Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it okay to headbutt somebody...

• 30-07-2006 11:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭

...if they do something mean to you?

I think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

depends on who it is and where you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Did somebody hurt your feelings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

No.... *Sniffs Sterculelum's breath*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭sterculelum

Well of course.

Example: on the dancefloor (wedding reception, maybe) if they call you a "loser" or "square".

I don't mean to headbutt them hard... just enough for them to get the picture and maybe fall down.

No my feelings are fine. I'm just wondering... cuz it's not as bad as punching someone really... it's more stylish too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yep. I heartily encourage it! Aim for the solar plexus, that seems to be a good place to loaf someone........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Only if your name is Zidane or maybe if you come from Glasgow.:D

Seriously, a headbutt would be probably be viewed as grevious bodily harm if it connected properly.

well say if someone slagged you and there was say a guard across the road the guy's untouchable until the guard goes or the chap goes.in my book its ok to hurt somebody if they hurt/insult you.

What if nobody views it... eh?

My name just happens to be Zidanna. So damn close too. And my dad's from Edinburgh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

#Smokey# wrote:
    well say if someone slagged you and there was say a guard across the road the guy's untouchable until the guard goes or the chap goes.in my book its ok to hurt somebody if they hurt/insult you.

It might be okay in your book, but the recriminations might not be.

I imagine headbuttings hurt. Not that I've never been in a physical fight. Physics told me.

im not talkin about murder or a good hiding im just talking bout a whallop or a jab to the chin.but they would be reserved for those who physically assault you.if he verbally abuses you u can just follow him around and scare the **** outta him with menacing looks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

it's not as bad as punching someone really... it's more stylish too.

A guy in my class in college headbutted another guy, breaking all of his front teeth. Cost him about €10,000. I would have preferred a punch my self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure, as a last resort. If you're held up against a wall or such.

C'mon here and give Granny a (Glasgow) kiss :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

No it's not ok. Either come up with a fast witty come back or just ignore the moron that said something. It will work out better in the end for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

biko wrote:
    Sure, as a last resort. If you're held up against a wall or such.

C'mon here and give Granny a (Glasgow) kiss :p

I agree! If someone insulted me, a headbutt wouldn't be my first plan of action (violence actually wouldnt come into it at all probably!)- it's not cricket and if it goes wrong, ya can end up hurting yourself aswell.
    But if I was being attacked and a headbutt was the only option then yeah, Zizou him! (or her!!!)

Caco wrote:
    it's not cricket and if it goes wrong, ya can end up hurting yourself aswell.
    (or her!!!)

Cricket is a dangerous sport too believe it or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Nah, not a headbutt...

It's a bit too brutal really, especially at a wedding reception. A few quite words would be seen as more suiting. If that didn't work, I'm sure fisticuffs outside of the wedding reception would be more fitting than a shmack of yer brow across yer man... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Example: on the dancefloor (wedding reception, maybe) if they call you a "loser" or "square".
    Don't headbutt your grandparents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Well of course.

I don't mean to headbutt them hard... just enough for them to get the picture and maybe fall down.

Nah just a Mr.T style toss into the cake and then dust off your hands, you would be the star of the show. :)

Ruu wrote:
    Nah just a Mr.T style toss into the cake and then dust off your hands, you would be the star of the show. :)

Followed by a quick pitying and saying you've had enough of his jibber jabber!

WOO HOO- 100th post
    (Yes pityful I know!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Just for being called a loser? Bit sensitive are we? You gotta get the insults going for a bit first before I would justify a punch or two...Not too sure about a headbutt, I would think that it's worse so no, I wouldn't justify a headbutt

Caco wrote:
    Followed by a quick pitying and saying you've had enough of his jibber jabber!

Just brilliant. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Headbutts are a chicken way of starting aggression but a good way of finishing aggression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Speaking from experience, it is not a nice thing to happen to you. In my case it was totally unprovoked, just some guy losing his rag for no reason. :confused:

I was told a good way to counteract a headbutt- if you know there gonna headbutt you and have fast reflexes, supposedly if you put your head down so they'll headbutt your crown, it'll be sore for you but alot sorer for them!

