction to medicine, etc etc etc etc etc.................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

looks like we might be hearing the pitter patter of baby's feet in 9 months time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Seems to me that there's a lot of girls going out these days, having seven or eight drinks, getting stone-cold drunk and then claiming they were spiked because they 'started acting funny' or 'can't remember a thing.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

DaveMcG wrote:
    We can only give our opinions on the information given in the original post, and my opinion is that she more than likely got herself into a state that lead her to hospital to have her stomach pumped, so she made up a story.

Most people have done similar things in their youth, there's nothing unusual. I certainly wouldn't be eager to tell my mother if I ended up in hospital cos I got so p*ssed that I needed my stomach pumped.

But yeh, maybe she got spiked, maybe she did it herself, maybe her friend did it, maybe some subliminal illness caught up with her, maybe she had a reaction to medicine, etc etc etc etc etc.................

I just feel sorry for the girl with people suggesting cocaine, pills, downing vodka & now pregnancy. None of us know her, none of us know what happened so I dont we should even guess as to what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Tusky wrote:
    I just feel sorry for the girl with people suggesting cocaine, pills, downing vodka & now pregnancy. None of us know her, none of us know what happened so I dont we should even guess as to what happened.

its her parents i feel sorry for...looks like the girl has them wrapped around here finger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

If she has total memory loss from when she bought her last drink, it could be she took/her drink was spiked with rohypnol or GHB. Both of which are highly unlikely. iirc there have been no proven cases in Ireland of someone having their drink spiked with these drugs, and they're not readily available street drugs.

She may have skipped dinner and ended up having a hypoglycaemic attack, this happened me and I really thought I was going to die, and my memory of what happened is very vague. However, you said her blood sugar was checked and it was ok.

She may have fainted and received a head injury when her head hit the floor, again this could explain the loss of consciousness and drifting in and out of consciousness, however I would expect the nurses would have noticed this.

She may even have some form of epilepsy!

You just have no idea of knowing.

I would suggest to her that maybe she should go to her GP to get checked out for any underlying causes, but don't press her. If she doesn't seem too bothered about what happened, don't hassle her, you may do more harm than good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Tusky wrote:
    None of us know her, none of us know what happened so I dont we should even guess as to what happened.

The original poster did ask for any observations.
    My husband and I don't know what do do, and would appreciate any observations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I have done door work all over the country, in all sorts of places and i can legitmately say that i witness people actually being Spiked maybe twice....and that is out of hundreds of "claims" that people were spiked.

It just seems to be a constant excuse, after you bar some young lad or young one for trying to murder someone all there mates go on with "there never like this....something in there drink etc etc etc".

I am not saying your daughter was not spiked, just given you an idea as to the likelihood of it. It should be noted that i have no absolutely proof that any "spiked" excuse offered to me was real or fake.....just that it does get bandied around a huge ammount by people who drink too much and want to explain away there actions to others.

TBH, whether she drank too much or was spiked there is very little you can do except keep an eye out and drop gentle reminders, don't say you don't believe her, but let her know you are not being swallowed up either.

I would worry about the fact that the only told you about the hospital as a last resort....IF i was spiked as a kid and had to go to hospital you can bloody bet i would tell my parents straight away to save myself a bucketload of grief from them not knowing what happened.

The good thing is that most people grow up in time.....getting of your face is attractive for a while, but that dies out in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Jotter

Havnt read the entire thread, just the first few pages of posts but for what its worth I beleive your daughter. Firstly a friend of mine had her drink spiked while she was working doing drinks promotions a few years back. She had a couple of drinks nothing major as she was working and remembers nothing of the night woke up in hospital the next day. The bouncer on the door saw her being taken outside by some guy and noticed she was less than willing to go but seemed very weak so he went out after them and took her back inside getting one of the lounge staff to look after her. Shortly afterwards she started puking and there was blood in it so they got an ambulance and took her to hospital. Tests were run no conclusion was reached as to what was in her drink, most of which had already left her system and its only based on what the bouncer and pub staff said that it was all pieced together that something sinster had happened and she was lucky there were vigilant people around at the time, esp ones willing to get involved as so many idiots turn a blind eye these days.

Ive taken drugs and have had a bad reaction and lied about what it was to my mother (who knew fine well I was lying to her!!), ive also drank over and beyond what i should have but i would never have told my parents I was in hospital when I wasnt and theres no way in hell I would tell them my drink was spiked if it wasnt bec I know it would mean theyd worry and when parents worry out comes the cotton wool and you never get a mins peace. If it had been a case that your daughter drank too much then im sure she would have warned her mate to say nothing and would have fed you a story about staying in her mates house and played the whole thing down. you know your daughter and you know if shed tell you she drank too much etc so trust your instincts on this one and make sure she keeps an eye on herself in future - not leaving drinks unattended etc.
    Either way your daughter had a crap nite, prob was scared by the whole thing and also paid for it the next day so wont be running to repeat the senario in a hurry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

julep wrote:
    i'm sorry, but was that meant to be sarcastic?
    i'm just asking. that's all.
    Nope ,my mistake.I meant to say the whole "my drink was spiked" couldnt be further from the truth that it was most likely just too much booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭unnameduser

I reckon you will prob not get to the bottom of this.

The endless possibilities of what actually happened have already been mentioned so i wont repeat them.

Just be thankful that your daughter is ok after this and even if she is lying or not either way she will have learned a valuable lesson.

God bless parents!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

i dunno ...people keep spiking my coke with vodka in nightclubs :mad:

Anyway this thread once again highlights the need for a columbo gathering card. Somebody make it happen!