Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Krav Maga Course

• 02-08-2006 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭

Hey guys prob been posted before, but I took this up 3 weeks ago and I have to say it's fantastic, really really good.

Is simple enough based upon Israeli Defense Forces unarmed combat.

If you have girlfriends or know of anyone looking to do a self defense course I cannot recommend it highly enough.

I'm doing it with my girlfriend and we've both been really enjoying it, it's also a very good workout.

www.kravmagaireland.com is the website for the group we're doing it with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Andrew_M

Sengoku79 wrote:
    I'm doing it with my girlfriend and we've both been really enjoying it, it's also a very good workout.

www.kravmagaireland.com is the website for the group were doing it with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Hey! Suggestive selective quoting is my job!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Ah...thats not real KM he's teaching there... I used to help teach on them courses for years, and when I went to Israel and saw the real thing, I knew I was being shown real bad watered down Krav Maga in ireland.

Plus I was 3 years there, and there was no sparring or any real fighting, just doing a load of moves on a complying partner.

I left and took up Muay Thai, which is a zillion times better, and is about 80% less costly to do... plus you don't have to listen to stupid lectures about physchological studies done by the american army in 1940a, when you should be training.

Its ok sort of like a Tae Bo Boxersize thing as a hobby, for real fighiting skills I 'd look elsewhere.

Learn to fight in proper fighter gym and then once you can get in the ring and spar, its ok to add a bit of dirty tricks in then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

Ah...thats not real KM he's teaching there... I just to help teach on them courses for years, and when I went to Israel and saw the real thing, I knew I was being shown real bad watered down Krav Maga.

Plus I was 3 years there, and there was no sparring or any real fighting, just doing a load of moves on a complying partner.

I left and took up Muay Thai, which is a zillion times better, and is about 80% less costly to do... plus you don't have to listen to stupid lectures about physchological studies done by the american army in 1940a, when you should be training.

Its ok sort of like a Tae Bo Boxersize thing as a hobby, for real fighiting skills I 'd look elsewhere.

Learn to fight in proper fighter gym and then once you can get in the ring and spar, its ok to add a bit of dirty tricks in then.

ah how times have changed! i remember when you came on here first :) but fair play to you being able to change your attitude towards training

Thanks John!

But the secret be know, some of my very very early posts, may not have been penned by me! someone else was using a few others logins too, to promote himself.

I think my session at your place, was the start of the change in me!

anyway I was a fairly handy kickboxer up until I started that dead training, and it totally ruined my abilities to spar! I nearly had to start from scratch when I took up the Thai, and after a few kickings from Paddy. Ground training will being in 2007 as right now if someone with a few months good ground traiing got me down, I would be in serious trouble.

As I said learn to fight live in all ranges, and then later the combatives can sit lovely on top of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

from the website "Learn to defend yourself in 24 hours" :D ahem....B$llsh*t

Why would the Israeli's need unarmed combat?, their tanks and aircraft seem to be more than effective:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭pma-ire

judomick wrote:

Why would the Israeli's need unarmed combat?, their tanks and aircraft seem to be more than effective:mad:
    They are also involved in ground battles at the moment! It's just not as covered by the news stations as the big planes and bombs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

judomick wrote:
    "Learn to defend yourself in 24 hours" :D ahem....B$llsh*t

Hah! just a slight dramatization...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

'slight dramatisation' - in other words talking sh%te.
    They are also involved in ground battles at the moment!
    What percent of that do you think is likely to be unarmed. I'm going to guess 0.001% Actually, no throw a few more zeros in there! :)

Baggio... wrote:
    Hah! just a slight dramatization...

you think its possible to teach someone to defend themselves in 24 hours?

And although i think it was a dispicable act on behalf of the Hizbollah, didnt seem the help the 2 Israeli soldiers captured by them

judomick wrote:

:

More like "I ll clean your wallet out in 24 hours" LOL!!!

Proper KM takes over 10 years to get to black belt, and you will be well versed in all ranges live, plus weapons.

and you might even learn how to bomb innocent people!!!! :mad:

judomick wrote:

And although i think it was a dispicable act on behalf of the Hizbollah, didnt seem the help the 2 Israeli soldiers captured by them

Thats because most Israeli soldiers do not know Krav Maga, (ok they do a day or so in basic training), its just marketing hype, all the Israeli Army vibe, thats just to get people to come and pay money to do courses.