Then... kick to the balls, and smash his head of the wall!!! Like this guy taught me- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LiEsktRiCXo

Bada BANG!!

PS I dont condone violence!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭coyote6

If you must headbutt use your brow to the hairline and only go for the nose. But be very careful not to dip your head in a fight. Where your head goes your body follows. It really isn't advisable unless your arms are pinned. A good backfist to the brachial plexus origin is usually very effective and much more subtle than a punch or headbutt. Just MHO ;) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

lol kenpo alert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭coyote6

lol kenpo alert

Close but its Hakkoryu Jujitsu mixed w/ a bastardisation of other dirty tricks.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

wooooooow ninja

coyote6 wrote:
    If you must headbutt use your brow to the hairline and only go for the nose. But be very careful not to dip your head in a fight. Where your head goes your body follows. It really isn't advisable unless your arms are pinned. A good backfist to the brachial plexus origin is usually very effective and much more subtle than a punch or headbutt. Just MHO ;) .

TBH Id rather have a broken nose than damage to the brachial plexus - the repercussions could be far more severe, hardly more subtle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

I'm sure the bride was delighted that you mixed it up old school on the dancefloor at her wedding reception. lol. Try to avoid getting blood on a hired tuxedo as Blacktie aren't too keen on it and you may lose your deposit.;)

wyndham wrote:
    I'm sure the bride was delighted that you mixed it up old school on the dancefloor at her wedding reception. lol. Try to avoid getting blood on a hired tuxedo as Blacktie aren't too keen on it and you may lose your deposit.;)

Whoa whoa whoa. I said *for example*. I didn't do anything at any wedding reception. Let's not lose the run of ourselves. It was just a hypothetical scenario that one might find himself in.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

If you would like to see more on headbutting, the Martial Arts forum under the Sports heading has covered many aspects of this thread, including techniques, training, competition, and legal consequences of headbutting someone in public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭peepsbates

I think so.

Only with your head.....:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

violence is never right.

what age are you people? 16?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I think so.

Sum up mean....if you mean they touched your Carlsberg then no....not really.

IN any situation where you are defending yourself against physical attack then yes, a headbutt is a very useful tool.

julep wrote:
    violence is never right.

what age are you people? 16?

yes

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Headbutting someone because they called you a 'loser' or a 'square' just proves they were right, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

spurious wrote:
    Headbutting someone because they called you a 'loser' or a 'square' just proves they were right, tbh.

Unless your a Viking.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dragan wrote:
    Unless your a Viking.:D
    true dat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Ever see The Streets video Blinded By the Lights? Feck a headbutt, go the whole hog and fcuking murder them on the floor :D If the video is anything to go by, getting yourself into a mentally fragile state with the help of 4 e`s, a load of coke and 20 shots of vodka on top of them is the way to do it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

Of course it's ok. If Zidane did it, it must be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

Btw, this shows how important a headbutt can be.

Thats all the evidence I need, Zidane is innocent. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

headbutting is what scumbags do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

according to Ito

images1se7.jpg

NO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

If someone called me a square I'd fall over laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Violence should be the last resort at all times.

As others have said, be careful employing the headbutt. About two years ago someone tried to mug me in Dublin city centre, he pushed me against a wall and tried to headbutt me. Thankfully I have quick reactions and bent my knees and dropped my body as his head came in. His head hit the wall and he literally knocked himself out. All caught on CCTV, he was on probation for a similar offence. Oh well :D

As a general rule, you would be pretty sad and pathetic to instigate any violence just because someone called you a name or insulted you. But then again this is typical behaviour of the more intellectually challenged. [gets virtually headbutted]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Headbutted a bloke in a disco once for slaggin me off over my disability,"He said disabled people shouldnt be let out", I just reacted, knocked him out cold and nearly sh*t myself didnt realise how dangerous it is. Wouldnt do it again, got barred for it to.

Was good few years ago, have grown up alot since then, when asked if he was going to press charges he said "I deserved it for saying what I did."