Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over Weight Gardai

• 28-07-2006 8:06pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Was going by the Dail this morning and there was a Garda out side. He was massive. Did any one else see him?

On the way home I saw a ban Garda and she was young but very over weight.

What’s the story with that? Aren’t the Garda meant to keep in shape? Either of the two gardai I saw today would’ve had no chance of catching any one of foot.

I think it’s a disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

mines a chocolate donut....

oh oh get me some hundreds and thousands

cheers babe! I'll park the squad out bacl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Too many seminars from the NYPD?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Trilla wrote:
    mines a chocolate donut....

oh oh get me some hundreds and thousands

cheers babe! I'll park the squad out bacl

Sounds like the mid morning snack ever Garda based in Lucan gets in Texaco every day

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Lirange wrote:
    Too many seminars from the NYPD?

I lived in new york for a while. Yonkers to be exact but used to work in White Plains. When I was over there there was a drive to recruit bew cops after 9/11. I remember at the time that they were saying that you had to go for 6 monthly fitness tests. If you failed you went behind the desk.

The size of this garda today would mean that if he sat down at a disk his arms wouldnt reach it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Yep I even got a picture of him click, not a pretty sight! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

kearnsr wrote:
    Was going by the Dail this morning and there was a Garda out side. He was massive. Did any one else see him?

On the way home I saw a ban Garda and she was young but very over weight.

What’s the story with that? Aren’t the Garda meant to keep in shape? Either of the two gardai I saw today would’ve had no chance of catching any one of foot.

I think it’s a disgrace!
    I go in and out of there several times a day, every day.
    I have yet to see an overweight gardai outside.

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    I go in and out of there several times a day, every day.

He was out side there today at around 8. So you could've missed him with shift change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    I've seen several, and not just plain overweight, but chronically obese, massive beer guts and buttons strained to near breaking point.

This still remains a contentious issue, not just with the guards, but with the army too. There were rumblings in 2004 about the army sacking the more portly from their 'other ranks' (i.e. non-officers) , but their union (PGFORA?) made various noises and the whole thing was dropped.

I've seen several, and not just plain overweight, but chronically obese, massive beer guts and buttons strained to near breaking point.

This still remains a contentious issue, not just with the guards, but with the army too. There were rumblings in 2004 about the army sacking the more portly from their 'other ranks' (i.e. non-officers) , but their union (PGFORA?) made various noises and the whole thing was dropped.

Didnt realise that the army would in the same boat. Do they not have to do alot of drills and/or training as part of their every day life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

not at all.
    they do their 3 years and then sit back and relax as the money just keeps rolling in.
    best job in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

A couple of years ago, two Gardai knocked into my house to ask me to squeeze through a window of a neighbours house to free an old woman who locked herself in for some reason. Neither of them could fit through!

It really is a joke that the police force aren't up to any level off physical fitness.

julep wrote:
    not at all.
    they do their 3 years and then sit back and relax as the money just keeps rolling in.
    best job in the country.

So what do they do in the first 3 years?

Surely they must do something after that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭EOA_Mushy

That is truely a discrace. I have seen many Gardai who are hard st to fit into their squad car.

I wonder if telling them so would help the situation :)

Hello officer, did you know your are possibly the fatest b@stard i have seen in a long time. Perchance could you prove me wrong by attempting to jump that 4 foot wall?

2min later: Hello mr mason, could you build me a wall?

You would probably get arrested for any comment to that effect, so who do you talk to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Alot of the older guards are a bit of a disgrace alright but to be fair, here in Galway at least, the actual gardai on patrol are nearly all young and in shape....their actual policing abilities, now thats another matter....:)

HavoK wrote:
    Alot of the older guards are a bit of a disgrace alright but to be fair, here in Galway at least, the actual gardai on patrol are nearly all young and in shape....their actual policing abilities, now thats another matter....:)

The Garda out side the Dail was old. Normal I would see youner slimer gardai out side but not today.

The ban garda was young. No more than 25!

An old school friend is a garda down in Wateford. Fit as a fiddle. He'd run down any one down. I wonder is it now a case that most of the youth of today take care off them alot better than older generations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

kearnsr wrote:
    Was going by the Dail this morning and there was a Garda out side. He was massive.

Sure he can be as fat as he wants, those ****ers in the Dáil are all on holidays so nobody there to protect, not that anyone would give ****e if a few of them were murdered.

LOL, the buck stops with the genoration that recently hit around 20. The younger genorations are (generalizing a little but) quite lazzy and over weight.
    Collie D wrote:
    not that anyone would give ****e if a few of them were murdered.