I asked Israeli soldiers did they know KM, and most never heard of it, though they did say they did a days training in something, but could not remember what they learned!

Millionaire the mythbuster!

It 'aint possible Jmick....

Seems to me like they are takin' the piss.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Is Jim Wagners stuff along the same lines as this Krav Maga?

I was laughin to myself when I saw an add for his programme claiming to be reality based self defence and there was a picture of a guy dressed like a marine/ninja type of thing with an M16 around his neck and some joe soap was punching him in the mouth..very reality based :rolleyes:

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    'slight dramatisation' - in other words talking sh%te.

What percent of that do you think is likely to be unarmed. I'm going to guess 0.001% Actually, no throw a few more zeros in there! :)
    I said ground batttles smarty arse! Not hand to hand combat!!

I would think that they would all be armed actually!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Mola.mola

hehe i saw a sign today while on the bus around Broadstone saying

Taekwon-do
    The most powerful form of Self-defense

Made me chuckle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

pma-ire wrote:
    I said ground batttles smarty arse!

Wait a minute, so the Israeli Army is advocating BJJ? ... ;)

Hah! what about this scary "Kapap Lotar" stuff? (Face to Face combat of the Israeli spacial forces - apparently). And you all thought it was krav Maga.

And it's only 200 Euro for a one day seminar!! So cheap.... (and I'm being sarcastic here J.Mick)

So what can they sell us next?

Have you heard much about it Mill?

Baggio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Screaming Monkey

Jim Wagner's reality based personal protection..
    "Surviving a Sniper" - http://www.jimwagnertraining.com/

.....sounds like something from "Team America - World Police"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

"Jim Wagner’s Reality-Based Personal Protection system has created a major shift in the way people are learning self-defense. Black Belt magazine labeled Jim Wagner as a “legend,” and his monthly column HIGH RISK is rated one of the most popular features in the magazine year after year"

"high risk" indeed. this world is a scary scary place, be afraid!...........or you could just get yourself in shape and smile:D

Baggio... wrote:
    Hah! what about this scary "Kapap Lotar" stuff? (Face to Face combat of the Israeli spacial forces - apparently). And you all thought it was krav Maga.

Have you heard much about it Mill?

Baggio.

I think it is all one and the same, all these deadly israeli styles.

You know yourself, MA politics, there are at least 5 different KM Assoc in Israel, not to mention the American www.kravmaga.com and some in europe too.

KM is a good system if trained properly as it is full inclusive of all ranges. the crowd I trained with in Israel added in a full ground syllabus over 5 years ago, now its all borrowed from BJJ, Wrestling, Judo etc, and they send alot of time working on ground work and sparring on ground.
    Personally I am not bothered with KM no more, I got what I need from it, and there is alot of politics involved, and dojo mentality.

My way of RBSD if I was to advise someone who wanted to train, is train Thai or MMA, get a decent standard 12- 18 months, where you can spar and hold your own, and got good strikes knees + elbows. Then you can adapt and add in the dirty stuff plams, slaps, groin etc. of course you must learn real ground work too, though maybe not as much as a competition focused ground fighter.

Like hitting a pad with a palm strike for hours, or maybe a few hours with this 24 weekend, means BS, if you do not know the meaning of having a few good rights thrown at you when sparring someone of a higher standard, and of course throwning a few good rights back!

Good sparring is probably the only way of getting over that "freeze" syndrome that can occur, due to fear, or not enough experience in a live situation, or when you get a minor licking in sparring.

Now you cannot slag of the likes of Geoff Thompson Style of RBSD, as he trained his lads all out in all ranges, mixing boxinig, thai, karate, judo, wrestling etc mixed with RBSD pre fight awarness, avoidence, and pre emptive strikes. Basically MMA focused RBSD. So if you training like this, you becaome a very handy SD man, your training in all ranges live, and becoming an all rounded MA man, your getting mighty fit, and your enjoying your training and having a blast. and it takes time to build up the standards, a few years, not a fooking weekend!!!! Bas Rutten SD is very similar.
    If you want to learn proper SD I highly recommend Geoffs DVDs.

Dennis Martin is one of the top Combatives/RBSD instructors in the world, and on a forum where he posts someone asked him if he would do an intensive weekend, and certify him, and Dennis refused, saying he would never certify anyone after only 1 weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Boru.

Thought I'd just throw in my two cents. As you know I'm one of Jm's RBPP instructors here in Ireland. I love the stuff. It does involv some KM technqiues Jon, but its an amagamation of many different syles and technqies producing an effiecent fighting method. The courses are 8 hour courses and we do the basics up to really fun terrorism survival stuff which makes it handy for people to take the pis out of it.;) That's okay too. I can see the funny side but knowing the techniques gives you a nice sense of empowerment and self asssurance.

As to the whole 24hr teaching thing we beat that we do it in 8. Oh yeah. Is that possible - completely. Will you be competant and capabale against and experienced opponenet. Unlikely. The prinicpals and the technqiues of the system can be taught in 8 hours. That is very much true. There isn't that much to learn. Striking angles, method of attack, etc, the effective stuff is all pretty basic and easy to learn and apply. If it wasn't it wouldn't be used.

Competancy and efficeny of movement, the confidence that comes with long years training can only be attained with long years of training. You can learn the course, you know have the knowledge but you have to practice it. Some people don't, they go away having done the course and within a month promptly forget the whole thing. Others actually listen in class and apply the the technqiues and tactics to they're everyday life and train consistently. Can they defend themselves - absolutely. (Even in a terrorist situation ;) ) :D

Jon or anyone else feel free to pm for more info. My website is www.self-defence-ireland.com, but I have to redo an awful lot of the copy on the site - it's WAY to 24 Jack Bauer like. :rolleyes: What was I thinking?:o anyway it will give you an idea of the compreensive nature of training. Check out the video section for the examples.

Oh and me and a couple of guys from boards and Team Test practice handbalancing in Merrion Park on Tuesday evenings but I also often end up teaching an informal self defence class or two. We did an load of grappling and knife work the other day, it's generally just a few of my close students and friends and the occasional newbie - so if you'd like to drop by and take a look or have a chat about it, I'm there, but I may be upside down.:D

As to the whole 24hr teaching thing we beat that we do it in 8. Oh yeah. Is that possible - completely. Will you be competant and capabale against and experienced opponenet. Unlikely.
    You say this here but then on your website you say:
    They’ll tell you that you have to spend years dedicated to a martial art, spend thousands of euros and thousands of hours on training. They are wrong.You can learn all the self defence skills you need in a matter of hours.

Boru. wrote:
    we do the basics up to really fun terrorism survival stuff which makes it handy for people to take the pis out of it.;)

terrorism survival is fun? what type of techniques do you use tickling and "did you hear the one about the muslim and the jew?"
    Boru. wrote:
    As to the whole 24hr teaching thing we beat that we do it in 8. Oh yeah. Is that possible - completely.

Quote "Learn to defend yourself in 24 hours" so you are selling false promises?
    Boru. wrote:
    but I have to redo an awful lot of the copy on the site - it's WAY to 24 Jack Bauer like. :rolleyes: What was I thinking?:o anyway it will give you an idea of the compreensive nature of training. Check out the video section for the examples.
    because sensationalism sells thats what imo what you were thinking
    Boru. wrote:
    as per your signature

everything you do seems to be an online money racket

Tim

As I said a lot of it has to be re-done. I don't explain things too well on the site. As for the comment on the website that "You can learn all the self defence skills you need in a matter of hours." as I stated in my post in this thread, you can. The basics are easy. The techniques are simple and you can learn them in a matter of hours. But as I clarified in my post above, you need constant practice to imporve them and make them natural to you and a part of your fighting vocabulary.

For instance you can say the same about TMA and Modern Stuff aswell. A student can learnt he fundamentals of Shotokan Karate in 8 hours. You can teach them all the punches, blocks and kicks of the style, but you need to practice them consistently to be effecitve. Of course this raises another set of questions like whats so different then RBPP and TMA if thats the case? A load of stuff, but thats another thread. ;)

Judo Mick - you're a case in point. It's easy to make fun of, particularly when you have never tried it. But here are a couple of responses.

The Terrorism Survival Course is fun. As are all the courses. Of course there is intense realism and a lot of hard work and it is a very serious subject, but people learn better when they are haveing fun over fear. So we mix it up and have a few laughs. I mean some of the stuff, while useful is unliekly to occur.