Hmm... you ideas intregue(sp) me, i wish to subscribe to your news letter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

Been meanin t start this thread for ages

Its so stupid! Fat bastxrds! Are we sposta feel safe or something? If i was chased by a guard I'd jus do a few laps, then laff as they collapse to the floor, and then nick their wallet, and tase them with their own taser

muahahaha

Also, the Ban-gardai with their fat asses in their Garda overalls look nacker

And most of them are gone in the head!

One that I see around was in Tesco with his 6 y/o granddaughter off duty, and they had no 3-packs of Tuna, so he was shoutin, THEYVE NO 3 PACKS, THE FXCKIN BASTARDS!

right in front of his 3 y/o g/daughter

Im tellin ye.... what the feck is goin on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,055 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Collie D wrote:
    not that anyone would give ****e if a few of them were murdered.

Contrary to popular belief, they don't elect themselves. :rolleyes:

(PGFORA?)

PDFORRA?

you had to go for 6 monthly fitness tests. If you failed you went behind the desk.

A chance to get even bigger! :D

Contrary to popular belief, they don't elect themselves. :rolleyes:

Never stopped the P(ointless) D(emon)'s from getting into government

A chance to get even bigger! :D

Yeah but it insured that you were some what respectable looking gardai out on the beat who might be able to do their job

kearnsr wrote:
    Yeah but it insured that you were some what respectable looking gardai out on the beat who might be able to do their job

There should be another six month period in which they must get fit enough to pass, other wise decrease their wage as they can not preform as well at their jobs as other gardai.

Both incentive and not loosing desk jockies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

I agree with alot of what people say, and ive seen over weight garda..both young and old. But you have to remember most of the ones you see that are over weight are the older ones..who would be behind a desk not out on the street. Im more concerned with the new garda being too small and weak..im heading down to be one myself..but from what ive heard the training can be tough and keeps the recruits fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I noticed this just yesterday actually... a big rolly polly Garda passed me on the street... he must have been only in his early 20's.... He was walking with a woman and the body language told me that she was his mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Whats the point of a fat policeman being on the street? Giving directions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

InFront wrote:

directions to the best cafes & resturants? :D

InFront wrote:

To let the baddies know they exist :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

kearnsr wrote:
    He wasn't singing this, by any chance, was he?-
    http://www.brillianttv.co.uk/timmymallett/sound/mallett2.mp3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

I'm up in the Four Courts quite often these days and I can't say I've ever seen a Garda that I'd even consider calling fat or overweight.

Off the top of my head, there'd be perhaps 10 guards that I have seen that I would label as being fat. Compare that to the total number of guards that I've ever seen and you have a pretty small percentage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

grimloch wrote:
    I'm up in the Four Courts quite often these days and I can't say I've ever seen a Garda that I'd even consider calling fat or overweight.

"Yeah, cos yore in enough trouble as it is, wha!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

EOA_Mushy wrote:
    LOL, the buck stops with the genoration that recently hit around 20. The younger genorations are (generalizing a little but) quite lazzy and over weight.

Hmm... you ideas intregue(sp) me, i wish to subscribe to your news letter...

Don't worry, it wasn't your only spelling mistake! ;)

On topic, there's one garda in particular who is based at the Merrion St. side of Government Buildings and he must be tipping the scale at about 22 stone. How he has maintained his position I would never know, I certainly wouldn't feel safe knowing he is standing guard outside!

Slightly related point: I pass by Government Buildings on Merrion Street every day on my way to and from work. Plenty of Gardaí there for obvious reasons. However, anytime there's an crash or a fender bender type incident on the road, the Gardaí are nowhere to be seen. On Thursday for example, I was walking past at lunchtime, a taxi had hit a courier, the only garda I could see turned away and proceeded into the Dept. of An Taoiseach. Another garda came out the same gate, had a glace at the accident and darted back in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

http://www.garda.ie/angarda/garda.wmv

Hope this came up. The test looks very easy, even the doughnut loving ones could pass it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

Been meanin t start this thread for ages

Its so stupid! Fat bastxrds! Are we sposta feel safe or something? If i was chased by a guard I'd jus do a few laps, then laff as they collapse to the floor, and then nick their wallet, and tase them with their own taser

muahahaha

Also, the Ban-gardai with their fat asses in their Garda overalls look nacker

And most of them are gone in the head!