Take one drill for example - Chemical Weapons Defence. The attacks on the planes leading to 911 where iniciated by a chemical attack. so perhaps it may be a hand one to learn. In this drill we simulate chemicals with plain water. So prettymcuh everyone gets water thrown in there face and has a right laugh. Its good fun, but teaches a serious lesson. Same applies for projectile blocking drills, it's good fun, but teaches you a useful skill.

As regards the claim that you cna learn to defend yourself in 24hrs I stand by that completely - you can. It's surprisingly easy. A quick example - teaching someone to shoot is a easy skill can that can be learned in a minute or two. Will that save you life - definitely. So it is possible. The same applies for hand to hand technqiues, ground based work, knife fighting etc, The techinques you learn can save your life and you will learn to defend yourself. Of course it's not like the Matrix where you can just boot in the knowledge and fight like Jet Li. After the class I'm confident everyone can defend themselves, but they are perisible skills that require practice.

My posts on this board and on in the fitness forum are full of helpful and useful information. The pm's I recieve confirm that. Most poeple appreciate my advice and help. And I appreciate the fact that I am in a position where I can help.

But this isn't about me, my system or my ehtics. It's about Krav maga, and the question Jon asked to which I have repsonded regarding Jim Wagner's stuff. As one of his instuctors I felt my input could be useful. I hope answered that question and provided enough of explanation to clarify the position.

If you want to disucss RBPP or me - open a new thread, I will do my best to answer your questions. :)

Let's keep this on topic.:)

As for the comment on the website that "You can learn all the self defence skills you need in a matter of hours." as I stated in my post in this thread, you can. The basics are easy. The techniques are simple and you can learn them in a matter of hours. But as I clarified in my post above, you need constant practice to imporve them and make them natural to you and a part of your fighting vocabulary.
    So what you are actually saying is that you can teach all the techniques in one day? This is a very different thing to learning "all the self defence skills you need in a matter of hours". I could probably teach a person every kickboxing and BJJ technique I know over the course of a day or two. Of course, they wouldn't be able to use any of it, for self-defence or for anything else.

I was watching a thai trainer teach a young lad, a jab right cross the other day, he took all of 60 sec to show the kid the move. another 60 secs to watch him shadow box a few... then the trainer pointed the kid at the bags and walked off.

Up to the kid after that to practice it and work it with the thai kick about 1 million times over the next few years!!!!

Thats the Thai way.... less talking and more hard work!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    So what you are actually saying is that you can teach all the techniques in one day? This is a very different thing to learning "all the self defence skills you need in a matter of hours". I could probably teach a person every kickboxing and BJJ technique I know over the course of a day or two. Of course, they wouldn't be able to use any of it, for self-defence or for anything else.

What he said seems pretty clear to me
    they learn the techniques, then need to practice them to become effective at them,

Yeah Boru I'd be up for that hand balancing malarky some time, what time do you do it on tuesdays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

they learn the techniques, then need to practice them to become effective at them,

As Tim has already said theres a massive gulf between imparting technique and imparting skill.
    "You can learn all the self defence skills you need in a matter of hours."
    Skill is the ability to apply technique.

It is clear, it also directly contradicts whats on his website.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    It is clear, it also directly contradicts whats on his website.

That's already been addressed - it needs to be re-done. :) to me it's not a contradiction, it's clarification. But this is still off topic.

Mola.mola I've pm'd you.:D

to me it's not a contradiction, it's clarification.
    As far as I can see it's a pretty obvious contradiction. On the website you say you can learn all the skills you need in a few hours, now you are saying you can't, you can only learn the techniques in that time. Your revised opinion does make a lot more sense.

Actually I would have nothing at all to do with kravmagaireland.com again, nor would I recommend anyone to train there or have anything to do with him for the following reasons:

1. He is not teaching proper KM, he is teaching a mix of 40% of basic KM, mixed with a load of made up stuff learned from SD Dvds. also he is not the 1st Irish to be a KM Instructor. Peter Muldoon an Irish guy based in NYC was the first Irish KM Instructor.

2. After I did the intro course 3 years ago, he got about 8 of us to pay, circa €1500 a year (I payed this for 2 years) as we were selected for advanced serious training, that was to have a special class one night a week. I think over 2 years, there was about 5 to 8 "special advanced KM classes"

3. Instead of advanced training, some of us were told we were that good we were put on an "assistant instructors" program, and as part of the training we had to teach for free (while paying the €1500 a year still). patrick when on holdiays about 6 times a year and me and someone else were teaching over 4 x 2 hour classes a free week, and collecting the money for him. We were never "certified" and never got an more "special instructor" training.

4. I went to Israel and got certified myself, and decided to start to teach myself in rathmines. Mr KM approached me and offer to help market me if I did not go into direct competition with him, nor advertise in the national papers. So I agreeded set up my own begineers night on a differen day than his beginners courses. when I announced opening date of my KM course, he promptly change his beginngers night to go head to head with me, inorder to try and put me out of business.

5. Uses "Assistant Instructors" to teach on the course, some of which have no more than a few months training, with no prior MA nor fighting experience.

6. This is harder to proven unless you know NLP (I know a bit).
    Uses NLP techniques to try and manupliate people to doing what he wants.

Anyone like this is complete unethical, is only in MA for the money, and its people like this that get a very bad name for MA in Ireland.

So there ya go!

Mola.mola wrote:
    hehe i saw a sign today while on the bus around Broadstone saying

Taekwon-do
    The most powerful form of Self-defense

Made me chuckle.
    Ya TKD people are good at claiming that kinda crap!!

I bet you've been holding that in for ages :D
    Actually I would have nothing at all to do with kravmagaireland.com again, nor would I recommend anyone to train there or have anything to do with him for the following reasons:

1. He is not teaching proper KM, he is teaching a mix of 40% of basic KM, mixed with a load of made up stuff learned from SD Dvds. also he is not the 1st Irish to be a KM Instructor. Peter Muldoon an Irish guy based in NYC was the first Irish KM Instructor.

2. After I did the intro course 3 years ago, he got about 8 of us to pay, circa €1500 a year (I payed this for 2 years) as we were selected for advanced serious training, that was to have a special class one night a week. I think over 2 years, there was about 5 to 8 "special advanced KM classes"

3. Instead of advanced training, some of us were told we were that good we were put on an "assistant instructors" program, and as part of the training we had to teach for free (while paying the €1500 a year still). patrick when on holdiays about 6 times a year and me and someone else were teaching over 4 x 2 hour classes a free week, and collecting the money for him. We were never "certified" and never got an more "special instructor" training.

4. I went to Israel and got certified myself, and decided to start to teach myself in rathmines. Mr KM approached me and offer to help market me if I did not go into direct competition with him, nor advertise in the national papers. So I agreeded set up my own begineers night on a differen day than his beginners courses. when I announced opening date of my KM course, he promptly change his beginngers night to go head to head with me, inorder to try and put me out of business.

5. Uses "Assistant Instructors" to teach on the course, some of which have no more than a few months training, with no prior MA nor fighting experience.

6. This is harder to proven unless you know NLP (I know a bit).
    Uses NLP techniques to try and manupliate people to doing what he wants.

Anyone like this is complete unethical, is only in MA for the money, and its people like this that get a very bad name for MA in Ireland.

So there ya go!

ah there are cowboys in every entreprenurial niche.

I totally agree with you Mill'.

They sound sh*te. it's all for the $$$$$$. Some of their claims made on the website are very dubious in my opinion.

However I have seen a few of the combatives guys up to similar antics - unfortunately. :(

Baggio.

The thing with RBSD is yes, the techniques are simplistic - they are GMS and to the point. Nothing fancy or complicated and some cases very aggressive by nature. However RBSD is and should be 10% skill/technique. The other 90% is mindset.
    Mindset being having the mental capability to use these techniques in any given situation also the situational awareness/verbal descalation/bodylanguage tools that are learned.
    You can teach a monkey to hit some one, you can even teach them to pull someone's hair and continuously beat on them. So yes you can teach some one how to strike in a matter of hours.
    However as has been stated, it takes hours and hours and months of repeatedly drilling these techniques for the individual to use them at a subconcious level while under the pressure of an attack. (Lee Morrison qoutes the individual needs to train a single technique 1000's of time for it to sink into the pysche)
    When a conflict kicks off, the adrenal pump and fear factor that kicks in will render any person who hasn't pressure tested these techniques completely useless. The blood in the body is drawn from the limbs and into the vital organs - this causes a weak heavy feeling of the limbs, the increased heart rate has an effect on the decision making part of the brain, meaning any quick life saving decision is now out of reach, our peripheral vision goes leaving us looking through a tube and adrenalin is flying through the veins causing the shakes and the emptying of the bladder or bowels.
    NOW!
    How do you train someone in a matter of hours or days or even weeks to cope with this natural bodily response? - you can't. Its someting they must learn to work with and develop themselves.. how?