One that I see around was in Tesco with his 6 y/o granddaughter off duty, and they had no 3-packs of Tuna, so he was shoutin, THEYVE NO 3 PACKS, THE FXCKIN BASTARDS!

right in front of his 3 y/o g/daughter

Im tellin ye.... what the feck is goin on?

something about your story doesnt add up.

on a side note i have a friend who failed her entrance for the garda because she was .5 over the BMI limit. and shes not fat......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Clearly his daughter is in a state of temporal flux and only tins of tuna can stabalise her condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

http://www.garda.ie/angarda/garda.wmv

It may look easy but unless you did some training for it then you wont pass it. Remember you have to do that 3 times within around 3 mins..and its not quite as small as it seems in the video, add to that the room does be boiling and your nerves, which no matter what you will be, then it is pretty challenging. I thought it was going to be a piece of piss but it wasnt that easy. Also remember alot of the garda who are overweight are the older generation, and just because the younger generations are slim does not mean they could chase someone for anhy length of time. Just because your slim doesnt mean your healthy and fit.
    But i agree, there are some fat ones out there, donuts all round:p

jaggeh wrote:
    something about your story doesnt add up.

on a side note i have a friend who failed her entrance for the garda because she was .5 over the BMI limit. and shes not fat......

I thought BMI wasnt a good way of measuring if a person was fat or not? Using BMI standards a lot of people are well over weight but can be healthy i.e weight lifters etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

kwalsh000 wrote:
    It may look easy but unless you did some training for it then you wont pass it. Remember you have to do that 3 times within around 3 mins..and its not quite as small as it seems in the video, add to that the room does be boiling and your nerves, which no matter what you will be, then it is pretty challenging. I thought it was going to be a piece of piss but it wasnt that easy.

Yeah I second that. Looks a piece of piss in the video, but you need some level of fitness to finish it on time. By the time you get to the third circuit that dummy weighs twice as much! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭rondeco

I saw a guard the other day and his hair was untidy. I think he should be arrested for it. It was probably tossed from beating up innocent people out the back of the station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

abetarrush wrote:
    One that I see around was in Tesco and they had no 3-packs of Tuna, so he was shoutin, THEYVE NO 3 PACKS, THE FXCKIN BASTARDS!
    LOL:D

years ago the guards were chasing some crooks in my area. the crooks ran across my garage roof and when the detectives followed, one of the fat bastard went through the roof. we got a nice new roof payed for by the state.

jaggeh wrote:
    Once you pass the training and entrance medicals, there are no subsequent medical exams of your fitness once attested, AFAIK.

rondeco wrote:
    I saw a guard the other day and his hair was untidy. I think he should be arrested for it. It was probably tossed from beating up innocent people out the back of the station.

Some of them dont take pride in there appearnace at all.

I called to cops to report some thing and when they arrived they looked a state. Uniform in bits. Clip on tie hanging out of his shirt pocket. Unshaven. These are meant to be profisonals. They should act like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭punky

There's a greasy spoon cafe called Gerry's on Montague St (small st that links Harcourt st with Wexford st). I walk by there on my way to work and it's always full of Gaurds. Morning, noon and night they're there tucking into big plates of greasy grub.

But if they started eating at vegetarian places, such as Govinda's on Georges St. (can you imagine!), where would they get the energy to fulfill their daily duties such as scumbag chasin and 'fugee bashin?

punky wrote:
    There's a greasy spoon cafe called Gerry's on Montague St (small st that links Harcourt st with Wexford st). I walk by there on my way to work and it's always full of Gaurds. Morning, noon and night they're there tucking into big plates of greasy grub.

They're probably just having a feed after a long night chasing nurses in Copper Face Jacks

punky wrote:
    But if they started eating at vegetarian places, such as Govinda's on Georges St. (can you imagine!), where would they get the energy to fulfill their daily duties such as scumbag chasin and 'fugee bashin?
    I went in to Govindas once and they practically refused to serve me!

Probably because I was wearing a suit and tie. Walked out of the place after 10 mins and went down to Gerry's for some animal-flesh.

Maybe next time I visit I should put a big badge on me that says "I'm a Mahavahna Buddhist dude".

Bad Karma on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

With all the gardai on our city streets these days,I was taken aback by the amount of them who were not just overweight, but obese. Seriously some of them look ridiculous.Standing around is all they are fit for because if they had to run after anyone they just would not be able to. This applies to both very young garda and middle aged,both men and women.
    Surely they should have to undergo fitness tests very year?
    It seems to me they are literally unfit to do the job.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

This thread is older than me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

DaveDaRave wrote: »
    This thread is older than me

Still relevant though!:) Seriously,have you not noticed all the fatties?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I could be wrong...

But I was always under the impression if you are a new gardai you have to be in shape (aka be slim) but as service goes on its acceptable if you put the weight on. Middle age spread and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Still relevant though!:) Seriously,have you not noticed all the fatties?:D

you dragged up this thread just to say that.

If you are that bothered at least start your own thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Thread necromancy, uncool :(