By pressure testing the techniques and creating scenarios as close as possible to the real thing, Boru - are your clients given the opportunity to pressure test or are they working on dead pads and compliant partners?

Scenarios must be reproducted and techniques must be tested through gradual increase in a resisting oppponent which after a period or when the person is confident enought to perform the technique - they perform it all out with a person with suitable protection i.e the red man suit or bulletman.
    Geoff Thompson used to have animal days were guys just went at each other - with everything in. He trains in scenarios (as do all the combative instructors) which would be as close as possible to the real thing where people could test their ability while under pressure.
    This type of training is on-going and not delivered in hours or even days. To add to that individuals who are really into learning the full package will also cross train in a ground fighting art and a good solid stand up art like BJJ and MT.

I find that the ready made self defence package is flawed in many ways. It plies on people's fears, quotes exaggerated statistics and plays on the most basic of human emotion.
    A one or two day self defence course should only be labelled as a very very basic introduction of what you can learn if you train correctly.

JMO

Good post Jon. You used be way more fun when you were a loyal ITFer though! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Wow, there are some "wild" claims here, particularly
    You’ll be surprised at just how easy it is to be a knife fighting expert, and you’ll get there fast
    . This kind of crap really does give RBSD or RBPP a VERY bad name. In all honesty, the average human switches off after 20 minutes and yet you claim to be able to show them all they need to know in a day.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Good post Jon. You used be way more fun when you were a loyal ITFer though! :)

LOL thats all in the past Tim!

See they closed that BB after all. Long over due, what'll they do now!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭SorGan

Jim Wagner
    This course is unique in the fact that you will have a chance to see how criminals attack with knives, terrorists, various ethnic groups..............................You’ll be surprised at just how easy it is to be a knife fighting expert, and you’ll get there fast...........

ha ha
    its just wrong.

Jon wrote:
    LOL thats all in the past Tim!
    Jon wrote:
    See they closed that BB after all. Long over due, what'll they do now!?
    What are WE all gonna do!?

I've went back to Martial Arts Planet to annoy them there for a while :D:D

The techniques taught by 99% of the self-defense systems on the market today simply will not work against a real knife attack

Taken from the site mentioned above. Then..
    Fakes and Feints- Learn the art of misdirection and manipulate the guard of your opponent, master this and you’ll slip past their guard like it wasn’t there

Boru, this is not a bashing exercise by any means. But teaching someone to slip past the guard of someone holding a knife is sending them straight to massey's under takers.
    I would suggest that this also be one of the 99% of techniques out there that do not work.

Try Senshido.com and Richard Demitri for a more realistic approach to knife defence.

And why all the mentions of terrorism? This isn't the USA and Die Hard was a film!

Jon wrote:
    And why all the mentions of terrorism? This isn't the USA and Die Hard was a film!
    It was??

I thought it was a documentary?? :p

pma-ire wrote:
    It was??

I thought it was a documentary?? :p

see what living in Cork does to ya Bouy!!

Jon wrote:
    see what living in Cork does to ya Bouy!!
    Yippe Kai-yay!!!

Ground Survival

Falling – Break falls, how to get to the ground safely and effectively, you’ll learn everything from how to fall without hurting yourself to tactical forward dives and even moving under sniper fire!

Again whats with the sniper fire?
    Rolling – The ground is your friend and rolling may be your best option at times from getting to one point to another, learn the basics – and master professional techniques such as the rolling weapon lift!

The ground is not your friend- its the last place you should tell anyone to go

Tackle defence – a Dublin thug favorite is the tackle, learn how to make sure that the brute running at you full force doesn’t take you down

A Dublin thugs favourite is the big swinging right hand or the head butt or the sneaky dig from behind.
    I've grown up in the city centre, I live in the city centre, I've done doors in the city centre and i've driven a taxi around the city at all hours and I've never seen any one use a diving tackle.

Seriously Boru, I think that system needs a rethink mate.